User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 517 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. LaurenU
    Jul 15, 2005
    6
    Pros: The script is closer to the book, which was nice The acting of the children was surprisingly good. The flaming puppet introduction. The store designs. They were amazing, breathtaking set designs, but the only ones of their kind in the movie. The other set designs I found were suprisingly uninspired, especially for Burton. Cons: So many sets were direct copies of the original movie, Pros: The script is closer to the book, which was nice The acting of the children was surprisingly good. The flaming puppet introduction. The store designs. They were amazing, breathtaking set designs, but the only ones of their kind in the movie. The other set designs I found were suprisingly uninspired, especially for Burton. Cons: So many sets were direct copies of the original movie, why even bother with the remake? Johnny Depp's performance made Wonka creepy (and not in a good, Gene Wilder way) and vaguely revolting and the over-stylized delivery made even his humorous lines fall flat The Wonka backstory was formulaic, sappy, useless, and not true to even the sentiment of the book. Why were all the Oompa-loompas played by one actor? Tim Burton, if anything, is gifted at making beautiful things look rather sinister and sinister things beautiful, but this movie was so flawless and bright that it looked sterile and boring. Also, this movie provided so many great opportunities to insert visual gags regarding other, fantastical candies in development at the Wonka factory and to feature twisted and complicated machines (that I know Burton can design) to make the candies, but he totally dropped the ball. Expand
  2. MR
    Jul 15, 2005
    6
    Special efffects were good...we all know the story , so basically we watch jhonny depp do a creepy micheal jackson.
  3. BradR.
    Aug 9, 2005
    6
    I was looking forward to this movie, as the original was one of my favourite childhood films. I took my daughter to see it, and her reaction was not too dissimilar from my own: fairly subdued. When compared to the original there was very little that was better. Johnny Depp's performance was a brave attempt to be somewhat different, but the effete character he portrayed never seemed I was looking forward to this movie, as the original was one of my favourite childhood films. I took my daughter to see it, and her reaction was not too dissimilar from my own: fairly subdued. When compared to the original there was very little that was better. Johnny Depp's performance was a brave attempt to be somewhat different, but the effete character he portrayed never seemed to have genuine enthusiasm to be Willy Wonka (I could not help but think in parts he resembled the 'misunderstood' Michael Jackson), as opposed to Gene Wilder's zaniness and great humour. The songs of the Oompa-loompas were difficult to understand given the music, which overpowered the lyrics, although there were a few good scenes involving them. Charlie's grandfather had no real independent character, unlike the original, and the subplots in the original were lacking. Altogether, it confirms my view of most re-makes -a far cry from the original. Expand
  4. groundfisher
    Sep 4, 2005
    6
    The plot is entirely linear with no sub-plots at all. The ending comes about abruptly and is excessivly 'happy ever after'. --New Paragraph-- Johnny Depp was superb and to my mind his performance was inspired/influenced by a combinaton of Mike Myers in Austin Powers, Jim Carrey, and Depp's own originality. --New Paragraph-- However, the character himself is another matter. The plot is entirely linear with no sub-plots at all. The ending comes about abruptly and is excessivly 'happy ever after'. --New Paragraph-- Johnny Depp was superb and to my mind his performance was inspired/influenced by a combinaton of Mike Myers in Austin Powers, Jim Carrey, and Depp's own originality. --New Paragraph-- However, the character himself is another matter. Wonka's flashbacks were unnecessary and intrusive, taking up time in the movie that could've been better spent developing other characters or spent on wondrous scenes inside the chocolate factory (the Bubble Room would've been nice). --New Paragraph-- And despite the fact 'there is so much to see' inside the factory, we didn't see very much at all. --New Paragraph-- It was slightly jarring to hear English characters referring to chocolate as 'candy' and to their currency as 'dollars' (don't Americans know what sweets and pounds are?). --New Paragraph-- All in all quite an enjoyable film with a very simple plot and a disappointing ending. If you can laugh along with the movie while it laughs with and at itself, you'll enjoy it. If you're expecting a sincere, morality tale with a feel-good chocolate factory that evokes a child-like sense of awe, you won't get your money's worth. Expand
  5. chrisa
    Jul 18, 2005
    6
    This movie is like a stick of gum that loses it flaver to fast and should have been spit out about 20 min. earlyer.
  6. Tim
    Aug 4, 2005
    6
    Good movie prob wont see it again sum it up in one sentence. too demented for kids too retarded for adults. but its tim burton what did you expect.
  7. roberti.
    Jul 4, 2007
    6
    Semi-sweet, with over-the-top imaginative scenes worthy of the Wizard, yet with bitter overtones of a jaded era. Who is Depp portraying here? He paints a misanthropic, mincing portrait of ambiguous origin. As social satire, and as dreamscape, we let go and sluice down the chocolate raceways, on edge and ready to bolt if need be. What does this film say about us?
  8. LukeL
    Oct 25, 2005
    6
    "What do you get with a bad Oopma-Loopa....a lot of bad singing, Oopma Loompa dipity doo Burton's new Oompa-Loompa is just a fool." A 10+ movie if Burton would have stuck to the old Oopma-Loopma theme.
  9. Jan 2, 2015
    6
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is an amusing adaptation from Tim Burton. His style is stamped all over this movie in everything from ethos to characters to design. The film is not successful 100% of the time but it's a more than adequate re-interpretation.
  10. Dec 23, 2013
    6
    This is the perfect example of a film that never needed to be made. It adds nothing to the original film and if anything it takes away from the original. This Burton remake has none of the charm of the original and what it lacks in charm it makes up in the creepy Burton style. That said the film is more faithful to the book but that doesn't make it any more enjoyable. If you like the bookThis is the perfect example of a film that never needed to be made. It adds nothing to the original film and if anything it takes away from the original. This Burton remake has none of the charm of the original and what it lacks in charm it makes up in the creepy Burton style. That said the film is more faithful to the book but that doesn't make it any more enjoyable. If you like the book go and see it. If you love the original film you might just want to skip this remake. Expand
  11. Dec 4, 2012
    6
    This movie was okay and I really enjoyed Johnny Depp's Michael Jackson-esque version of WIlly Wonka (although he's stated on the Ellen show that his inspiration was imagining what a stoned George W. Bush would act like lol). But I prefer the original over this version. The one thing that really annoyed me in this movie was how bad the Oompa Loompa scenes were, the music was way too fast toThis movie was okay and I really enjoyed Johnny Depp's Michael Jackson-esque version of WIlly Wonka (although he's stated on the Ellen show that his inspiration was imagining what a stoned George W. Bush would act like lol). But I prefer the original over this version. The one thing that really annoyed me in this movie was how bad the Oompa Loompa scenes were, the music was way too fast to understand what they were saying. In the original movie what they were saying was the focus of the movie, that got lost in translation in this remake. Expand
  12. Jan 15, 2015
    6
    É divertido no mínimo,Johnny Depp arrasa como Willy Wonka,Mas o filme para um adulto ou um próprio adolescente já não tem muita graça. Falta ação é claro,porém tem seus momentos
  13. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    In its quirky and fun ways, Chocolate Factory succeeds, especially with Depp as its leading man. Playing his usual kooky but fun character, Depp amazes you as Willy Wonka.
  14. CAENT
    Dec 6, 2005
    5
    It was a decent movie, but if your like me, and have watched the original, this comes nowhere even close. The oompa loompas were horrible, Johnny Depp, didnt do a bad job, but his character (willy wonka) was annoying, silly, and sometimes boring. The one cool thing about this movie, was that we got to see into Wonka's past and how he became a chocolate maker. The young kid, playing It was a decent movie, but if your like me, and have watched the original, this comes nowhere even close. The oompa loompas were horrible, Johnny Depp, didnt do a bad job, but his character (willy wonka) was annoying, silly, and sometimes boring. The one cool thing about this movie, was that we got to see into Wonka's past and how he became a chocolate maker. The young kid, playing Charlie, did an excellent job, but overall, this movie was a huge letdown. Alot of the humor fell short, and Gene Wilder is a much better fit for Willy Wonka, both as an actor and in the script. This was definately a remake of sorts, mainly aimed towards the younger audience. I was hoping it was like the original, but with Tim Burton's amazing talent. But it wasnt. Expand
  15. georgea.
    Nov 21, 2005
    5
    Johnny depp amazing as always however i think that he's version of willy wonka is ott. My favourite scene in the old film is where he pretends to fall over and does a forward roll which isen't in the film instead it's replaced by a very tacky song that lets u know wat the rest of the film is going to be like. A dissapointing film and should only be seen by those who Johnny depp amazing as always however i think that he's version of willy wonka is ott. My favourite scene in the old film is where he pretends to fall over and does a forward roll which isen't in the film instead it's replaced by a very tacky song that lets u know wat the rest of the film is going to be like. A dissapointing film and should only be seen by those who haven't read the book or seen the original film. Expand
  16. Sebastien
    Sep 28, 2005
    5
    I first didn't want to see that movie cos' of the story (It come from a book for kids I read it when i was young), but I saw Tim Burton's name written with it so i decided to go with friends anyway... The result is that you may clearly recognize a Tim Burton's movie by the landscape features and the ambient but Tim Burton seems to have been really restrained to the I first didn't want to see that movie cos' of the story (It come from a book for kids I read it when i was young), but I saw Tim Burton's name written with it so i decided to go with friends anyway... The result is that you may clearly recognize a Tim Burton's movie by the landscape features and the ambient but Tim Burton seems to have been really restrained to the story without making it getting really "burtonian". Even Johnny Depp hardly get to make it a good movie... Entertaining yes but not that good. Expand
  17. DanH.
    Nov 17, 2005
    5
    Enchanting until the singing starts....Depp brilliant again.
  18. Sep 24, 2011
    5
    "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" adds up overwhelming creativity into the book based movie. The result is that the movie got drunk with chocolate.
  19. Feb 15, 2012
    5
    Unlike the 1971 film 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory', this movie manages to stray closer to the original book that Roald Dahl penned. The result creates a more weird and quirky atmosphere that even Tim Burton fanboys are used to. Whilst the soundtrack was orchestrated beautifully by longtime collaborator Danny Elfman, it was another fellow confederate in Johnny Depp who wasUnlike the 1971 film 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory', this movie manages to stray closer to the original book that Roald Dahl penned. The result creates a more weird and quirky atmosphere that even Tim Burton fanboys are used to. Whilst the soundtrack was orchestrated beautifully by longtime collaborator Danny Elfman, it was another fellow confederate in Johnny Depp who was puzzling. His portrayal of Willy Wonka was so random in his mannerisms you couldn't help but scream out for Gene Wilder. Expand
  20. Apr 3, 2012
    5
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a pretty average for very weird movie. There's a distance, a detachment to this film. It lacks passion. But its has some very funny scenes with Jonny Depp.
  21. Jun 3, 2016
    5
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory isn't a bad movie by any means, the problem is that not only does it appear to be a abridged version of the classic movie so many of us grew up with, but they made Willy Wonka some what of a weirdo and creep.

    The new ending to the film feels forced at best. I think what people wanted was a fresh take on a old film without having too much changed, the
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory isn't a bad movie by any means, the problem is that not only does it appear to be a abridged version of the classic movie so many of us grew up with, but they made Willy Wonka some what of a weirdo and creep.

    The new ending to the film feels forced at best. I think what people wanted was a fresh take on a old film without having too much changed, the fact is, they changed enough to make it an issue for people who held the classic in such high regards.

    Many of the classic scenes were either changed or removed entirely. The Ompa Lompa songs were altered in a way I did not find enjoyable. Other times I was wondering were other scenes have gone entirely. The whole plot of Slug Worth working for Wonka. The classic scene where Charlie and his Grandfather "steal" fizzy lifting drinkings was also removed.

    I have no problem with people re-imagining a classic, my problem lies with the amount of changes made.
    Expand
  22. Jun 11, 2013
    5
    Tim Burton's weird adaption of Roald Dahl's novel is a partly hilarious movie that stars a fantastic Johnny Depp as the maverick chocolatier and Freddie Highmore as the eponymous boy who is allowed to pay a visit to the former's mysterious chocolate factory. While the funny, yet not at all musically complex musical numbers are a welcome and amusing gimmick and Depp providesTim Burton's weird adaption of Roald Dahl's novel is a partly hilarious movie that stars a fantastic Johnny Depp as the maverick chocolatier and Freddie Highmore as the eponymous boy who is allowed to pay a visit to the former's mysterious chocolate factory. While the funny, yet not at all musically complex musical numbers are a welcome and amusing gimmick and Depp provides all-ages-entertainment at its best, very little of this movie stays in memory. The production design and the costumes are impressive, but it's the 21st century and a creative director like Mr. Burton could've really made more out of the source material. Furthermore, most of the movie's cast is miserable and extremely overacts their parts. The bad performances are also bred by the utterly silly screenplay that may contain good laughs for pre-school kids, however, is oftentimes boring and really cheaply written. I can't help myself but think that Mr. Burton didn't even utilize half of the potential that the original story has. But besides that, it's a very enjoyable family movie that has truly humorous scenes for both kids and adults. Expand
  23. Dec 6, 2015
    5
    This movie is mostly worth it if you like Johnny Depp. It is interesting enough to keep you sitting throughout the whole movie. But only one time. Besides Johnny Depp's acting which was terrific, the other actors performances were terrible. The movie has many cliches and overall it was an unnecessary remake.
  24. JonathanH.
    Jul 30, 2005
    4
    The vacuous performance by Depp is like a black hole in the film.
  25. LaurenS.
    Aug 19, 2005
    4
    Depp is uncomfortably creepy, far cry from the orignal.
  26. TrentS.
    Nov 9, 2005
    4
    Could have done without the musical numbers.
  27. MalcomM.
    Oct 26, 2005
    4
    Not as good as they say. Quite dissapointing really, coming from Burton, and Depp's character lacks, well, 'Depth'. What can I say? Most might find it sweet, yes, to some extend. Colorful, oh yes, that comes with the territory. But in all this kiddy delight and muse, the approach Tim took felt more creepy and pretty disturbing, more than anything. I mean, c'mon, no Not as good as they say. Quite dissapointing really, coming from Burton, and Depp's character lacks, well, 'Depth'. What can I say? Most might find it sweet, yes, to some extend. Colorful, oh yes, that comes with the territory. But in all this kiddy delight and muse, the approach Tim took felt more creepy and pretty disturbing, more than anything. I mean, c'mon, no matter how bad and spoilt or rotten a kid's attitude, he or she shouldn't be punished to the extend that Mr Burton deemed justifiable to teach these kids a lesson. Coz, as it turns out, the lesson was extreme and for life! And heck, the kid's were still rotten, and worst off. Maybe he's right, i dunno, but it was more a nightmare than a sweet chocolate to me. And please, the oompa loompas or whatever heck those midgets were, they're so freakingly irritating what with their crazy dance routines and forgettable songs! Man, bring me back Planet of The Apes, Tim! At least that was more watchable than this bash of brownish nonsense. Or better still, let us just go watch the original Charlie with Gene Wilder, now that was a classic. Expand
  28. CaptanS.
    Nov 26, 2005
    4
    One of the least inspiring movies of the last few years. Uncolorful, not charming and definitely not funny. Johnny Depp has to be one of the worst picks for this character, but honestly, why mess with "Willy Wonka" to begin with? Gene Wilder was amazing in the roll, charming and funny, but this ain't "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory", mores the pity! Lifeless, uninspiring and One of the least inspiring movies of the last few years. Uncolorful, not charming and definitely not funny. Johnny Depp has to be one of the worst picks for this character, but honestly, why mess with "Willy Wonka" to begin with? Gene Wilder was amazing in the roll, charming and funny, but this ain't "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory", mores the pity! Lifeless, uninspiring and bland! I give this one a 4 for the effects, but there's not much else to be excited about. Do yourselves a favor, go buy the original and let this one die a slow death. This review'll save 2 hrs. of your life that you will never get back! Expand
  29. Jun 29, 2013
    4
    As a big fan of the original I may be unfairly critical, but when you remake a classic you should be held to a high standard which this film fails to deliver.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Here's a film about kids and for kids that has not lost touch with what it is like to actually be a kid.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Entertaining and fabulously imaginative in many ways, this second bigscreen rendition of the late author's modest morality tale on the wages of unbridled excess sports excesses of its own.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Schickel
    60
    This is rather a thin tale, not much thickened by Burton's direction or Depp's playing. There's a distance, a detachment to this film. It lacks passion.