Chef

Chef Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 261 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    May 15, 2014
    100
    Chef is the best thing he (Favreau) has ever done, as writer or director or actor. It's the sort of thing of beauty that filmmakers are ultimately remembered for.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    May 15, 2014
    88
    An engaged, engaging voyage of (re)discovery that’s too in love with its subject to qualify as food porn. It’s food romance.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeff Baker
    May 22, 2014
    83
    Favreau's a big man who knows how to wield a chef's knife and shoots the food truck scenes with a hectic good nature that's infectious.
  4. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    May 7, 2014
    75
    The first two thirds of Chef crackle with hunger-inducing imagery and laughter-provoking gags.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Mar 10, 2014
    70
    The final destination is entirely predictable — right down to the deus ex machina reappearance of an erstwhile antagonist — but the trip itself is never less than pleasant, and often extremely funny.
  6. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    May 8, 2014
    60
    [A] shallow but enjoyable all-American morality play.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Mar 10, 2014
    16
    While the more down-to-earth Chef does offer some fascinating autobiographical dimensions, the film is also an overlong, unfunny, largely insufferable bore.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 75
  2. Negative: 5 out of 75
  1. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Who knew a movie about a food truck could turn into one of the best movies of the year? Of course, that's a rudimentary plot synapsis, but itWho knew a movie about a food truck could turn into one of the best movies of the year? Of course, that's a rudimentary plot synapsis, but it is the heart and soul of the film. It's sometimes sweet, but sometimes serious. It has a nice blend of wit and humor, and features an amazing script that just feels like everyday conversation. The best part of the movie is what many directors strive for but never fully achieve: it shows how skilled professionals work, and how they feel when they do what they love (or hate for that matter). The food shown in the movie makes you lick your lips and just want to eat all the gourmet dishes Chef Casper prepares. And in some ways, the movie resembles the food he prepares: fresh, irresistible, and easily taken in. I could go on and on about what a good movie this was. Collapse
  2. Jan 5, 2015
    9
    I think we`re all tired of watching plot twists and struggling characters.That`s why i liked to watch this movie so much. This movie tells aI think we`re all tired of watching plot twists and struggling characters.That`s why i liked to watch this movie so much. This movie tells a good heartwarming story without upsetting you. You`ll end this film with a satisfying smile on your face Expand
  3. May 9, 2014
    9
    This is absolutely one of the better movies of the year and I think John Favreau deserves a hell of a lot of credit for putting it altogether.This is absolutely one of the better movies of the year and I think John Favreau deserves a hell of a lot of credit for putting it altogether. Probably the biggest joke of this movie's release is the fact that it has achieved an R rating simply because it has one too many F bombs in it. The last time a great family movie with virtually no adult aspect to it got an R rating was the classic win-win. I think the MPAA or whoever does these ratings needs to pull its head out of his own ass and start reading movies appropriately. One final mention of John Leguizamo. He is outstanding in this film and pretty much makes every movie he's in better. Casting directors get this guy in more movies. Expand
  4. May 27, 2014
    8
    Jon Favreau (who also wrote/directed) plays an innovative chef whose confrontation with a critic devastates his career, so he ends up on aJon Favreau (who also wrote/directed) plays an innovative chef whose confrontation with a critic devastates his career, so he ends up on a food truck to reestablish his love for cooking (and his relationship with his son, winningly played by Emjay Anthony). John Leguizamo joins the trip to add some enjoyable spice. The first half spends too much time with Favreau's character blustering and **** but once he hits the road, the story takes on a sweet charm. This is the kind of small personal film that started Favreau's career (before he became director of blockbusters like "Iron Man") and it's a welcome return to a heart-felt, charming little gem. The music's great fun too. NOTE: Stay thru the credits to see the real chef giving Favreau some technique tips. Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    It's a cute movie. Favreau continues to be an amazing director that stars in his own films. There's an energy and sincerity for the art ofIt's a cute movie. Favreau continues to be an amazing director that stars in his own films. There's an energy and sincerity for the art of making food that instantly makes you hungry. The child actor isn't grating, the Cameo by Robert Downey Jr. is excellent, and the Scarlett Johansson bit was well done. John Leguizamo continues to be typecast, but he's believable and good in the role. It also ends upbeat. It's cute.

    The only thing that really detracts from it being a perfect movie is the fairly supreme lack of adversity. A man swallows his pride and goes from a bad station in life, to a better one, all while reuniting with his child. I have no problem with trite, and I love movies that are positive, but in my book, this one could have had a bit more gravitas.

    It's a happy little splash in the pan, and there's nothing wrong with that, but it doesn't have the weight to pull a 10/10.
    Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2014
    7
    Apart from dead end character ( characters that weren't necessary ) , Chef provides laughs and heart , some of the best child acting and allApart from dead end character ( characters that weren't necessary ) , Chef provides laughs and heart , some of the best child acting and all of the lead characters were strong. But there were some cringe worthy social media scenes. Expand
  7. Mar 28, 2015
    0
    Pointless, boring waste of time. Never struck an emotional chord at all. I'd rather do dishes than watch this movie. As a matter of fact, atPointless, boring waste of time. Never struck an emotional chord at all. I'd rather do dishes than watch this movie. As a matter of fact, at one point I did. I had to. The movie was killing me! Expand

See all 75 User Reviews

Trailers