Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 24, 2008
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 171 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
140
Mixed:
19
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MovieGoer14Jul 16, 2013
Changeling is directed by Clint Eastwood (Great Director) and Angelina Jolie (Great Actress) which follows the story of Christine Collins (Great Story) whose son went missing on March 10th 1928, she reported her missing son to the policeChangeling is directed by Clint Eastwood (Great Director) and Angelina Jolie (Great Actress) which follows the story of Christine Collins (Great Story) whose son went missing on March 10th 1928, she reported her missing son to the police department (Great Department that is corrupt and would do whatever to keep their heads up, even by being corrupt) and the went searching for him. Three months later, they thought that they "found him" but as it turns out it is not her son, so the police department won't handle the truth (will give them great shame) so they decide to send to a The movie is actually very realistic and moving in a riveting way, with the first rate art direction (Great Direction) and great performances but heartbreaking story. When you watch Changeling, it sends you to the 1928, as if you feel that you are really someone in the movie, you get involved in everything Christine is involved in, it is truly amazing who you feel in the movie, you get disturbed and sad, but you would never want it to end, you still wanna live in the town to see what will happen next, it is really amusing and spectacular with photography and soundtrack that you will never ever forget. Everything above is greatness, which shows that Changeling is a true masterpiece and one of the best movies of all time. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
MaggieL.Oct 24, 2008
Excellent and very well made. Angelina Jolie definitely deserves and Oscar nomination, and the screenplay and set design are very authentic. There are several excellent acting performances.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TommyBoyNov 2, 2008
Finally, a movie worth seeing. Jolie should be a contender for best actress for her performance in this excellent Clint Eastwood directed thriller. Also John Malkovich would be my choice, hands down, for best supporting actor. He is so great Finally, a movie worth seeing. Jolie should be a contender for best actress for her performance in this excellent Clint Eastwood directed thriller. Also John Malkovich would be my choice, hands down, for best supporting actor. He is so great in every movie he has been in. The movie runs 2 hours 20 minutes and holds your interest from beginning to end. A thriller/drama based on a true story from a happening in L.A. California in 1929-30. (Where do they find so many of the automobiles from that period). The directing, the flash backs, the dialog...the story holds your total interest for the entire length of this movie. Time and money well worth spent. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BlakeR.Nov 9, 2008
Ignore the bad reviews by critics just pulling at the strings to try and critique Eastwood's masterful direction. I'd like any one of them to get behind the camera and direct this film as well as he did. Angelina's performance Ignore the bad reviews by critics just pulling at the strings to try and critique Eastwood's masterful direction. I'd like any one of them to get behind the camera and direct this film as well as he did. Angelina's performance is unforgettable, and the film itself is as well. You will be drawn in, you will walk away astonished that anything like what you've just witnessed could possibly even happen... And you will think about the film, and talk about the film days after you see it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JessD.Nov 10, 2008
A Marvelous engrossing film with exceptional performances and a beautiful quiet soundtrack composed by Clint Eastwood. Some second grade critics have given this film mixed reviews but it is a solid film that will have you from the first to A Marvelous engrossing film with exceptional performances and a beautiful quiet soundtrack composed by Clint Eastwood. Some second grade critics have given this film mixed reviews but it is a solid film that will have you from the first to the last scene. Highly recommend it for adult viewing. A don't miss. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MetalMan95Sep 23, 2010
A very strong drama with little to complain about. It combines two of my favorite genres of film: Drama and Thriller. I adore it to every minute. Never a boring part. Yes, some useless parts, but people with a heart will enjoy it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Night_Hawk_2012May 18, 2012
A heart wrenching movie based off a true story. Angelina Jolie was excellent in her role as Christine Collins a distraught mother who's son is missing. Changeling is truly a heartbreaking film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
tutankhamun22Mar 27, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the story was more emotional....the are movies what you don't sleep ... because you wait an answer... the best of best.............................................................. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DanFFeb 23, 2009
A very good movie. Jolie and Jason Butler Harner knock it out of the park. The plot that starts simple, and then branches out in numerous directions - because the true story that it is based on did the same. Although a long movie, I was A very good movie. Jolie and Jason Butler Harner knock it out of the park. The plot that starts simple, and then branches out in numerous directions - because the true story that it is based on did the same. Although a long movie, I was intrigued throughout it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Nov 1, 2008
