Miramax Films | Release Date: April 4, 1997
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 107 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
95
Mixed:
11
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BubbaF.Jan 15, 2007
WOW! One of the best movies I have ever seen. Joey Lauren Adams is phenomenal. Her talent is immensely under utilized, supposedly because of her voice. Personally I find her voice intoxicating. Keep up the good work Smith.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
Andys_ReviewsJan 12, 2013
As a production, it was ok; I did feel it didn
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
wololoooMar 29, 2012
A surprisingly honest film that proves Smith is capable of displaying tender, raw emotion and the hardship that goes with it. The characters are believeable and well-acted, and to be honest I think Jason Lee gave a stronger performance thanA surprisingly honest film that proves Smith is capable of displaying tender, raw emotion and the hardship that goes with it. The characters are believeable and well-acted, and to be honest I think Jason Lee gave a stronger performance than Ben Affleck. Joey Lauren Adams was pretty annoying at times, but in the more serious dualogues between herself and Affleck she shows some real emotional intensity which doesn't seem forced in the slightest, something I really respect from actors/actresses. There's a lot of smart, snappy dialogue which has always been Smith's forte. The film drags a little in the middle third, and some scenes could certainly have been shortened or cut out. Overall though, Chasing Amy is a fresh and charming film, and one of the few romcoms I can tolerate. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TTW107Feb 8, 2012
Woah, first off let me say see this movie right now. I had seen clerks and dogma and jay and silent bob strike back forever ago, I knew about chasing amy i just never watched it. I'm going to go out on a limb and say it's kevin smith's bestWoah, first off let me say see this movie right now. I had seen clerks and dogma and jay and silent bob strike back forever ago, I knew about chasing amy i just never watched it. I'm going to go out on a limb and say it's kevin smith's best movie. There are some really, almost corny, dramatic scenes but in that situation people would act pretty emotional so i have no problem with it. But this movie is laugh out loud hilarious, I think kevin smith's best writing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleFeb 20, 2016
Chasing Amy is an incredibly funny, touching, and personal, film that, with the backdrop of potty humor, crafts a brilliantly mature and authentic relationship. Ben Affleck and Joey Lauren Adams are both fantastic here and really capture theChasing Amy is an incredibly funny, touching, and personal, film that, with the backdrop of potty humor, crafts a brilliantly mature and authentic relationship. Ben Affleck and Joey Lauren Adams are both fantastic here and really capture the true essence of their characters and have great chemistry with one another. The writing and direction from Kevin Smith are both great, as is his cameo as Silent Bob with Jason Mewes as Jay. Both are hysterical here and use their brief appearance to its max potential. However, what holds this film back from being truly great is the ending. I appreciate the end result, but how it gets there is idiotic and nearly gave me a headache it was so truly dumb. This ultimately sullies the end product. Fortunately, the film is greatly entertaining and hysterical throughout so it is able to overcome this shortcoming. Overall, I really liked Chasing Amy and found it to be really, really funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Sep 15, 2013
I really liked this movie as it really did try to be something different (at least at the time it came out.)

The acting is average. the tone is a bit bland and pacing is really slow. But, problems aside, like most of Smith's movie, this
I really liked this movie as it really did try to be something different (at least at the time it came out.)

The acting is average. the tone is a bit bland and pacing is really slow.

But, problems aside, like most of Smith's movie, this movie had really thought provoking writing. This movie really did make me look at the concept of homosexuality in a completely different light. Of course allot of the information is nothing new for many but for me it changed my perspective.

Overall:
It isn't the best movie in the world, but it did make a lasting impression and for that I score it higher than it deserves.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Apr 23, 2015
Chasing Amy is far more romantic than Kevin Smith's other films. It still has the humour that his other movies have but the movie is more a love story than anything else. I love the cast, this is one of my favorite Ben Affleck movies, thisChasing Amy is far more romantic than Kevin Smith's other films. It still has the humour that his other movies have but the movie is more a love story than anything else. I love the cast, this is one of my favorite Ben Affleck movies, this came out just before Good Will Hunting made him a star. Jason Lee is also great as he has always been one of my favorite comedy actors but really its Joey Lauren Adams who delivers what could be the best performance of her career. Chasing Amy is excellent writing and directing by Kevin Smith on display once again. It deals with lots of dialogue about sexual stereotypes and its a film that deals with one of the most weird but possible dilemmas in finding that special someone. The film is just as fresh now as ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WhereismymindAug 22, 2016
This movie is funny as hell and very thought provoking. The situations on this film can seem a little absurd if someone simply explains them but they are portrayed in such a way that they are extremely relatable. In general the movie comesThis movie is funny as hell and very thought provoking. The situations on this film can seem a little absurd if someone simply explains them but they are portrayed in such a way that they are extremely relatable. In general the movie comes out as a very unusual and still realistic take on themes of sex and love, with a brilliant script and real performances that work in both humour and drama. The scene on which Kevin Smith gives his speech as Silent Bob has to be one of my favourite moments in film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews