Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: When his late mother appears in a vision and tells him to go to Bucharest, Charlie (Shia LaBeouf) immediately boards a plane across the Atlantic. But when he meets a fellow passenger, Charlie finds himself with another promise to fulfill.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 11 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Oct 11, 2013
    70
    Fredrik Bond makes a promising feature debut with this fanciful crime-drama romance that gratifyingly eschews strict genre classification.
  2. 63
    The bad guys really stand out, with Mikkelsen pulling off something he never managed as a Bond villain. He’s genuinely frightening.
  3. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Nov 14, 2013
    60
    We could have lived without another ’90s-influenced exercise in gritty wonderment. But thanks to a perfectly-matched lead, Shia LaBeouf, the movie makes enough impact to justify its existence.
  4. Reviewed by: Nick McCarthy
    Nov 12, 2013
    38
    An egregious entry into the pantheon of films about white Americans traveling to exotic lands in search of identity and soul-searching adventure.
  5. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Nov 14, 2013
    30
    Charlie Countryman feels like the cinematic equivalent of a dodgy first novel, the kind authors write when they’re young and full of romance, hubris, and pretension—then look back on later in life with something approaching mortification.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    Nov 15, 2013
    25
    Every now and then, one comes across an indie film that's so showily awful, so drenched in bathos and cliché, and yet features such a uniformly sharp cast that you have to wonder: "What is it with actors?" Or, if one already knows what it is with actors, "Did this material actually look good on paper?" The heavy-sigh-inducing Charlie Countryman is just such a motion picture.
  7. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Oct 11, 2013
    0
    A pastiche of bad film cliches and scenes devoid of any real conflict or character development.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    Charlie Countryman is just a fantastic movie.
    The cast are great with Shia Labeouf, Evan Rachel Wood and Mads Mikkelsenm playing spectacular
    Charlie Countryman is just a fantastic movie.
    The cast are great with Shia Labeouf, Evan Rachel Wood and Mads Mikkelsenm playing spectacular roles as the main characters. They fill the roles with so much passion and emotion, this is what really helps to connect to a movie of this sort.
    I must also say that the music fitted in perfectly well with the screenplay and it also brought in such an amazing feeling and connectivity as I watched.
    There just a real depth and richness about this movie that so many movies fail to capture these days.
    All things into account, Charlie Countryman 10/10
    Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I honestly don't see where all the negativity is coming from. It is one of the best movies i have ever watched, great music, great photographyI honestly don't see where all the negativity is coming from. It is one of the best movies i have ever watched, great music, great photography and great actors.
    Its a easy 10/10
    Collapse
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    Did you like Drive? Did you like Spring Breakers? This movie is very similar. Great music, simplistic writing, and great cinematography. TasteDid you like Drive? Did you like Spring Breakers? This movie is very similar. Great music, simplistic writing, and great cinematography. Taste is relative. If you like movies similar to the two I mentioned then you will probably like this one. It is less serious than Drive and more serious than Spring Breakers. The cast is great, the music is great, and the movie is great for the type of movie that it is. It's a love story through and through. A young man travels to Romania on a whim and holds on to the love he finds no matter the cost. Loss, love, and sacrifice are all strong elements of this movie. I thoroughly recommend it. Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2015
    8
    This was kind of a dark movie, with underlying tones, still with that said the story and characters take you on an adventure of love, drugs,This was kind of a dark movie, with underlying tones, still with that said the story and characters take you on an adventure of love, drugs, and mystique. Shia Labeouf pulls it off and Evan Rachel Wood is casted well as his love interest in Romania. At first you might wonder where the plot is headed, but develops in a nice story, and the pace quickens as Charlies love interest has a dark side in her life. Much suspense, intrigue, and action ensues as the story comes near the end. It is a well done movie that might not be for all, but worth a shot if your looking for something fresh! Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    With a moody score and lighting that blooms off the screen, Charlie Countryman is rarely gripping, but its enigmatic nature and overt charmWith a moody score and lighting that blooms off the screen, Charlie Countryman is rarely gripping, but its enigmatic nature and overt charm should be enough to keep minds from wandering. Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2014
    7
    Not good as I expected, but okay. Even the performances were not much recognizable, but the characters were very catchy for the uniqueness. InNot good as I expected, but okay. Even the performances were not much recognizable, but the characters were very catchy for the uniqueness. In this movie, everything was about the strange and weird way of story telling. The mix between fantasy and realistic was well done. Something was lacking in the movie, it got a stylish presentation, but not the proper scenes in many portions. But still enjoyable like having two minds about it.

    It tells the story of a young man Charlie Country. After his mother who was in coma dies, he leaves the country to spend few days in Romania. Then he meets a girls Gabi and falls in love without knowing her background. Like the movie 'Scott Pilgrim vs. the World' he has to face his strong opponent to win her. As he knows the risk how smart he would act to gain his desired girl is the movie of the rest.

    I did not find any similarity in the interaction between the characters Charlie and Gabi, what we call it a chemistry, right!. One of the major problems the movie had along in my opinion. Other than that I liked Gabi as individually, she was very attractive in the role and costume. Mikkelsen was as usual very good. His role was a major one, but did not have sufficient screen space. And Shia were okay, sometime, in some parts I thought he overdone the role Charlie. Overall, I find it a good movie, but not the best.
    Expand
  7. Dec 1, 2013
    3
    The movie is nearly a failure. The movie seemed like a wasted opportunity to make something interesting but instead falls into a boringThe movie is nearly a failure. The movie seemed like a wasted opportunity to make something interesting but instead falls into a boring bloodshed of characters I couldn't care less about. As for the story, there is none. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Trailers