Magnet Releasing | Release Date: August 27, 2010
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 86 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
37
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
choomtabi31Apr 29, 2016
Great adventure/action movie. Very fast and action packed and the action was well choreographed and brutal.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2733195-Centurion
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleOct 29, 2015
Centurion is a mixed bag, but there is far more good than bad. However, let's focus in on the bad. For one, it is far too violent. After a certain point, it becomes numbing and the CGI blood just becomes a major nuisance. You do not have toCenturion is a mixed bag, but there is far more good than bad. However, let's focus in on the bad. For one, it is far too violent. After a certain point, it becomes numbing and the CGI blood just becomes a major nuisance. You do not have to slit everyone's throat or show blood spurting from every wound for me to understand that war is bloody. Like, I got it. In addition, the character development is incredibly poor. Other than a few main characters, the names of these people really just slipped my mind immediately after I heard them. In war films, characters often remain largely anonymous due to a focus on action. Centurion is no different as I could not tell you who any of these people are. In saying this, however, there are many positives. For one, the film is breathtakingly gorgeous at times. The cinematography is stellar. The fight choreography is also brilliantly done, which goes hand-in-hand with the excellent action sequences. There are a good number of them, but they are all edge of your seat exciting and perfectly sequenced. The direction from Neil Marshall is not fantastic, but it gets the job done. The film feels coherent and is extremely well-paced, to the point that it feels shorter even with an already short run time. Finally, the acting from Michael Fassbender and Dominic West is great. Olga Kurylenko even does well with zero lines of dialogue. She did a great job capturing the terror instilled by her character even without uttering a single word. Overall, Centurion is a good action film that will be too violent for some, but if you can deal with that element of it, you are in for a surprise. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
ruub1234May 23, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the movie starts of nicely with a couple of great roman battles, but quickly dulls down to the cliche survival story where the party keeps shrinking with one men at a time until only the most important characters are left. When they finally do make it out of there endeavour they are greeted with even more hostility from there fellow romans. So instead of some sort of epic end revenge battle they flee into the woods. great beginning, okay middle part, dull ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PvtJacksonJan 18, 2014
I think this movie has been unfairly underrated by critics. With a compelling and thrilling storytelling, in addition to Michael Fassbender's solid performance and director Neil Marshall's success in making use of visual effects, CenturionI think this movie has been unfairly underrated by critics. With a compelling and thrilling storytelling, in addition to Michael Fassbender's solid performance and director Neil Marshall's success in making use of visual effects, Centurion precisely depicts the realistic horror and brutality that faced Roman legionnaires in their conquest of Britannia. I love history, i love the Romans, and, most importantly, I'm a great fan of Michael Fassbender, so I recommend this film with no hesitation at all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
An okay film that I did like, but it was a bit too predictable and gory. Fassbender is good as always. I would have preferred more action over gore; gore is fine, but the battle sequences were hardly battle scenes at all, just blood. I lovedAn okay film that I did like, but it was a bit too predictable and gory. Fassbender is good as always. I would have preferred more action over gore; gore is fine, but the battle sequences were hardly battle scenes at all, just blood. I loved the tone and setting of the film. Reminded me a lot of The Eagle which I also liked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
avatar16May 18, 2012
Il faudrait informer le réalisateur de The Descent que ce n'est pas en lorgnant sur la partie germanique de Gladiator qu'on en tire un péplum de qualité. Résultat : Centurion estIl faudrait informer le réalisateur de The Descent que ce n'est pas en lorgnant sur la partie germanique de Gladiator qu'on en tire un péplum de qualité. Résultat : Centurion est loupé, car étant l'exact contraire du film de Ridley Scott. Les défauts que n'a pas ce dernier, Centurion les a! A savoir des dialogues sans classe (plats et même vulgaires), un casting peu imposant, un scénario déjà inexistant qui prouve son inutilité (faits historiques restés sur le papier), mise en scène bien trop plate... Bref, le film ne se contente que de son côté barbare, et là encore le bât blesse, le film étant excessivement gore (gerbes de sang qui jaillissent à foison comme dans un jeu vidéo) et "graphique" (certaines couleurs comme le blanc agressent les yeux). Bref, Centurion est un film qui n'arrive même pas à la cheville de Troie et qui se range du côté d'Outlander ou Pathfinder sans même les égaler. Affligeant! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HalfwelshmanDec 20, 2011
Centurion is a pretty decent action-packed historical thriller. The story may be merely diverting rather than compelling, but there's plenty to entertain throughout. The fight scenes are brutal and expertly handled, and I like the comparisonCenturion is a pretty decent action-packed historical thriller. The story may be merely diverting rather than compelling, but there's plenty to entertain throughout. The fight scenes are brutal and expertly handled, and I like the comparison made between Pict tactics and modern guerrilla warfare. The cast are all competent, but no-one gives a performance of any particular note, and the script is a little flat. When compared to other films of this type, Centurion is far better than King Arthur (which had few redeemable qualities at all) but it's not quite in the same league as Gladiator (lacking as it does Ridley Scott's visual pinache and well-developed characters). Neil Marshall continues to prove himself as a talent to watch. While there's nothing majorly wrong with Centurion, it doesn't have enough to make it stand out from other releases - perhaps Marshall needs to return to doing something more daring again, like Dog Soldiers and The Descent. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroJul 21, 2011
