Centurion

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 84
  2. Negative: 8 out of 84

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    Great movie all around. The actors did an amazing job of portraying their characters, as well as selling the story. If the characters don't get you, the fight scenes coupled together with the amazing landscape of the movie will.
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Loved it. The story played out well and the acting was great. Overall it was a very enjoyable movie and I see no major issues with it except for maybe a few cliches.
  3. Nov 14, 2010
    8
    Enjoyed this movie for the action and the scenery, the highlands of northern England. While not quite as polished as Gladiator, it projects the same barbarity of medieval life and warfare. The villain could have been a big more vile and the hero more heroic, but for those looking for strong violence and epic landscapes, this film will not disappoint.
  4. Oct 4, 2010
    7
    This is an interesting flick due to the 2 leads, the force and brutality of its pace and the magnificent landscapes. Yes, it may recall Mad Max lost in Inverness, at times but it does get across with a sublime color palette by the photographer and a very savy delivery by the scarce dialogue and vast imagery. Dominic West and Michel Fassbender are on the dot, also exBond Girl, Kurylenko.This is an interesting flick due to the 2 leads, the force and brutality of its pace and the magnificent landscapes. Yes, it may recall Mad Max lost in Inverness, at times but it does get across with a sublime color palette by the photographer and a very savy delivery by the scarce dialogue and vast imagery. Dominic West and Michel Fassbender are on the dot, also exBond Girl, Kurylenko. Get off it, the Centurion theme is overdone, but it can be revisited. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2010
    8
    For all of you folks who like those historical movies Centurion is quite a good deal. The plot is not far so good as it was in Gladiator. It is more an action film but accurately it shows some nice roman tactics, for example the marching order, the way how the the legionaries form up their defence, etc.
    Nice landscape, good fighting scenes, good actors.
    Don´t miss it in your
    For all of you folks who like those historical movies Centurion is quite a good deal. The plot is not far so good as it was in Gladiator. It is more an action film but accurately it shows some nice roman tactics, for example the marching order, the way how the the legionaries form up their defence, etc.
    Nice landscape, good fighting scenes, good actors.
    Don´t miss it in your collection. Quality of the Blu Ray was nice. Sound, too.
    Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    So so. The script doesn't develop the characters beyond archetypes and it's all a bit flat by the end. Just to point out to bradleybossard, without seeming pedantic hopefully, the action of the film doesn't take place in the 'highlands of northern England', but, of course, the highlands of northern Scotland.
  7. Oct 29, 2015
    7
    Centurion is a mixed bag, but there is far more good than bad. However, let's focus in on the bad. For one, it is far too violent. After a certain point, it becomes numbing and the CGI blood just becomes a major nuisance. You do not have to slit everyone's throat or show blood spurting from every wound for me to understand that war is bloody. Like, I got it. In addition, the characterCenturion is a mixed bag, but there is far more good than bad. However, let's focus in on the bad. For one, it is far too violent. After a certain point, it becomes numbing and the CGI blood just becomes a major nuisance. You do not have to slit everyone's throat or show blood spurting from every wound for me to understand that war is bloody. Like, I got it. In addition, the character development is incredibly poor. Other than a few main characters, the names of these people really just slipped my mind immediately after I heard them. In war films, characters often remain largely anonymous due to a focus on action. Centurion is no different as I could not tell you who any of these people are. In saying this, however, there are many positives. For one, the film is breathtakingly gorgeous at times. The cinematography is stellar. The fight choreography is also brilliantly done, which goes hand-in-hand with the excellent action sequences. There are a good number of them, but they are all edge of your seat exciting and perfectly sequenced. The direction from Neil Marshall is not fantastic, but it gets the job done. The film feels coherent and is extremely well-paced, to the point that it feels shorter even with an already short run time. Finally, the acting from Michael Fassbender and Dominic West is great. Olga Kurylenko even does well with zero lines of dialogue. She did a great job capturing the terror instilled by her character even without uttering a single word. Overall, Centurion is a good action film that will be too violent for some, but if you can deal with that element of it, you are in for a surprise. Expand
  8. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    I think this movie has been unfairly underrated by critics. With a compelling and thrilling storytelling, in addition to Michael Fassbender's solid performance and director Neil Marshall's success in making use of visual effects, Centurion precisely depicts the realistic horror and brutality that faced Roman legionnaires in their conquest of Britannia. I love history, i love the Romans,I think this movie has been unfairly underrated by critics. With a compelling and thrilling storytelling, in addition to Michael Fassbender's solid performance and director Neil Marshall's success in making use of visual effects, Centurion precisely depicts the realistic horror and brutality that faced Roman legionnaires in their conquest of Britannia. I love history, i love the Romans, and, most importantly, I'm a great fan of Michael Fassbender, so I recommend this film with no hesitation at all. Expand
  9. Apr 29, 2016
    8
    Great adventure/action movie. Very fast and action packed and the action was well choreographed and brutal.

    Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2733195-Centurion
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. 75
    Marshall, who helmed the underrated horror film, "The Descent," has a flair for the visual. Some of the mountainscapes, captured by use of a helicopter, are nothing short of spectacular.
  2. Marshall shows off the breathtaking landscape, but with interiors, he populates the ale houses and encampments with cliches - like dueling female warriors, one a mute and the other a white-haired vixen.
  3. 50
    Even if the movie had more shadings, though, Marshall's political point would undo his he-man action-flick format. If you're looking for a rallying cry to make the emotions sizzle, "Quagmire!" isn't it.