Changeling is everything you'd expect from a director as meticulous as Clint Eastwood. His eye has captured the look and feel of Los Angeles circa 1930 perfectly and his score sets the mood beautifully. Angelina Jolie proves that she Changeling is everything you'd expect from a director as meticulous as Clint Eastwood. His eye has captured the look and feel of Los Angeles circa 1930 perfectly and his score sets the mood beautifully. Angelina Jolie proves that she was indeed robbed of an Oscar nomination last year for her performance in A Mighty Heart, because here, while she is again very good, she really just has to deliver about 12 versions of a line with "My Son" in it, but because of the prestige of Mr. Eastwood, she's more likely to get her nod this year for Changeling as a pay back for last year. The rest of the cast are all good but the story turns it focus a few times too many to make this the next Eastwood Oscar juggernaut, but what do I know, I still believe A Perfect World was Clint's Best!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaryNov 10, 2008
Clint Eastwood has become one of Hollywood's best directors. He takes a subject matter that he could have knocked out of the park and somehow manages to bog it down with sterotyping. 30 minutes into the film we know where this movie is Clint Eastwood has become one of Hollywood's best directors. He takes a subject matter that he could have knocked out of the park and somehow manages to bog it down with sterotyping. 30 minutes into the film we know where this movie is going. He captures the late 1920's on camera perfectly but yet does not take us into the character's development for doing what they did. It is almost surreal as the audience craves more depth but yet it is sorely lacking. AJ meanders along searching for her lost son but yet we know nothing about the woman. The LA Police are corrupt but we don't understand why they take the stance they did in the Court of Public Opinion. At the very end of the move (spoilers omitted) the one eyewitness who could place closure on the matter by simply asking was anyone recaptured is never asked. You leave the theater wanting more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuisOct 25, 2008
Changeling is the best film of the year and one of the best films of all times.Changeling is a piece of arte and a truly masterpiece.Angelina Jolie is suberb and in my opinion Changeling must win the best film, best director and best actress Changeling is the best film of the year and one of the best films of all times.Changeling is a piece of arte and a truly masterpiece.Angelina Jolie is suberb and in my opinion Changeling must win the best film, best director and best actress academy awards.Clint Eastwood Is the best director and Changeling one of his best films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardP.Oct 25, 2008
Excellent movie,best picture, director,actors Angelina jolie,John Malkovich,jeffrey donovan and other actors.All drama movie is boring, but are good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesS.Oct 26, 2008
Brilliant. It was great seeing AJ acting instead of shooting weapons while she's wearing a bikini. She really can act.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RobertI.Mar 1, 2009
Real life trumps fiction, and Eastwood's film serves us a cautionary tale drawn from actual events. When, it asks, can we ever be safe, when human malice (or evil) lurks around us? Surprisingly good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanaM.Nov 10, 2008
Well worth seeing on the big screen. Remarkable how Clint was able to recreate 1920's Los Angeles. Superb acting by all ( well maybe average acting by the LA Police Captain with the forced Irish brogue). Angelina was excellent although Well worth seeing on the big screen. Remarkable how Clint was able to recreate 1920's Los Angeles. Superb acting by all ( well maybe average acting by the LA Police Captain with the forced Irish brogue). Angelina was excellent although the red lipstick on her oversized lips was a little much. Go see it... the story is worth experiencing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobK.Nov 15, 2008
I can overlook the few minor flaws in this. It is a good example of bureaucracy run amok.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FantasyNov 5, 2008
One of the best movies of the year. It will have you sitting on the edge of your seat right until the very end. Based on a true story. Excellent acting, writing and directing by the master Mr. Clint Eastwood. Worthy of an Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadSNov 6, 2008
This is a movie about perseverance, and it nails the concept on the head. [***SPOILER WARNING***] In the end, Jolie gains hope, and so did I. I stayed until the last credit rolled hoping to see in subtitles that the boy was found. However, This is a movie about perseverance, and it nails the concept on the head. [***SPOILER WARNING***] In the end, Jolie gains hope, and so did I. I stayed until the last credit rolled hoping to see in subtitles that the boy was found. However, there was none. [***END OF SPOILERS***] I haven't been that connected to a movie since Schindler's List. Truthfully, i would put this movie second to only Schindler's List. Changelings should be seen by everyone regardless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KeithJNov 9, 2008
Excellent movie that works as a drama and also as a period piece. As The New Yorker says, it "congratulates you for feeling what you already felt." But that's not a bad thing. This movie will not change your life, but it will leave you Excellent movie that works as a drama and also as a period piece. As The New Yorker says, it "congratulates you for feeling what you already felt." But that's not a bad thing. This movie will not change your life, but it will leave you impressed in every way. Jolie was perfectly cast and played the role ideally. The only real flaw, in my opinion, is that one of the child actors was allowed/asked to grossly overact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MMCCOct 21, 2008
Good drama movie ! Oscar for Jolie !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DeanA.Dec 14, 2008
I enjoyed the film, but it really could stand to be 15 minutes shorter. The look of the film was great, as was the overall sense of the period. However, I didn't need to see another shot of Jolie crying, and Jeffrey Donovan played his I enjoyed the film, but it really could stand to be 15 minutes shorter. The look of the film was great, as was the overall sense of the period. However, I didn't need to see another shot of Jolie crying, and Jeffrey Donovan played his character with no humor & no redeeming qualities. As Eastwood is a better director than that, I have to put that fault directly on the actor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElisabethR.Dec 23, 2008
An amazing movie with a lot of spirit and amazing acting from Angelina Jolie
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinP.Oct 24, 2008
Excelent! This real life drama is stranger than fiction and shakes you from the beginning to the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterK.Dec 7, 2008
Jolie is stunning as a distraught mother, and Eastwood has given an authenticity to the story by meticulous costuming and sets that bring the viewers back to 1928/1935. The story may be difficult for some viewers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JudyTOct 31, 2008
Better than the critics say though it did feel long. In the end you understand why Eastwood wanted to finish the story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyB.Oct 31, 2008
Easily the best film I've seen this year, Changeling is Eastwood at the top of his game.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Feb 15, 2009
Beautifully made, a real effort was made towards the period detail. Angelina Jolie is indeed great. It's biggest flaw was it being too long, there were a few stretches that dragged a bit that should have been edited out. Fine costumes Beautifully made, a real effort was made towards the period detail. Angelina Jolie is indeed great. It's biggest flaw was it being too long, there were a few stretches that dragged a bit that should have been edited out. Fine costumes and art direction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
stevenrMar 15, 2009
Call me naive, but If it wasn't true, I would not have believed that people could be so inconsiderate, so uncaring, so ruthless, and that LA could have been that corrupt. This film belongs to Ms. Jolie who was magnificent, Mr. Eastwood, Call me naive, but If it wasn't true, I would not have believed that people could be so inconsiderate, so uncaring, so ruthless, and that LA could have been that corrupt. This film belongs to Ms. Jolie who was magnificent, Mr. Eastwood, I was engrossed from the beginning, and all those behind the scenes who made me feel like I was in the 20's and 30's. It is important for all to see: men to realize how their forefathers treated women and for women to know how brave those who paved the way were. I reserve a 10 for the greatest of all time, this is a 9.9! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
perenoSep 19, 2010
Big budget predictable Hollywood seen it all before average distraction. Recommended for those who want obvious cinema that presses all the buttons for you. Good old fashioned over the top professional pizza and a movie on a Sunday nightBig budget predictable Hollywood seen it all before average distraction. Recommended for those who want obvious cinema that presses all the buttons for you. Good old fashioned over the top professional pizza and a movie on a Sunday night entertainment. I give it a six out of ten cos I am a generous chap. The wife enjoyed it more than I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
A curious subject as true then as it is today. Clint Eastwood creates another grim circumstance in which a Mother has lost a child. This time, the government has seemingly taken him away from her.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscAug 30, 2014
when you see the credit " Directed By Clint Eastwood". Your gonna know its powerful by the prediction and your right it is. Changeling is shocking an a film that we never saw from director , producer Eastwood and a performance that Jolie haswhen you see the credit " Directed By Clint Eastwood". Your gonna know its powerful by the prediction and your right it is. Changeling is shocking an a film that we never saw from director , producer Eastwood and a performance that Jolie has never done before. The Fact is this movie is about a mother ( Angelina Jolie) an her son is missing. but then the police find the assumed boy Walter Collins then is not him. Mr. Eastwood tells stories that are sort over ratted like (Million Dollar Baby) also Eastwood knows the exactly how to create amazing movie he may not know if people or critics may like it or not but he does have an earn a film makers eye thats something that talent director earns. Grade A+. MY ADVISE TO MR. EAST WOOD IS KEEP DIRECTING MORE EXCITING MOVIES DO NOT LET ME DOWN ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
diogomendesMar 1, 2015
An extraordinarily acted, well-written and breathtakingly filmed piece of cinema that is partly underrated. This movie kept my attention from start to finish, and I think you will feel the same.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jelenabiebs31Jan 13, 2016
This is one of my favorite films. It's very sad but tells a great story about just how corrupt this world really is.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-162-Changeling-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews