User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 148

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Changeling is directed by Clint Eastwood (Great Director) and Angelina Jolie (Great Actress) which follows the story of Christine Collins (Great Story) whose son went missing on March 10th 1928, she reported her missing son to the police department (Great Department that is corrupt and would do whatever to keep their heads up, even by being corrupt) and the went searching for him. Three months later, they thought that they "found him" but as it turns out it is not her son, so the police department won't handle the truth (will give them great shame) so they decide to send to a The movie is actually very realistic and moving in a riveting way, with the first rate art direction (Great Direction) and great performances but heartbreaking story. When you watch Changeling, it sends you to the 1928, as if you feel that you are really someone in the movie, you get involved in everything Christine is involved in, it is truly amazing who you feel in the movie, you get disturbed and sad, but you would never want it to end, you still wanna live in the town to see what will happen next, it is really amusing and spectacular with photography and soundtrack that you will never ever forget. Everything above is greatness, which shows that Changeling is a true masterpiece and one of the best movies of all time. Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    A very strong drama with little to complain about. It combines two of my favorite genres of film: Drama and Thriller. I adore it to every minute. Never a boring part. Yes, some useless parts, but people with a heart will enjoy it.
  3. Apr 28, 2011
    6
    I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. Well directed, as you would expect from Eastwood, but I was mostly endeared by Jolies performance. Not quite Oscar standard but impressive none the less. The rest of the cast are adequate but, John Malkovich aside, there are no strong characters.

    Overall, weak in parts but well worth a watch.
  4. Jan 16, 2012
    5
    Solid performances by the cast but the thing about the movie is that it never really gets interesting. It doesnt capture you the way it should have and that is disapointing.
  5. May 18, 2012
    7
    A heart wrenching movie based off a true story. Angelina Jolie was excellent in her role as Christine Collins a distraught mother who's son is missing. Changeling is truly a heartbreaking film.
  6. Jan 28, 2011
    1
    Where to start? Jolie was miscast, but maybe they wanted to make an action flick when the project started, had her sign up, and by mistake started working of a script for a totally different movie. It might explain the title. Or what about the irritating self awareness of John Malkovich who'd you, at any point in the movie, expect to break the rule of the 'fourth wall', look smugly into a camera and tell the audience that he's really pleased with his performance so far. Story wise: horrible, unbelievable plot turns, starting right of the bat when a seemingly intelligent woman is given the wrong boy back, her supposed son, who disappeared a few months earlier. The boy is not her son, she takes him home anyway...
    ¤¤ Really? ¤¤ The story continuous with Jolie trying to explain to the world that the boy is an impostor who doesn't even match her son's height to which a dentist and a school teacher are willing to testify. Why family members, neighbors, school chums, the family physician, the baby sitter and E.T. the Extraterrestrial weren't asked to help resolve the obvious misconception on the part of the police, was conveniently left out of the tale completely. No, in stead of taking the boy into custody and resuming the search for the real son, the police keep pushing her into believing it actually is her son after which the woman finds herself in a poorly copied tale by Kafka. From this point on the movie reveals itself for what it was intended to be. An endless string of manipulative scenes drenched in an Oscar vinaigrette in both the melodramatic writing and the obnoxiously polished cinematography with a fetish-like attention to props. Some movies get Oscar nods, but this one actually nods back.
    Expand
  7. Sep 19, 2010
    10
    Big budget predictable Hollywood seen it all before average distraction. Recommended for those who want obvious cinema that presses all the buttons for you. Good old fashioned over the top professional pizza and a movie on a Sunday night entertainment. I give it a six out of ten cos I am a generous chap. The wife enjoyed it more than I did.
  8. Dec 6, 2010
    6
    Pretty good. A touching story. I like the the heart in this movie. I like movies with a nice story. They did a good job with the screen writing for this movie. This movie could have been a bad movie just as easy as it was a good one. Jolie did a fine job in this movie. One of her best performance ever. Jolie is an excellent actress.
  9. Mar 1, 2011
    0
    I'm talking bad. If Angelina Jolie is in a movie I would think people expect her to be naked. She was nominated, thrown a bone if you ask me, for her breathy method acting. Jeffrey Donovan is unable to do a Southern accent, among others. His acting is sub-par. Although I knew prior to seeing the movie what it was about the title "Changeling" led me to believe it was about aliens. The economy had tanked or was tanking and the real estate plunged so no one wanted to see a depressing movie. If it were not for all the aforementioned...it still would have bombed. Expand
  10. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the story was more emotional....the are movies what you don't sleep ... because you wait an answer... the best of best.............................................................. Expand
  11. Sep 3, 2014
    7
    A curious subject as true then as it is today. Clint Eastwood creates another grim circumstance in which a Mother has lost a child. This time, the government has seemingly taken him away from her.
  12. Jul 4, 2012
    5
    The movie start great very great , and after the middle the things just get more and more worst , to a disappointing final , but even when its not so great there is one women that handle us Angelina Jolie with his almost perfect actuation and his beaut
  13. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    when you see the credit " Directed By Clint Eastwood". Your gonna know its powerful by the prediction and your right it is. Changeling is shocking an a film that we never saw from director , producer Eastwood and a performance that Jolie has never done before. The Fact is this movie is about a mother ( Angelina Jolie) an her son is missing. but then the police find the assumed boy Walter Collins then is not him. Mr. Eastwood tells stories that are sort over ratted like (Million Dollar Baby) also Eastwood knows the exactly how to create amazing movie he may not know if people or critics may like it or not but he does have an earn a film makers eye thats something that talent director earns. Grade A+. MY ADVISE TO MR. EAST WOOD IS KEEP DIRECTING MORE EXCITING MOVIES DO NOT LET ME DOWN ! Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. In Changeling Eastwood continues to probe uncomfortable subjects to depict the individual and even existential struggle to do what is right.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    Emotionally powerful and stylistically sure-handed, this true story-inspired drama begins small with the disappearance of a young boy, only to gradually fan out to become a comprehensive critique of the entire power structure of Los Angeles, circa 1928.
  3. It would be a horrific story even if underplayed, but Eastwood shoots it like a horror movie.