User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 89
  2. Negative: 12 out of 89

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    2
    this movie has a wild forest and it is creative and fun . but it is not something i find fun to see like the fact theres a another journey movie . i love the adventure and the creatures but something i am not looking for
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    1
    There is no limit to the worst, the horrible performances of Dwayne Johnson and Vanessa Hudgens are an example of incompetence. The film is a bad copy of Jurassic Park and one of the worst films of the year so far.
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    4
    Luis Guzman is by far the most watchable part of this mostly boring, unwatchable garbage. His moments of levity make up for some serious overacting by The Rock, Josh Hutcherson and Vanessa Hudgens. Poor Michael Caine to be associated with this show. The tiny elephants were sort of cute.
  4. Jul 23, 2012
    2
    Journey 2: The Mysterious Island, the sequel to 2008's Journey to the Center of the Earth plays out as standard escapism, but of the lowest common denominator. The visuals aren't sub-par, but are not as seamless as other less ambitious hollywood releases like it and they don't particularly mesh well with the sets. The characters seem to be plainly drawn and even veteran Michael Caine asJourney 2: The Mysterious Island, the sequel to 2008's Journey to the Center of the Earth plays out as standard escapism, but of the lowest common denominator. The visuals aren't sub-par, but are not as seamless as other less ambitious hollywood releases like it and they don't particularly mesh well with the sets. The characters seem to be plainly drawn and even veteran Michael Caine as the grandfather doesn't redeem this movie's mediocrity. That is the worst thing to do when crafting a film, not making it terribly, but making it run of the mill stuff. Basically, the film's positive highlights are this: the afore-mentioned visuals, Vanessa Hudgens in a tank-top, and Dwayne Johnson, particularly in a scene involving a berry-flick-by-his-pecs, which seems to take place out of nowhere. Basically, they're walking through the jungle, Josh Hutcherson says something about girls, then Dwayne Johnson says: "Here Josh. I'll flick a berry off of my nipple and that will obviously help you with your girl problems". Then he flicks several berries off of his nipple. It made no sense but was the only ludicrously enjoyable moment. Basically, Journey 2 is just a movie going through the motions with little sense of adventure and thrill and a diluted feeling of fun. I would catch it on Starz or Cinemax whenever they require the rights, and only if you're bored. Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2012
    4
    The movie is bad. Dwayne Johnson is terrible as usual and the script is downright awful. Thank the lord that at least I watched it in IMAX 3D, which increased my rating to like a 4.
  6. Feb 12, 2012
    3
    Bad acting, bad spesial effects and bad script! The overexposed Vanessa Hudgens was horrible. The Rock was just there because of his muscles. I prefer the prequel. This movie is just plain bad.
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Feb 16, 2012
    63
    The second installment in a likable family franchise, Journey 2: The Mysterious Island makes a nice case to your kids that reading books is a good idea.
  2. Reviewed by: Andy Klein
    Feb 10, 2012
    50
    For all the special effects – like its predecessor, this is in 3-D – the film coasts on Johnson being charming and Caine being Caine.
  3. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Feb 10, 2012
    63
    It's a thoroughly family-friendly film, with a subtle message about the importance of father figures. Don't expect anything resembling believability, but enjoy the blend of strikingly colorful visuals and banter between odd couple Johnson and Caine, which combine for a mild escapist treat.