Godawful. The number one rule is: don't make a time piece if you don't have the budget for one. The worst is to make a film that looks cheap. Everything in this movie looks cheap: the fortress, the effects, everything. Combine that with a badGodawful. The number one rule is: don't make a time piece if you don't have the budget for one. The worst is to make a film that looks cheap. Everything in this movie looks cheap: the fortress, the effects, everything. Combine that with a bad script, and you have a crap movie. The guy running around in the snow in the beginning was clearly wearing something that looked like Dockers pants, I am pretty sure they did not have those around in the second century. In addition, it should be clear by now that a British accent ruins every movie. It sounds retarded, cannot explain why. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
JennetPJan 14, 2011
This film inserts itself into a couple of historical gaps: first, what happened to the soldiers of the Ninth Legion; second, what were the Picts really like? "Centurion" comes up with much more sinister answers than historians venture, but,This film inserts itself into a couple of historical gaps: first, what happened to the soldiers of the Ninth Legion; second, what were the Picts really like? "Centurion" comes up with much more sinister answers than historians venture, but, hey, it's a movie, right? Problem is, the film can't decide whether it wants to be a kind of anti-epic or a simple chase film. As one who steps out for popcorn when a film "cuts to the chase," I'm much more interested in the former, so I enjoyed those scenes in which the Romans betray the "civilizing" values they claimed to be taking to "the barbarians." Fight scenes, too, were pretty engaging, though I was a little surprised that the giant fireballs from "Troy" managed to roll all the way to the Scottish highlands. Moreover, I genuinely didn't see the ending coming, which was a treat. But the vast stretches of film in which pursuer followed pursued I found eye-rollingly dull, despite some novel characters and gorgeous scenery. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
blackpuddingJan 6, 2011
So so. The script doesn't develop the characters beyond archetypes and it's all a bit flat by the end. Just to point out to bradleybossard, without seeming pedantic hopefully, the action of the film doesn't take place in the 'highlands ofSo so. The script doesn't develop the characters beyond archetypes and it's all a bit flat by the end. Just to point out to bradleybossard, without seeming pedantic hopefully, the action of the film doesn't take place in the 'highlands of northern England', but, of course, the highlands of northern Scotland. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
RazvNov 27, 2010
Interesting here and there, with a couple of good scenes and gory scenery, but i think that the characters aren't complex enough and the storyline gets very boring from time to time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
bradleybossardNov 14, 2010
Enjoyed this movie for the action and the scenery, the highlands of northern England. While not quite as polished as Gladiator, it projects the same barbarity of medieval life and warfare. The villain could have been a big more vile and theEnjoyed this movie for the action and the scenery, the highlands of northern England. While not quite as polished as Gladiator, it projects the same barbarity of medieval life and warfare. The villain could have been a big more vile and the hero more heroic, but for those looking for strong violence and epic landscapes, this film will not disappoint. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
straty73Nov 13, 2010
For all of you folks who like those historical movies Centurion is quite a good deal. The plot is not far so good as it was in Gladiator. It is more an action film but accurately it shows some nice roman tactics, for example the marchingFor all of you folks who like those historical movies Centurion is quite a good deal. The plot is not far so good as it was in Gladiator. It is more an action film but accurately it shows some nice roman tactics, for example the marching order, the way how the the legionaries form up their defence, etc.
Nice landscape, good fighting scenes, good actors.
Don´t miss it in your collection. Quality of the Blu Ray was nice. Sound, too.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MrCreativenameNov 12, 2010
Loved it. The story played out well and the acting was great. Overall it was a very enjoyable movie and I see no major issues with it except for maybe a few cliches.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
HikaruOct 17, 2010
Great movie all around. The actors did an amazing job of portraying their characters, as well as selling the story. If the characters don't get you, the fight scenes coupled together with the amazing landscape of the movie will.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
raco2046Oct 4, 2010
This is an interesting flick due to the 2 leads, the force and brutality of its pace and the magnificent landscapes. Yes, it may recall Mad Max lost in Inverness, at times but it does get across with a sublime color palette by theThis is an interesting flick due to the 2 leads, the force and brutality of its pace and the magnificent landscapes. Yes, it may recall Mad Max lost in Inverness, at times but it does get across with a sublime color palette by the photographer and a very savy delivery by the scarce dialogue and vast imagery. Dominic West and Michel Fassbender are on the dot, also exBond Girl, Kurylenko. Get off it, the Centurion theme is overdone, but it can be revisited. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
ForbichoffAug 28, 2010
awful. just awful. neil marshall is showing he really has absolutely no talent left after dog soldiers and the descent, i shouldn't really have to mention doomsday... but this movie is filled with cgi blood, pretentious acting and dialogue,awful. just awful. neil marshall is showing he really has absolutely no talent left after dog soldiers and the descent, i shouldn't really have to mention doomsday... but this movie is filled with cgi blood, pretentious acting and dialogue, horrible editing, and some really stupid PC stuff that was unnecessary and weren't realistic in the realm of the story.

garbage. avoid.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
6
KundKAug 27, 2010
People expecting a sanitized, Gladiator-like epic, might be in for a nasty (or lovely) surprise. There is little honour in this survival story and even less glory. There are, however, many majestic and harsh landscapes and even more brutal,People expecting a sanitized, Gladiator-like epic, might be in for a nasty (or lovely) surprise. There is little honour in this survival story and even less glory. There are, however, many majestic and harsh landscapes and even more brutal, deservedly R-rated spear-to-the-mouth type slayings. In essence, this is â Collapse
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews