Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 15, 2005
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 532 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
331
Mixed:
93
Negative:
108
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
TheQuietGamerMar 26, 2011
Tim Burton takes the original mediocre movie and makes it worse, the acting sucks and the characters and acting is crap there is no reason to see this movie at all.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
3
beingryanjudeAug 29, 2014
I held higher hopes for Tim Burton on the reigns for this remake. Johnny Depp also gives a disappointingly creepy turn as Willy Wonka. Yes, there are some tasteful visuals but not much more.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
KarthXLRSep 3, 2010
I simply can't wrap my mind around how this movie has such high critical scores. Personally, I think Tim Burton is a visionary genius, but he can only work with stories that his type of directing specializes in: outcasts. In this movie, WonkaI simply can't wrap my mind around how this movie has such high critical scores. Personally, I think Tim Burton is a visionary genius, but he can only work with stories that his type of directing specializes in: outcasts. In this movie, Wonka isn't an outcast, he's just weird and even creepy at times. All this balanced out by not-so-great songs and a cast that simply can't beat the original. Not the worst film, but overrated at the very least. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
TheGamer31Dec 8, 2012
This movie sucked. It completely changed from the original movie which I love, and the books. I have no idea why this movie was even made. WHY!? WHY DID THEY MAKE IT?!!
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
JackB.Mar 29, 2008
A shocking and unnecessary remake. What a complete and utter piece of tripe. Tim Burton and Johnny Depp should be ashamed of themselves.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
SpiroA.Nov 29, 2005
If you love Tim Burton flicks and haven't read the book or seen the Wilder movie, you will probably like or even love this movie. If you've read the Dahl book, seen the original movie with Wilder, and or dislike Burton flicks (as I If you love Tim Burton flicks and haven't read the book or seen the Wilder movie, you will probably like or even love this movie. If you've read the Dahl book, seen the original movie with Wilder, and or dislike Burton flicks (as I do), you will probably be disappointed or outright disgusted. Burton's perverse rendition is a disjointed freak show that relies on quirkiness and cinematography over character development and plot. The movie does nothing to distinguish itself and pales in comparison to the original. It also assininely changes important storylines from the book and the Wilder flick to it's detriment. The movie left me thinking, "Hmmmm... some of the lines were funny, the sets were neat, and some of the acting was okay, but overall this really sucks". I gave a 2 rating only because of the quirkiness and cinematography (both Burton staples). If you dislike Burton, love Wilder, and/or Dahl, this movie will piss you off and leave you puzzled and empty. Otherwise, rent it and it may amuse you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BmanOct 28, 2005
Depp aint no Gene Wilder. What a pile of tripe.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
KatherineBOct 30, 2005
This movie is still horrendous. I would call it "scum," but I'm too nice of a person. In my earlier review, I pointed out positive aspects of the movie. Well, really, I pointed out aspects of the movie that weren't as devastatingly This movie is still horrendous. I would call it "scum," but I'm too nice of a person. In my earlier review, I pointed out positive aspects of the movie. Well, really, I pointed out aspects of the movie that weren't as devastatingly horrible as Depp's performance. The Oompa Loompas are bad, the writing is bad, the acting is bad, and the aesthetic elements are only enough to entertain those who aren't yet old enough to understand that movies aren't all about pretty pictures and sing alongs. The only reason I give it a 2 now is to appease Nick R. And I do **think about [my] score**. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LolaR.Jul 16, 2005
Warning Will Robinson do not go see it. Bad - Bad - Bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AlK.Jul 18, 2005
Disgusting movie compared to the original. They completely ruined it. The music was horrible and lost the classic Oompa Loompa song. The cheap director also reuses ONE character for every oompa loompa. The modernized oompa song is Disgusting movie compared to the original. They completely ruined it. The music was horrible and lost the classic Oompa Loompa song. The cheap director also reuses ONE character for every oompa loompa. The modernized oompa song is dispicable. The so called "comedy" was not funny, and the acting was very poor on behalf of Charlie. The grandfather also has very poor acting. The reason behind Willy's "fear" b/c of his father is just plain stupid. This movie was horrible and I would pay $6.50 to you just NOT to see it. Ever lasting gobstopper? It's the size of a baseball. Lame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
michab.Jul 19, 2005
This is the worst movie ever I hate it an i like The O.C Better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MaryH.Jul 23, 2005
Mr. Depp's acting talents seem to have disappeared in this movie, lending no charm or depth to the role of Willie Wonka. What should have been a high point of the film, was barely tolerable. After the first half hour I was looking at my Mr. Depp's acting talents seem to have disappeared in this movie, lending no charm or depth to the role of Willie Wonka. What should have been a high point of the film, was barely tolerable. After the first half hour I was looking at my watch hoping it was a short film. And keep in mind that I am a great fan of Tim Burton, Johnny Depp and the story of Willa Wonka! So the disappointment was triple! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DoctaJul 23, 2005
Aweful in so many ways. If I ever see the guy who plays the Oompa Loompas I'm gonna kick him in the nuts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JDFitzmauriceJul 26, 2005
Wow, what a dissapointment. I was really looking forward to Tim Burtons take on Dahl's twisted story and Johnny Deep's take on the sugar mogel himself but this film in no way met my expectations. Firstly the settings although Wow, what a dissapointment. I was really looking forward to Tim Burtons take on Dahl's twisted story and Johnny Deep's take on the sugar mogel himself but this film in no way met my expectations. Firstly the settings although fantastically Burton like held no charm or appeal. The factory itself was not the magical world of wonder a child like Charlie would want to make his own more like a sterile house of horror. Charlie himself was likeable and Dave Kelly was a loveable rogue as Granpa Joe but the rest of the children and parents were just not so unlikable that you looked forward to their demise, unlike the kids of the book who made the reader want to tear out pages. In fact on the contrary it was like Wonka was running some sick torture factory for his hapless guests. Now to Wonka, I love Johnny Depp but this was far and away his worst performance. Instead of portraying Wonka as a charismatic madman we were presented with none other that Michael Jackson, sure he was creepy and odd but like Jackson had no redeemable characteristics. As a huge fan of the original it was always going to be hard to watch a remake but I really thought Burton would nail it, unfortunetly I came out feeling like a nasty child who had just met his demise in the evil factory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewWDAug 3, 2005
Unbelievably bad. I can't even scratch the surface of this movie's failings in this short review. I love the original, but this version is truly horrible. Awful, awful, awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DonaaB.Sep 11, 2005
This movie was disgusting!!! A shameful attempt of a remake! This movie has nothing catchy about and no interesting songs. The old movie is a million times better. This movie was just plain stupid. Don't waste your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TheElusivePossomSep 2, 2005
It's no secret that Roald Dahl despised the original book-to-film adaptation of his classic children's novel of the same name, but this rehash of that popular classic would surely make him turn in his grave. Johnny Depp certainly It's no secret that Roald Dahl despised the original book-to-film adaptation of his classic children's novel of the same name, but this rehash of that popular classic would surely make him turn in his grave. Johnny Depp certainly makes the character of Wonka his own, which turns out to be a bizarre and often irritating abomination lacking any of Gene Wilder's aimiable charm. Helena Bonham Carter, however, plays a very lovely mum, and the majority of the film's laughs are gained from Violet Beauregarde's mum's face - every expression is comedy gold! The film's plot seems stunted and wayward, with classic scenes from the original (the bubble room) omitted in favour of visiting a room full of killer CGI squirrels. The film is also littered with unnecessary insights into Wonka's childhood, all of which failing to draw the wacky chocolateer out of being 1-dimensional. On top of all this, the conclusion is extremely poor and overly sugar-sweet. See it if you love Mr Depp; otherwise buy a box of Milk Tray and stay at home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
PoochNov 7, 2005
This movie was possibly the worst idea to come out of Tim Burtons hatfull of worst ideas. Remaking the classic movie, WIlly Wonka and the Chocolate Facotry, and giving it a new name, trying to knock it off as being different, what a horrible This movie was possibly the worst idea to come out of Tim Burtons hatfull of worst ideas. Remaking the classic movie, WIlly Wonka and the Chocolate Facotry, and giving it a new name, trying to knock it off as being different, what a horrible idea. They tried to make it a little darker by including Wonka's childhood, but that ended up sucking a big one. It was a bad idea to make this movie. Period. The classic movie has now been ruined for me, since I have seen these new cheap knock-offs for Oompa Loompas. The Oompa Loompas used to be my favorite part, and now I just want to slice my wrists open everytime I hear their name mentioned. The music sucked too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ShaneJ.Nov 8, 2005
It just didn't have the same fun factor as the first one. Also, Depp seemed like he was just trying way to hard to be wierd. The movie was just not as good as the orginal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
FilmgirlDec 2, 2005
What a disappointment! What's with those stupid Oompaloompas???? What's with Johnny Depp? He is one creepy dude.... Miss this one, trust me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DV8Dec 5, 2005
Oh my god... I hate Tim Burton's visions of, well, just about everything. I realize that this movie stays closer to the book than Willy Wonka does, but all the symbolism, all the mystery about Willy Wonka are completely obviated, and Oh my god... I hate Tim Burton's visions of, well, just about everything. I realize that this movie stays closer to the book than Willy Wonka does, but all the symbolism, all the mystery about Willy Wonka are completely obviated, and the movie withers as it becomes sentimental and preachy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PrudenceK.Jul 14, 2005
Johnny Depp scared me. This is the worst film of the year or the best. I HATED IT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JeffreyT.Jul 15, 2005
The wit and morals are gone. What's left is a wonka who couldn't invent the leaver if he had a diagram, and yet we are to believe he's the best at everything candy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SethA.Jul 15, 2005
Do the Brits know that nothing they do is funny to Americans? Anyway, I just could not get into this insipid film. Oompa Loompas? What? Even in dreamworld this made no sense. The only thing that was somewhat cool was Johnny Depp. He had a Do the Brits know that nothing they do is funny to Americans? Anyway, I just could not get into this insipid film. Oompa Loompas? What? Even in dreamworld this made no sense. The only thing that was somewhat cool was Johnny Depp. He had a weird pedophilic quality that made this way more credible and added a darkness that simpler minds would never pick up. Too bad about the rest of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AdamS.Jul 16, 2005
Who cares about the book? This is a movie. A horrible, horrible movie! It doesn't even have the decency to be totally awful. We get excellent direction and a first rate actor (Depp), but bad everything else. Listen people; A great book Who cares about the book? This is a movie. A horrible, horrible movie! It doesn't even have the decency to be totally awful. We get excellent direction and a first rate actor (Depp), but bad everything else. Listen people; A great book does not always make a good movie (White Oleander, Beloved), and this should have stayed off the silver screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
YawgmoftJul 16, 2005
This movie is not dark, this movie does not follow the book, please stop posting lies... and the reason why we can "dare" to give this movie under 5? Because it was horrible, Depp sucked, and CGI candy isn't magical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChipR.Jul 17, 2005
Very disappointing. I couldn't wait for it to end. Hated the "modern" Oompa Loompa sequences. This movie is nothing compared to the original. Where is Gene Wilder when we need him?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ArgenisP.Jul 24, 2005
How can they do this to such a classic. Where is the soul. The story line does not make a case for a heart warming ending. The attack of the clones all over again, dwarfs with no personality. The songs suck. Only the first one was catchy. How can they do this to such a classic. Where is the soul. The story line does not make a case for a heart warming ending. The attack of the clones all over again, dwarfs with no personality. The songs suck. Only the first one was catchy. The kids acting was good. and the chocolote river was really the star this time around. I believe, if they had today's special effects for the first movie it will be 100 at metacritic. What can i say I hated it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KatherineB.Jul 27, 2005
I'm a huge fan of the original Willy Wonka, but I can honestly say that's not a factor in my score. This was the first movie I've ever gone to where I've actually wanted to get up and leave. The beginning of the movie I'm a huge fan of the original Willy Wonka, but I can honestly say that's not a factor in my score. This was the first movie I've ever gone to where I've actually wanted to get up and leave. The beginning of the movie seemed promising enough. The Bucket family is wonderful; Freddie Highmore is so talented and, well, adorable. Grandpa Joe is endearing and Grandma Georgina is hilarious. Helena Bonham Carter is is good as Mrs. Bucket. The beginning of the movie--meaning the part prior to entering the factory--is somewhat drawn out, but still very enjoyable. The aesthetics are wonderful; the design of the Bucket family home is creative and well executed. The most amusing part of the movie is when the children and their escorts first arrive at the factory and are greeted by a somewhat perverse spectacle of dolls. Think of the Duloc greeting in Shrek. Surprisingly, the movie actually goes dowhill after the guests enter the factory. Parts of the factory come across as too pristine and almost sterile. The candy room is attractive, but lacks the level of fantasy that's expected by most viewers. Augustus Gloop, Violet Beauregard, Mike TeeVee, and Veruca Salt are played by four relatively unknown young actors. They are all relatively successful at creating their own quirky, irritating characters. Violet Beauregard and the competitive Mrs. Beauregard are probably the most entertaining of the four pairs. Johnny Depp is one of the biggest disappointments of this movie. The character of Willy Wonka is supposed to be a somewhat sinister, twisted, and internally unfulfilled character, but Depp's performance is unable to emote the complexity of the troubled Willy Wonka. Willy Wonka comes across as shallow; every single one of his lines is emotionless and monotonous. The Oompa Loompas are disappointing. None of the fault lies in the actor, who seems to do his part well. The songs, however, are overproduced and basically indiscernable. The fact that the film follows the book more closely is nice, since the story is in fact quite different than the one told in the original movie. This movie will most likely bore anyone over the age of 10. The visual and aural elements are only enough to entertain the youngest of viewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TimD.Jul 30, 2005
Let me take a stab at the reason a lot of people really hated this film...there was really no emotion to it. Nothing was really very funny or shocking or exciting. You knew what was going to happen. No surprises. The theatre was full of kids Let me take a stab at the reason a lot of people really hated this film...there was really no emotion to it. Nothing was really very funny or shocking or exciting. You knew what was going to happen. No surprises. The theatre was full of kids and it was just eerily quiet. This movie had no soul. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful