Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 15, 2005
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 431 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
259
Mixed:
89
Negative:
83
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 1, 2016
For another Willy Wonka installment, it's weaker against the original 1971 movie. (I know, it's based on the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory book). It's still enjoyable and nothing's wrong with that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleMay 25, 2015
A great adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic story, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory hits all the right notes along the way. Made with childlike enthusiasm and exuberance, the 2005 adaptation is gleefully weird and endlessly entertaining. ItA great adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic story, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory hits all the right notes along the way. Made with childlike enthusiasm and exuberance, the 2005 adaptation is gleefully weird and endlessly entertaining. It does a grab job mixing the touching scenes, funny moments, exciting scenes, and the incredibly weird, and the end result is a film that honestly shocked me. I did not expect to like this one as much as I did, but here I am praising it. Tim Burton's direction is great. The production and costume design are both top-notch as well. As for Johnny Depp, his performance is deliciously weird and he does a great job pealing back the chocolate exterior of Willy Wonka to expose his inner demons. Overall, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is actually a really good film with great production value and a great starring turn from Depp that really works as a cohesive film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
TheQuietGamerMar 26, 2011
Tim Burton takes the original mediocre movie and makes it worse, the acting sucks and the characters and acting is crap there is no reason to see this movie at all.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 26, 2013
In its quirky and fun ways, Chocolate Factory succeeds, especially with Depp as its leading man. Playing his usual kooky but fun character, Depp amazes you as Willy Wonka.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
beingryanjudeAug 29, 2014
I held higher hopes for Tim Burton on the reigns for this remake. Johnny Depp also gives a disappointingly creepy turn as Willy Wonka. Yes, there are some tasteful visuals but not much more.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
BrianMcCriticJun 29, 2013
As a big fan of the original I may be unfairly critical, but when you remake a classic you should be held to a high standard which this film fails to deliver.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Apr 3, 2012
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a pretty average for very weird movie. There's a distance, a detachment to this film. It lacks passion. But its has some very funny scenes with Jonny Depp.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
"Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" adds up overwhelming creativity into the book based movie. The result is that the movie got drunk with chocolate.
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMay 10, 2014
Tim Burton Presents a remake of Charlie and the chocolate factory . The Original had some very great creativity and anything you want in movie the word is" Entertaining" and is better then the original
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Nov 26, 2015
Weird on every level, but that is what made it truely what it was. This remake is far better than the first crappy one. Depp was great and was such a lively character. Burton thought this one out well. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuJan 2, 2015
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is an amusing adaptation from Tim Burton. His style is stamped all over this movie in everything from ethos to characters to design. The film is not successful 100% of the time but it's a more than adequateCharlie and the Chocolate Factory is an amusing adaptation from Tim Burton. His style is stamped all over this movie in everything from ethos to characters to design. The film is not successful 100% of the time but it's a more than adequate re-interpretation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoDec 5, 2015
A great movie , great design in the world in production of Willy Wonka 's factory , and a good plot, then failed the first film from how long ago , but it was very good .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellNov 24, 2011
This adaption is a fun film. It adds more comedy to the original and has a great result. The story is also better than the 1971 version. It is a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
oxanaSep 12, 2014
This film was a nice one to watch, an left you with a nice feeling. Perhaps a lit childish, but Depp's acting kept you on the edge, all the time - and made you laugh more than just once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Oct 23, 2010
Tim Burton is the master of darkness. every movie he makes kicks a**. including this one. the cast was very supporting, the songs were enjoyable, the visuals were brilliant, and the cinematography was awesome. with Burton around, Charlie andTim Burton is the master of darkness. every movie he makes kicks a**. including this one. the cast was very supporting, the songs were enjoyable, the visuals were brilliant, and the cinematography was awesome. with Burton around, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is the best movie ever made. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFAug 12, 2013
There was never really anybody else who could have been up to the task of reinventing such an iconic and unique character as Willy Wonka, Tim Burton knows how to make every part of the screen count, whether it is a shadowed corner or theThere was never really anybody else who could have been up to the task of reinventing such an iconic and unique character as Willy Wonka, Tim Burton knows how to make every part of the screen count, whether it is a shadowed corner or the clothing of a bizarre character, in this case, he re-imagines not only a classic children's tale, but also a very successful film that many will still argue is better than Burton's vision, wither way one cannot argue at the scope and imagine of this very different tale.
The film is told in a dreamy sort of sense, with a mans gentle yet deep voice narrating, he explains the situation of how Wonka became a worldwide phenomenon, but faltered due to spies within his factory, but how he decides to send out five golden tickets to hold a very special tour for those lucky recipients. Charlie (Freddie Highmore) is not the most well-off of children, living with his four grandparents and his mother and father, and dreams of being one of the lucky ticket finders. Across the world, four tickets are find, and Charlie cannot believe his luck when he is the fifth and final finder, and so he begins his whirlwind journey of songs, greedy children and of course, chocolate.
The man in the top hat is played by none other than the most versatile actor of his generation, Johnny Depp, who creates one of the strangest and yet most awe-inspiring performances of his career, showing a genius we don't fully understand, a man with his own emotional grievances and family issues, a relatable man. His tour of the factory combines some beautiful scenes and even some funny sing-alongs from the Oompa-Loompas, this time played by one person in the form of Deep Roy. The film has big ideas and leaves plenty of room for some very interesting characters, and it is the child actors who are on top form in the film throughout, the confident Mike Teevee (Jordan Fry), the spoilt yet cunning Veruca Salt (Julia Winter) and the athletic and cheeky Violet Beauregarde (AnnaSophia Robb). These characters have a commanding and often funny presence on screen as they explore the many wonders of the factory, a place brimming with excitement and imaginative moments at every turn, its easy to get lost in the marvel of creation at play here, and its a true delight to see such effort going into giving the film a decent story.
Closer to the source and certainly different from the original, whatever personal thoughts may go into each film, there is no denying the wonderful scope and imagination of Burton and Depp's Wonka, a crackpot genius with a juvenile personality and a flamboyant dress sense, as only a larger than life character can have, the film is much darker and tone but is definitely more suited to the current generation and style of film, definitely a creative piece through and through.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorAug 1, 2016
With an enthusiastic storytelling and a wonderfully talented cast are wath makes from Tim Burton's Charlie and the Chocolate Factory a trully enjoyable, unforgettable and satisfying adventure that complies it's purpouse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
axelkochJun 11, 2013
Tim Burton's weird adaption of Roald Dahl's novel is a partly hilarious movie that stars a fantastic Johnny Depp as the maverick chocolatier and Freddie Highmore as the eponymous boy who is allowed to pay a visit to the former's mysteriousTim Burton's weird adaption of Roald Dahl's novel is a partly hilarious movie that stars a fantastic Johnny Depp as the maverick chocolatier and Freddie Highmore as the eponymous boy who is allowed to pay a visit to the former's mysterious chocolate factory. While the funny, yet not at all musically complex musical numbers are a welcome and amusing gimmick and Depp provides all-ages-entertainment at its best, very little of this movie stays in memory. The production design and the costumes are impressive, but it's the 21st century and a creative director like Mr. Burton could've really made more out of the source material. Furthermore, most of the movie's cast is miserable and extremely overacts their parts. The bad performances are also bred by the utterly silly screenplay that may contain good laughs for pre-school kids, however, is oftentimes boring and really cheaply written. I can't help myself but think that Mr. Burton didn't even utilize half of the potential that the original story has. But besides that, it's a very enjoyable family movie that has truly humorous scenes for both kids and adults. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialNov 16, 2013
Personally, I liked "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory" better, but "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is still pretty good. Now, I didn't imagine that Johnny Depp would play Willy Wonka, and unfortunately, he doesn't fit there quite well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory gets a sugar rush.
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory excels with little difficulty under the direction of Tim Burton and the acting performances of Highmore and Depp.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyFeb 15, 2017
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a wondrous movie that while not as good as the original, is still a fun ride and enjoyable to watch. Charlie is great in the movie, but unfortunately some of the other kids are not as good. It has its upsCharlie and the Chocolate Factory is a wondrous movie that while not as good as the original, is still a fun ride and enjoyable to watch. Charlie is great in the movie, but unfortunately some of the other kids are not as good. It has its ups and downs, but I would recommend giving it watch if you haven't seen it yet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FreedomFightersNov 3, 2016
Personally, I found this to be a very good remake! It's pretty well-acted, it's beautifully-designed, it's reasonably close to the source material, and it's got some pretty humorous moments sprinkled in. It's not the greatest piece of cinemaPersonally, I found this to be a very good remake! It's pretty well-acted, it's beautifully-designed, it's reasonably close to the source material, and it's got some pretty humorous moments sprinkled in. It's not the greatest piece of cinema we'll ever get to witness, but for all the bells and whistles, "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is an extremely fun and entertaining film that's definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
gm101Aug 26, 2011
Before I start, let me say that I never read the original book nor have I ever watched the old Willy Wonka movie, and frankly, I have no intention of doing either. So without any expectations, I ended up enjoying this fun movie. However, IBefore I start, let me say that I never read the original book nor have I ever watched the old Willy Wonka movie, and frankly, I have no intention of doing either. So without any expectations, I ended up enjoying this fun movie. However, I have to be honest in this review by saying Johnny Depp's performance in this movie was disappointing, becuase it just didn't feel like it was him, which is really unfortunate since I am a huge fan of him, especially in the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. But ignoring that, everything else in the movie is good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
LoRevisorJan 15, 2015
É divertido no mínimo,Johnny Depp arrasa como Willy Wonka,Mas o filme para um adulto ou um próprio adolescente já não tem muita graça. Falta ação é claro,porém tem seus momentos
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
This is the perfect example of a film that never needed to be made. It adds nothing to the original film and if anything it takes away from the original. This Burton remake has none of the charm of the original and what it lacks in charm itThis is the perfect example of a film that never needed to be made. It adds nothing to the original film and if anything it takes away from the original. This Burton remake has none of the charm of the original and what it lacks in charm it makes up in the creepy Burton style. That said the film is more faithful to the book but that doesn't make it any more enjoyable. If you like the book go and see it. If you love the original film you might just want to skip this remake. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
PaxsterOct 23, 2010
Johnny Depp realises Tim Burton's strange adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic in one of his finest acting performances. He brings the bizarre to a character who was originally enigmatic, a bold and successful move. Not to mention the funkyJohnny Depp realises Tim Burton's strange adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic in one of his finest acting performances. He brings the bizarre to a character who was originally enigmatic, a bold and successful move. Not to mention the funky Umpa Lumpa songs, much better than 'Doo pa dee doo'. I don't care what the parents say, I prefer this version! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
superbatSep 5, 2016
Even though the 1971 movie is better, Tim Burton's remake is still an achievement. This movie has better special effects, great acting (especially from Johnny Depp) and is delight from beginning to end. A great experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NecromusDec 4, 2012
This movie was okay and I really enjoyed Johnny Depp's Michael Jackson-esque version of WIlly Wonka (although he's stated on the Ellen show that his inspiration was imagining what a stoned George W. Bush would act like lol). But I prefer theThis movie was okay and I really enjoyed Johnny Depp's Michael Jackson-esque version of WIlly Wonka (although he's stated on the Ellen show that his inspiration was imagining what a stoned George W. Bush would act like lol). But I prefer the original over this version. The one thing that really annoyed me in this movie was how bad the Oompa Loompa scenes were, the music was way too fast to understand what they were saying. In the original movie what they were saying was the focus of the movie, that got lost in translation in this remake. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisSep 28, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. The detail and meticulous design of the sets, the costumes, the atmosphere of his films and how they all in some strange way impart a certain message of sorts that has a bizarre connection to real life. Tim Burton's 2005 adaptation of Roald Dahl's beloved children book "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" has a method to its madness and a meaning to its story. "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is one of Burton's best films since Big Fish and Sleepy Hollow. Tim Burton's take on the legendary tale of eccentric chocolate maker Willy Wonka and young dreamer Charlie Bucket is a film of meticulous design, it is meant to be a children movie but "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" plays out better as a quirky adult fantasy adventure with a PG rating. Burton doesn't spare any detail he uses all his style and energy to create the bleak world of Charlie Bucket and all his imagination and light hearted enthusiasm to make the beautiful chocolate factory of Willy Wonka, it's astounding how it works, how it moves along flawlessly telling it's story and just wowing the audience in each and every scene. It is not a cheap exploitation flick with a famous name slapped on it it is a story about a person, a place and a situation that comes to be fall that person (Freddie Highmore). Burton has not only updated a classic story for a modern generation he has effectively made a film that is both true to his quirky style and mainstream enough for modern audiences, It's one of the best films of the last decade and also one of Burton's very best. The film only works whether you believe in what you are seeing; it succeeds on how you look at it if you look at it with a cynical point of view than this film will be a terrible time and a complete waste of money to you. However, if you keep your eyes open and your mind clear of any doubt than this film will work wonders on your soul, your imagination and your imagination. Tim Burton's Charlie And The Chocolate Factory Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
eTurkeyFeb 15, 2012
Unlike the 1971 film 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory', this movie manages to stray closer to the original book that Roald Dahl penned. The result creates a more weird and quirky atmosphere that even Tim Burton fanboys are used to.Unlike the 1971 film 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory', this movie manages to stray closer to the original book that Roald Dahl penned. The result creates a more weird and quirky atmosphere that even Tim Burton fanboys are used to. Whilst the soundtrack was orchestrated beautifully by longtime collaborator Danny Elfman, it was another fellow confederate in Johnny Depp who was puzzling. His portrayal of Willy Wonka was so random in his mannerisms you couldn't help but scream out for Gene Wilder. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
hanneguacamoleJul 27, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As the lesser younger brother, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory does its job. It tells the story of the lovable Charlie Bucket but largely forgoes the Willy Wonka. What we're left with here is Johnny Depp as an unconvincing chocolatier. How are we supposed to take him seriously with his ridiculous attire and creepy mannerisms? He's giving away a chocolate factory; not running a child prostitution ring!

But forgive me, Roald Dahl. I'm not dissing your story. For what it's worth, I love the story. The chocolate and the candy and the factory was so amazing to me as a child. I loved the splendor and the fantasy that came along with it. I also loved watching this particular version as well, if even just for the opening credits. I think the movie works despite the semi-failure of one of the major characters. Each child is portrayed just as they should be with their respective flaws. They were as enthralling as they were revolting.

I also commend the cinematographer. How one manages to so accurately capture a child's imagination is beyond me, but I remember sitting in the theater in Kansas City watching this movie like it could have happened in my own head. Tim Burton creates a world with distorted humor in Willy Wonka's past and exuberant juvenility in the world he's created for the future – the factory. But of course, those still existing in that age won't notice. It's our dirty little secret.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CRLAug 27, 2011
Deviating from Roald Dahl's lighthearted children's story, Tim Burton decided instead to use Johnny Depp to the fullest extent in a darkly comedic look at a classic. Their new imagining of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is suitably wackyDeviating from Roald Dahl's lighthearted children's story, Tim Burton decided instead to use Johnny Depp to the fullest extent in a darkly comedic look at a classic. Their new imagining of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is suitably wacky for a collaboration between the two of them. It's also a movie that never ceases to entertain everyone from its familiar beginning to its somewhat-kooky ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KarthXLRSep 3, 2010
I simply can't wrap my mind around how this movie has such high critical scores. Personally, I think Tim Burton is a visionary genius, but he can only work with stories that his type of directing specializes in: outcasts. In this movie, WonkaI simply can't wrap my mind around how this movie has such high critical scores. Personally, I think Tim Burton is a visionary genius, but he can only work with stories that his type of directing specializes in: outcasts. In this movie, Wonka isn't an outcast, he's just weird and even creepy at times. All this balanced out by not-so-great songs and a cast that simply can't beat the original. Not the worst film, but overrated at the very least. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
Tim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. TheTim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. The detail and meticulous design of the sets, the costumes, the atmosphere of his films and how they all in some strange way impart a certain message of sorts that has a bizarre connection to real life. Tim Burton's 2005 adaptation of Roald Dahl's beloved children book "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" has a method to its madness and a meaning to its story. "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is one of Burton's best films since Big Fish and Sleepy Hollow. Tim Burton's take on the legendary tale of eccentric chocolate maker Willy Wonka and young dreamer Charlie Bucket is a film of meticulous design, it is meant to be a children movie but "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" plays out better as a quirky adult fantasy adventure with a PG rating. Burton doesn't spare any detail he uses all his style and energy to create the bleak world of Charlie Bucket and all his imagination and light hearted enthusiasm to make the beautiful chocolate factory of Willy Wonka, it's astounding how it works, how it moves along flawlessly telling it's story and just wowing the audience in each and every scene. It is not a cheap exploitation flick with a famous name slapped on it it is a story about a person, a place and a situation that comes to be fall that person (Freddie Highmore). Burton has not only updated a classic story for a modern generation he has effectively made a film that is both true to his quirky style and mainstream enough for modern audiences, It's one of the best films of the last decade and also one of Burton's very best. The film only works whether you believe in what you are seeing; it succeeds on how you look at it if you look at it with a cynical point of view than this film will be a terrible time and a complete waste of money to you. However, if you keep your eyes open and your mind clear of any doubt than this film will work wonders on your soul, your imagination and your imagination. Tim Burton's "Charlie and the Chocolate Factoryâ Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
5
kuehnauJun 3, 2016
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory isn't a bad movie by any means, the problem is that not only does it appear to be a abridged version of the classic movie so many of us grew up with, but they made Willy Wonka some what of a weirdo and creep.Charlie and the Chocolate Factory isn't a bad movie by any means, the problem is that not only does it appear to be a abridged version of the classic movie so many of us grew up with, but they made Willy Wonka some what of a weirdo and creep.

The new ending to the film feels forced at best. I think what people wanted was a fresh take on a old film without having too much changed, the fact is, they changed enough to make it an issue for people who held the classic in such high regards.

Many of the classic scenes were either changed or removed entirely. The Ompa Lompa songs were altered in a way I did not find enjoyable. Other times I was wondering were other scenes have gone entirely. The whole plot of Slug Worth working for Wonka. The classic scene where Charlie and his Grandfather "steal" fizzy lifting drinkings was also removed.

I have no problem with people re-imagining a classic, my problem lies with the amount of changes made.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GamecubeLoverJul 20, 2016
The acting is okay and the special effects are better. I like the original better but this one follows the book almost all the time. But I find the characters much more better in the book than the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
papeadojhonApr 5, 2015
Benefited with an excellent performance from Johnny Depp and enhanced with a touch Tim Burton, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is an entertaining trip to the eccentric world of Willy Wonka, which definitely surpasses the original movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EdorkJun 1, 2014
This is so funny and heartwarming. I love the extra development behind Willy Wonka! The acting, music, and visuals are fantastic and captures the spirit of Roald Dahl better than the saccharine tone of the 70s movie with Gene Wilder.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CharlieBetterIsJan 6, 2016
Tim Burton, como sempre, fazendo ótimos filmes que marcam época! E a Fantástica Fábrica de Chocolates não é diferente. Esse filme marcou minha infância. Ele é muito bem produzido, com uma história simples, encantadora e até crítica em certosTim Burton, como sempre, fazendo ótimos filmes que marcam época! E a Fantástica Fábrica de Chocolates não é diferente. Esse filme marcou minha infância. Ele é muito bem produzido, com uma história simples, encantadora e até crítica em certos aspectos, fazendo-o um filme grandioso Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
TheGamer31Dec 8, 2012
This movie sucked. It completely changed from the original movie which I love, and the books. I have no idea why this movie was even made. WHY!? WHY DID THEY MAKE IT?!!
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
saffronfAug 29, 2005
I loved the film as soon as i watched it the umpa lumpas are my fav because i loved thier song chewing chewing they should make a cd from thier songs. johnny depp was really great for the part of willy wonka.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FabioC.Sep 29, 2005
Wonderful movie. Great acting (Depp plays an intriguing Wonka, Highmore is a truly expressive Charlie), stunning visuals, usual great music by Elfman, great humour, the Oompa-Loompas... Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
alicew.Oct 24, 2005
Delightfully creepy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CAENTDec 6, 2005
It was a decent movie, but if your like me, and have watched the original, this comes nowhere even close. The oompa loompas were horrible, Johnny Depp, didnt do a bad job, but his character (willy wonka) was annoying, silly, and sometimes It was a decent movie, but if your like me, and have watched the original, this comes nowhere even close. The oompa loompas were horrible, Johnny Depp, didnt do a bad job, but his character (willy wonka) was annoying, silly, and sometimes boring. The one cool thing about this movie, was that we got to see into Wonka's past and how he became a chocolate maker. The young kid, playing Charlie, did an excellent job, but overall, this movie was a huge letdown. Alot of the humor fell short, and Gene Wilder is a much better fit for Willy Wonka, both as an actor and in the script. This was definately a remake of sorts, mainly aimed towards the younger audience. I was hoping it was like the original, but with Tim Burton's amazing talent. But it wasnt. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
emmaw.Aug 31, 2005
I think it awsome. JONNY YOU ROCK and yer i want the golden ticket =p
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JackB.Mar 29, 2008
A shocking and unnecessary remake. What a complete and utter piece of tripe. Tim Burton and Johnny Depp should be ashamed of themselves.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SpiroA.Nov 29, 2005
If you love Tim Burton flicks and haven't read the book or seen the Wilder movie, you will probably like or even love this movie. If you've read the Dahl book, seen the original movie with Wilder, and or dislike Burton flicks (as I If you love Tim Burton flicks and haven't read the book or seen the Wilder movie, you will probably like or even love this movie. If you've read the Dahl book, seen the original movie with Wilder, and or dislike Burton flicks (as I do), you will probably be disappointed or outright disgusted. Burton's perverse rendition is a disjointed freak show that relies on quirkiness and cinematography over character development and plot. The movie does nothing to distinguish itself and pales in comparison to the original. It also assininely changes important storylines from the book and the Wilder flick to it's detriment. The movie left me thinking, "Hmmmm... some of the lines were funny, the sets were neat, and some of the acting was okay, but overall this really sucks". I gave a 2 rating only because of the quirkiness and cinematography (both Burton staples). If you dislike Burton, love Wilder, and/or Dahl, this movie will piss you off and leave you puzzled and empty. Otherwise, rent it and it may amuse you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WallyS.Dec 6, 2005
A true family film, technically masterfull, brilliantly directed, and Depp once more prooves himself an excellent actor. The art direction, fantastic. The score, superb...and the fun never stops.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CrystalS.Oct 27, 2005
I loved this movie. Tim Burton is the best no matter whta people think. The movie was NOT a remake or a sequel..It was what tim thought it should be so he expressed it how he saw it, U go tim burton. Work ur magic!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BmanOct 28, 2005
Depp aint no Gene Wilder. What a pile of tripe.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KatherineBOct 30, 2005
This movie is still horrendous. I would call it "scum," but I'm too nice of a person. In my earlier review, I pointed out positive aspects of the movie. Well, really, I pointed out aspects of the movie that weren't as devastatingly This movie is still horrendous. I would call it "scum," but I'm too nice of a person. In my earlier review, I pointed out positive aspects of the movie. Well, really, I pointed out aspects of the movie that weren't as devastatingly horrible as Depp's performance. The Oompa Loompas are bad, the writing is bad, the acting is bad, and the aesthetic elements are only enough to entertain those who aren't yet old enough to understand that movies aren't all about pretty pictures and sing alongs. The only reason I give it a 2 now is to appease Nick R. And I do **think about [my] score**. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DonaaB.Sep 11, 2005
This movie was disgusting!!! A shameful attempt of a remake! This movie has nothing catchy about and no interesting songs. The old movie is a million times better. This movie was just plain stupid. Don't waste your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HarveyC.Sep 15, 2005
Has much of the fun-house entertaining quality of "Beetlejuice". Depp's edgy, ambiguous, emotionally alienated character is well done, and the awful children are very well played. Is it for children or adults? The reviewers' Has much of the fun-house entertaining quality of "Beetlejuice". Depp's edgy, ambiguous, emotionally alienated character is well done, and the awful children are very well played. Is it for children or adults? The reviewers' manifold disagreements are amusing. Certainly it won't be played over and over on the VCR, as the Wilder version is. But it's more dramatically satisfying. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AustinG.Sep 24, 2005
I really loved this movie. In the original Charlie and the Chocolate factory, the producers captured all of Roald Dahl's goofiness but did not reallly have a point or a plot. To be frank, the book was one of my least favorites of I really loved this movie. In the original Charlie and the Chocolate factory, the producers captured all of Roald Dahl's goofiness but did not reallly have a point or a plot. To be frank, the book was one of my least favorites of Dahl's for these exact reasons. However, in this new movie, Tim Burton gave life to a formerly dull and uninspiring movie. Also, he did something that I have onlly ever seen before in I, Robot. I liked this movie in spite of all its flaws because the director, instead of following the lead of countless other book-inspired producers, took the general spirit of the book, and then built the sory around this, leaving much of the original story behind. Though Burton stuck more to the original plot, he changed it just enough to make it better. This truly is a masterpiece of a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TheElusivePossomSep 2, 2005
It's no secret that Roald Dahl despised the original book-to-film adaptation of his classic children's novel of the same name, but this rehash of that popular classic would surely make him turn in his grave. Johnny Depp certainly It's no secret that Roald Dahl despised the original book-to-film adaptation of his classic children's novel of the same name, but this rehash of that popular classic would surely make him turn in his grave. Johnny Depp certainly makes the character of Wonka his own, which turns out to be a bizarre and often irritating abomination lacking any of Gene Wilder's aimiable charm. Helena Bonham Carter, however, plays a very lovely mum, and the majority of the film's laughs are gained from Violet Beauregarde's mum's face - every expression is comedy gold! The film's plot seems stunted and wayward, with classic scenes from the original (the bubble room) omitted in favour of visiting a room full of killer CGI squirrels. The film is also littered with unnecessary insights into Wonka's childhood, all of which failing to draw the wacky chocolateer out of being 1-dimensional. On top of all this, the conclusion is extremely poor and overly sugar-sweet. See it if you love Mr Depp; otherwise buy a box of Milk Tray and stay at home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregL.Sep 27, 2005
Nothing against Gene Wilder, but this is light years ahead of the treacly original in terms of visuals, overall acting, and sticking to the original intent of Roald Dahl's book. It's also worth noting that this version is Nothing against Gene Wilder, but this is light years ahead of the treacly original in terms of visuals, overall acting, and sticking to the original intent of Roald Dahl's book. It's also worth noting that this version is officially sanctioned by the Dahl family. And why do some critics bash Depp's portrayal? Perhaps they were expecting the second coming of Gene Wilder... I think he did a great job. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
groundfisherSep 4, 2005
The plot is entirely linear with no sub-plots at all. The ending comes about abruptly and is excessivly 'happy ever after'. --New Paragraph-- Johnny Depp was superb and to my mind his performance was inspired/influenced by a The plot is entirely linear with no sub-plots at all. The ending comes about abruptly and is excessivly 'happy ever after'. --New Paragraph-- Johnny Depp was superb and to my mind his performance was inspired/influenced by a combinaton of Mike Myers in Austin Powers, Jim Carrey, and Depp's own originality. --New Paragraph-- However, the character himself is another matter. Wonka's flashbacks were unnecessary and intrusive, taking up time in the movie that could've been better spent developing other characters or spent on wondrous scenes inside the chocolate factory (the Bubble Room would've been nice). --New Paragraph-- And despite the fact 'there is so much to see' inside the factory, we didn't see very much at all. --New Paragraph-- It was slightly jarring to hear English characters referring to chocolate as 'candy' and to their currency as 'dollars' (don't Americans know what sweets and pounds are?). --New Paragraph-- All in all quite an enjoyable film with a very simple plot and a disappointing ending. If you can laugh along with the movie while it laughs with and at itself, you'll enjoy it. If you're expecting a sincere, morality tale with a feel-good chocolate factory that evokes a child-like sense of awe, you won't get your money's worth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Rev.GomezNov 10, 2005
Not a great movie, but not horrible. It was entertaining enough. I just need to post in response to the resident genius 'Pooch'. Okay, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory probably should have been left pristine. The idea here was Not a great movie, but not horrible. It was entertaining enough. I just need to post in response to the resident genius 'Pooch'. Okay, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory probably should have been left pristine. The idea here was to make it more similar to the book. And, this is for you Pooch, the book was titled Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Get a clue! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
georgea.Nov 21, 2005
Johnny depp amazing as always however i think that he's version of willy wonka is ott. My favourite scene in the old film is where he pretends to fall over and does a forward roll which isen't in the film instead it's replaced Johnny depp amazing as always however i think that he's version of willy wonka is ott. My favourite scene in the old film is where he pretends to fall over and does a forward roll which isen't in the film instead it's replaced by a very tacky song that lets u know wat the rest of the film is going to be like. A dissapointing film and should only be seen by those who haven't read the book or seen the original film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KumarR.Nov 21, 2005
Tim Burton has done a great job in adapting Roald Dahl's classic BOOK. "Wily Wonka and the Chocolate Factory" is not a concern here. This is not a remake of the movie. It's an adaptation of the book. Johnny Depp and Freddie Tim Burton has done a great job in adapting Roald Dahl's classic BOOK. "Wily Wonka and the Chocolate Factory" is not a concern here. This is not a remake of the movie. It's an adaptation of the book. Johnny Depp and Freddie Highmore play a wonderful Wily Wonka and Charlie respectively. A must see for all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PoochNov 7, 2005
This movie was possibly the worst idea to come out of Tim Burtons hatfull of worst ideas. Remaking the classic movie, WIlly Wonka and the Chocolate Facotry, and giving it a new name, trying to knock it off as being different, what a horrible This movie was possibly the worst idea to come out of Tim Burtons hatfull of worst ideas. Remaking the classic movie, WIlly Wonka and the Chocolate Facotry, and giving it a new name, trying to knock it off as being different, what a horrible idea. They tried to make it a little darker by including Wonka's childhood, but that ended up sucking a big one. It was a bad idea to make this movie. Period. The classic movie has now been ruined for me, since I have seen these new cheap knock-offs for Oompa Loompas. The Oompa Loompas used to be my favorite part, and now I just want to slice my wrists open everytime I hear their name mentioned. The music sucked too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ShaneJ.Nov 8, 2005
It just didn't have the same fun factor as the first one. Also, Depp seemed like he was just trying way to hard to be wierd. The movie was just not as good as the orginal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyaT.Nov 8, 2005
I loved this movie! Tim Burton is my favorite director and this was wonderfully creepy and fun!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jennyh.Oct 18, 2005
This was the best movie of many i sawe this summer...IT ROX MY SOX. I just love those oopa loompas. I coould listen to that Agustus Gloop song over and over again!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
marshallm.Oct 18, 2005
It's great entertainment! for younger kids and adults. go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TrentS.Nov 9, 2005
Could have done without the musical numbers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
J.S.Dec 12, 2005
It is great!!! whatever Johnny Depp has a role is SUPER!!!! I LOVE JOHNNY DEPP!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
richardb.Dec 18, 2005
Love Roald Dahl's books. Didnt love the Gene Wilder Wonka movie. Loved Beetlejuice & Pee Wee's Big Adventure. Didnt love Scissorhands or Corpse Bride. This Chocolate Factory, I must say, was a sweet surprise. I did miss Pure Love Roald Dahl's books. Didnt love the Gene Wilder Wonka movie. Loved Beetlejuice & Pee Wee's Big Adventure. Didnt love Scissorhands or Corpse Bride. This Chocolate Factory, I must say, was a sweet surprise. I did miss Pure Imagination & the Oompah Loompah songs from the older flick, but everything else was vastly improved. I even thought the "dad was a mean dentist" backstory was a brilliant conceit, maybe not literally true to Dahl's writings, but certainly true to Dahls spirit. Great casting, from every face in Charlie Buckets hovel to every mean boy or girl and enabling parent in the Factory. And Johnny Depp just added another classic characterization to his trophy wall. Speaking of Classics, after a long dry spell, Tim Burton has finally created another one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FilmgirlDec 2, 2005
What a disappointment! What's with those stupid Oompaloompas???? What's with Johnny Depp? He is one creepy dude.... Miss this one, trust me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TomHDec 3, 2005
First off I did not like the first one all that much. second this movie would have gotton a much better score from everybody if it had tried to be less child like and just stick to the adult references.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DV8Dec 5, 2005
Oh my god... I hate Tim Burton's visions of, well, just about everything. I realize that this movie stays closer to the book than Willy Wonka does, but all the symbolism, all the mystery about Willy Wonka are completely obviated, and Oh my god... I hate Tim Burton's visions of, well, just about everything. I realize that this movie stays closer to the book than Willy Wonka does, but all the symbolism, all the mystery about Willy Wonka are completely obviated, and the movie withers as it becomes sentimental and preachy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MrNihilismDec 6, 2005
Not bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MalcomM.Oct 26, 2005
Not as good as they say. Quite dissapointing really, coming from Burton, and Depp's character lacks, well, 'Depth'. What can I say? Most might find it sweet, yes, to some extend. Colorful, oh yes, that comes with the Not as good as they say. Quite dissapointing really, coming from Burton, and Depp's character lacks, well, 'Depth'. What can I say? Most might find it sweet, yes, to some extend. Colorful, oh yes, that comes with the territory. But in all this kiddy delight and muse, the approach Tim took felt more creepy and pretty disturbing, more than anything. I mean, c'mon, no matter how bad and spoilt or rotten a kid's attitude, he or she shouldn't be punished to the extend that Mr Burton deemed justifiable to teach these kids a lesson. Coz, as it turns out, the lesson was extreme and for life! And heck, the kid's were still rotten, and worst off. Maybe he's right, i dunno, but it was more a nightmare than a sweet chocolate to me. And please, the oompa loompas or whatever heck those midgets were, they're so freakingly irritating what with their crazy dance routines and forgettable songs! Man, bring me back Planet of The Apes, Tim! At least that was more watchable than this bash of brownish nonsense. Or better still, let us just go watch the original Charlie with Gene Wilder, now that was a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SebastienSep 28, 2005
I first didn't want to see that movie cos' of the story (It come from a book for kids I read it when i was young), but I saw Tim Burton's name written with it so i decided to go with friends anyway... The result is that you I first didn't want to see that movie cos' of the story (It come from a book for kids I read it when i was young), but I saw Tim Burton's name written with it so i decided to go with friends anyway... The result is that you may clearly recognize a Tim Burton's movie by the landscape features and the ambient but Tim Burton seems to have been really restrained to the story without making it getting really "burtonian". Even Johnny Depp hardly get to make it a good movie... Entertaining yes but not that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MicriaJan 12, 2006
This was am O.K. video, Johney Depp is hott!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RichardJan 20, 2006
Very disapointing movie. Depp's performance was good. But the mood of the movie was very dark. For the target audience, Kids it think, some of the content was questionable and I am pretty liberal. We had to turn this one off and send Very disapointing movie. Depp's performance was good. But the mood of the movie was very dark. For the target audience, Kids it think, some of the content was questionable and I am pretty liberal. We had to turn this one off and send the kids to bed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RichieTOct 29, 2006
Burton's worst since Big Fish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
R.DalviMar 26, 2006
Good movie. Delicious, chocolaty and sweet-at-heart. Depp rocks. Very imaginative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Myles#13Sep 8, 2006
Although it's not as good as the original, this film is surprisingly good! It's quite funny, yet still maintains that good ol' Burton mood to it... unfortunately, people don't understand the guy's style. Oh and in Although it's not as good as the original, this film is surprisingly good! It's quite funny, yet still maintains that good ol' Burton mood to it... unfortunately, people don't understand the guy's style. Oh and in case you're wondering... Depp IS imitating Michael Jackson and is really witty in doing so... that little laugh makes me crack up! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
guy!Jul 14, 2007
Our chocolate is now bitter thanks to this movie. It was so bad, I couldn't bear the first 30 minutes. Glad I had the option of turning it off on TV rather than sitting through it in the theater with my little brother. Seriously, why Our chocolate is now bitter thanks to this movie. It was so bad, I couldn't bear the first 30 minutes. Glad I had the option of turning it off on TV rather than sitting through it in the theater with my little brother. Seriously, why did we try to remake this movie? the old one was 10x better. In this one, the acting was terrible, they cut out vital parts, and worst of all, they wasted J.D. WHY DID THEY WASTE J.D.?!?!?! I mean look at him, what did they do to his face?! Enough said. By all means, avoid this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
roberti.Jul 4, 2007
Semi-sweet, with over-the-top imaginative scenes worthy of the Wizard, yet with bitter overtones of a jaded era. Who is Depp portraying here? He paints a misanthropic, mincing portrait of ambiguous origin. As social satire, and as Semi-sweet, with over-the-top imaginative scenes worthy of the Wizard, yet with bitter overtones of a jaded era. Who is Depp portraying here? He paints a misanthropic, mincing portrait of ambiguous origin. As social satire, and as dreamscape, we let go and sluice down the chocolate raceways, on edge and ready to bolt if need be. What does this film say about us? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MissyA.Jan 8, 2009
This movie was great, funny and entertaining. I love the BOOK "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" since I was young. I've watched the "Willy Wonka" movie a million times and I always thought something was missing...Now, finally Tim This movie was great, funny and entertaining. I love the BOOK "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" since I was young. I've watched the "Willy Wonka" movie a million times and I always thought something was missing...Now, finally Tim Burton has done the BOOK justice. I think most people need to relax. People are going crazy because they think it is a remake when in fact it is a re-adaption of the BOOK. Tim captured the true spirit of Roald Dahl's genius. And Depp did a wonderful job in capturing the true spirit of Willy Wonka from the BOOK. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
joeJul 29, 2009
Just awful. Depp was the worst he's ever been. It was very hard to sit through the whole thing. Don't watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeG.Nov 12, 2005
With a lot of pressure to live up to, Burton's version of "Charlie" stakes out its own ground and soars on its own merits. This isn't the hippy-trippy early 70s colorful world of Willy Wonka, but instead a postmodern dark version With a lot of pressure to live up to, Burton's version of "Charlie" stakes out its own ground and soars on its own merits. This isn't the hippy-trippy early 70s colorful world of Willy Wonka, but instead a postmodern dark version of the tale, and probably far closer to what Dahl initially intended. The film works, entertaining as well as leaving you a little unsettled. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lalapolozaNov 13, 2005
Pros: Stunnningly original, great acting done by Depp, dark humor. Cons: Some things from the original were taken out. Overview: One of the best most orignila comedies in years. Gets us thinking, where would the world be without Tim Burton.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BlakeT.Nov 13, 2005
If you have always wanted to see Jack Sparrow try to do Willy Wonka, this is the movie for you. Otherwise, you'd be better off spending you money at the dentist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EricS.Nov 14, 2005
Not a very good rendetion. too off base from the orginal. too Tim burtonEY for this show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanH.Nov 17, 2005
Enchanting until the singing starts....Depp brilliant again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LineaK.Oct 14, 2005
It was soooooooo funny! Depp adds a whole new twist to the story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ScottJNov 9, 2005
Hey geniuses, the ones bashing the film as a "remake of a classic," or as one person put it, gave it a "new name" and "tried to make it a little darker," here's a newsflash: this was originally a BOOK. The name isn't new, it's Hey geniuses, the ones bashing the film as a "remake of a classic," or as one person put it, gave it a "new name" and "tried to make it a little darker," here's a newsflash: this was originally a BOOK. The name isn't new, it's the original title of the book, the 'classic' Diz-nee film changed the title, and actually made Dahl's story sappy and LESS dark. Burton's film isn't perfect, but he comes close to getting it right while the Diz-nee film got most of it wrong. The new music ain't great, but it's a lot better than the syrupy show-tunes wedged into the Diz-nee film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AmmonL.Dec 15, 2005
Johnny Depp's characterization of Willy Wonka looked bad to me in the previews, so I just saw this on video. Be warned: if you didn't like Depp's Wonka in the trailers, you likely won't like him anymore after seeing the Johnny Depp's characterization of Willy Wonka looked bad to me in the previews, so I just saw this on video. Be warned: if you didn't like Depp's Wonka in the trailers, you likely won't like him anymore after seeing the movie. I've heard Depp's Wonka compared to Michael Jackson in his mannerisms, and that's an apt comparison. They both seem very odd, and like someone you wouldn't want to have your children around- even supervised. Aside from Wonka, the Oompa Loompas aren't fun, the songs are forgettable, the adults are brainless, the children are pretty decent and so are the squirrels, but not enough to make this even an average movie-going experience. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ktriplexDec 17, 2005
This movie is so awesome, all of the actors in it did a much better job in this one than in the first. when i saw this movie i new from the start that it would be much better than the first. i didn't yoosto be a Depp fan but now i am!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PamelaA.Dec 22, 2005
Well what can I say? This movie left a sour taste in my mouth!! Is that Michael Jackson or Johnny Depp playing Willy Wonka? The movie was DARK and depressing and the colorization was totally FAKE and looked cheap. The movie was NOT funny AT Well what can I say? This movie left a sour taste in my mouth!! Is that Michael Jackson or Johnny Depp playing Willy Wonka? The movie was DARK and depressing and the colorization was totally FAKE and looked cheap. The movie was NOT funny AT ALL. The Oompa Loompas SUCKED and the songs were terrible. The ENTIRE time I watched this despicable film I got the same feeling you get when someone scratches their fingernails across a chalk board. This movie is the BIGGEST disappointment of the year to say the very least. I give Charlie and the Chocolate Factory a big thumbs down. Stick with the original with Gene Wilder as Mr Wonka. However, I will recommend Charlie and the Chocolate Factory for anyone who suffers from insomnia as this movie is guaranteed to put you right to sleep that is if it doesn't bore you to death first! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MelissaM.Dec 27, 2005
What a horrible remake! . They took no time to develop the characters and it lacked the imagination of the original. Dep came off as shallow and psychotic, whereas Gene Wilder was brilliant, executing a wonderful blend of eccentricity and What a horrible remake! . They took no time to develop the characters and it lacked the imagination of the original. Dep came off as shallow and psychotic, whereas Gene Wilder was brilliant, executing a wonderful blend of eccentricity and character. Do not waste your time on this horrible, horrible remake. And how did this movie get such high reviews? Makes you wonder if the industry doesn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcelaD.Dec 3, 2005
Was a good movie. The actors were well chosen. It certainly got me laughing. I think it was better and funnier than the old one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LukeLOct 25, 2005
"What do you get with a bad Oopma-Loopa....a lot of bad singing, Oopma Loompa dipity doo Burton's new Oompa-Loompa is just a fool." A 10+ movie if Burton would have stuck to the old Oopma-Loopma theme.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KurtM.Dec 7, 2005
This movie is so lame and cheesey. Depp is in fact kind of Michael Jackson like in this film. Rent the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KenGAug 25, 2005
The story always had a mean-spirited element to it, but Depp's creepy, and charmless performance, magnifies the mean-spirit feel even more, so the movie comes off as nothing but mean-spirited, with a little drabness thrown in. There is The story always had a mean-spirited element to it, but Depp's creepy, and charmless performance, magnifies the mean-spirit feel even more, so the movie comes off as nothing but mean-spirited, with a little drabness thrown in. There is no humor, charm, or sense of wonder, or magic to counter-balance the mean-spiritness, as there was in the Gene Wilder orignal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshM.Aug 29, 2005
I thought it was wonderfully done. One of the best performances by Johnny Depp I've seen. It's beautifully filmed. Worth seeing for sure. I've seen it twice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Lucy-AnnSmithSep 19, 2005
Very entertaining and full of comedy. The energy and special effects are amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful