Miramax Films | Release Date: December 27, 2002
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 261 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
204
Mixed:
35
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
"Chicago" shouldn't have been a good movie if it wasn't for the stylish direction of Rob Marshall and his cleverness of portraying the correct scenes matching with the song and setting. It isn't great, but a good movie with some light-jazz"Chicago" shouldn't have been a good movie if it wasn't for the stylish direction of Rob Marshall and his cleverness of portraying the correct scenes matching with the song and setting. It isn't great, but a good movie with some light-jazz music you'll love to listen. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Alexander_FredDec 21, 2011
Chicago is by far on one of the greatest musicals to hit the stage. The songs are sung with such strength by actors whom I never expected to have that skill. The choreography is beautifully orchestrated and the use of parallel montage betweenChicago is by far on one of the greatest musicals to hit the stage. The songs are sung with such strength by actors whom I never expected to have that skill. The choreography is beautifully orchestrated and the use of parallel montage between the songs and the actual story is what truly takes this film from the stage and makes it great for the screen. The only fault is that despite great performances, the songs sometimes get in the way of evoking true emotion from the actual plot. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
zied12Mar 2, 2013
One of the best films in history, i loved it i was never into musicals until i saw this movie, absolutely brilliant performances and beautiful songs this is truly an Oscar worthy film
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TaraM.Jan 4, 2003
Very enjoyable. There were nice transitions between the musical numbers and reality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeD.Jan 10, 2003
This is a very fun and inventive movie....acting and general performances were superb. The problem? I don't really like musicals! Therefore, even someone like me can rate this a 7, and if you like musicals, you're sure to love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillC.Jan 6, 2003
Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlieL.Jan 8, 2003
CHICAGO is everything great about movie musicals and all that jazz. It's got the glossy appeal of Moulin Rouge without the sappy story and the poor singing on the part of nicole kidman, Zellweger,and Zeta -Jones are fabulous and CHICAGO is everything great about movie musicals and all that jazz. It's got the glossy appeal of Moulin Rouge without the sappy story and the poor singing on the part of nicole kidman, Zellweger,and Zeta -Jones are fabulous and flapperiffic! rob marshall's choreography makes this movie a perfect 10! if you claim to love movies, or musicals you MUST see this movie!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CedrickG.Oct 9, 2003
I only wish I could have been in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MitchH.Feb 7, 2003
I loved, loved, loved this movie. So many great visuals, and performances. Cell Block Tango was by far the best part of the movie. It was fast paced and the danceing was fantastic. I can't say enough good things about it. Just go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
T.KjerFeb 8, 2003
Rob Marshall has succeeded unlike any film director before in creating a truly theatrical movie, or cinematic theatre, whichever. Each time I've seen this film I feel like I have just attended one of the greatest live Broadway musicals Rob Marshall has succeeded unlike any film director before in creating a truly theatrical movie, or cinematic theatre, whichever. Each time I've seen this film I feel like I have just attended one of the greatest live Broadway musicals in my life, and I have certainly seen the best of the best of live theatre, including the original cast of ChiCago, twice, and several casts of the current version. I have racked my brain to remember when I've been as thrilled by a movie as I am with "ChiCago," and my list is: West Side Story, The Sound of Music and Oliver! Yes, this is a little different from the stage version, but it is truly authentic to its source. Only time will tell, but I have a very strong feeling that "ChiCago" will become a classic movie musical. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LaurenD.Feb 8, 2003
Its no Moulin Rouge but its still very entertaining, but its also somewhat empty. Worth buying though! The "Cell Block Tango" rocks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleP.Feb 9, 2003
I am so glad this movie won a Best Picture for the Golden Globe Awards. It was fantastic! The songs and dances ("...and all that jazz!!!") were superb! Not to mention the main trio (Zelleweger, Zeta-Jones, and Gere) did a beautiul job at I am so glad this movie won a Best Picture for the Golden Globe Awards. It was fantastic! The songs and dances ("...and all that jazz!!!") were superb! Not to mention the main trio (Zelleweger, Zeta-Jones, and Gere) did a beautiul job at acting. Queen Lafitah also did an excellent job! I hope they make more musicals like this one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisG.Mar 17, 2003
Amazing, Catherine rocks - Stop comparing to that wannabe musical moulin rouge I mean that used crap old pop songs , This is a true broadway musical folks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LayneAug 30, 2003
Its Oscar win for Best Picture only proves that musicals are still under Hollywood's eye after 34 years, and Chicago deserved every bit of its coveted award. It outsings Moulin Rouge as the best musical of the past decade, and delivers Its Oscar win for Best Picture only proves that musicals are still under Hollywood's eye after 34 years, and Chicago deserved every bit of its coveted award. It outsings Moulin Rouge as the best musical of the past decade, and delivers wonderful performances from Renee Zellweger, Catherine Zeta- Jones, and Richard Gere. The colors are lively, the tone is silly, and the directing is unlike anything you've ever seen. And, thanks to the toe-tapping numbers that stand out the most: "And All That Jazz," " Roxie," and the ending number, which is an exhuberant duet by Zeta- Jones and Zellweger; Chicago can quite possibly pass as the most entertaining film of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaNcR!Jan 8, 2004
This movie is great...you have no clue how much time it would take to do those dances unless you dance yourself. It was amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GustavW.Apr 15, 2005
Oh, this is great! This is just great! A true masterpiece. It'll rock your world all the way down to your stockings! However, watching the movie without singing along with the songs is a nightmare! (At least the 105th time I watched it.)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
caporegimeJun 10, 2009
It razzle-dazzled me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielJun 12, 2010
One of the best musicals I've ever seen! Acting and singing so great, brilliant story and screenplay. This is one of that films that i never get tired of watching over and over again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanM.Jan 12, 2003
The only problem "Chicago" has is that there's too much music and not enough story development.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlyH.Jan 14, 2003
What a spectacular film. It had beyond impressive performances (almost makes you forget that you didn't like Catherine Zeta-Jones before). It had art direction that almost brought tears to my eyes it was so spectacular. Saying that this What a spectacular film. It had beyond impressive performances (almost makes you forget that you didn't like Catherine Zeta-Jones before). It had art direction that almost brought tears to my eyes it was so spectacular. Saying that this movie couldn't live up to the stage version is doing the film genre an injustice, because I can't think of anything this movie could have done better. I love musical theater and movies more than anything in the world-- and this movie honors them both superbly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BronxvilleFilmFanJan 8, 2003
I could have just as easily rated this film a solid 10, as many here have. Chicago is a vivid and gorgeous film with stunning cinematography, superior editing, a sharp screenplay, and huge performances from a delightful cast. Perhaps the I could have just as easily rated this film a solid 10, as many here have. Chicago is a vivid and gorgeous film with stunning cinematography, superior editing, a sharp screenplay, and huge performances from a delightful cast. Perhaps the biggest praise should be reserved for Rob Marshall, whose direction here is absolutely fantastic. THIS is entertainment folks. Personal faves: the puppet master scene with Zellwegger and Gere and the Cell Block Tango. Richard Gere may not hit all the notes, but his performance is charming and charismatic. Catherine Zeta Jones is absolute perfection as Velma--this will be one of the defining roles of her career. Queen Latifah and John C. Reilly shine in nice supporting roles. New to music and dance, Renee Zellwegger attacks the leading role with gusto and furnishes remarkably strong performances in rather formidable--and important--song and dance sequences. She is a gifted actor developing a strength for comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraR.Jan 9, 2003
Sexy, hot and everything you'd want in a musical! Zeta-Jones is mindblowing. You wish the whole movie was about her character. Gere is fantastic in his ruthless and cunning portrayal. His singing and dancing does his talent justice. Sexy, hot and everything you'd want in a musical! Zeta-Jones is mindblowing. You wish the whole movie was about her character. Gere is fantastic in his ruthless and cunning portrayal. His singing and dancing does his talent justice. Queen Latifia is wise, knowing and spectactular in her role, acting and singing. Zellwiger was very good but the anorexic skin and bones look on her is distracing in her performance. Even if you've never seen a musical on stage you've got to see this one! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenJan 9, 2003
Could we finally be witnessing the rebirth of the movie musical? If so, Chicago deserves much of the credit...this film is slick, amazing to watch, wonderfully acted, and simply put...pure entertainment. Its amazing to think Renee Zellweger Could we finally be witnessing the rebirth of the movie musical? If so, Chicago deserves much of the credit...this film is slick, amazing to watch, wonderfully acted, and simply put...pure entertainment. Its amazing to think Renee Zellweger considered herself only a "shower singer" before this film---she is surely locked in for a well-deserved oscar nomination for her gutsy, talented performance as Roxie. "Chicago" is truly what a movie-going experience should be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KennyT.Feb 14, 2003
Stunning performances from all actors!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielleD.Mar 17, 2003
I loved it so much! It was one of the best movie's I have ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LARRYL.Mar 9, 2003
I though that the movie was done in a real manor. the movie doidn't give you time to think it was one good number after the other. i saw the stage play it was great . i tell all of by friends about it go see it you will feel greatI though that the movie was done in a real manor. the movie doidn't give you time to think it was one good number after the other. i saw the stage play it was great . i tell all of by friends about it go see it you will feel great comming out of the theater. memphis only rated chicago a 71/2 .. boo on memphis thaks larry lawrence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherM.Apr 13, 2003
Fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahM.Apr 17, 2003
Add good songs good story great performances and get a great movie! unlike moulin rouge the most awful film ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyApr 7, 2003
If I could have given Chicago more than a ten, I would have!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.May 17, 2003
Fantastic to the people who say this is silly well its just the broadway show on screen so blame fosse and all for that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JJMunichzJul 27, 2003
THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN. It is magically put together and if you like singing dancing and a WHOLE LOT OF FUN, you should definately see this movie. Renee Zellweger really surprised everyone. She was AMAZING Final Score: 10
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LorH.Aug 2, 2003
I have just finished watching this fantastic film and i really can't believe what i saw. i have NEVER in my whole life seen a film as exciting as this. the actors are 100% up to standard, the costumes, scenery, the way it's directedI have just finished watching this fantastic film and i really can't believe what i saw. i have NEVER in my whole life seen a film as exciting as this. the actors are 100% up to standard, the costumes, scenery, the way it's directed are all absolutly stupendous. before i sat down to watch this this afternoon i thought 2 things.......there is no way this movie will beat the stage show and it will never be as good as "cabaret" but i proved myself wrong both times. even now i have the songs stuck in my head and i just want to watch it over and over again. fantastic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LizAug 21, 2003
This movie dazzled my brain. The genius mix of characters and songs makes this movie what it is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieP.Aug 20, 2003
Great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CMeyerAug 20, 2003
The critics were right ... the movie is a classic in all its own rights! Fun, energetic, and a joy to watch! And best of all every acting nomination at this years Oscar ceremony was WELL DESERVED b/c the performances are wonderful as is the The critics were right ... the movie is a classic in all its own rights! Fun, energetic, and a joy to watch! And best of all every acting nomination at this years Oscar ceremony was WELL DESERVED b/c the performances are wonderful as is the singing (done by each cast meember themselves!)!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MeghanE.Sep 6, 2003
This movie was Perfect! it is a Must see! It is so ellaborate, the musical numbers are perfect, They make you want to sing along... I just went yesterday and bought the soundtrack. The DVD also has good extra behind the scene specials. They This movie was Perfect! it is a Must see! It is so ellaborate, the musical numbers are perfect, They make you want to sing along... I just went yesterday and bought the soundtrack. The DVD also has good extra behind the scene specials. They did such a great job with this movie...especially with Catherine Zeta-Jones and Richard Gere. I don't care for Renee Zellweger a ton, but all in all, I give it an A++! Catherine Zeta-Jones is FANTASTIC in this film...her voice and dancing is just amazing...she has such a strong voice and it seems that she can do anything! Latifah is awesome too, with that strong rhaspy voice that fits her character. I wasn't going to rent it because I'm young, I don't like musicals, it's orionally from the 30's, blah blah blah, but when it came out on video, I figured I would see what the hype was all about. It was worth it, it's one of my favorite movies. go rent it!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickyC.Jan 9, 2004
This was the Best Movie of the Year 2002!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RebekahR.Mar 3, 2004
It was GREAT!!! Loved the music, costumes, and what great actors!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RosieO.Jun 1, 2004
I liked Chicago but most of the good songs, such as "All That Jazz," "When You're Good to Mama," and "Cell Block Tango," are at the start. Throughout the film the songs get less catchy and sometimes boring. I didn't think Richard I liked Chicago but most of the good songs, such as "All That Jazz," "When You're Good to Mama," and "Cell Block Tango," are at the start. Throughout the film the songs get less catchy and sometimes boring. I didn't think Richard Gere's songs were good and the song about cellophane was almost comical! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BigFanSep 5, 2004
Fantastic. This movie is everything all these people have been saying about it. From the worst ratings to the best ratings. Yes, the story is simply. But if you watch it again you realize its timeless, and then you realize its going on Fantastic. This movie is everything all these people have been saying about it. From the worst ratings to the best ratings. Yes, the story is simply. But if you watch it again you realize its timeless, and then you realize its going on around us every day. And the songs and the dancing. After you watch it again and listen again you become speechless as you marvel at the incredible staging, the artistic achievement at every level. If you only watched this movie once you haven't even seen it yet. Just look at the editiing on the final number in the movie and think about it and you'll be breathless. Everything about this movie is perfect. Its a movie's moive's movie's movie. This is a gem our generation can be proud of, and one that every movie star past, present, and future can look down upon us and be thankful we did it. This movie is history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BlancoA.Jan 11, 2003
I'm not a fan of Catherine Zeta-Jones, but she did a spectacular job in this musical. However, I don't think her role was big enough get her a nomination for best actress. Definitely a Golden Globe, though. Those fuzzy little I'm not a fan of Catherine Zeta-Jones, but she did a spectacular job in this musical. However, I don't think her role was big enough get her a nomination for best actress. Definitely a Golden Globe, though. Those fuzzy little foreigners will eat her up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonD.Jan 1, 2003
Excellent film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BarryR.Jan 10, 2003
"Chicago" is one of those movies that attempts to duplicate and bring the thrills and excitement of a live stage presentation to the movie theater. Not only is the transition difficult but in most cases, it is unsuccessful. This movie falls "Chicago" is one of those movies that attempts to duplicate and bring the thrills and excitement of a live stage presentation to the movie theater. Not only is the transition difficult but in most cases, it is unsuccessful. This movie falls into that category and fails to capture the magic of live theater even though it tries very hard to do it. Armed with three (3) wonderful actors, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Renee Zellweger and Richard Gere, the film is nevertheless two dimensional and always seems to be in some sort of a frenzy. It is not easy to watch as marvelous dancers and dance numbers parade in and out of scenes with a pace that is more tiring to watch than interesting. The Kander/Ebb score is OK but not great and considering that it dominates the entire film, it tends to detract from the experience. A good musical needs good music. This one does not meet that prerequisite. The dance scenes, although interesting to watch, I think need to viewed live on stage. That being said, the Zeta-Jones, Zellweger and Gere singing and dancing performances are truly outstanding but deserve a better vehicle for their exhibition. Zeta-Jones and Gere (yes, Gere) both have musical theater backgrounds which becomes quite obvious when you see and hear them perform. Ms. Zellweger, like her co-stars, is a real surprise talent and adds to this otherwise frenzied and too rapidly paced picture. John Reilly, a "whatshisface" -type character also displays a wonderful singing voice and musical/comedy flair The movie gets a 7 based, for the most part, on the wonderful performances of its stars. Without them, however, Chicago would be just another failed attempt to bring the magic of a live theatrcal presentation to the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffreyL.Shannon-GoldenAgeManiac!Jan 13, 2003
Though i'm not really a musical genre fan. This is terrificly fast-paced & entertaining! OSCAR will-likely/safely is more like-it, cite this in the end? Over the greater>"GONY!?" The late *BOB FOSSE's print however, is all-over Though i'm not really a musical genre fan. This is terrificly fast-paced & entertaining! OSCAR will-likely/safely is more like-it, cite this in the end? Over the greater>"GONY!?" The late *BOB FOSSE's print however, is all-over this (on the reg. critic scale: 0 to 4!)-I rated it four stars! All in all, been a good yr. next to last couple. Expect this & Scorsese epic to earn about: 11 to 13 noms. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenWOct 28, 2003
Truly captures the glitz, glamour, corruption, and most importantly -- the style of the 1930's. "Chicago" is a brilliant film filled to the brim with style, color, raunch, and fun, all backed up with spectacular performances and Truly captures the glitz, glamour, corruption, and most importantly -- the style of the 1930's. "Chicago" is a brilliant film filled to the brim with style, color, raunch, and fun, all backed up with spectacular performances and dazzling song and dance from every actor in the film, especially Renée Zellweger and Catherine Zeta-Jones. The songs are all so catchy and intriguing to watch, even to listen to. This may be one of the few films with a soundtrack you will actually WANT to buy. "Chicago" is a true '10'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackD.Jan 3, 2003
Dont miss it! After you get over the initial shock of the three stars singing and dancing, you will thoroughly enjoy this movie...if only Director Rob Marshall wasn't so in love with extreme closeups, I would have given it an 11 rating....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Jan 6, 2003
Unusual for a Hawaii audience, a good number of people hung around for the closing credits. I think they wanted to know if Catherine Zeta-Jones and Renee Zelweger were pulling a Marnie Nixon. The musical numbers are sung with such authority, Unusual for a Hawaii audience, a good number of people hung around for the closing credits. I think they wanted to know if Catherine Zeta-Jones and Renee Zelweger were pulling a Marnie Nixon. The musical numbers are sung with such authority, it's shocking. As the credits scroll, you can judge for yourself if Zeta-Jones' rendition of "All That Jazz" holds up without her face and body convincing us that she can sing. "Chicago" is thoroughly entertaining, and on occasion, thrilling, in a way that CGI can never top. Whoever's most responsible for staging the "Cell Block Tango" is a genius. Good god! Even John C. Reilly pulls off his number! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshB.Jan 7, 2003
This Movie is "Moulin Rouge" but ten times better. Rob Marshall blows me away with his movies. Renee Zellweger, Catherine Zeta-Jones, and Richard Gere have never looked better in a movie before. All of them have blow me away with singing and This Movie is "Moulin Rouge" but ten times better. Rob Marshall blows me away with his movies. Renee Zellweger, Catherine Zeta-Jones, and Richard Gere have never looked better in a movie before. All of them have blow me away with singing and DANCING. The best scene was the CELL BLOCK TANGO!!! IT'S A MUST SEE! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TateJ.Jan 9, 2003
One of the best movies I have seen in a long time! Lively, colorful and energetic. You really have to appreciate Zeta-Jones & Gere playing such fantastic roles! Zellweger gives a good performance, but she wasn't exactly right for the One of the best movies I have seen in a long time! Lively, colorful and energetic. You really have to appreciate Zeta-Jones & Gere playing such fantastic roles! Zellweger gives a good performance, but she wasn't exactly right for the role. So let me warn you that when you see this IT IS A MUSICAL! I can't tell you how many people said that they didn't like all the singing and dancing, anyone who gives this a bad review is abviously artistically disinclined. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewM.Feb 10, 2003
Just fantastic. Who would have expected a movie musical to work so well? Not only is the music great, but Zellweger's acting really holds up under the weight of all the thrilling razzle dazzle. Great performances, great entertainment, Just fantastic. Who would have expected a movie musical to work so well? Not only is the music great, but Zellweger's acting really holds up under the weight of all the thrilling razzle dazzle. Great performances, great entertainment, and a great time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LouisP.Feb 8, 2003
The film deserves its praise. Thrilling and entertaining! Simply put....IT ROCKS!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlyI.Mar 15, 2003
I found the singing in this movie to be exceptional. Whoever thinks the singing in this movie is "dead" doesn't know what the word singing means. Of course there was NO sypathetic characters. Kids, this is in the 1920s! We weren't I found the singing in this movie to be exceptional. Whoever thinks the singing in this movie is "dead" doesn't know what the word singing means. Of course there was NO sypathetic characters. Kids, this is in the 1920s! We weren't so friendly back then! Plus, was an extremely dangerous back then in Chicago (still is). It was jazz and liquor back then! Not a good mix. This movie deserves to win an Oscar! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HenryBeeMar 20, 2003
Some movies have to be seen in the theatres - such is this year's best picture nomination, Chicago. It is everything a moviegoer could ask for. The music and the quality of the recording are especially excellent. So do your ears a Some movies have to be seen in the theatres - such is this year's best picture nomination, Chicago. It is everything a moviegoer could ask for. The music and the quality of the recording are especially excellent. So do your ears a favour, jump in to a good theatre and watch this one. You WILL NOT want to wait for the DVD/VHS release. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatyT.Mar 28, 2003
IT WAS THE BEST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KayW.Apr 27, 2003
Best movie ever!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherH.May 13, 2003
GREAT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatC.Jan 10, 2004
This movie is all energy and facade. The directionless plot continually threatens to dilute a pretension that could not have been more wildly and convincingly asserted. The only thing endearing about the characters is that they sure can put This movie is all energy and facade. The directionless plot continually threatens to dilute a pretension that could not have been more wildly and convincingly asserted. The only thing endearing about the characters is that they sure can put on quite a show. Fantastically entertaining, with the freedom that comes only from embracing something disposable. It is swine casting pearls non-stop to the audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nataliec.Mar 14, 2005
Amazingly fantastic- chicago has evrything , great singing dancing acting- everything a good movie should be!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Jul 9, 2005
Forget what you think of musicals. This one embraces the roaring twenties, and thanks to Renee Zellweger, Catharine Zeta-Jones, and Richard Gere, this one contains more of what makes musicals fun and exciting to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanC.Jun 7, 2008
This movie is one of the best musical ever made! High energy from the cast to crew makes this sizzle and makes the audience under the Chicago Fever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulF.Feb 4, 2009
I like this musical a lot more than I thought I would. The world has been due for some updated ones. I was surprised to see how well Rene Zellweger could sing. Also even more surprised that Richard Gere could sing even at all. Loved his tap I like this musical a lot more than I thought I would. The world has been due for some updated ones. I was surprised to see how well Rene Zellweger could sing. Also even more surprised that Richard Gere could sing even at all. Loved his tap dancing court scene. The cast was just about perfect for the movie and all the songs I'd love to own for my music library. Reminds me a bit of Madonna in Dick Tracy. I was also impressed at not only the choreography but also the lighting. *WARNING SPOILER* The Jones and Zellweger duo in the end with great with the tommy guns and popping lights. It was all so flashy with piazza. Chicago comes highly recommended in my book. It's one of these movies you can see ever so often and still be entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GavinC.Jul 26, 2009
A very funny, very entertaining film with an interesting plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Dec 27, 2002
Imaginative, creative transition from B'way to screen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrancineG.Dec 28, 2002
The success of Moulin Rouge made this movie possible. It's frenetic pace, production numbers, and smash mouth bravura performances by Catherine Zeta-Jones, Renee Zellweger, Richard Gere and John C. Reilly propells it into a sure thing The success of Moulin Rouge made this movie possible. It's frenetic pace, production numbers, and smash mouth bravura performances by Catherine Zeta-Jones, Renee Zellweger, Richard Gere and John C. Reilly propells it into a sure thing Oscar pick, and maybe winner. Grab your mother, brother, friend or neighbor and go once, twice and again. It is magical. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MaryK.Dec 30, 2002
Energetic, absolutely terrific musical.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregO.Jan 11, 2003
Rapid, Unusual, Cheeky and a pleasant surprise. Get over the details and let the razzle dazzle win you over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.Jan 13, 2003
Saw Moulin Rouge and thought it was just so-so. Chicago is ten times better. It is very creative, sensual, and breezy. Richard Gere is brilliant singing and tap dancing his way in Court, Renee Zellweger shines as the murderess who wants to Saw Moulin Rouge and thought it was just so-so. Chicago is ten times better. It is very creative, sensual, and breezy. Richard Gere is brilliant singing and tap dancing his way in Court, Renee Zellweger shines as the murderess who wants to be a star, but Catherine Zeta-Jones proves that she is much more than just a pretty face as she completely steals the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatherineB.Mar 14, 2003
Chicago brings new hope to those who wish that the movie musical had never died. The singing and dancing by Gere, Zellweger, and especially Zeta-Jones came as a truly delightful surprise; I refuse to agree with those who claim that the Chicago brings new hope to those who wish that the movie musical had never died. The singing and dancing by Gere, Zellweger, and especially Zeta-Jones came as a truly delightful surprise; I refuse to agree with those who claim that the dancing was done by anyone besides these three amazing actors. Marshall's idea to make almost all of the musical numbers figments of Roxie's imagination was nothing less than a brilliant adaptation of the original broadway piece for the motion picture. I have seen this movie three times and have not yet grown tired of it. The soundtrack is exceptional as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RazzleDazzlethemMar 25, 2003
Fantastic! You don't know how happy I was that this movie won Best Picture! I can't believe Richard Gere wasn't nominated for Best Actor or Best Supporting Actor. Sure, John C. Reily was good, but Gere was FANTASTIC. Catherine Fantastic! You don't know how happy I was that this movie won Best Picture! I can't believe Richard Gere wasn't nominated for Best Actor or Best Supporting Actor. Sure, John C. Reily was good, but Gere was FANTASTIC. Catherine Zeta-Jones rocks and definitely deserved that Oscar. It was disappointing that Renee Zellweger didn't win, but then again, the Best Actress category had so many amazing actresses that Nicole Kidman won--by a nose. Quit complaining about no sympathetic characters. What were you expecting from a jailhouse full of murderers and an attorney who sleeps with other women? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
K.K.Apr 11, 2003
Whoever finds this movie "dull" is obviously someone who finds movies like Possession (no offense, but I found it REALLY boring) more entertaining. How can you hate the lights, costumes, and energy each song had? It was like watching a Whoever finds this movie "dull" is obviously someone who finds movies like Possession (no offense, but I found it REALLY boring) more entertaining. How can you hate the lights, costumes, and energy each song had? It was like watching a Broadway play! Though I'll admit, I was excpecting a better ending (it needed a better song) but that's not enough to make me complain A LOT about this film. Of course you feel hatred for the characters in this film...THAT'S Chicago! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BENCHASEApr 25, 2003
See this movie as often as possible in the best theater conditions. It is truly a satisfying longed-for treat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AleCNov 12, 2004
THE BEST 2002 FILM!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerBAug 23, 2004
This movie is the best movie ever made, in my opinion. Oh, and to "Buttered Popcorn": How dare you give it a zero. You said you watched 10 minutes of it, did you even give it a chance? Catherine Zeta-Jones is the perfect Velma Kelly. Renee` This movie is the best movie ever made, in my opinion. Oh, and to "Buttered Popcorn": How dare you give it a zero. You said you watched 10 minutes of it, did you even give it a chance? Catherine Zeta-Jones is the perfect Velma Kelly. Renee` Zellweger is the perfect Roxie Hart. Richard Gere is the perfect Billy Flynn. I don't know what I would do without this movie. It deserves a 10 all the way. This is the best movie ever made. The songs are absolutely amazing, they give me shivers down my spine. The acts are amazing, just look at "Cell Block Tango" or "Razzle Dazzle" I am obsessed with this movie. Thank you very much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayH.Aug 27, 2008
Brilliant musical, one of the best ever made. The cast is amazing, the choreography is impressive, the cinematography, score, art direction - everything is incredible. Mesmerizing and magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesN.Dec 23, 2002
WOW.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
B.JonesDec 23, 2002
Surprisingly well acted and amazingly entertaining, this film took a genre that was thought to be dead and revitalized it using a mixture of classic old-time movie musical magic and modern-day Moulin Rouge visual candy. Very enjoyable with a Surprisingly well acted and amazingly entertaining, this film took a genre that was thought to be dead and revitalized it using a mixture of classic old-time movie musical magic and modern-day Moulin Rouge visual candy. Very enjoyable with a very relevant storyline. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LifeIsAMulroneycakesOldSon,AndILoveAMulroneycakesDec 24, 2002
Doesn't reinvent the wheel like Moulin Rouge really, REALLY did, but still bloody good. Kudos for casting actors rather than singers, as well - albeit relatively safe choices, except Zellweger (who's great anyway, as it happens). Doesn't reinvent the wheel like Moulin Rouge really, REALLY did, but still bloody good. Kudos for casting actors rather than singers, as well - albeit relatively safe choices, except Zellweger (who's great anyway, as it happens). Basically, read the Film Threat review, and then reverse the opinions therein. That is the Truth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShahmeerApr 22, 2011
Chicago is a very original movie. And that's what people are looking for these days. Every award they received, including Best Picture, was well given from the Academy. Catherine-Zeta Jones was an excellent supporting actress, and she didChicago is a very original movie. And that's what people are looking for these days. Every award they received, including Best Picture, was well given from the Academy. Catherine-Zeta Jones was an excellent supporting actress, and she did earn her Best Supporting Actress award, but truly, I think Renee Zellweger did a better job as an actress. The cinematography was simply amazing. The transitions between reality and stage were definitely enjoyable. The way the audience saw the stage performances was excellent, and the way they saw reality was interesting as well. And at that fact, the stage performances is what made this film extravagant. No breaking into song in reality. All of the singing was as if they were feeling it, and we were witnessing their feelings. The the songs were real catchy, and definitely masterpieces to listen to. But there were a few flaws in Chicago. One was some of the speech. It was hard to understand without subtitles or going back a few times to hear it again, but not all of it was like that, only some. Then the fact that one of the characters (the innocent and "invisible" one) never got what he deserved. This was the sad point in the film. But I guess that's reality, folks. And the best part of Chicago was... That it was better than the musical. I saw the musical, and it was boring and dull compared to the film. But there is one last flaw. The 1 hour 57 minute film left out a bit from the 3 hour musical. You got to know the characters more in the musical. All in all, I give Chicago an 8 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanNov 19, 2011
Chicago is a pretty unique film creation. An adaptation of the satirical musical of the same name, it's energetic and flawlessly choreographed, with well-performed songs and a decent helping of tongue-in-cheek humour. It's not all glitz andChicago is a pretty unique film creation. An adaptation of the satirical musical of the same name, it's energetic and flawlessly choreographed, with well-performed songs and a decent helping of tongue-in-cheek humour. It's not all glitz and glamour though, and it's satisfying to see a bit more going on below the surface than in other musicals - it addresses everything from gender stereotypes to the fragility of celebrity and the fickle nature of a media-consuming public. The cast are strong across the board, but Renee Zellweger and Richard Gere are the real highlights, the former perfectly expressing Roxie Hart's journey from naive and unfulfilled housewife to calculating, image-cultivating celebrity, and the latter stealing every scene he's in with good old-fashioned showmanship. Unfortunately the film does lose a little momentum, and packs a bit less punch in the final twenty minutes or so, but this is more a testament to the knock-out near-perfection of the rest of the film rather than any particular flaw in this part of the film. Perhaps it was inevitable that shining so brightly early on would result in a certain loss of sparkle in the latter parts of the film. Overall, though, Chicago is a joy to behold, and the experience will stay with you long after the credits roll. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Spielberg00Dec 2, 2011
Bottom Line: Two murderesses and a lawyer run away with six Oscars in this flamboyant musical.

Ostentatious musical takes a sarcastic look at the story of two murderesses and their rise (or rises, one could say) to fame on the stage. This
Bottom Line: Two murderesses and a lawyer run away with six Oscars in this flamboyant musical.

Ostentatious musical takes a sarcastic look at the story of two murderesses and their rise (or rises, one could say) to fame on the stage. This was the first musical in 33 years to win Best Picture, the previous being OLIVER! in 1969, and I can now honestly say that this didnâ
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
hoops2448Nov 17, 2011
Chicago has all the trappings of a great musical while also working as a truly great film. The main draw of Chicago has to be the way Rob Marshalls direction allows for an exhilarating viewing experience that flows brilliantly. The idea thatChicago has all the trappings of a great musical while also working as a truly great film. The main draw of Chicago has to be the way Rob Marshalls direction allows for an exhilarating viewing experience that flows brilliantly. The idea that there are two different worlds, the real and the musical, was one of pure genius because it allows for not only some thrilling musical numbers but also character development without the loss of momentum with Cell Block Tango introducing the prisoner brilliantly while also injecting some much needed theatricality. The cast works well because they accept the preposterous nature of the story and act as if on stage which sounds ludicrous but it works. Renee Zellwegger shows the evolution of a performer with both flair and naivety with Catherine Zeta-Jones playing off her with equal parts spunk and cynicism. However the real star is Richard Gere who demonstrates different relationships between the two and really manages to infuse some undeniable fun into the proceedings as the larger than life lawyer Billy Flynn.
Chicago is really a story of how a star is born through less ordinary means and thanks to some great music, acting and directing it works brilliantly
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
Between Rob Marshall and Bill Condon, there was no stopping this adaptation of Bob Fosse's hit Broadway musical. Amongst the cast and amongst the staggering musical numbers, Chicago is one of the best musicals of our time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Trev29Jul 31, 2013
An absolute knockout! I can't claim to know much about musicals, but this one is easily the best one I have seen. Every performance, song, and dance were so spot on. Thoroughly engaging and visionary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleFeb 22, 2016
Chicago is a pretty simplistic film narratively and though the acting from Renee Zellweger, Richard Gere, and Catherine Zeta-Jones, is good, it is certainly nothing revolutionary. However, what is revolutionary here is the direction from RobChicago is a pretty simplistic film narratively and though the acting from Renee Zellweger, Richard Gere, and Catherine Zeta-Jones, is good, it is certainly nothing revolutionary. However, what is revolutionary here is the direction from Rob Marshall. The transition from stage to screen is brilliant here and the film simultaneously feels as though it were a play and a film at times. The set pieces and production value here are fantastic as this film feels like a spectacle throughout and it honestly feels like you are watching something quite special at times as a result. The costume design is authentic and, along with the production design, capture the look and feel of old Chicago very well. Finally, the music here is pitch perfect and a true joy to listen to and watch be performed. Overall, Chicago is not outstanding on the whole, but is quite a good film that is incredibly entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EdorkJul 29, 2014
Musical numbers are great and the film is very stylish. My biggest problem with it, though, is that ALL the characters are terrible, unlikable human beings who use others and destroys their lives without any real comeuppance or learning aMusical numbers are great and the film is very stylish. My biggest problem with it, though, is that ALL the characters are terrible, unlikable human beings who use others and destroys their lives without any real comeuppance or learning a lesson by the end. Maybe if Roxy at the very least grew to be a less selfish individual by the end I may have cared, but in the end her sentencing outcome meant nothing to me whether she was found guilt or no. I just care what happened to anyone and I'm not sure if that was the intent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
survivorfan989Feb 11, 2013
Easily one of the best musicals out there, if not the best. Captivating musical performances and outstanding acting from the three leads made this a very enjoyable film to watch and one of my personal favs. The toe-tapping songs are justEasily one of the best musicals out there, if not the best. Captivating musical performances and outstanding acting from the three leads made this a very enjoyable film to watch and one of my personal favs. The toe-tapping songs are just great and it really does the Broadway production justice! It's also hard to pick a favourite song as they are all fantastic! Overall a thoroughly enjoyable film and one I would strongly recommend. It certainly deserved that Best Picture Oscar as well! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ragekoiJul 21, 2013
A perfect remastering of the Broadway musical. The movie has an excellent cast, characters, sets, songs, and writing. Being the essential rebirth of the "movie musical", Chicago is a delightful motion picture worth your time and money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieReviewsMar 15, 2014
"Chicago" is actually one of the memorable movies ever made. It has great acting, characters, dark humor and one of the best screenplays. I love the way the film is presented, it has its unique style, great musical score and different musical"Chicago" is actually one of the memorable movies ever made. It has great acting, characters, dark humor and one of the best screenplays. I love the way the film is presented, it has its unique style, great musical score and different musical numbers. "Chicago" is a must see film. It is a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SparklinDiamondApr 27, 2014
As a fan of musicals, this is another of my favourite movies. I love the songs and sing them all the time, they are all really catchy. Renee and Catherine are perfect in their roles, couldn't imagine anyone else playing them. Richard Gere,As a fan of musicals, this is another of my favourite movies. I love the songs and sing them all the time, they are all really catchy. Renee and Catherine are perfect in their roles, couldn't imagine anyone else playing them. Richard Gere, Queen Latifah and John C Reilly (who now when I watch all I hear is Wreck-it-Ralph) are also amazing at their roles. The story is unique to any other I've seen, and is different in the fact it's a slightly darker theme to a musical about murder and death. However, it manages to uphold a light hearted spirit with lots of comedic moments. Overall, I just love it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nahtan1244Mar 17, 2016
Never have I been so wowd at a movie production of such a beloved musical. Now I like musicals and musical movies. There have been some bad, mamma mia rent high school musical and a few others. Man I went into this movie so cold mr. freezeNever have I been so wowd at a movie production of such a beloved musical. Now I like musicals and musical movies. There have been some bad, mamma mia rent high school musical and a few others. Man I went into this movie so cold mr. freeze wouldn't have been able to survive in the arctic and this movie lifted me off of my feet. This movie however has no flaws and the director is brilliantly able create a bunch of fantastic flashy show stopping numbers while simultaneously pairing a duo of Oscar winning performances by the two main characters and a bunch of songs that will be stuck in your head from the begging to the moment you finish this movie makes this a perfect 10 in every way. Now i just need to see this on broadway Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews