Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 15, 2005
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 544 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
338
Mixed:
96
Negative:
110
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
groundfisherSep 4, 2005
The plot is entirely linear with no sub-plots at all. The ending comes about abruptly and is excessivly 'happy ever after'. --New Paragraph-- Johnny Depp was superb and to my mind his performance was inspired/influenced by a The plot is entirely linear with no sub-plots at all. The ending comes about abruptly and is excessivly 'happy ever after'. --New Paragraph-- Johnny Depp was superb and to my mind his performance was inspired/influenced by a combinaton of Mike Myers in Austin Powers, Jim Carrey, and Depp's own originality. --New Paragraph-- However, the character himself is another matter. Wonka's flashbacks were unnecessary and intrusive, taking up time in the movie that could've been better spent developing other characters or spent on wondrous scenes inside the chocolate factory (the Bubble Room would've been nice). --New Paragraph-- And despite the fact 'there is so much to see' inside the factory, we didn't see very much at all. --New Paragraph-- It was slightly jarring to hear English characters referring to chocolate as 'candy' and to their currency as 'dollars' (don't Americans know what sweets and pounds are?). --New Paragraph-- All in all quite an enjoyable film with a very simple plot and a disappointing ending. If you can laugh along with the movie while it laughs with and at itself, you'll enjoy it. If you're expecting a sincere, morality tale with a feel-good chocolate factory that evokes a child-like sense of awe, you won't get your money's worth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
roberti.Jul 4, 2007
Semi-sweet, with over-the-top imaginative scenes worthy of the Wizard, yet with bitter overtones of a jaded era. Who is Depp portraying here? He paints a misanthropic, mincing portrait of ambiguous origin. As social satire, and as Semi-sweet, with over-the-top imaginative scenes worthy of the Wizard, yet with bitter overtones of a jaded era. Who is Depp portraying here? He paints a misanthropic, mincing portrait of ambiguous origin. As social satire, and as dreamscape, we let go and sluice down the chocolate raceways, on edge and ready to bolt if need be. What does this film say about us? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LukeLOct 25, 2005
"What do you get with a bad Oopma-Loopa....a lot of bad singing, Oopma Loompa dipity doo Burton's new Oompa-Loompa is just a fool." A 10+ movie if Burton would have stuck to the old Oopma-Loopma theme.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TokyochuchuJan 2, 2015
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is an amusing adaptation from Tim Burton. His style is stamped all over this movie in everything from ethos to characters to design. The film is not successful 100% of the time but it's a more than adequateCharlie and the Chocolate Factory is an amusing adaptation from Tim Burton. His style is stamped all over this movie in everything from ethos to characters to design. The film is not successful 100% of the time but it's a more than adequate re-interpretation. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
moonman1994Dec 23, 2013
This is the perfect example of a film that never needed to be made. It adds nothing to the original film and if anything it takes away from the original. This Burton remake has none of the charm of the original and what it lacks in charm itThis is the perfect example of a film that never needed to be made. It adds nothing to the original film and if anything it takes away from the original. This Burton remake has none of the charm of the original and what it lacks in charm it makes up in the creepy Burton style. That said the film is more faithful to the book but that doesn't make it any more enjoyable. If you like the book go and see it. If you love the original film you might just want to skip this remake. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
NecromusDec 4, 2012
This movie was okay and I really enjoyed Johnny Depp's Michael Jackson-esque version of WIlly Wonka (although he's stated on the Ellen show that his inspiration was imagining what a stoned George W. Bush would act like lol). But I prefer theThis movie was okay and I really enjoyed Johnny Depp's Michael Jackson-esque version of WIlly Wonka (although he's stated on the Ellen show that his inspiration was imagining what a stoned George W. Bush would act like lol). But I prefer the original over this version. The one thing that really annoyed me in this movie was how bad the Oompa Loompa scenes were, the music was way too fast to understand what they were saying. In the original movie what they were saying was the focus of the movie, that got lost in translation in this remake. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
LoRevisorJan 15, 2015
É divertido no mínimo,Johnny Depp arrasa como Willy Wonka,Mas o filme para um adulto ou um próprio adolescente já não tem muita graça. Falta ação é claro,porém tem seus momentos
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 26, 2013
In its quirky and fun ways, Chocolate Factory succeeds, especially with Depp as its leading man. Playing his usual kooky but fun character, Depp amazes you as Willy Wonka.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
GamecubeLoverJul 20, 2016
The acting is okay and the special effects are better. I like the original better but this one follows the book almost all the time. But I find the characters much more better in the book than the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
CAENTDec 6, 2005
It was a decent movie, but if your like me, and have watched the original, this comes nowhere even close. The oompa loompas were horrible, Johnny Depp, didnt do a bad job, but his character (willy wonka) was annoying, silly, and sometimes It was a decent movie, but if your like me, and have watched the original, this comes nowhere even close. The oompa loompas were horrible, Johnny Depp, didnt do a bad job, but his character (willy wonka) was annoying, silly, and sometimes boring. The one cool thing about this movie, was that we got to see into Wonka's past and how he became a chocolate maker. The young kid, playing Charlie, did an excellent job, but overall, this movie was a huge letdown. Alot of the humor fell short, and Gene Wilder is a much better fit for Willy Wonka, both as an actor and in the script. This was definately a remake of sorts, mainly aimed towards the younger audience. I was hoping it was like the original, but with Tim Burton's amazing talent. But it wasnt. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
georgea.Nov 21, 2005
Johnny depp amazing as always however i think that he's version of willy wonka is ott. My favourite scene in the old film is where he pretends to fall over and does a forward roll which isen't in the film instead it's replaced Johnny depp amazing as always however i think that he's version of willy wonka is ott. My favourite scene in the old film is where he pretends to fall over and does a forward roll which isen't in the film instead it's replaced by a very tacky song that lets u know wat the rest of the film is going to be like. A dissapointing film and should only be seen by those who haven't read the book or seen the original film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SebastienSep 28, 2005
I first didn't want to see that movie cos' of the story (It come from a book for kids I read it when i was young), but I saw Tim Burton's name written with it so i decided to go with friends anyway... The result is that you I first didn't want to see that movie cos' of the story (It come from a book for kids I read it when i was young), but I saw Tim Burton's name written with it so i decided to go with friends anyway... The result is that you may clearly recognize a Tim Burton's movie by the landscape features and the ambient but Tim Burton seems to have been really restrained to the story without making it getting really "burtonian". Even Johnny Depp hardly get to make it a good movie... Entertaining yes but not that good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DanH.Nov 17, 2005
Enchanting until the singing starts....Depp brilliant again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
"Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" adds up overwhelming creativity into the book based movie. The result is that the movie got drunk with chocolate.
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
5
eTurkeyFeb 15, 2012
Unlike the 1971 film 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory', this movie manages to stray closer to the original book that Roald Dahl penned. The result creates a more weird and quirky atmosphere that even Tim Burton fanboys are used to.Unlike the 1971 film 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory', this movie manages to stray closer to the original book that Roald Dahl penned. The result creates a more weird and quirky atmosphere that even Tim Burton fanboys are used to. Whilst the soundtrack was orchestrated beautifully by longtime collaborator Danny Elfman, it was another fellow confederate in Johnny Depp who was puzzling. His portrayal of Willy Wonka was so random in his mannerisms you couldn't help but scream out for Gene Wilder. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Apr 3, 2012
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a pretty average for very weird movie. There's a distance, a detachment to this film. It lacks passion. But its has some very funny scenes with Jonny Depp.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
kuehnauJun 3, 2016
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory isn't a bad movie by any means, the problem is that not only does it appear to be a abridged version of the classic movie so many of us grew up with, but they made Willy Wonka some what of a weirdo and creep.Charlie and the Chocolate Factory isn't a bad movie by any means, the problem is that not only does it appear to be a abridged version of the classic movie so many of us grew up with, but they made Willy Wonka some what of a weirdo and creep.

The new ending to the film feels forced at best. I think what people wanted was a fresh take on a old film without having too much changed, the fact is, they changed enough to make it an issue for people who held the classic in such high regards.

Many of the classic scenes were either changed or removed entirely. The Ompa Lompa songs were altered in a way I did not find enjoyable. Other times I was wondering were other scenes have gone entirely. The whole plot of Slug Worth working for Wonka. The classic scene where Charlie and his Grandfather "steal" fizzy lifting drinkings was also removed.

I have no problem with people re-imagining a classic, my problem lies with the amount of changes made.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
axelkochJun 11, 2013
Tim Burton's weird adaption of Roald Dahl's novel is a partly hilarious movie that stars a fantastic Johnny Depp as the maverick chocolatier and Freddie Highmore as the eponymous boy who is allowed to pay a visit to the former's mysteriousTim Burton's weird adaption of Roald Dahl's novel is a partly hilarious movie that stars a fantastic Johnny Depp as the maverick chocolatier and Freddie Highmore as the eponymous boy who is allowed to pay a visit to the former's mysterious chocolate factory. While the funny, yet not at all musically complex musical numbers are a welcome and amusing gimmick and Depp provides all-ages-entertainment at its best, very little of this movie stays in memory. The production design and the costumes are impressive, but it's the 21st century and a creative director like Mr. Burton could've really made more out of the source material. Furthermore, most of the movie's cast is miserable and extremely overacts their parts. The bad performances are also bred by the utterly silly screenplay that may contain good laughs for pre-school kids, however, is oftentimes boring and really cheaply written. I can't help myself but think that Mr. Burton didn't even utilize half of the potential that the original story has. But besides that, it's a very enjoyable family movie that has truly humorous scenes for both kids and adults. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
TrentS.Nov 9, 2005
Could have done without the musical numbers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MalcomM.Oct 26, 2005
Not as good as they say. Quite dissapointing really, coming from Burton, and Depp's character lacks, well, 'Depth'. What can I say? Most might find it sweet, yes, to some extend. Colorful, oh yes, that comes with the Not as good as they say. Quite dissapointing really, coming from Burton, and Depp's character lacks, well, 'Depth'. What can I say? Most might find it sweet, yes, to some extend. Colorful, oh yes, that comes with the territory. But in all this kiddy delight and muse, the approach Tim took felt more creepy and pretty disturbing, more than anything. I mean, c'mon, no matter how bad and spoilt or rotten a kid's attitude, he or she shouldn't be punished to the extend that Mr Burton deemed justifiable to teach these kids a lesson. Coz, as it turns out, the lesson was extreme and for life! And heck, the kid's were still rotten, and worst off. Maybe he's right, i dunno, but it was more a nightmare than a sweet chocolate to me. And please, the oompa loompas or whatever heck those midgets were, they're so freakingly irritating what with their crazy dance routines and forgettable songs! Man, bring me back Planet of The Apes, Tim! At least that was more watchable than this bash of brownish nonsense. Or better still, let us just go watch the original Charlie with Gene Wilder, now that was a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CaptanS.Nov 26, 2005
One of the least inspiring movies of the last few years. Uncolorful, not charming and definitely not funny. Johnny Depp has to be one of the worst picks for this character, but honestly, why mess with "Willy Wonka" to begin with? Gene Wilder One of the least inspiring movies of the last few years. Uncolorful, not charming and definitely not funny. Johnny Depp has to be one of the worst picks for this character, but honestly, why mess with "Willy Wonka" to begin with? Gene Wilder was amazing in the roll, charming and funny, but this ain't "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory", mores the pity! Lifeless, uninspiring and bland! I give this one a 4 for the effects, but there's not much else to be excited about. Do yourselves a favor, go buy the original and let this one die a slow death. This review'll save 2 hrs. of your life that you will never get back! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BrianMcCriticJun 29, 2013
As a big fan of the original I may be unfairly critical, but when you remake a classic you should be held to a high standard which this film fails to deliver.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews