User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 517 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 26, 2011
    8
    Before I start, let me say that I never read the original book nor have I ever watched the old Willy Wonka movie, and frankly, I have no intention of doing either. So without any expectations, I ended up enjoying this fun movie. However, I have to be honest in this review by saying Johnny Depp's performance in this movie was disappointing, becuase it just didn't feel like it was him, whichBefore I start, let me say that I never read the original book nor have I ever watched the old Willy Wonka movie, and frankly, I have no intention of doing either. So without any expectations, I ended up enjoying this fun movie. However, I have to be honest in this review by saying Johnny Depp's performance in this movie was disappointing, becuase it just didn't feel like it was him, which is really unfortunate since I am a huge fan of him, especially in the Pirates of the Caribbean movies. But ignoring that, everything else in the movie is good. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. The detail and meticulous design of the sets, the costumes, the atmosphere of his films and how they all in some strange way impart a certain message of sorts that has a bizarre connection to real life. Tim Burton's 2005 adaptation of Roald Dahl's beloved children book "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" has a method to its madness and a meaning to its story. "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is one of Burton's best films since Big Fish and Sleepy Hollow. Tim Burton's take on the legendary tale of eccentric chocolate maker Willy Wonka and young dreamer Charlie Bucket is a film of meticulous design, it is meant to be a children movie but "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" plays out better as a quirky adult fantasy adventure with a PG rating. Burton doesn't spare any detail he uses all his style and energy to create the bleak world of Charlie Bucket and all his imagination and light hearted enthusiasm to make the beautiful chocolate factory of Willy Wonka, it's astounding how it works, how it moves along flawlessly telling it's story and just wowing the audience in each and every scene. It is not a cheap exploitation flick with a famous name slapped on it it is a story about a person, a place and a situation that comes to be fall that person (Freddie Highmore). Burton has not only updated a classic story for a modern generation he has effectively made a film that is both true to his quirky style and mainstream enough for modern audiences, It's one of the best films of the last decade and also one of Burton's very best. The film only works whether you believe in what you are seeing; it succeeds on how you look at it if you look at it with a cynical point of view than this film will be a terrible time and a complete waste of money to you. However, if you keep your eyes open and your mind clear of any doubt than this film will work wonders on your soul, your imagination and your imagination. Tim Burton's Charlie And The Chocolate Factory Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    Tim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. The detail and meticulous design of the sets, the costumes, the atmosphere of his films and how they all in some strange way impart a certain message ofTim Burton is a master at constructing brilliant and unique films that boggle the mind and defy all beliefs there films that deliver a bold new twist each time but what makes Burton a master is his attention and devotion to his story. The detail and meticulous design of the sets, the costumes, the atmosphere of his films and how they all in some strange way impart a certain message of sorts that has a bizarre connection to real life. Tim Burton's 2005 adaptation of Roald Dahl's beloved children book "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" has a method to its madness and a meaning to its story. "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" is one of Burton's best films since Big Fish and Sleepy Hollow. Tim Burton's take on the legendary tale of eccentric chocolate maker Willy Wonka and young dreamer Charlie Bucket is a film of meticulous design, it is meant to be a children movie but "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" plays out better as a quirky adult fantasy adventure with a PG rating. Burton doesn't spare any detail he uses all his style and energy to create the bleak world of Charlie Bucket and all his imagination and light hearted enthusiasm to make the beautiful chocolate factory of Willy Wonka, it's astounding how it works, how it moves along flawlessly telling it's story and just wowing the audience in each and every scene. It is not a cheap exploitation flick with a famous name slapped on it it is a story about a person, a place and a situation that comes to be fall that person (Freddie Highmore). Burton has not only updated a classic story for a modern generation he has effectively made a film that is both true to his quirky style and mainstream enough for modern audiences, It's one of the best films of the last decade and also one of Burton's very best. The film only works whether you believe in what you are seeing; it succeeds on how you look at it if you look at it with a cynical point of view than this film will be a terrible time and a complete waste of money to you. However, if you keep your eyes open and your mind clear of any doubt than this film will work wonders on your soul, your imagination and your imagination. Tim Burton's "Charlie and the Chocolate Factoryâ Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2010
    8
    Johnny Depp realises Tim Burton's strange adaptation of Roald Dahl's classic in one of his finest acting performances. He brings the bizarre to a character who was originally enigmatic, a bold and successful move. Not to mention the funky Umpa Lumpa songs, much better than 'Doo pa dee doo'. I don't care what the parents say, I prefer this version!
  5. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    Tim Burton is the master of darkness. every movie he makes kicks a**. including this one. the cast was very supporting, the songs were enjoyable, the visuals were brilliant, and the cinematography was awesome. with Burton around, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is the best movie ever made.
  6. saffronf
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    I loved the film as soon as i watched it the umpa lumpas are my fav because i loved thier song chewing chewing they should make a cd from thier songs. johnny depp was really great for the part of willy wonka.
  7. LemonC.
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    Anyone who says this movie sucks is just a hater because this movie is fierce!
  8. emmaw.
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    I think it awsome. JONNY YOU ROCK and yer i want the golden ticket =p
  9. mobius
    Aug 4, 2005
    7
    Enjoyable film. the problem is that the americans have ran out of ideas for films and have now gone back to remake anyfilm they can get a licence to. personally im waiting for the remake of men in black, im sure the yanks will remake that in a couple of years
  10. CrystalS.
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie. Tim Burton is the best no matter whta people think. The movie was NOT a remake or a sequel..It was what tim thought it should be so he expressed it how he saw it, U go tim burton. Work ur magic!!!
  11. jr
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Superb!
  12. FabioC.
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    Wonderful movie. Great acting (Depp plays an intriguing Wonka, Highmore is a truly expressive Charlie), stunning visuals, usual great music by Elfman, great humour, the Oompa-Loompas... Highly recommended.
  13. alicew.
    Oct 24, 2005
    9
    Delightfully creepy.
  14. BitBurn
    Jul 31, 2005
    7
    It was alright I thought, except for the singing part that were bugging me.
  15. Julio
    Jul 30, 2005
    9
    Is great.
  16. WallyS.
    Dec 6, 2005
    9
    A true family film, technically masterfull, brilliantly directed, and Depp once more prooves himself an excellent actor. The art direction, fantastic. The score, superb...and the fun never stops.
  17. ChrisJ
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    This is fantastic. Even better than the original. It has more vision and is true to the book. SEE IT IN IMAX, It is even beter.
  18. cripij.
    Jul 15, 2005
    8
    Nice and overwhelming experience trough candymaster Burton and cripi actor Depp.
  19. RyanG
    Jul 15, 2005
    8
    I think Prudence K. may, in fact be schizo. ("Worst film of the year...or the best...I HATED IT" um..what?!?) It's people like that who give user reviews a bad rep. This is neither the worst film of the year (we still have 5 months left, Prude! Unless perhaps you're clairvoyant) nor the best, but it is a marked improvement over Burtons last few films (though Big Fish is highly I think Prudence K. may, in fact be schizo. ("Worst film of the year...or the best...I HATED IT" um..what?!?) It's people like that who give user reviews a bad rep. This is neither the worst film of the year (we still have 5 months left, Prude! Unless perhaps you're clairvoyant) nor the best, but it is a marked improvement over Burtons last few films (though Big Fish is highly underrated) and Depp's performance is SUPPOSED to be creepy. That's kind of the point. Expand
  20. JoeC.
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    i think people like Seth A should let big people review movies- and maybe so some homework. The movie is based off on a book.
  21. JosipM
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    The best movie in quite some time.
  22. AaronF.
    Jul 16, 2005
    8
    this movie was...interesting. in my opinion the original is better because of its more 'magical' qualities. wilder's willy wonka is superior to depp's because depp becomes annoying as the film progresses (there is only so much weird one can take). also the imagery, though more consistent with the book, looks processed at times. i will say that the children are overall this movie was...interesting. in my opinion the original is better because of its more 'magical' qualities. wilder's willy wonka is superior to depp's because depp becomes annoying as the film progresses (there is only so much weird one can take). also the imagery, though more consistent with the book, looks processed at times. i will say that the children are overall better cast here than in the original (with the exception of veruca salt - "i want it now" will always be a favorite) and it is an enjoyable watch. i recommend it for the casual movie-goer, it's great fun but not cult-classic good. Expand
  23. Ed
    Jul 17, 2005
    10
    Honestly, the best move I've seen all summer, and one of the most entertaining movies I've seen in quite some time. Johnny Depp's performance is hysterically quirky and still loveable despite what all the critics say.
  24. ClintM.
    Jul 18, 2005
    9
    Johnny Dep is BRILLIANT! Can I just say that? He created the hilarious and memorable "Jack Sparrow" in Pirates of the Carribean, and now he's made a whole new, whackier, weirder, and BETTER Willy Wonka! There's a darker side to be seen in this Wonka but a darker side w/a story to tell. Which is another reason I enjoyed this version just as much (if not more) as the original: Johnny Dep is BRILLIANT! Can I just say that? He created the hilarious and memorable "Jack Sparrow" in Pirates of the Carribean, and now he's made a whole new, whackier, weirder, and BETTER Willy Wonka! There's a darker side to be seen in this Wonka but a darker side w/a story to tell. Which is another reason I enjoyed this version just as much (if not more) as the original: there was more "meat on the bones". There's still a lot of the same mishaps and eye candy as before, but we get a new ending which is far superior to the original in my eyes. The kids are hilarious and annoying at the same time, the visuals are superb, but again, Johnny Depp is absolutely wonderful, proving he's the best Hollywood's got to offer right now. You'll find yourself smiling and laughing the entire time! Expand
  25. JeremiahC.
    Jul 18, 2005
    8
    Good remake. Same concept as the first movie, with a few twists and turns to keep you guessing.
  26. MikeT.V.
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    Almost too good. Burton, Depp, and a fantastic chocolate factory. seriously, what more do you want?
  27. TerryS.
    Jul 23, 2005
    7
    good movie heavily dragged down by depp.No longer riffing on Richards,Burton appars to be feeding wonka chunks of austin powers/dr. evil and depp only shines during the moments he is riffing on Myers.
  28. RobertB.
    Jul 25, 2005
    9
    Suprisingly warm with a picture perfect ending. I have to admit that I was a bit worried about this film prior to seeing it due in part to the lukewarm reviews I had read. Especially considering most of these reviews focused on a poor performance from Johnny Depp. Well, you can always count on the critics to muddy things up, most predictably regarding any film that is a "remake." They Suprisingly warm with a picture perfect ending. I have to admit that I was a bit worried about this film prior to seeing it due in part to the lukewarm reviews I had read. Especially considering most of these reviews focused on a poor performance from Johnny Depp. Well, you can always count on the critics to muddy things up, most predictably regarding any film that is a "remake." They don't like'em, period. I, however, found Depp to be quite good. Very funny and creatively unique. Both of which are becoming trademark characteristics. Charlie was likeable and warm and all the other characters are well cast and non-distracting. If you are going to see a newer version of the original, don't go. Remember, this is not a musical and is defintely recognizeable as a Tim Burton film. I particularly enjoyed the flashback scenes of Wonka as a child as well as discovering the umpa-lumpas. A visually interesting piece, laced with a quirky style of cerebral humor, and slightly altered to stand on it's own as a film Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a keeper. Expand
  29. cassidyh
    Jul 27, 2005
    7
    This movie i think was one of the best remakes (out at this time). It went into more detail about willy than the origianal movie which was nice. Being a 13 year old it was nice to see that it had funny parts about Willy's "daddy" issues. The acting by jonny depp was incredible! (no doubt i am a jonny fan) but i think he gave an excellent effort. The childrens acting i thought This movie i think was one of the best remakes (out at this time). It went into more detail about willy than the origianal movie which was nice. Being a 13 year old it was nice to see that it had funny parts about Willy's "daddy" issues. The acting by jonny depp was incredible! (no doubt i am a jonny fan) but i think he gave an excellent effort. The childrens acting i thought wasn't perfect but good , the casting was PERFECT! i loved the opma lumpa's they/he were/was excellent. The best part in that movie to me was @ the end when charlie was shining Mr.Wonka's show and commented on willy's hair!! THAT WAS FUNNY! :D Expand
  30. MarcD
    Aug 17, 2005
    8
    Great entertainment. A movie which succeeds in doing what all entertainment should be doing with more regularity.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Here's a film about kids and for kids that has not lost touch with what it is like to actually be a kid.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Entertaining and fabulously imaginative in many ways, this second bigscreen rendition of the late author's modest morality tale on the wages of unbridled excess sports excesses of its own.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    60
    This is rather a thin tale, not much thickened by Burton's direction or Depp's playing. There's a distance, a detachment to this film. It lacks passion.