Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    May 15, 2014
    100
    Chef is the best thing he (Favreau) has ever done, as writer or director or actor. It's the sort of thing of beauty that filmmakers are ultimately remembered for.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 15, 2014
    88
    An engaged, engaging voyage of (re)discovery that’s too in love with its subject to qualify as food porn. It’s food romance.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeff Baker
    May 22, 2014
    83
    Favreau's a big man who knows how to wield a chef's knife and shoots the food truck scenes with a hectic good nature that's infectious.
  4. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    May 7, 2014
    75
    The first two thirds of Chef crackle with hunger-inducing imagery and laughter-provoking gags.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Mar 10, 2014
    70
    The final destination is entirely predictable — right down to the deus ex machina reappearance of an erstwhile antagonist — but the trip itself is never less than pleasant, and often extremely funny.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    May 8, 2014
    60
    [A] shallow but enjoyable all-American morality play.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Mar 10, 2014
    16
    While the more down-to-earth Chef does offer some fascinating autobiographical dimensions, the film is also an overlong, unfunny, largely insufferable bore.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 57
  2. Negative: 1 out of 57
  1. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Who knew a movie about a food truck could turn into one of the best movies of the year? Of course, that's a rudimentary plot synapsis, but itWho knew a movie about a food truck could turn into one of the best movies of the year? Of course, that's a rudimentary plot synapsis, but it is the heart and soul of the film. It's sometimes sweet, but sometimes serious. It has a nice blend of wit and humor, and features an amazing script that just feels like everyday conversation. The best part of the movie is what many directors strive for but never fully achieve: it shows how skilled professionals work, and how they feel when they do what they love (or hate for that matter). The food shown in the movie makes you lick your lips and just want to eat all the gourmet dishes Chef Casper prepares. And in some ways, the movie resembles the food he prepares: fresh, irresistible, and easily taken in. I could go on and on about what a good movie this was. Expand
  2. Sep 10, 2014
    9
    This movie is clearly food porn. Only I don't have to turn off my brain for this movie.

    This feel-good indie movie is a nice change for the
    This movie is clearly food porn. Only I don't have to turn off my brain for this movie.

    This feel-good indie movie is a nice change for the director Jon Favreau who also wrote and stared the movie after directing a couple of blockbusters including Iron Man and Iron Man 2.

    The food in this movie are yummy. Oh my god. Don't watch this movie with an empty stomach. I wish there is something that if you pay extra money to see this movie, one of the foods shown in the movie will be given to you to eat. I would pay extra money for that perk to happen.

    The cinematography is excellent, especially the food parts. lol.

    The direction is also great. Jon Favreau seemed to really care about this movie that even small details in this movie is something he should focus on.

    Speaking of care, I liked how he cared this movie that he is also dedicated in his role as a chef. He took tips from an consultant producer to replicate a chef's dish. That is dedication right there.

    The cast seems to be a very A-list-y for an indie movie. Maybe because Jon Favreau has connections with so many big stars that they won't mind being in a production like this especially they are offered free food! The cast did a good job especially Sofia Vergara and Emjay Anthony (the kid in the movie). I can sense they had a very good time making the movie in the set.

    The script and the plot is really good and well-organized. I liked how this movie isn't just about food but it's also about a father-son relationship as well as being happy for something you love the most.

    The soundtrack in this movie fits the entire movie especially on the food parts. lol. I can't stop saying food all the time. lol.

    Don't see this movie with an empty stomach.
    Expand
  3. May 9, 2014
    9
    This is absolutely one of the better movies of the year and I think John Favreau deserves a hell of a lot of credit for putting it altogether.This is absolutely one of the better movies of the year and I think John Favreau deserves a hell of a lot of credit for putting it altogether. Probably the biggest joke of this movie's release is the fact that it has achieved an R rating simply because it has one too many F bombs in it. The last time a great family movie with virtually no adult aspect to it got an R rating was the classic win-win. I think the MPAA or whoever does these ratings needs to pull its head out of his own ass and start reading movies appropriately. One final mention of John Leguizamo. He is outstanding in this film and pretty much makes every movie he's in better. Casting directors get this guy in more movies. Expand
  4. May 12, 2014
    8
    “Chef” is the brainchild and creation of the very talented Jon Favreau who produced, directed, wrote and stars in this film about a chef, his“Chef” is the brainchild and creation of the very talented Jon Favreau who produced, directed, wrote and stars in this film about a chef, his relationship with his son, his ex-wife and the food he loves to cook. In addition to Mr. Favreau, the film also stars Sofia Vergara, Scarlett Johansson, Bobby Cannavale, Dustin Hoffman, John Leguizamo, Robert Downey Jr., and a soundtrack that will make the viewer truly enjoy the intensity of this salsa musical journey. Almost 2 hours in length the film speeds along on its merry way through the spirited and improvisational style of its director who quickly shows us that simple uncomplicated themes well written and performed can make for more than adequate entertainment. This is a film where you simply sit back in your chair, relax and watch this feel good story turn out as predicted but with humor, pathos and culinary delights filling the screen in between. I give the film an 8 and urge that it be seen by vegans and meat lovers alike for food, comedy and music make this film truly an enjoyable experience. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2014
    8
    A very delicious and entertaining feelgood movie. The acting from the entire cast is superb, thanks in no small part to its dialogue whichA very delicious and entertaining feelgood movie. The acting from the entire cast is superb, thanks in no small part to its dialogue which makes the conversations sound so natural.

    The directing is excellent, as it showcases the details of cooking, the extraordinary meals that can water your mouth just by looking at it, and the occasional floating windows of social media interactions.

    Perhaps the things that keep the movie from being a masterpiece are the rushed ending and the slight lack of character development. Nonetheless, they don't ruin the film in any major way.

    It's a joyous, funny, and delightful movie. I'm very glad to have seen it.
    Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2014
    7
    Apart from dead end character ( characters that weren't necessary ) , Chef provides laughs and heart , some of the best child acting and allApart from dead end character ( characters that weren't necessary ) , Chef provides laughs and heart , some of the best child acting and all of the lead characters were strong. But there were some cringe worthy social media scenes. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2014
    2
    Chef uses the same tired out story lines I've seen a hundred times in movies. So you would think the comedy would make up for it, not aChef uses the same tired out story lines I've seen a hundred times in movies. So you would think the comedy would make up for it, not a chance. Chef is overlong and extremely boring, with a main character that i wanted to fail. Not a good recipe for a film. Expand

See all 57 User Reviews

Trailers