User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 79
  2. Negative: 2 out of 79
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BubbaF.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    WOW! One of the best movies I have ever seen. Joey Lauren Adams is phenomenal. Her talent is immensely under utilized, supposedly because of her voice. Personally I find her voice intoxicating. Keep up the good work Smith.
  2. TedH.
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    I came out as being gay nearly six months ago, and I want to take this opportunity to point out how accurately Jason Lee portrays Banky. The mixture of hostility and confusion is so distinct and recognizable, I cannot help but see some of myself in his character. The scene early in the flick where Hooper kisses Banky and his reaction is one of mild irritation coupled with subtle signs of I came out as being gay nearly six months ago, and I want to take this opportunity to point out how accurately Jason Lee portrays Banky. The mixture of hostility and confusion is so distinct and recognizable, I cannot help but see some of myself in his character. The scene early in the flick where Hooper kisses Banky and his reaction is one of mild irritation coupled with subtle signs of appreciation and even desire (watch his eyes....) is one that I have played out many times in my own life, and Lee's performance gives Banky a realism that is eerie to observe. Affleck, however, has perhaps the most difficult task--he must be needy and simultaneously inaccessible, and he succeeds through a muted and oddly innocent performance. It is Joey Lauren Adams' performance, though, that gives the film its intensity. She has seen so much more of the sexual world than any of the characters involved, and yet she is no more equipped to handle her situation than any of them. I have yet to watch the scene that takes place outside the hockey rink without crying. The dialogue is excellent, but these three make it live. Chasing Amy covers difficult emotional territory. The humor is unforced, and the characters utterly real. On the DVD commentary track, Kevin Smith reveals that none of the many tears shed during the film were fake--actors and actress cried on and off camera, as well as members of the crew. It's just that kind of movie. Expand
  3. MichaelM.
    Oct 23, 2004
    9
    This is Kevin Smith's second best film (out of 5). This is an excellent movie! The directing is magnificent, the writing is wonderful, the acting is extraordinary, it is safe to say this will go down in history as a classic. Supurb performances given by Jason Lee, Joey Lauren Adams, and surprisingly, Ben Affleck. Personally, I think Ben Affleck is not that good of an actor, but in This is Kevin Smith's second best film (out of 5). This is an excellent movie! The directing is magnificent, the writing is wonderful, the acting is extraordinary, it is safe to say this will go down in history as a classic. Supurb performances given by Jason Lee, Joey Lauren Adams, and surprisingly, Ben Affleck. Personally, I think Ben Affleck is not that good of an actor, but in Kevin Smith's films he really shines. He is also great in Dogma, and gives a little, but memorable performance as the notorious, mean, Shannon in Mallrats. The story is about a comic book artist (Ben Affleck) and his tracer (Jason Lee) who likes to think of himself as an "inker". Everyone takes him for a tracer, and he gets very irritated and angry. It's actually quite comical. Anyway, he falls inlove with a girl (Joey Lauren Adams), but she cannot be with him, because she roots for the different team! Get it? Anyway, he becomes her friend, and can't fight off his love for her, and Jason Lee hates that, and is strongly against their relationship. The only downside to this movie is that the comic duo, Jay and Silent Bob (Jason Mewes and Kevin Smith) have the shortest part they have ever had in any of Kevin Smith's movies. Though, Kevin Smith gives a very surprisingly long speech to Ben Affleck's character explaining to him, once you find the woman you love, never let her go! This extremly long speech (not really that long, but long for Silent Bob because he only says really one or two lines per movie, hence the name "Silent Bob") is suprisingly very intelectual leaving viewers thinking Silent Bob is much more intelligent than he appears to be, and too smart to hang out with stoner, bonehead Jay. Silent Bob has as much or has more lines than big-mouth Jay. This is a really excellent movie, but doesn't live up to standard of "Clerks.". That is kind of unfortunate, but maybe one of Kevin Smith's future movies such as "Fletch Won" and "Jersey Girl" will. I wouldn't bet my money on "Jersey Girl" because it is starring obnoxious Jennifer Lopez (or J-Lo as she stupidly likes to call herself). I would highly recommend this to anybody looking for a good, funny and very twisted piece of cinema. See it now! (2/20/03) Expand
  4. MonicaB.
    Dec 25, 2003
    10
    I love this movie.Its funny as hell.
  5. Marc-oO.
    Sep 25, 2003
    10
    QUITE SIMPLY WHY I LIKE MOVIES!! Jason Lee' s delivery of lines is superb!!!
  6. HadsomeB.Wonderful
    Jul 31, 2002
    10
    This film is absolutely wonderful, from beginning to end!
  7. WobiekisserM.
    Aug 27, 2001
    9
    One of Smiths best. I was enflamed with joy after finishing this comic masterpiece, which is also one of the best films of the year.
  8. MichaelF.
    Aug 24, 2001
    9
    This is the best Kevin Smith film that I've seen! Its smart, but at the beginning it feels pretentiously smart. That's probably because of Joey Lauren Adams who wasn't very good in this. But aside from her, all of the acting was top notch and a great ending Affleck monolouge.
  9. MarcD.
    Apr 3, 2001
    9
    Joey Lauren Adams needs more leading roles like this one. She jumps off the screen like few other actresses these days.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Sean Means
    70
    What Smith does best in Chasing Amy is write clever, raunchy and emotionally true-to-life dialogue.
  2. 88
    Touching, funny, sweet, and most important of all, real -- a welcome breath of fresh air.
  3. The intention is there, but the needed emotional maturity isn't.