Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 11 out of 20
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Damon Wise
    Feb 10, 2014
    60
    A caper thriller that's sufficiently zippy to hold the attention. LaBeouf's current notoriety adds extra piquancy to those urban fight scenes.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Nov 14, 2013
    60
    We could have lived without another ’90s-influenced exercise in gritty wonderment. But thanks to a perfectly-matched lead, Shia LaBeouf, the movie makes enough impact to justify its existence.
  3. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Nov 18, 2013
    50
    However you cut it, with all that talent, Charlie Countryman feels like a sad, wasted opportunity.
  4. Reviewed by: Ben Kenigsberg
    Nov 13, 2013
    42
    In a film this hapless, it’s hardly a surprise that no one can keep Bucharest and Budapest straight.
  5. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    Feb 10, 2014
    40
    Mostly, this is empty, ugly and pretentious.
  6. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Nov 12, 2013
    40
    It’s an engrossing, overstuffed disaster—sometimes captivating, sometimes too ingeniously terrible to turn away from; it’s like watching a car wreck in slow motion, if both cars were stuffed with confetti.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Charlie Countryman is just a fantastic movie.
    The cast are great with Shia Labeouf, Evan Rachel Wood and Mads Mikkelsenm playing spectacular
    Charlie Countryman is just a fantastic movie.
    The cast are great with Shia Labeouf, Evan Rachel Wood and Mads Mikkelsenm playing spectacular roles as the main characters. They fill the roles with so much passion and emotion, this is what really helps to connect to a movie of this sort.
    I must also say that the music fitted in perfectly well with the screenplay and it also brought in such an amazing feeling and connectivity as I watched.
    There just a real depth and richness about this movie that so many movies fail to capture these days.
    All things into account, Charlie Countryman 10/10
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I honestly don't see where all the negativity is coming from. It is one of the best movies i have ever watched, great music, great photographyI honestly don't see where all the negativity is coming from. It is one of the best movies i have ever watched, great music, great photography and great actors.
    Its a easy 10/10
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    Did you like Drive? Did you like Spring Breakers? This movie is very similar. Great music, simplistic writing, and great cinematography. TasteDid you like Drive? Did you like Spring Breakers? This movie is very similar. Great music, simplistic writing, and great cinematography. Taste is relative. If you like movies similar to the two I mentioned then you will probably like this one. It is less serious than Drive and more serious than Spring Breakers. The cast is great, the music is great, and the movie is great for the type of movie that it is. It's a love story through and through. A young man travels to Romania on a whim and holds on to the love he finds no matter the cost. Loss, love, and sacrifice are all strong elements of this movie. I thoroughly recommend it. Full Review »