Che

IFC Films | Release Date: December 12, 2008
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 53 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
37
Mixed:
8
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
PaulS.Jan 20, 2009
I did not pay 15 dollars to see 5 hours of a man trudging through harsh terrain. I get it; his life was hard. I learned little about the man or the history surrounding his life in five hours, which seems like an imposssibility but is true. I I did not pay 15 dollars to see 5 hours of a man trudging through harsh terrain. I get it; his life was hard. I learned little about the man or the history surrounding his life in five hours, which seems like an imposssibility but is true. I was angry with myself for staying in the theater for the whole film, but I kept thinking this movie might get better. This is an apic failure on Soderbergh's part. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarianoA.Jan 10, 2009
Outstanding performance by Benicio del Toro (Cannes winner for this one). Great movie, tells you about the Che Guevara´s revolutionary life, the guerrilla fights and the Cuban revolution. I think you have to watch the film first and Outstanding performance by Benicio del Toro (Cannes winner for this one). Great movie, tells you about the Che Guevara´s revolutionary life, the guerrilla fights and the Cuban revolution. I think you have to watch the film first and then comment something about it, ussually the conservators talks crap about any attempt to show the real deal about Che Guevara (objective way, like Soderbergh did ). And this attempt is ambitious and worthy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JerryS.Jan 20, 2009
I'm a big fan of both Soderbergh and Del Toro, but this was disappointing. With so much time to work with, only two segments of Che's life are explored, and the lengthy time spent in them leaves you knowing little more about such a I'm a big fan of both Soderbergh and Del Toro, but this was disappointing. With so much time to work with, only two segments of Che's life are explored, and the lengthy time spent in them leaves you knowing little more about such a cultural icon. It's oddly impersonal and distant. Del Toro gives a fine performance, and some of the cinematography is lovely, but it's wasted on (in my opinion) poor editing and story telling. It's a war film that commits the ultimate crime -- leaving you yawning when you should be engaged and compelled by the characters and action on screen. This is a renter at best, and one best viewed when you can take some breaks from the stilted pace. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JimGJan 24, 2009
I found this took a fascinating and polarizing figure of history and turned him into sheer boredom.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WCFeb 8, 2009
Excellent film! It's fascinating to watch the ideologues, like those at the New York Post come out of the woodwork to get their digs in...oh well, they wouldn't be the Post if they were objective!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TyroneApr 27, 2009
Unparalleled in execution and unbiasedness , a truly un-hollywood picture uncompromising and meticulously realized. there will never be another like it or not .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MCJan 4, 2009
Fantastic and inspiring. Captures the idiolistic feelings and hopes of a reveloution in the first part and in the second it tears them apart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Feb 1, 2009
Epic Filmmaking in every sense. Soderbergh has crafted his Godfather for the new century. Amazing in every detail with a brilliant Benicio Del Toro as Che. Don't talk about Oscar snubs for The Dark Knight and WALL-E, nothing for Che is Epic Filmmaking in every sense. Soderbergh has crafted his Godfather for the new century. Amazing in every detail with a brilliant Benicio Del Toro as Che. Don't talk about Oscar snubs for The Dark Knight and WALL-E, nothing for Che is just plain ignorant! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyB.Feb 12, 2009
Utterly different to normak Hollywood fare- Engrossing, as it builds towardsa crescendo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BecquerMFeb 20, 2009
Captivating for Benicio Del Toro
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Lizziebeth-1Jun 22, 2009
My taste for this was ruined by 1. Higher (unmet) personal expectations about Che
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenderA.Dec 16, 2008
The movie tells you about the life of Che Guevara, the guerrilla warrior who made the revolution in Cuba. But this time is the Che´s point of view (it´s based on a book wrote by himself). So you won´t see the typical The movie tells you about the life of Che Guevara, the guerrilla warrior who made the revolution in Cuba. But this time is the Che´s point of view (it´s based on a book wrote by himself). So you won´t see the typical american movie against Cuba, you´ll see one latin american movie (it´s in spanish) trying to tell Guevara´s revolutionary life in 4 hours (starts when he know Fidel Castro and finish when he dies excecuted). The work of Benicio Del Toro is great, he´s just like che Guevara in person, even with the same accent and look (the best choice for the character). He won the best actor award in Cannes for this performance. Steven Soderbergh made an ambitious film, and he got it right. A little long, but in the rest of the world is splitted in 2 parts. In USA is a 4 hours movie with limited distribution (unfortunally, maybe for the language or the explicit -revolutionary- content of the movie) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CEPDec 18, 2008
Great film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 17, 2009
'Che' is an amazing journey, and is Soderbergh's masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Dec 17, 2008
FYI, the TV Guide review you put up is actually for a 1969 movie called "Che!" starring Jack Palance. Thought you might want to fix that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
tonyGreenJan 6, 2012
This is strangely dull for a biopic of such an interesting historical figure. I didn't hate it. The pace could be described as languid, and it goes on for 5 hours (in two parts on DVD; 'The Argentine', 'Guerilla'). Well shot and has the tingeThis is strangely dull for a biopic of such an interesting historical figure. I didn't hate it. The pace could be described as languid, and it goes on for 5 hours (in two parts on DVD; 'The Argentine', 'Guerilla'). Well shot and has the tinge of authenticity. More edifying than entertaining. I'm glad i watched it but i don't need to watch it again Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FamousdogJan 11, 2013
More interesting and impressive than enjoyable. Beautiful in parts and horrifying in others. But at times it seems like Soderburgh is more interested in honing his craft than producing a film for audiences.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
eXeVikingMar 6, 2014
Bidragstagare är vi allihopa, allihopa, allihopa
Bidragstagare är vi allihopa, allihopa, JAG MED
Du med Och jag med. Arbete har ju ingen av oss, ingen av oss ingen av oss Arbete har ju ingen av oss, ingen av oss, inte du Inte jag, Och
Bidragstagare är vi allihopa, allihopa, allihopa
Bidragstagare är vi allihopa, allihopa, JAG MED
Du med
Och jag med.
Arbete har ju ingen av oss, ingen av oss ingen av oss
Arbete har ju ingen av oss, ingen av oss, inte du
Inte jag,
Och inte du.
A-kassa har vi allihopa, allihopa, allihopa.
A-kassa har vi allihopa, allihopa, JAG MED
Du med
Och jag med
Blodlund fick arbete men pengar icke, pengar icke, pengar icke
Blodlund fick arbete men pengar icke, pengar icke, inte alls
Inte alls,
Nej, inte alls.
Staten finansierar ingen forskning, ingen forskning, ingen forskning
Staten finansierar ingen forskning, ingen forskning, den drogs in
Den drogs in,
Ja den drogs in
Utan nobelpris saknas pengar, saknas pengar, saknas pengar,
Utan nobelpris saknas pengar, saknas pengar, helt klart
Helt klart,
Ja, helt klart.

Musiken gav inte Edvin några pengar, några pengar, några pengar
Musiken gav inte Edvin några pengar, några pengar, Inga pengar
Inga pengar,
Inga pengar alls
Inte ens Gustav fick nå’ pengar, fick nå’ pengar, fick nå’ pengar.
Inte ens Gustav fick nå’ pengar, fick nå’ pengar, bidrags dags
Bidrags dags,
Ja, bidrags dags.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
zurnzurnOct 27, 2015
Only the last shots of the second part are truly captivating, even haunting. The rest is oddly detached and muted though, with the screenplay giving a strange version of Che which seems to capture neither his best nor his worst. Although theOnly the last shots of the second part are truly captivating, even haunting. The rest is oddly detached and muted though, with the screenplay giving a strange version of Che which seems to capture neither his best nor his worst. Although the slow pacing does a decent job in the first part of conveying how a guerrilla campaign might have a slow buildup (although the real Cuban revolution was fantastically successful), and some of the details of the early struggle are interesting, the second part, while appropriately depressing, misfires and simply drags. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews