Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 15, 2005
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 531 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
330
Mixed:
93
Negative:
108
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
FreedomFightersNov 3, 2016
Personally, I found this to be a very good remake! It's pretty well-acted, it's beautifully-designed, it's reasonably close to the source material, and it's got some pretty humorous moments sprinkled in. It's not the greatest piece of cinemaPersonally, I found this to be a very good remake! It's pretty well-acted, it's beautifully-designed, it's reasonably close to the source material, and it's got some pretty humorous moments sprinkled in. It's not the greatest piece of cinema we'll ever get to witness, but for all the bells and whistles, "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is an extremely fun and entertaining film that's definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
superbatSep 5, 2016
Even though the 1971 movie is better, Tim Burton's remake is still an achievement. This movie has better special effects, great acting (especially from Johnny Depp) and is delight from beginning to end. A great experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorAug 1, 2016
Tim Burton doesn't really care about what the audience says about this unforgettable recreation of one of the prettiest bestsellers ever, with an inventive story-telling, talented cast, great moments and enjoyable characters, so this filmTim Burton doesn't really care about what the audience says about this unforgettable recreation of one of the prettiest bestsellers ever, with an inventive story-telling, talented cast, great moments and enjoyable characters, so this film conserves the Ronald Dalh's style, giving a nice message for the whole family and delicious contents. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 1, 2016
For another Willy Wonka installment, it's weaker against the original 1971 movie. (I know, it's based on the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory book). It's still enjoyable and nothing's wrong with that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CharlieBetterIsJan 6, 2016
Tim Burton, como sempre, fazendo ótimos filmes que marcam época! E a Fantástica Fábrica de Chocolates não é diferente. Esse filme marcou minha infância. Ele é muito bem produzido, com uma história simples, encantadora e até crítica em certosTim Burton, como sempre, fazendo ótimos filmes que marcam época! E a Fantástica Fábrica de Chocolates não é diferente. Esse filme marcou minha infância. Ele é muito bem produzido, com uma história simples, encantadora e até crítica em certos aspectos, fazendo-o um filme grandioso Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoDec 5, 2015
A great movie , great design in the world in production of Willy Wonka 's factory , and a good plot, then failed the first film from how long ago , but it was very good .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Nov 26, 2015
Weird on every level, but that is what made it truely what it was. This remake is far better than the first crappy one. Depp was great and was such a lively character. Burton thought this one out well. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisSep 28, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. The detail and meticulous design of the sets, the costumes, the atmosphere of his films and how they all in some strange way impart a certain message of sorts that has a bizarre connection to real life. Tim Burton's 2005 adaptation of Roald Dahl's beloved children book "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" has a method to its madness and a meaning to its story. "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is one of Burton's best films since Big Fish and Sleepy Hollow. Tim Burton's take on the legendary tale of eccentric chocolate maker Willy Wonka and young dreamer Charlie Bucket is a film of meticulous design, it is meant to be a children movie but "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" plays out better as a quirky adult fantasy adventure with a PG rating. Burton doesn't spare any detail he uses all his style and energy to create the bleak world of Charlie Bucket and all his imagination and light hearted enthusiasm to make the beautiful chocolate factory of Willy Wonka, it's astounding how it works, how it moves along flawlessly telling it's story and just wowing the audience in each and every scene. It is not a cheap exploitation flick with a famous name slapped on it it is a story about a person, a place and a situation that comes to be fall that person (Freddie Highmore). Burton has not only updated a classic story for a modern generation he has effectively made a film that is both true to his quirky style and mainstream enough for modern audiences, It's one of the best films of the last decade and also one of Burton's very best. The film only works whether you believe in what you are seeing; it succeeds on how you look at it if you look at it with a cynical point of view than this film will be a terrible time and a complete waste of money to you. However, if you keep your eyes open and your mind clear of any doubt than this film will work wonders on your soul, your imagination and your imagination. Tim Burton's Charlie And The Chocolate Factory Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
hanneguacamoleJul 27, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As the lesser younger brother, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory does its job. It tells the story of the lovable Charlie Bucket but largely forgoes the Willy Wonka. What we're left with here is Johnny Depp as an unconvincing chocolatier. How are we supposed to take him seriously with his ridiculous attire and creepy mannerisms? He's giving away a chocolate factory; not running a child prostitution ring!

But forgive me, Roald Dahl. I'm not dissing your story. For what it's worth, I love the story. The chocolate and the candy and the factory was so amazing to me as a child. I loved the splendor and the fantasy that came along with it. I also loved watching this particular version as well, if even just for the opening credits. I think the movie works despite the semi-failure of one of the major characters. Each child is portrayed just as they should be with their respective flaws. They were as enthralling as they were revolting.

I also commend the cinematographer. How one manages to so accurately capture a child's imagination is beyond me, but I remember sitting in the theater in Kansas City watching this movie like it could have happened in my own head. Tim Burton creates a world with distorted humor in Willy Wonka's past and exuberant juvenility in the world he's created for the future – the factory. But of course, those still existing in that age won't notice. It's our dirty little secret.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleMay 25, 2015
A great adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic story, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory hits all the right notes along the way. Made with childlike enthusiasm and exuberance, the 2005 adaptation is gleefully weird and endlessly entertaining. ItA great adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic story, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory hits all the right notes along the way. Made with childlike enthusiasm and exuberance, the 2005 adaptation is gleefully weird and endlessly entertaining. It does a grab job mixing the touching scenes, funny moments, exciting scenes, and the incredibly weird, and the end result is a film that honestly shocked me. I did not expect to like this one as much as I did, but here I am praising it. Tim Burton's direction is great. The production and costume design are both top-notch as well. As for Johnny Depp, his performance is deliciously weird and he does a great job pealing back the chocolate exterior of Willy Wonka to expose his inner demons. Overall, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is actually a really good film with great production value and a great starring turn from Depp that really works as a cohesive film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
papeadojhonApr 5, 2015
Benefited with an excellent performance from Johnny Depp and enhanced with a touch Tim Burton, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is an entertaining trip to the eccentric world of Willy Wonka, which definitely surpasses the original movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
throastJan 9, 2015
A satisfying movie with stunning images and a wonderfully right amount of glee and satire. Also, (i read this in a lot of negative reviews) this movie wasn't supposed to be a remake at all, it was meant to be another interpretation of theA satisfying movie with stunning images and a wonderfully right amount of glee and satire. Also, (i read this in a lot of negative reviews) this movie wasn't supposed to be a remake at all, it was meant to be another interpretation of the book which Tim Burton totally succeeded in doing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaSep 12, 2014
This film was a nice one to watch, an left you with a nice feeling. Perhaps a lit childish, but Depp's acting kept you on the edge, all the time - and made you laugh more than just once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EdorkJun 1, 2014
This is so funny and heartwarming. I love the extra development behind Willy Wonka! The acting, music, and visuals are fantastic and captures the spirit of Roald Dahl better than the saccharine tone of the 70s movie with Gene Wilder.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMay 10, 2014
Tim Burton Presents a remake of Charlie and the chocolate factory . The Original had some very great creativity and anything you want in movie the word is" Entertaining" and is better then the original
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialNov 16, 2013
Personally, I liked "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory" better, but "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is still pretty good. Now, I didn't imagine that Johnny Depp would play Willy Wonka, and unfortunately, he doesn't fit there quite well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory gets a sugar rush.
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory excels with little difficulty under the direction of Tim Burton and the acting performances of Highmore and Depp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFAug 12, 2013
There was never really anybody else who could have been up to the task of reinventing such an iconic and unique character as Willy Wonka, Tim Burton knows how to make every part of the screen count, whether it is a shadowed corner or theThere was never really anybody else who could have been up to the task of reinventing such an iconic and unique character as Willy Wonka, Tim Burton knows how to make every part of the screen count, whether it is a shadowed corner or the clothing of a bizarre character, in this case, he re-imagines not only a classic children's tale, but also a very successful film that many will still argue is better than Burton's vision, wither way one cannot argue at the scope and imagine of this very different tale.
The film is told in a dreamy sort of sense, with a mans gentle yet deep voice narrating, he explains the situation of how Wonka became a worldwide phenomenon, but faltered due to spies within his factory, but how he decides to send out five golden tickets to hold a very special tour for those lucky recipients. Charlie (Freddie Highmore) is not the most well-off of children, living with his four grandparents and his mother and father, and dreams of being one of the lucky ticket finders. Across the world, four tickets are find, and Charlie cannot believe his luck when he is the fifth and final finder, and so he begins his whirlwind journey of songs, greedy children and of course, chocolate.
The man in the top hat is played by none other than the most versatile actor of his generation, Johnny Depp, who creates one of the strangest and yet most awe-inspiring performances of his career, showing a genius we don't fully understand, a man with his own emotional grievances and family issues, a relatable man. His tour of the factory combines some beautiful scenes and even some funny sing-alongs from the Oompa-Loompas, this time played by one person in the form of Deep Roy. The film has big ideas and leaves plenty of room for some very interesting characters, and it is the child actors who are on top form in the film throughout, the confident Mike Teevee (Jordan Fry), the spoilt yet cunning Veruca Salt (Julia Winter) and the athletic and cheeky Violet Beauregarde (AnnaSophia Robb). These characters have a commanding and often funny presence on screen as they explore the many wonders of the factory, a place brimming with excitement and imaginative moments at every turn, its easy to get lost in the marvel of creation at play here, and its a true delight to see such effort going into giving the film a decent story.
Closer to the source and certainly different from the original, whatever personal thoughts may go into each film, there is no denying the wonderful scope and imagination of Burton and Depp's Wonka, a crackpot genius with a juvenile personality and a flamboyant dress sense, as only a larger than life character can have, the film is much darker and tone but is definitely more suited to the current generation and style of film, definitely a creative piece through and through.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 24, 2011
This adaption is a fun film. It adds more comedy to the original and has a great result. The story is also better than the 1971 version. It is a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CRLAug 27, 2011
Deviating from Roald Dahl's lighthearted children's story, Tim Burton decided instead to use Johnny Depp to the fullest extent in a darkly comedic look at a classic. Their new imagining of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is suitably wackyDeviating from Roald Dahl's lighthearted children's story, Tim Burton decided instead to use Johnny Depp to the fullest extent in a darkly comedic look at a classic. Their new imagining of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is suitably wacky for a collaboration between the two of them. It's also a movie that never ceases to entertain everyone from its familiar beginning to its somewhat-kooky ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gm101Aug 26, 2011
Before I start, let me say that I never read the original book nor have I ever watched the old Willy Wonka movie, and frankly, I have no intention of doing either. So without any expectations, I ended up enjoying this fun movie. However, IBefore I start, let me say that I never read the original book nor have I ever watched the old Willy Wonka movie, and frankly, I have no intention of doing either. So without any expectations, I ended up enjoying this fun movie. However, I have to be honest in this review by saying Johnny Depp's performance in this movie was disappointing, becuase it just didn't feel like it was him, which is really unfortunate since I am a huge fan of him, especially in the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. But ignoring that, everything else in the movie is good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
PaxsterOct 23, 2010
Johnny Depp realises Tim Burton's strange adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic in one of his finest acting performances. He brings the bizarre to a character who was originally enigmatic, a bold and successful move. Not to mention the funkyJohnny Depp realises Tim Burton's strange adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic in one of his finest acting performances. He brings the bizarre to a character who was originally enigmatic, a bold and successful move. Not to mention the funky Umpa Lumpa songs, much better than 'Doo pa dee doo'. I don't care what the parents say, I prefer this version! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Oct 23, 2010
Tim Burton is the master of darkness. every movie he makes kicks a**. including this one. the cast was very supporting, the songs were enjoyable, the visuals were brilliant, and the cinematography was awesome. with Burton around, Charlie andTim Burton is the master of darkness. every movie he makes kicks a**. including this one. the cast was very supporting, the songs were enjoyable, the visuals were brilliant, and the cinematography was awesome. with Burton around, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is the best movie ever made. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
Tim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. TheTim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. The detail and meticulous design of the sets, the costumes, the atmosphere of his films and how they all in some strange way impart a certain message of sorts that has a bizarre connection to real life. Tim Burton's 2005 adaptation of Roald Dahl's beloved children book "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" has a method to its madness and a meaning to its story. "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is one of Burton's best films since Big Fish and Sleepy Hollow. Tim Burton's take on the legendary tale of eccentric chocolate maker Willy Wonka and young dreamer Charlie Bucket is a film of meticulous design, it is meant to be a children movie but "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" plays out better as a quirky adult fantasy adventure with a PG rating. Burton doesn't spare any detail he uses all his style and energy to create the bleak world of Charlie Bucket and all his imagination and light hearted enthusiasm to make the beautiful chocolate factory of Willy Wonka, it's astounding how it works, how it moves along flawlessly telling it's story and just wowing the audience in each and every scene. It is not a cheap exploitation flick with a famous name slapped on it it is a story about a person, a place and a situation that comes to be fall that person (Freddie Highmore). Burton has not only updated a classic story for a modern generation he has effectively made a film that is both true to his quirky style and mainstream enough for modern audiences, It's one of the best films of the last decade and also one of Burton's very best. The film only works whether you believe in what you are seeing; it succeeds on how you look at it if you look at it with a cynical point of view than this film will be a terrible time and a complete waste of money to you. However, if you keep your eyes open and your mind clear of any doubt than this film will work wonders on your soul, your imagination and your imagination. Tim Burton's "Charlie and the Chocolate Factoryâ Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
8
GinaL.Jan 18, 2009
I thought that this movie was okay. it wasnt GREAT. but it wasnt HORRIBLE. it was OKAY. the book has great detail, but the movie skipped many many parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MissyA.Jan 8, 2009
This movie was great, funny and entertaining. I love the BOOK "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" since I was young. I've watched the "Willy Wonka" movie a million times and I always thought something was missing...Now, finally Tim This movie was great, funny and entertaining. I love the BOOK "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" since I was young. I've watched the "Willy Wonka" movie a million times and I always thought something was missing...Now, finally Tim Burton has done the BOOK justice. I think most people need to relax. People are going crazy because they think it is a remake when in fact it is a re-adaption of the BOOK. Tim captured the true spirit of Roald Dahl's genius. And Depp did a wonderful job in capturing the true spirit of Willy Wonka from the BOOK. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JessAug 18, 2007
how many of you know that when Roald Dahl saw Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory before it was released literally walked out and called it a piece of trash??? I researched it because I too was a fan of the movie, and after reading the how many of you know that when Roald Dahl saw Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory before it was released literally walked out and called it a piece of trash??? I researched it because I too was a fan of the movie, and after reading the book totally understood why. This is one of the reasons why I love Charlie and the Chocolate Factory: Mr. Bucket gets to LIVE in this one!! The oompa loompa songs actually have Mr. Dahl's lyrics in them(I love Mike TeeVee's song!)!! Willy Wonka was described as looking like a little devil...Johnny wasn't given the pointy beard, but he did his acting how he though ROALD would like it! I also love how they included the castle made of chocolate, that was my favorite Grampa Joe story. For those of you talking about how much Johnny sounded more like Michael Jackson, I will agree...he does, but as I told my mother, there is a difference: Wonka doesn't LIKE children, where as Mr. Jackson...well, you know. I give this movie an 8 because there are some stupid flashbacks thrown into the mix and it seemed too short, but all in all it's a GREAT movie, and the kids(they were kinda scared of "the girl turning into a blue berry") and adults I know love it as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AshtonLJun 29, 2007
This movie is actually like the book. Not a remake of any kind. Freddy Highmore is adorable and Johnny Depp is... different in this family tale.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElizabethCDec 20, 2006
In my opinion, any movie with Johnny Depp is awesome. Great Remake.... better than the original. I saw it in theatre's twice!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Myles#13Sep 8, 2006
Although it's not as good as the original, this film is surprisingly good! It's quite funny, yet still maintains that good ol' Burton mood to it... unfortunately, people don't understand the guy's style. Oh and in Although it's not as good as the original, this film is surprisingly good! It's quite funny, yet still maintains that good ol' Burton mood to it... unfortunately, people don't understand the guy's style. Oh and in case you're wondering... Depp IS imitating Michael Jackson and is really witty in doing so... that little laugh makes me crack up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful