Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 15, 2005
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 541 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
337
Mixed:
94
Negative:
110
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 1, 2016
For another Willy Wonka installment, it's weaker against the original 1971 movie. (I know, it's based on the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory book). It's still enjoyable and nothing's wrong with that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleMay 25, 2015
A great adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic story, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory hits all the right notes along the way. Made with childlike enthusiasm and exuberance, the 2005 adaptation is gleefully weird and endlessly entertaining. ItA great adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic story, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory hits all the right notes along the way. Made with childlike enthusiasm and exuberance, the 2005 adaptation is gleefully weird and endlessly entertaining. It does a grab job mixing the touching scenes, funny moments, exciting scenes, and the incredibly weird, and the end result is a film that honestly shocked me. I did not expect to like this one as much as I did, but here I am praising it. Tim Burton's direction is great. The production and costume design are both top-notch as well. As for Johnny Depp, his performance is deliciously weird and he does a great job pealing back the chocolate exterior of Willy Wonka to expose his inner demons. Overall, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is actually a really good film with great production value and a great starring turn from Depp that really works as a cohesive film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheQuietGamerMar 26, 2011
Tim Burton takes the original mediocre movie and makes it worse, the acting sucks and the characters and acting is crap there is no reason to see this movie at all.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 26, 2013
In its quirky and fun ways, Chocolate Factory succeeds, especially with Depp as its leading man. Playing his usual kooky but fun character, Depp amazes you as Willy Wonka.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
beingryanjudeAug 29, 2014
I held higher hopes for Tim Burton on the reigns for this remake. Johnny Depp also gives a disappointingly creepy turn as Willy Wonka. Yes, there are some tasteful visuals but not much more.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
BrianMcCriticJun 29, 2013
As a big fan of the original I may be unfairly critical, but when you remake a classic you should be held to a high standard which this film fails to deliver.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Apr 3, 2012
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a pretty average for very weird movie. There's a distance, a detachment to this film. It lacks passion. But its has some very funny scenes with Jonny Depp.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
"Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" adds up overwhelming creativity into the book based movie. The result is that the movie got drunk with chocolate.
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMay 10, 2014
Tim Burton Presents a remake of Charlie and the chocolate factory . The Original had some very great creativity and anything you want in movie the word is" Entertaining" and is better then the original
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Nov 26, 2015
Weird on every level, but that is what made it truely what it was. This remake is far better than the first crappy one. Depp was great and was such a lively character. Burton thought this one out well. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuJan 2, 2015
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is an amusing adaptation from Tim Burton. His style is stamped all over this movie in everything from ethos to characters to design. The film is not successful 100% of the time but it's a more than adequateCharlie and the Chocolate Factory is an amusing adaptation from Tim Burton. His style is stamped all over this movie in everything from ethos to characters to design. The film is not successful 100% of the time but it's a more than adequate re-interpretation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoDec 5, 2015
A great movie , great design in the world in production of Willy Wonka 's factory , and a good plot, then failed the first film from how long ago , but it was very good .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 24, 2011
This adaption is a fun film. It adds more comedy to the original and has a great result. The story is also better than the 1971 version. It is a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaSep 12, 2014
This film was a nice one to watch, an left you with a nice feeling. Perhaps a lit childish, but Depp's acting kept you on the edge, all the time - and made you laugh more than just once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Oct 23, 2010
Tim Burton is the master of darkness. every movie he makes kicks a**. including this one. the cast was very supporting, the songs were enjoyable, the visuals were brilliant, and the cinematography was awesome. with Burton around, Charlie andTim Burton is the master of darkness. every movie he makes kicks a**. including this one. the cast was very supporting, the songs were enjoyable, the visuals were brilliant, and the cinematography was awesome. with Burton around, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is the best movie ever made. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFAug 12, 2013
There was never really anybody else who could have been up to the task of reinventing such an iconic and unique character as Willy Wonka, Tim Burton knows how to make every part of the screen count, whether it is a shadowed corner or theThere was never really anybody else who could have been up to the task of reinventing such an iconic and unique character as Willy Wonka, Tim Burton knows how to make every part of the screen count, whether it is a shadowed corner or the clothing of a bizarre character, in this case, he re-imagines not only a classic children's tale, but also a very successful film that many will still argue is better than Burton's vision, wither way one cannot argue at the scope and imagine of this very different tale.
The film is told in a dreamy sort of sense, with a mans gentle yet deep voice narrating, he explains the situation of how Wonka became a worldwide phenomenon, but faltered due to spies within his factory, but how he decides to send out five golden tickets to hold a very special tour for those lucky recipients. Charlie (Freddie Highmore) is not the most well-off of children, living with his four grandparents and his mother and father, and dreams of being one of the lucky ticket finders. Across the world, four tickets are find, and Charlie cannot believe his luck when he is the fifth and final finder, and so he begins his whirlwind journey of songs, greedy children and of course, chocolate.
The man in the top hat is played by none other than the most versatile actor of his generation, Johnny Depp, who creates one of the strangest and yet most awe-inspiring performances of his career, showing a genius we don't fully understand, a man with his own emotional grievances and family issues, a relatable man. His tour of the factory combines some beautiful scenes and even some funny sing-alongs from the Oompa-Loompas, this time played by one person in the form of Deep Roy. The film has big ideas and leaves plenty of room for some very interesting characters, and it is the child actors who are on top form in the film throughout, the confident Mike Teevee (Jordan Fry), the spoilt yet cunning Veruca Salt (Julia Winter) and the athletic and cheeky Violet Beauregarde (AnnaSophia Robb). These characters have a commanding and often funny presence on screen as they explore the many wonders of the factory, a place brimming with excitement and imaginative moments at every turn, its easy to get lost in the marvel of creation at play here, and its a true delight to see such effort going into giving the film a decent story.
Closer to the source and certainly different from the original, whatever personal thoughts may go into each film, there is no denying the wonderful scope and imagination of Burton and Depp's Wonka, a crackpot genius with a juvenile personality and a flamboyant dress sense, as only a larger than life character can have, the film is much darker and tone but is definitely more suited to the current generation and style of film, definitely a creative piece through and through.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
axelkochJun 11, 2013
Tim Burton's weird adaption of Roald Dahl's novel is a partly hilarious movie that stars a fantastic Johnny Depp as the maverick chocolatier and Freddie Highmore as the eponymous boy who is allowed to pay a visit to the former's mysteriousTim Burton's weird adaption of Roald Dahl's novel is a partly hilarious movie that stars a fantastic Johnny Depp as the maverick chocolatier and Freddie Highmore as the eponymous boy who is allowed to pay a visit to the former's mysterious chocolate factory. While the funny, yet not at all musically complex musical numbers are a welcome and amusing gimmick and Depp provides all-ages-entertainment at its best, very little of this movie stays in memory. The production design and the costumes are impressive, but it's the 21st century and a creative director like Mr. Burton could've really made more out of the source material. Furthermore, most of the movie's cast is miserable and extremely overacts their parts. The bad performances are also bred by the utterly silly screenplay that may contain good laughs for pre-school kids, however, is oftentimes boring and really cheaply written. I can't help myself but think that Mr. Burton didn't even utilize half of the potential that the original story has. But besides that, it's a very enjoyable family movie that has truly humorous scenes for both kids and adults. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialNov 16, 2013
Personally, I liked "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory" better, but "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is still pretty good. Now, I didn't imagine that Johnny Depp would play Willy Wonka, and unfortunately, he doesn't fit there quite well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory gets a sugar rush.
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory excels with little difficulty under the direction of Tim Burton and the acting performances of Highmore and Depp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorAug 1, 2016
Tim Burton doesn't really care about what the audience says about this unforgettable recreation of one of the prettiest bestsellers ever, with an inventive story-telling, talented cast, great moments and enjoyable characters, so this filmTim Burton doesn't really care about what the audience says about this unforgettable recreation of one of the prettiest bestsellers ever, with an inventive story-telling, talented cast, great moments and enjoyable characters, so this film conserves the Ronald Dalh's style, giving a nice message for the whole family and delicious contents. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FreedomFightersNov 3, 2016
Personally, I found this to be a very good remake! It's pretty well-acted, it's beautifully-designed, it's reasonably close to the source material, and it's got some pretty humorous moments sprinkled in. It's not the greatest piece of cinemaPersonally, I found this to be a very good remake! It's pretty well-acted, it's beautifully-designed, it's reasonably close to the source material, and it's got some pretty humorous moments sprinkled in. It's not the greatest piece of cinema we'll ever get to witness, but for all the bells and whistles, "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is an extremely fun and entertaining film that's definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyFeb 15, 2017
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a wondrous movie that while not as good as the original, is still a fun ride and enjoyable to watch. Charlie is great in the movie, but unfortunately some of the other kids are not as good. It has its upsCharlie and the Chocolate Factory is a wondrous movie that while not as good as the original, is still a fun ride and enjoyable to watch. Charlie is great in the movie, but unfortunately some of the other kids are not as good. It has its ups and downs, but I would recommend giving it watch if you haven't seen it yet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gm101Aug 26, 2011
Before I start, let me say that I never read the original book nor have I ever watched the old Willy Wonka movie, and frankly, I have no intention of doing either. So without any expectations, I ended up enjoying this fun movie. However, IBefore I start, let me say that I never read the original book nor have I ever watched the old Willy Wonka movie, and frankly, I have no intention of doing either. So without any expectations, I ended up enjoying this fun movie. However, I have to be honest in this review by saying Johnny Depp's performance in this movie was disappointing, becuase it just didn't feel like it was him, which is really unfortunate since I am a huge fan of him, especially in the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. But ignoring that, everything else in the movie is good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
LoRevisorJan 15, 2015
É divertido no mínimo,Johnny Depp arrasa como Willy Wonka,Mas o filme para um adulto ou um próprio adolescente já não tem muita graça. Falta ação é claro,porém tem seus momentos
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
This is the perfect example of a film that never needed to be made. It adds nothing to the original film and if anything it takes away from the original. This Burton remake has none of the charm of the original and what it lacks in charm itThis is the perfect example of a film that never needed to be made. It adds nothing to the original film and if anything it takes away from the original. This Burton remake has none of the charm of the original and what it lacks in charm it makes up in the creepy Burton style. That said the film is more faithful to the book but that doesn't make it any more enjoyable. If you like the book go and see it. If you love the original film you might just want to skip this remake. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
PaxsterOct 23, 2010
Johnny Depp realises Tim Burton's strange adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic in one of his finest acting performances. He brings the bizarre to a character who was originally enigmatic, a bold and successful move. Not to mention the funkyJohnny Depp realises Tim Burton's strange adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic in one of his finest acting performances. He brings the bizarre to a character who was originally enigmatic, a bold and successful move. Not to mention the funky Umpa Lumpa songs, much better than 'Doo pa dee doo'. I don't care what the parents say, I prefer this version! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
superbatSep 5, 2016
Even though the 1971 movie is better, Tim Burton's remake is still an achievement. This movie has better special effects, great acting (especially from Johnny Depp) and is delight from beginning to end. A great experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NecromusDec 4, 2012
This movie was okay and I really enjoyed Johnny Depp's Michael Jackson-esque version of WIlly Wonka (although he's stated on the Ellen show that his inspiration was imagining what a stoned George W. Bush would act like lol). But I prefer theThis movie was okay and I really enjoyed Johnny Depp's Michael Jackson-esque version of WIlly Wonka (although he's stated on the Ellen show that his inspiration was imagining what a stoned George W. Bush would act like lol). But I prefer the original over this version. The one thing that really annoyed me in this movie was how bad the Oompa Loompa scenes were, the music was way too fast to understand what they were saying. In the original movie what they were saying was the focus of the movie, that got lost in translation in this remake. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisSep 28, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. The detail and meticulous design of the sets, the costumes, the atmosphere of his films and how they all in some strange way impart a certain message of sorts that has a bizarre connection to real life. Tim Burton's 2005 adaptation of Roald Dahl's beloved children book "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" has a method to its madness and a meaning to its story. "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is one of Burton's best films since Big Fish and Sleepy Hollow. Tim Burton's take on the legendary tale of eccentric chocolate maker Willy Wonka and young dreamer Charlie Bucket is a film of meticulous design, it is meant to be a children movie but "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" plays out better as a quirky adult fantasy adventure with a PG rating. Burton doesn't spare any detail he uses all his style and energy to create the bleak world of Charlie Bucket and all his imagination and light hearted enthusiasm to make the beautiful chocolate factory of Willy Wonka, it's astounding how it works, how it moves along flawlessly telling it's story and just wowing the audience in each and every scene. It is not a cheap exploitation flick with a famous name slapped on it it is a story about a person, a place and a situation that comes to be fall that person (Freddie Highmore). Burton has not only updated a classic story for a modern generation he has effectively made a film that is both true to his quirky style and mainstream enough for modern audiences, It's one of the best films of the last decade and also one of Burton's very best. The film only works whether you believe in what you are seeing; it succeeds on how you look at it if you look at it with a cynical point of view than this film will be a terrible time and a complete waste of money to you. However, if you keep your eyes open and your mind clear of any doubt than this film will work wonders on your soul, your imagination and your imagination. Tim Burton's Charlie And The Chocolate Factory Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
eTurkeyFeb 15, 2012
Unlike the 1971 film 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory', this movie manages to stray closer to the original book that Roald Dahl penned. The result creates a more weird and quirky atmosphere that even Tim Burton fanboys are used to.Unlike the 1971 film 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory', this movie manages to stray closer to the original book that Roald Dahl penned. The result creates a more weird and quirky atmosphere that even Tim Burton fanboys are used to. Whilst the soundtrack was orchestrated beautifully by longtime collaborator Danny Elfman, it was another fellow confederate in Johnny Depp who was puzzling. His portrayal of Willy Wonka was so random in his mannerisms you couldn't help but scream out for Gene Wilder. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
hanneguacamoleJul 27, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As the lesser younger brother, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory does its job. It tells the story of the lovable Charlie Bucket but largely forgoes the Willy Wonka. What we're left with here is Johnny Depp as an unconvincing chocolatier. How are we supposed to take him seriously with his ridiculous attire and creepy mannerisms? He's giving away a chocolate factory; not running a child prostitution ring!

But forgive me, Roald Dahl. I'm not dissing your story. For what it's worth, I love the story. The chocolate and the candy and the factory was so amazing to me as a child. I loved the splendor and the fantasy that came along with it. I also loved watching this particular version as well, if even just for the opening credits. I think the movie works despite the semi-failure of one of the major characters. Each child is portrayed just as they should be with their respective flaws. They were as enthralling as they were revolting.

I also commend the cinematographer. How one manages to so accurately capture a child's imagination is beyond me, but I remember sitting in the theater in Kansas City watching this movie like it could have happened in my own head. Tim Burton creates a world with distorted humor in Willy Wonka's past and exuberant juvenility in the world he's created for the future – the factory. But of course, those still existing in that age won't notice. It's our dirty little secret.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CRLAug 27, 2011
Deviating from Roald Dahl's lighthearted children's story, Tim Burton decided instead to use Johnny Depp to the fullest extent in a darkly comedic look at a classic. Their new imagining of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is suitably wackyDeviating from Roald Dahl's lighthearted children's story, Tim Burton decided instead to use Johnny Depp to the fullest extent in a darkly comedic look at a classic. Their new imagining of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is suitably wacky for a collaboration between the two of them. It's also a movie that never ceases to entertain everyone from its familiar beginning to its somewhat-kooky ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KarthXLRSep 3, 2010
I simply can't wrap my mind around how this movie has such high critical scores. Personally, I think Tim Burton is a visionary genius, but he can only work with stories that his type of directing specializes in: outcasts. In this movie, WonkaI simply can't wrap my mind around how this movie has such high critical scores. Personally, I think Tim Burton is a visionary genius, but he can only work with stories that his type of directing specializes in: outcasts. In this movie, Wonka isn't an outcast, he's just weird and even creepy at times. All this balanced out by not-so-great songs and a cast that simply can't beat the original. Not the worst film, but overrated at the very least. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
Tim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. TheTim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. The detail and meticulous design of the sets, the costumes, the atmosphere of his films and how they all in some strange way impart a certain message of sorts that has a bizarre connection to real life. Tim Burton's 2005 adaptation of Roald Dahl's beloved children book "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" has a method to its madness and a meaning to its story. "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is one of Burton's best films since Big Fish and Sleepy Hollow. Tim Burton's take on the legendary tale of eccentric chocolate maker Willy Wonka and young dreamer Charlie Bucket is a film of meticulous design, it is meant to be a children movie but "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" plays out better as a quirky adult fantasy adventure with a PG rating. Burton doesn't spare any detail he uses all his style and energy to create the bleak world of Charlie Bucket and all his imagination and light hearted enthusiasm to make the beautiful chocolate factory of Willy Wonka, it's astounding how it works, how it moves along flawlessly telling it's story and just wowing the audience in each and every scene. It is not a cheap exploitation flick with a famous name slapped on it it is a story about a person, a place and a situation that comes to be fall that person (Freddie Highmore). Burton has not only updated a classic story for a modern generation he has effectively made a film that is both true to his quirky style and mainstream enough for modern audiences, It's one of the best films of the last decade and also one of Burton's very best. The film only works whether you believe in what you are seeing; it succeeds on how you look at it if you look at it with a cynical point of view than this film will be a terrible time and a complete waste of money to you. However, if you keep your eyes open and your mind clear of any doubt than this film will work wonders on your soul, your imagination and your imagination. Tim Burton's "Charlie and the Chocolate Factoryâ Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
5
kuehnauJun 3, 2016
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory isn't a bad movie by any means, the problem is that not only does it appear to be a abridged version of the classic movie so many of us grew up with, but they made Willy Wonka some what of a weirdo and creep.Charlie and the Chocolate Factory isn't a bad movie by any means, the problem is that not only does it appear to be a abridged version of the classic movie so many of us grew up with, but they made Willy Wonka some what of a weirdo and creep.

The new ending to the film feels forced at best. I think what people wanted was a fresh take on a old film without having too much changed, the fact is, they changed enough to make it an issue for people who held the classic in such high regards.

Many of the classic scenes were either changed or removed entirely. The Ompa Lompa songs were altered in a way I did not find enjoyable. Other times I was wondering were other scenes have gone entirely. The whole plot of Slug Worth working for Wonka. The classic scene where Charlie and his Grandfather "steal" fizzy lifting drinkings was also removed.

I have no problem with people re-imagining a classic, my problem lies with the amount of changes made.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GamecubeLoverJul 20, 2016
The acting is okay and the special effects are better. I like the original better but this one follows the book almost all the time. But I find the characters much more better in the book than the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
papeadojhonApr 5, 2015
Benefited with an excellent performance from Johnny Depp and enhanced with a touch Tim Burton, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is an entertaining trip to the eccentric world of Willy Wonka, which definitely surpasses the original movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EdorkJun 1, 2014
This is so funny and heartwarming. I love the extra development behind Willy Wonka! The acting, music, and visuals are fantastic and captures the spirit of Roald Dahl better than the saccharine tone of the 70s movie with Gene Wilder.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CharlieBetterIsJan 6, 2016
Tim Burton, como sempre, fazendo ótimos filmes que marcam época! E a Fantástica Fábrica de Chocolates não é diferente. Esse filme marcou minha infância. Ele é muito bem produzido, com uma história simples, encantadora e até crítica em certosTim Burton, como sempre, fazendo ótimos filmes que marcam época! E a Fantástica Fábrica de Chocolates não é diferente. Esse filme marcou minha infância. Ele é muito bem produzido, com uma história simples, encantadora e até crítica em certos aspectos, fazendo-o um filme grandioso Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
TheGamer31Dec 8, 2012
This movie sucked. It completely changed from the original movie which I love, and the books. I have no idea why this movie was even made. WHY!? WHY DID THEY MAKE IT?!!
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
saffronfAug 29, 2005
I loved the film as soon as i watched it the umpa lumpas are my fav because i loved thier song chewing chewing they should make a cd from thier songs. johnny depp was really great for the part of willy wonka.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jrAug 9, 2005
Superb!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FabioC.Sep 29, 2005
Wonderful movie. Great acting (Depp plays an intriguing Wonka, Highmore is a truly expressive Charlie), stunning visuals, usual great music by Elfman, great humour, the Oompa-Loompas... Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
alicew.Oct 24, 2005
Delightfully creepy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CAENTDec 6, 2005
It was a decent movie, but if your like me, and have watched the original, this comes nowhere even close. The oompa loompas were horrible, Johnny Depp, didnt do a bad job, but his character (willy wonka) was annoying, silly, and sometimes It was a decent movie, but if your like me, and have watched the original, this comes nowhere even close. The oompa loompas were horrible, Johnny Depp, didnt do a bad job, but his character (willy wonka) was annoying, silly, and sometimes boring. The one cool thing about this movie, was that we got to see into Wonka's past and how he became a chocolate maker. The young kid, playing Charlie, did an excellent job, but overall, this movie was a huge letdown. Alot of the humor fell short, and Gene Wilder is a much better fit for Willy Wonka, both as an actor and in the script. This was definately a remake of sorts, mainly aimed towards the younger audience. I was hoping it was like the original, but with Tim Burton's amazing talent. But it wasnt. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LemonC.Jul 15, 2005
Anyone who says this movie sucks is just a hater because this movie is fierce!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BitBurnJul 31, 2005
It was alright I thought, except for the singing part that were bugging me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JulioJul 30, 2005
Is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
emmaw.Aug 31, 2005
I think it awsome. JONNY YOU ROCK and yer i want the golden ticket =p
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
mobiusAug 4, 2005
Enjoyable film. the problem is that the americans have ran out of ideas for films and have now gone back to remake anyfilm they can get a licence to. personally im waiting for the remake of men in black, im sure the yanks will remake that in Enjoyable film. the problem is that the americans have ran out of ideas for films and have now gone back to remake anyfilm they can get a licence to. personally im waiting for the remake of men in black, im sure the yanks will remake that in a couple of years Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JackB.Mar 29, 2008
A shocking and unnecessary remake. What a complete and utter piece of tripe. Tim Burton and Johnny Depp should be ashamed of themselves.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SpiroA.Nov 29, 2005
If you love Tim Burton flicks and haven't read the book or seen the Wilder movie, you will probably like or even love this movie. If you've read the Dahl book, seen the original movie with Wilder, and or dislike Burton flicks (as I If you love Tim Burton flicks and haven't read the book or seen the Wilder movie, you will probably like or even love this movie. If you've read the Dahl book, seen the original movie with Wilder, and or dislike Burton flicks (as I do), you will probably be disappointed or outright disgusted. Burton's perverse rendition is a disjointed freak show that relies on quirkiness and cinematography over character development and plot. The movie does nothing to distinguish itself and pales in comparison to the original. It also assininely changes important storylines from the book and the Wilder flick to it's detriment. The movie left me thinking, "Hmmmm... some of the lines were funny, the sets were neat, and some of the acting was okay, but overall this really sucks". I gave a 2 rating only because of the quirkiness and cinematography (both Burton staples). If you dislike Burton, love Wilder, and/or Dahl, this movie will piss you off and leave you puzzled and empty. Otherwise, rent it and it may amuse you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WallyS.Dec 6, 2005
A true family film, technically masterfull, brilliantly directed, and Depp once more prooves himself an excellent actor. The art direction, fantastic. The score, superb...and the fun never stops.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CrystalS.Oct 27, 2005
I loved this movie. Tim Burton is the best no matter whta people think. The movie was NOT a remake or a sequel..It was what tim thought it should be so he expressed it how he saw it, U go tim burton. Work ur magic!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BmanOct 28, 2005
Depp aint no Gene Wilder. What a pile of tripe.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KatherineBOct 30, 2005
This movie is still horrendous. I would call it "scum," but I'm too nice of a person. In my earlier review, I pointed out positive aspects of the movie. Well, really, I pointed out aspects of the movie that weren't as devastatingly This movie is still horrendous. I would call it "scum," but I'm too nice of a person. In my earlier review, I pointed out positive aspects of the movie. Well, really, I pointed out aspects of the movie that weren't as devastatingly horrible as Depp's performance. The Oompa Loompas are bad, the writing is bad, the acting is bad, and the aesthetic elements are only enough to entertain those who aren't yet old enough to understand that movies aren't all about pretty pictures and sing alongs. The only reason I give it a 2 now is to appease Nick R. And I do **think about [my] score**. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
LaurenUJul 15, 2005
Pros: The script is closer to the book, which was nice The acting of the children was surprisingly good. The flaming puppet introduction. The store designs. They were amazing, breathtaking set designs, but the only ones of their kind in the Pros: The script is closer to the book, which was nice The acting of the children was surprisingly good. The flaming puppet introduction. The store designs. They were amazing, breathtaking set designs, but the only ones of their kind in the movie. The other set designs I found were suprisingly uninspired, especially for Burton. Cons: So many sets were direct copies of the original movie, why even bother with the remake? Johnny Depp's performance made Wonka creepy (and not in a good, Gene Wilder way) and vaguely revolting and the over-stylized delivery made even his humorous lines fall flat The Wonka backstory was formulaic, sappy, useless, and not true to even the sentiment of the book. Why were all the Oompa-loompas played by one actor? Tim Burton, if anything, is gifted at making beautiful things look rather sinister and sinister things beautiful, but this movie was so flawless and bright that it looked sterile and boring. Also, this movie provided so many great opportunities to insert visual gags regarding other, fantastical candies in development at the Wonka factory and to feature twisted and complicated machines (that I know Burton can design) to make the candies, but he totally dropped the ball. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MRJul 15, 2005
Special efffects were good...we all know the story , so basically we watch jhonny depp do a creepy micheal jackson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisJJul 15, 2005
This is fantastic. Even better than the original. It has more vision and is true to the book. SEE IT IN IMAX, It is even beter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
cripij.Jul 15, 2005
Nice and overwhelming experience trough candymaster Burton and cripi actor Depp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanGJul 15, 2005
I think Prudence K. may, in fact be schizo. ("Worst film of the year...or the best...I HATED IT" um..what?!?) It's people like that who give user reviews a bad rep. This is neither the worst film of the year (we still have 5 months I think Prudence K. may, in fact be schizo. ("Worst film of the year...or the best...I HATED IT" um..what?!?) It's people like that who give user reviews a bad rep. This is neither the worst film of the year (we still have 5 months left, Prude! Unless perhaps you're clairvoyant) nor the best, but it is a marked improvement over Burtons last few films (though Big Fish is highly underrated) and Depp's performance is SUPPOSED to be creepy. That's kind of the point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeC.Jul 16, 2005
i think people like Seth A should let big people review movies- and maybe so some homework. The movie is based off on a book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosipMJul 16, 2005
The best movie in quite some time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LolaR.Jul 16, 2005
Warning Will Robinson do not go see it. Bad - Bad - Bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AaronF.Jul 16, 2005
this movie was...interesting. in my opinion the original is better because of its more 'magical' qualities. wilder's willy wonka is superior to depp's because depp becomes annoying as the film progresses (there is only so this movie was...interesting. in my opinion the original is better because of its more 'magical' qualities. wilder's willy wonka is superior to depp's because depp becomes annoying as the film progresses (there is only so much weird one can take). also the imagery, though more consistent with the book, looks processed at times. i will say that the children are overall better cast here than in the original (with the exception of veruca salt - "i want it now" will always be a favorite) and it is an enjoyable watch. i recommend it for the casual movie-goer, it's great fun but not cult-classic good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdJul 17, 2005
Honestly, the best move I've seen all summer, and one of the most entertaining movies I've seen in quite some time. Johnny Depp's performance is hysterically quirky and still loveable despite what all the critics say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ClintM.Jul 18, 2005
Johnny Dep is BRILLIANT! Can I just say that? He created the hilarious and memorable "Jack Sparrow" in Pirates of the Carribean, and now he's made a whole new, whackier, weirder, and BETTER Willy Wonka! There's a darker side to be Johnny Dep is BRILLIANT! Can I just say that? He created the hilarious and memorable "Jack Sparrow" in Pirates of the Carribean, and now he's made a whole new, whackier, weirder, and BETTER Willy Wonka! There's a darker side to be seen in this Wonka but a darker side w/a story to tell. Which is another reason I enjoyed this version just as much (if not more) as the original: there was more "meat on the bones". There's still a lot of the same mishaps and eye candy as before, but we get a new ending which is far superior to the original in my eyes. The kids are hilarious and annoying at the same time, the visuals are superb, but again, Johnny Depp is absolutely wonderful, proving he's the best Hollywood's got to offer right now. You'll find yourself smiling and laughing the entire time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeremiahC.Jul 18, 2005
Good remake. Same concept as the first movie, with a few twists and turns to keep you guessing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlK.Jul 18, 2005
Disgusting movie compared to the original. They completely ruined it. The music was horrible and lost the classic Oompa Loompa song. The cheap director also reuses ONE character for every oompa loompa. The modernized oompa song is Disgusting movie compared to the original. They completely ruined it. The music was horrible and lost the classic Oompa Loompa song. The cheap director also reuses ONE character for every oompa loompa. The modernized oompa song is dispicable. The so called "comedy" was not funny, and the acting was very poor on behalf of Charlie. The grandfather also has very poor acting. The reason behind Willy's "fear" b/c of his father is just plain stupid. This movie was horrible and I would pay $6.50 to you just NOT to see it. Ever lasting gobstopper? It's the size of a baseball. Lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeT.V.Jul 18, 2005
Almost too good. Burton, Depp, and a fantastic chocolate factory. seriously, what more do you want?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
michab.Jul 19, 2005
This is the worst movie ever I hate it an i like The O.C Better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TerryS.Jul 23, 2005
good movie heavily dragged down by depp.No longer riffing on Richards,Burton appars to be feeding wonka chunks of austin powers/dr. evil and depp only shines during the moments he is riffing on Myers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MaryH.Jul 23, 2005
Mr. Depp's acting talents seem to have disappeared in this movie, lending no charm or depth to the role of Willie Wonka. What should have been a high point of the film, was barely tolerable. After the first half hour I was looking at my Mr. Depp's acting talents seem to have disappeared in this movie, lending no charm or depth to the role of Willie Wonka. What should have been a high point of the film, was barely tolerable. After the first half hour I was looking at my watch hoping it was a short film. And keep in mind that I am a great fan of Tim Burton, Johnny Depp and the story of Willa Wonka! So the disappointment was triple! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DoctaJul 23, 2005
Aweful in so many ways. If I ever see the guy who plays the Oompa Loompas I'm gonna kick him in the nuts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobertB.Jul 25, 2005
Suprisingly warm with a picture perfect ending. I have to admit that I was a bit worried about this film prior to seeing it due in part to the lukewarm reviews I had read. Especially considering most of these reviews focused on a poor Suprisingly warm with a picture perfect ending. I have to admit that I was a bit worried about this film prior to seeing it due in part to the lukewarm reviews I had read. Especially considering most of these reviews focused on a poor performance from Johnny Depp. Well, you can always count on the critics to muddy things up, most predictably regarding any film that is a "remake." They don't like'em, period. I, however, found Depp to be quite good. Very funny and creatively unique. Both of which are becoming trademark characteristics. Charlie was likeable and warm and all the other characters are well cast and non-distracting. If you are going to see a newer version of the original, don't go. Remember, this is not a musical and is defintely recognizeable as a Tim Burton film. I particularly enjoyed the flashback scenes of Wonka as a child as well as discovering the umpa-lumpas. A visually interesting piece, laced with a quirky style of cerebral humor, and slightly altered to stand on it's own as a film Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a keeper. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JDFitzmauriceJul 26, 2005
Wow, what a dissapointment. I was really looking forward to Tim Burtons take on Dahl's twisted story and Johnny Deep's take on the sugar mogel himself but this film in no way met my expectations. Firstly the settings although Wow, what a dissapointment. I was really looking forward to Tim Burtons take on Dahl's twisted story and Johnny Deep's take on the sugar mogel himself but this film in no way met my expectations. Firstly the settings although fantastically Burton like held no charm or appeal. The factory itself was not the magical world of wonder a child like Charlie would want to make his own more like a sterile house of horror. Charlie himself was likeable and Dave Kelly was a loveable rogue as Granpa Joe but the rest of the children and parents were just not so unlikable that you looked forward to their demise, unlike the kids of the book who made the reader want to tear out pages. In fact on the contrary it was like Wonka was running some sick torture factory for his hapless guests. Now to Wonka, I love Johnny Depp but this was far and away his worst performance. Instead of portraying Wonka as a charismatic madman we were presented with none other that Michael Jackson, sure he was creepy and odd but like Jackson had no redeemable characteristics. As a huge fan of the original it was always going to be hard to watch a remake but I really thought Burton would nail it, unfortunetly I came out feeling like a nasty child who had just met his demise in the evil factory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
cassidyhJul 27, 2005
This movie i think was one of the best remakes (out at this time). It went into more detail about willy than the origianal movie which was nice. Being a 13 year old it was nice to see that it had funny parts about Willy's "daddy" This movie i think was one of the best remakes (out at this time). It went into more detail about willy than the origianal movie which was nice. Being a 13 year old it was nice to see that it had funny parts about Willy's "daddy" issues. The acting by jonny depp was incredible! (no doubt i am a jonny fan) but i think he gave an excellent effort. The childrens acting i thought wasn't perfect but good , the casting was PERFECT! i loved the opma lumpa's they/he were/was excellent. The best part in that movie to me was @ the end when charlie was shining Mr.Wonka's show and commented on willy's hair!! THAT WAS FUNNY! :D Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JonathanH.Jul 30, 2005
The vacuous performance by Depp is like a black hole in the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcDAug 17, 2005
Great entertainment. A movie which succeeds in doing what all entertainment should be doing with more regularity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LaurenS.Aug 19, 2005
Depp is uncomfortably creepy, far cry from the orignal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewWDAug 3, 2005
Unbelievably bad. I can't even scratch the surface of this movie's failings in this short review. I love the original, but this version is truly horrible. Awful, awful, awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnH.Aug 3, 2005
Perhaps I am easily impressed, but I found Depp's faces to be absolutely hilarious. And, can you believe the nerve of the people that suggest that the Oompa-Loompa songs (song) were better in the original?! Watching the original at my Perhaps I am easily impressed, but I found Depp's faces to be absolutely hilarious. And, can you believe the nerve of the people that suggest that the Oompa-Loompa songs (song) were better in the original?! Watching the original at my house, and then seeing this, I found I enjoyed Charlie much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BradR.Aug 9, 2005
I was looking forward to this movie, as the original was one of my favourite childhood films. I took my daughter to see it, and her reaction was not too dissimilar from my own: fairly subdued. When compared to the original there was very I was looking forward to this movie, as the original was one of my favourite childhood films. I took my daughter to see it, and her reaction was not too dissimilar from my own: fairly subdued. When compared to the original there was very little that was better. Johnny Depp's performance was a brave attempt to be somewhat different, but the effete character he portrayed never seemed to have genuine enthusiasm to be Willy Wonka (I could not help but think in parts he resembled the 'misunderstood' Michael Jackson), as opposed to Gene Wilder's zaniness and great humour. The songs of the Oompa-loompas were difficult to understand given the music, which overpowered the lyrics, although there were a few good scenes involving them. Charlie's grandfather had no real independent character, unlike the original, and the subplots in the original were lacking. Altogether, it confirms my view of most re-makes -a far cry from the original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MelissaAug 9, 2005
I thought this movie was very good. Johnny Depp did excellent in this movie, his portrayal of Willy Wonka was great. I prefer this movie to the original Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DonaaB.Sep 11, 2005
This movie was disgusting!!! A shameful attempt of a remake! This movie has nothing catchy about and no interesting songs. The old movie is a million times better. This movie was just plain stupid. Don't waste your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HarveyC.Sep 15, 2005
Has much of the fun-house entertaining quality of "Beetlejuice". Depp's edgy, ambiguous, emotionally alienated character is well done, and the awful children are very well played. Is it for children or adults? The reviewers' Has much of the fun-house entertaining quality of "Beetlejuice". Depp's edgy, ambiguous, emotionally alienated character is well done, and the awful children are very well played. Is it for children or adults? The reviewers' manifold disagreements are amusing. Certainly it won't be played over and over on the VCR, as the Wilder version is. But it's more dramatically satisfying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AustinG.Sep 24, 2005
I really loved this movie. In the original Charlie and the Chocolate factory, the producers captured all of Roald Dahl's goofiness but did not reallly have a point or a plot. To be frank, the book was one of my least favorites of I really loved this movie. In the original Charlie and the Chocolate factory, the producers captured all of Roald Dahl's goofiness but did not reallly have a point or a plot. To be frank, the book was one of my least favorites of Dahl's for these exact reasons. However, in this new movie, Tim Burton gave life to a formerly dull and uninspiring movie. Also, he did something that I have onlly ever seen before in I, Robot. I liked this movie in spite of all its flaws because the director, instead of following the lead of countless other book-inspired producers, took the general spirit of the book, and then built the sory around this, leaving much of the original story behind. Though Burton stuck more to the original plot, he changed it just enough to make it better. This truly is a masterpiece of a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TheElusivePossomSep 2, 2005
It's no secret that Roald Dahl despised the original book-to-film adaptation of his classic children's novel of the same name, but this rehash of that popular classic would surely make him turn in his grave. Johnny Depp certainly It's no secret that Roald Dahl despised the original book-to-film adaptation of his classic children's novel of the same name, but this rehash of that popular classic would surely make him turn in his grave. Johnny Depp certainly makes the character of Wonka his own, which turns out to be a bizarre and often irritating abomination lacking any of Gene Wilder's aimiable charm. Helena Bonham Carter, however, plays a very lovely mum, and the majority of the film's laughs are gained from Violet Beauregarde's mum's face - every expression is comedy gold! The film's plot seems stunted and wayward, with classic scenes from the original (the bubble room) omitted in favour of visiting a room full of killer CGI squirrels. The film is also littered with unnecessary insights into Wonka's childhood, all of which failing to draw the wacky chocolateer out of being 1-dimensional. On top of all this, the conclusion is extremely poor and overly sugar-sweet. See it if you love Mr Depp; otherwise buy a box of Milk Tray and stay at home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregL.Sep 27, 2005
Nothing against Gene Wilder, but this is light years ahead of the treacly original in terms of visuals, overall acting, and sticking to the original intent of Roald Dahl's book. It's also worth noting that this version is Nothing against Gene Wilder, but this is light years ahead of the treacly original in terms of visuals, overall acting, and sticking to the original intent of Roald Dahl's book. It's also worth noting that this version is officially sanctioned by the Dahl family. And why do some critics bash Depp's portrayal? Perhaps they were expecting the second coming of Gene Wilder... I think he did a great job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
groundfisherSep 4, 2005
The plot is entirely linear with no sub-plots at all. The ending comes about abruptly and is excessivly 'happy ever after'. --New Paragraph-- Johnny Depp was superb and to my mind his performance was inspired/influenced by a The plot is entirely linear with no sub-plots at all. The ending comes about abruptly and is excessivly 'happy ever after'. --New Paragraph-- Johnny Depp was superb and to my mind his performance was inspired/influenced by a combinaton of Mike Myers in Austin Powers, Jim Carrey, and Depp's own originality. --New Paragraph-- However, the character himself is another matter. Wonka's flashbacks were unnecessary and intrusive, taking up time in the movie that could've been better spent developing other characters or spent on wondrous scenes inside the chocolate factory (the Bubble Room would've been nice). --New Paragraph-- And despite the fact 'there is so much to see' inside the factory, we didn't see very much at all. --New Paragraph-- It was slightly jarring to hear English characters referring to chocolate as 'candy' and to their currency as 'dollars' (don't Americans know what sweets and pounds are?). --New Paragraph-- All in all quite an enjoyable film with a very simple plot and a disappointing ending. If you can laugh along with the movie while it laughs with and at itself, you'll enjoy it. If you're expecting a sincere, morality tale with a feel-good chocolate factory that evokes a child-like sense of awe, you won't get your money's worth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Rev.GomezNov 10, 2005
Not a great movie, but not horrible. It was entertaining enough. I just need to post in response to the resident genius 'Pooch'. Okay, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory probably should have been left pristine. The idea here was Not a great movie, but not horrible. It was entertaining enough. I just need to post in response to the resident genius 'Pooch'. Okay, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory probably should have been left pristine. The idea here was to make it more similar to the book. And, this is for you Pooch, the book was titled Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Get a clue! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
georgea.Nov 21, 2005
Johnny depp amazing as always however i think that he's version of willy wonka is ott. My favourite scene in the old film is where he pretends to fall over and does a forward roll which isen't in the film instead it's replaced Johnny depp amazing as always however i think that he's version of willy wonka is ott. My favourite scene in the old film is where he pretends to fall over and does a forward roll which isen't in the film instead it's replaced by a very tacky song that lets u know wat the rest of the film is going to be like. A dissapointing film and should only be seen by those who haven't read the book or seen the original film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KumarR.Nov 21, 2005
Tim Burton has done a great job in adapting Roald Dahl's classic BOOK. "Wily Wonka and the Chocolate Factory" is not a concern here. This is not a remake of the movie. It's an adaptation of the book. Johnny Depp and Freddie Tim Burton has done a great job in adapting Roald Dahl's classic BOOK. "Wily Wonka and the Chocolate Factory" is not a concern here. This is not a remake of the movie. It's an adaptation of the book. Johnny Depp and Freddie Highmore play a wonderful Wily Wonka and Charlie respectively. A must see for all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PoochNov 7, 2005
This movie was possibly the worst idea to come out of Tim Burtons hatfull of worst ideas. Remaking the classic movie, WIlly Wonka and the Chocolate Facotry, and giving it a new name, trying to knock it off as being different, what a horrible This movie was possibly the worst idea to come out of Tim Burtons hatfull of worst ideas. Remaking the classic movie, WIlly Wonka and the Chocolate Facotry, and giving it a new name, trying to knock it off as being different, what a horrible idea. They tried to make it a little darker by including Wonka's childhood, but that ended up sucking a big one. It was a bad idea to make this movie. Period. The classic movie has now been ruined for me, since I have seen these new cheap knock-offs for Oompa Loompas. The Oompa Loompas used to be my favorite part, and now I just want to slice my wrists open everytime I hear their name mentioned. The music sucked too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ShaneJ.Nov 8, 2005
It just didn't have the same fun factor as the first one. Also, Depp seemed like he was just trying way to hard to be wierd. The movie was just not as good as the orginal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyaT.Nov 8, 2005
I loved this movie! Tim Burton is my favorite director and this was wonderfully creepy and fun!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jennyh.Oct 18, 2005
This was the best movie of many i sawe this summer...IT ROX MY SOX. I just love those oopa loompas. I coould listen to that Agustus Gloop song over and over again!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
marshallm.Oct 18, 2005
It's great entertainment! for younger kids and adults. go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TrentS.Nov 9, 2005
Could have done without the musical numbers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.S.Dec 12, 2005
It is great!!! whatever Johnny Depp has a role is SUPER!!!! I LOVE JOHNNY DEPP!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful