Chicken Little

Chicken Little Image
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This epic tale presents a new twist to the classic fable of a young chicken who causes widespread panic when he mistakes a falling acorn for a piece of the sky. (Disney)

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. The visuals are irrepressibly witty and so is the script, which morphs from the classic fable into a spoof on "War of the Worlds." I prefer this version to Spielberg's.
  2. 75
    When the picture hits high gear, your qualms vanish one by one, and the script, credited to four writers, grows into its own.
  3. 63
    Bogged down by many of the problems that have plagued Disney's recent traditional animated features: anonymous voice work, poor plot structure, and the mistaken belief that the Disney brand will elevate anything to a "must see" level for viewers starved for family friendly fare. If there's a bright side to Chicken Little, it's that kids will love it.
  4. Reviewed by: Ryan Devlin
    50
    In the film, the cleverness just isn't there. There's still a lot to like about Chicken Little - the animation is top notch, and the characters, if somewhat recycled, still generate the requisite sympathy and chuckles.
  5. What falls in Chicken Little are hopes.
  6. Chicken Little, though it has its moments, mostly just feels anxious and overreaching. It tries to be all things to all people and fails to be anything to anyone.
  7. 20
    Seriously, it's a bad sign for your "kids movie" when the kids in question are asking their parents, "When is something going to happen?"

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 69
  2. Negative: 27 out of 69
  1. JulesB.
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    its fun to watch and im 23 if you give it less then 6 im disapointed to me its in my leauge if you dont like it then dont watch this as a its fun to watch and im 23 if you give it less then 6 im disapointed to me its in my leauge if you dont like it then dont watch this as a adult film its a kids film REMEMBER! and my kid loved it and so did I. Collapse
  2. EricC.
    Apr 24, 2006
    9
    My wife, kids (teen to toddler) and I laughed through a lot of this movie. If there's a fault with it it's the short running time. My wife, kids (teen to toddler) and I laughed through a lot of this movie. If there's a fault with it it's the short running time. I don't understand all of the negative reviews out there. Expand
  3. MarkB.
    Nov 28, 2005
    8
    After having endured the smug Shark Tale, the witless Robots, the obnoxious, headache-inducing Madagascar and the just-plain-boring Valiant, After having endured the smug Shark Tale, the witless Robots, the obnoxious, headache-inducing Madagascar and the just-plain-boring Valiant, I almost poured what was left of my Diet Pepsi over my head at the end of this latest Pixar wannabe just to make sure I was awake and not dreaming...because here, at long last and hallelujah, is one that mostly gets it right! The famous fairytale about a panicky little chicken who mistakenly informs all the other animals that the sky is falling, and simply makes a dumb cluck out of himself in the process, is dispensed with in the first ten minutes; the rest of the movie deals with the hero's attempts to regain the respect of his classmates and his dad...just in time for a second character-testing apparent emergency that turns out to be both more and less than what it seems. As an animated entertainment, Chicken Little lacks the timeless quality of the Pixars (the Toy Storys, Monsters Inc., The Incredibles, etc.) -- and it doesn't deserve to beat the non-CGI Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit for this year's Best Animated Feature Oscar -- but it's still a whole lot of fun: pleasingly energetic, often ingeniously clever, and even sweet and touching at times without being syrupy. One of my biggest issues with most recent animated features is their nonstop reliance on current pop culture references and jokes (which of course renders them more and more dated with each passing year), and Chicken Little is hardly innocent of this, but at least most of the references to Top 40 songs from the 70s to the oughts are kept within the concept of one specific character. The writers and director Mark Dindal (who previously did the witty, Chuck Jones-flavored "flat" Disney feature The Emperor's New Groove) need to gain either an increased sense of self-confidence or faith in the intelligence of its audience: references to a couple of famous Spielberg movies are so spelled out, circled and underlined that they're rendered completely ineffective, while subtle visual or aural winks to lovers of Foghorn Leghorn and The Simpsons score bulls-eyes precisely because they're NOT explained. Unlike most of the imitation Pixars, which come across as heartless joke machines loaded with humor that's completely inappropriate for the smallest members of the family, Chicken Little's touch of genius -- and its heart -- lies in basing its story and themes on the very real issues that its young viewers deal with. The hero, like lots of human preadolescents, yearns for the acceptance of his peers and of his father (the latter scene-stealingly voiced by Garry Marshall, who like Sydney Pollack is often a better actor than director). It's entirely appropriate that C.L.'s few friends are outcasts themselves: "Ugly Duckling" Abby Mallard; Runt of the Litter, who's not only wildly overweight but likes Barbra Streisand records (and we all know what THAT implies)...and even a genuine Fish Out Of Water! As with Disney's Lilo & Stitch, these farm fauna are so engaging that the movie loses some steam when the science-fiction plot takes over, but here it adds real drama as C.L. has to decide whether to succumb to peer pressure or do the right thing and risk more ostracization...and the resolution is remarkably satisfying. Equally vital to Chicken Little's success is a simple but basic element that more films, be they 3-D animation, 2-D or live action, would do well to include: an uncommonly likable, appealing and sympathetic lead character whose well-being and happiness you really care about. Expand
  4. ryanp.
    Nov 7, 2005
    5
    If a little kid wants to see it take them and bring your pillow parents.
  5. GerrickC.
    Nov 28, 2006
    3
    The movie was mostly slow with a few loosely funny parts and fewer parts of action and excitement. There was virtually no plot, and I had The movie was mostly slow with a few loosely funny parts and fewer parts of action and excitement. There was virtually no plot, and I had trouble deciphering nearly each new scene and how the devil it was supposed to edify the film. Quite possibly the worst pixelated movie I have ever seen. Expand
  6. JeremyE.
    Apr 18, 2006
    2
    one minute the kid's trying to win a baseball game to impress his dad, and the next he's fighting aliens. the story writers must one minute the kid's trying to win a baseball game to impress his dad, and the next he's fighting aliens. the story writers must have had something in their drinks because this story is horrible. It's not any where near funny, it's just bizzare. the only reason this gets a 2 is because i've seen worse. Expand
  7. AllisonR.
    Nov 6, 2005
    0
    What happened to classic disney? I'm pretty disgusted with this film.

See all 69 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.