Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1105 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
932
Mixed:
65
Negative:
108
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JamesKJul 15, 2009
Not only does it have action and suspense to rival the best thrillers but it is also deep and enchanting. The directing alone makes this film a must see, but combined with everything else it is even more of a masterpeice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
scotthDec 23, 2006
Haven't read the book, therefore unsure of how close Cuaron is to storyline. Nevertheless, well acted - good pace, and good moviemaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayeSDec 30, 2006
Unsetting and conceivable, hits close to home in what direction the world is moving. So many small details slip by that tell even a deeper story of what has happened to the world. True violence portrayed in a way that is realistic, Unsetting and conceivable, hits close to home in what direction the world is moving. So many small details slip by that tell even a deeper story of what has happened to the world. True violence portrayed in a way that is realistic, heartbreaking. Best film I have seen in a long long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BruceM.Jan 11, 2007
This film is "Baghdad meets Bladerunner" and the near-term dystopia it evokes at times feels more cinema verite than science fiction. The film evokes powerful emotional resonance as it brings mankinds' two greatest impulses -- the This film is "Baghdad meets Bladerunner" and the near-term dystopia it evokes at times feels more cinema verite than science fiction. The film evokes powerful emotional resonance as it brings mankinds' two greatest impulses -- the destruction of life and the creation of life -- into startling relief. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricaK.Jan 1, 2007
The movie doesn't explain much, and there are few gradations between good and evil, but this story of hope and redemption is heartbreakingly played out. The fight scene in the refugee camp, which was shot in a single take with the The movie doesn't explain much, and there are few gradations between good and evil, but this story of hope and redemption is heartbreakingly played out. The fight scene in the refugee camp, which was shot in a single take with the cameraman following clive owen's character for about 7-11 minutes is an example of filmmaking bravura at its best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KatherynH.Jan 11, 2007
Grim cautionary tale of what might be in the not-too-distant future. Well-played by all. Could have used more of Moore, but overall no complaints.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Lance"The'OlP"RomanceJan 12, 2007
It's a difficult thing, defining a masterpiece, especially when the term is thrown about all too casually. And I wouldn't want to call this film 'important' either, because I don't believe it is a word that should It's a difficult thing, defining a masterpiece, especially when the term is thrown about all too casually. And I wouldn't want to call this film 'important' either, because I don't believe it is a word that should ever be used when defining ANY work of art. A film (or anything at all for that matter) is only as important as you're willing to make it. I sometimes wish people wouldn't be so shallow as to spend so much of their precious time and energy on something as superficial as a series of moving images projected onto a large white screen, no matter its contents. Yet here I am, like many of you, spending both my time and energy typing away about this film (even if I do so implicitly). And so, I find that I am left with two possibilities; either I am just another shallow western civilian wasting away in contemplation of foolish things, or Children Of Men is truly important to me. In reality, both of these are true...and in a nutshell, this is what Children Of Men is all about. It's about most us, those of us who are 'aware' yet not bothered enough to transcend their mere 'awareness' of the problem. That is, until something comes along and lights a fire under their asses. For me, it may be this mere film, Children Of Men. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesK.Jan 13, 2007
I've never felt so physically present in a movie, or as convinced of a near-future world. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertIvyJan 14, 2007
Scenes of a futureworld turned sour crackle with immediacy and life. It's a trip through a cracked looking glass into a broken world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoungCollegeStudentJan 14, 2007
the scene where Clive and the mother and daughter walk out of the building, past the adoring refugees and the stunned soldiers is pure brilliance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChuckG.Jan 15, 2007
This is not only my favorite movie of the year, but one of my favorite movies of all time. I had to go back to the theater to see it again. This is the proper way to tell a story on the screen, anyone who wishes to make a good film in the This is not only my favorite movie of the year, but one of my favorite movies of all time. I had to go back to the theater to see it again. This is the proper way to tell a story on the screen, anyone who wishes to make a good film in the future had better take notes from this one. The story was good and simple, straightforward from beginning to end and had me on the edge of my seat for more than half the scenes. For once, there were no loose ends, nothing left needing, the story was full and finished. And the cinematography was unbelievable, almost impossibly fantastic in two much talked about long shots. But the reason I call this movie one of the greatest is the gripping untensity that I have never experienced in any movie I have ever seen. I will see this many more times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mattallenOct 15, 2007
Reading comments by ignorant fucks like Brian K. just aggrivate the shit out of me. His examples of why the movie was bad were just dreadful. Mention of a specific cause for the sudden infertility isn't necessary because it wouldn'tReading comments by ignorant fucks like Brian K. just aggrivate the shit out of me. His examples of why the movie was bad were just dreadful. Mention of a specific cause for the sudden infertility isn't necessary because it wouldn't have added anything to the overall message of the film (here I'll make a name of the disease up for you Brian-"You're a fucking cuntface-itis"). The ending was perfect. Rather than showing Khia being taken in and examined and the baby examined, etc. we just get a shot of the boat coming to rescue her. What more could you ask for? As for the blood on the camera, yea it had no specific purpose, but these guys are doing bravura long takes and the one that happened to be the best one was the one where blood happened to spray on the camera. It's really not that big of a deal and to have such an insignificant thing lend to you giving the movie a 3 is just ridiculous. I hope I never have to meet you Brian K. or anyone like you because it would just make me wish your mother would have been struck with a disease that rendered her incapable of having children. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RitaS.Jan 16, 2007
Truely a frightening cinematic masterpiece of a future right on our doorstep!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A.DOct 16, 2007
You can touch the real future in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyL.Jan 16, 2007
Please ignore the ones and twos inexplicably given by some viewers of this film. If someone is unable to follow the taut, driven narrative of this film, they probably can't find their way home without a map. Cuaron brilliantlyPlease ignore the ones and twos inexplicably given by some viewers of this film. If someone is unable to follow the taut, driven narrative of this film, they probably can't find their way home without a map. Cuaron brilliantly illumiinates the razor's edge world in which we live, and crafts a deeply felt parable about where we look for hope amidst hopelessness, and the dangers of ideology run rampant, whether from the right OR the left. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesJan 17, 2007
The most harrowing and thrilling movie I've seen in a long time. Great cinematography and message. Instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanC.Jan 17, 2007
One of the best premises I can recall mixed with just so-so execution. It didn't quite work for me. The uprising in the end didn't make much sense in the context of a prison camp (where did all those assault rifles come from? where One of the best premises I can recall mixed with just so-so execution. It didn't quite work for me. The uprising in the end didn't make much sense in the context of a prison camp (where did all those assault rifles come from? where did those Islamic militants get them???). Clive Owen is extremely good. Worth seeing, but ultimately not fully realized. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonK.Jan 20, 2007
Just saw it today and absolutely loved it. It was gritty, it was grimy. It was real.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Jan 22, 2007
Outstanding film. From its opening moments it really grabbed me. While the film is riveting, t's got some great moments of black comedy, too. Definitely one of the best films I've seen in ages. Cuaron is a superb director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulK.Jan 2, 2007
Riveting and visually stunning. A frightful view of what the future could be. The story was unpredictable, unsettling and completely and utterly engrossing. I Iaughed, I cried, I spent most of the time with my mouth open. Superbly acted and Riveting and visually stunning. A frightful view of what the future could be. The story was unpredictable, unsettling and completely and utterly engrossing. I Iaughed, I cried, I spent most of the time with my mouth open. Superbly acted and a technical masterpiece. You must see this. In the theater. Absolutely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrayB.Jan 23, 2007
First of all, the movie is NOT trying to reflect any US policy, nor is it about politics. For the person who couldn't understand why the animals reproduced but the humans became infertile, you are comparing apples to oranges. The First of all, the movie is NOT trying to reflect any US policy, nor is it about politics. For the person who couldn't understand why the animals reproduced but the humans became infertile, you are comparing apples to oranges. The "cease-fire" happened because no one had seen a baby in 18 years! The movie did not wrap up neatly because nothing in life wraps up neatly. If the movie had answered every question, e.g. "what is the human project" or "how did humans become infertile" it would not have allowed me to come up with answers on my own. That's what makes the movie engaging. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RexJan 23, 2007
A dark view of the World when hope is lost and the end is near. The beginning of the movie does not properly set up the middle and end. What exactly happened to the rest of the world? Why is Great Britain the only country to remain intact? I A dark view of the World when hope is lost and the end is near. The beginning of the movie does not properly set up the middle and end. What exactly happened to the rest of the world? Why is Great Britain the only country to remain intact? I have not read the book, which I plan on doing shortly, but I would imagine it is much better than the film. Also, what caused the infertility, the flu pandemic . . .? Too many questions left unanswered. Good, but not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Jan 5, 2007
A Brilliant, Visionary film. The first movie set in the future that is at times terrifying simply because it is so real to the direction the world is heading today. The music and production design are perfect right down to the smallest A Brilliant, Visionary film. The first movie set in the future that is at times terrifying simply because it is so real to the direction the world is heading today. The music and production design are perfect right down to the smallest detail, but it is the cinematography by Emmanuel Lubezski that takes giant leaps into how the camera is everything to the pulse of a movie. There are scenes in this movie that simply swallow you into screen like shots of adrenelin and give you cinematic rushes like you've never seen or felt before! It is a bleak, yet amazing story and Alfonso Cuaron balances it to perfection. Any mind that concieve a scene with "Court of the Crimson King" playing on a set inspired by the cover of Pink Floyd's Animals is pure Genius!! Children of Men is one of the 5 Best Pictures of the Year!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KurtM.Jan 5, 2007
The most daring vision brought to screen in recent years. Pic's brand of chaotic, interactive filmmaking pioneered by the likes of Cuaron and Paul Greengrass make for an intense and heartbraking journey that never once exploits its The most daring vision brought to screen in recent years. Pic's brand of chaotic, interactive filmmaking pioneered by the likes of Cuaron and Paul Greengrass make for an intense and heartbraking journey that never once exploits its profound themes. For some reason, people have decided that movies cannot be both depressing and good at the same time, even if they convey authentic truths about the world. This film will be considered depressing by those who do not actively engage it. Those of us who give ourselves over to the experience will come away inspired. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HalB.Jan 5, 2007
I came away from this film feeling as if I'd been immersed in another world for two hours. A dark and gut-wrenching portrayal of one possible future, and not that far off! Brutally bleak and violent for much of its duration, at least it I came away from this film feeling as if I'd been immersed in another world for two hours. A dark and gut-wrenching portrayal of one possible future, and not that far off! Brutally bleak and violent for much of its duration, at least it ends on a hopeful note. Definitely some amazing cinematography and direction. A few indelible images and scenes that will stay in my mind for a long time. Kind of The Nativity meets Saving Private Ryan, with some Bladerunner thrown in for good measure. Quite a film; but not everyone's cup of tea. Permeated by gallons of political/social commentary; very relevant to our current times. Take your politically outspoken friends (at either end of the spectrum) to see it and let the conversation begin... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricS.Jan 5, 2007
This is hands down the best movie of the year, a stunning example of how to craft an action-thriller. Despite the futuristic setting this is not by any means sci-fi. Rather, it is a dystopian vision of the future with a focus on the This is hands down the best movie of the year, a stunning example of how to craft an action-thriller. Despite the futuristic setting this is not by any means sci-fi. Rather, it is a dystopian vision of the future with a focus on the characters. This is a story about people, not advanced technology and complex action sequences (although that is not to say the film lacks excitement; if any thing, your attachment to the characters heightens it). As much as I enjoy mindless action, Children of Men proves that the genre is capable of producing more than cheap entertainment. This movie dark tone and underlying cynicism probably won't win it any Oscars, but if their is any justice, it will go down as classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DWillyJan 6, 2007
I can't add anything to the rightly glowing reviews and numbers that, in this nearly lone case, I agree with. Masterful, moving, harrowing. I've always liked Clive Owen but confess to having felt him a bit overrated for his narrow I can't add anything to the rightly glowing reviews and numbers that, in this nearly lone case, I agree with. Masterful, moving, harrowing. I've always liked Clive Owen but confess to having felt him a bit overrated for his narrow toughguy stance; but here he is loose and vulnerable and I'd like to shake his hand for carrying this important film that I know must have been a very difficult to make. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidAJan 6, 2007
Simply a great movie, incredible action, acting and a moving story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaunX.Jan 6, 2007
Excellent film. Cinematography is amazing. Atmosphere is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColbyS.Jan 6, 2007
Brilliant. The best movie I've seen in years. Not a dull moment, unoriginal element or hackneyed conversation to be found.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonathanA.Jan 7, 2007
This film carries with it a subtle brilliance that should inspire a strong sence of emotion. This film will be good for Clive's resume actingwise and an altogether excellent film. I don't feel that this film will get the respect it This film carries with it a subtle brilliance that should inspire a strong sence of emotion. This film will be good for Clive's resume actingwise and an altogether excellent film. I don't feel that this film will get the respect it deserves as many will see it as just a movie, but, i saw it as a message to the human race. This film both assisted me in losing faith in humanity while also gaining hope. A masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobG.Jan 7, 2007
A masterpiece of a film. The best movie I have seen since the Return of the King. This one will haunt you for days.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AntonioA.Jan 7, 2007
Keeps your attention and heart pounding at the edge of your seat. The surroudning signs, artifacts, newspaper clippings and scenery greatly enhances the understanding of the plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisM.Jan 9, 2007
A gritty, haunting vision into the future. Some say it is depressing. True. But the only thing more depressing is the amount of people who don't understand this movie. I can't believe how much I liked it. It made so many films seem A gritty, haunting vision into the future. Some say it is depressing. True. But the only thing more depressing is the amount of people who don't understand this movie. I can't believe how much I liked it. It made so many films seem so trite, minor, and ultimately, trivial. Please, let's make more movies like this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewF.Feb 12, 2007
The best film of the decade. Technically astonishing, full of joy and passion and of utter misery. It's frighteningly realistic, and that's why it's so powerful. We can see these things happening to us, and we can understand The best film of the decade. Technically astonishing, full of joy and passion and of utter misery. It's frighteningly realistic, and that's why it's so powerful. We can see these things happening to us, and we can understand the psychology of the characters. Too many people are stuck in the so-called "politics" of the film- it's not about politics. It's about the human condition and what it means to be just a small speck in this seemingly incomprehensible world; it's about hope and despair; it's about being alive. I just may call this the greatest film achievement ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AramisG.Feb 12, 2007
Who exactly does the politics of this film offend? And since when is it off limits to put a political statement in a film? Unless you sat through this movie with political tunnel vision, I think you would notice they do a convincing job of Who exactly does the politics of this film offend? And since when is it off limits to put a political statement in a film? Unless you sat through this movie with political tunnel vision, I think you would notice they do a convincing job of show the evils of extremism left or right. This film has some of the most intense war zone scenes I've seen since Saving Private Ryan. It does an outstanding job of balancing the frailties of life against the harsh brutalities of war. If it does have an overt political message, it is that war is hell on Earth. I think both sides can agree on that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulD.Feb 15, 2007
One of the best movies I've seen. Beautiful, horrifying, impactful and unpretentious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelG.Feb 17, 2007
Definitely one of the best movies in cinematography. I would place it in the same raw with such as Clockwork Orange, Blade Runner, Platoon, God Father, Dogville, Piano Teacher, Tarnation e.t.c Go in watch it in the cinema if you can. Not Definitely one of the best movies in cinematography. I would place it in the same raw with such as Clockwork Orange, Blade Runner, Platoon, God Father, Dogville, Piano Teacher, Tarnation e.t.c Go in watch it in the cinema if you can. Not DVD. Very intelligent, good casted, great directed unbeleavable filmed, and very clever sound design! You will leave the theatre with only one word...WOW Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulFeb 17, 2007
WOW this movie was awesome! I can't believe one reviewer said it was boring! It took about 10 minutes to get into it, but once the craziness started, it never stopped. And I was amazed at some of the camerawork and editing. One scene WOW this movie was awesome! I can't believe one reviewer said it was boring! It took about 10 minutes to get into it, but once the craziness started, it never stopped. And I was amazed at some of the camerawork and editing. One scene near the end, where there were bombs going off, bullets flying, tanks shooting buildings, looked like it was done all in one shot! I dont know how they did it, but it made for one f***ing intense scene!!! This is one movie I'll be buying soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffG.Feb 5, 2007
Extraordinary film. Should have been nominated for Best Director and Picture. I saw this about 5 weeks ago and still think about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RG.Mar 14, 2007
this was a great year as cinema has clearly stretched its boundaries. curon's epic film, which captures the smallest moments on a journey to find a boat, is the best movie last year. the layers upon layers of visual narration is this was a great year as cinema has clearly stretched its boundaries. curon's epic film, which captures the smallest moments on a journey to find a boat, is the best movie last year. the layers upon layers of visual narration is incredibly effective as a world in which there is no hope left. the bleak look of the film is counterbalanced by michael kane's perf and brilliant litlle moments (cat on owen's leg durring fishes meeting). i mean there is soo much in every category to write about. actors were great, cinematography is the best i have ever seen.The topics the are tackled are very immidiate and for all the ppl who ask for explanations of the plots need look no further than current events. heartbreaking yet incredibly hopeful film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoakimL.Mar 16, 2007
Children of Men is a dynamic mix of humour, drama and pure adrenaline action. One of the best pictures of 2006/2007 (it was released in december 2006, and on DVD in march 2007). I highly recommend it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamMar 19, 2007
An emotionally powerful story, great cinematography (the one-shot 10 minute war sequence in the streets), great twist early on, and a satisfying conclusion left this viewer feeling that this was one of the best and most important films of An emotionally powerful story, great cinematography (the one-shot 10 minute war sequence in the streets), great twist early on, and a satisfying conclusion left this viewer feeling that this was one of the best and most important films of the decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SomeDudeMar 28, 2007
Don't even bother looking at the bad reivews. They don't know what they're talking about. This movie is great! Starts off kinda slow and a little confusing because they never really explain what's going on with the world, Don't even bother looking at the bad reivews. They don't know what they're talking about. This movie is great! Starts off kinda slow and a little confusing because they never really explain what's going on with the world, but once it starts, it doesnt let go. The action scene towards the end was probably the best I've seen in a movie in quite a while. Go rent it, make your own decision, but I guarantee you'll like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonL.Mar 29, 2007
This isn't a good movie, it's a brilliant movie. Watch this. Children of men is so compelling, smart, creative, visually astounding and mind blowing, that I can't stop thinking about it. The reviews are pretty divided, either This isn't a good movie, it's a brilliant movie. Watch this. Children of men is so compelling, smart, creative, visually astounding and mind blowing, that I can't stop thinking about it. The reviews are pretty divided, either 10's, 9's or 0's and 1's. The low scores are from people who just don't get it and these people never will. If you have good taste and half a brain, you will love this, guaranteed. I have seen a lot of good films this year, and this was easily my favorite. Pan's Labyrinth came second. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickR.Mar 4, 2007
Inspired belongs with Pan's Labyrinth and United 93 as the top films I've seen all year. it's science fiction done right which means it doesn't hit you over the head with the obvious issues. cuaron mesmerizes you and Inspired belongs with Pan's Labyrinth and United 93 as the top films I've seen all year. it's science fiction done right which means it doesn't hit you over the head with the obvious issues. cuaron mesmerizes you and draws all into a flim of lyrical beauty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarryP.Apr 1, 2007
Quite simply, the best film of last year, one whose power, moral nuance, and depth grow upon repeated viewings. (The HD DVD looks and sounds better, a bonus considering the inaudibility of much of the dialog in the theatre.)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisB.Apr 19, 2007
A 10 for those who gave it a 0 and who don't obviously know anything about film!Gripping, heart-pounding entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisG.Apr 22, 2007
I'm not a big movie "expert" as most of you other voters seem to be. Can someone help me out and explain "character development". And for everyone who voted 0 and 1, does every last detail need to be explained? Very Anti-Climatic? Will I'm not a big movie "expert" as most of you other voters seem to be. Can someone help me out and explain "character development". And for everyone who voted 0 and 1, does every last detail need to be explained? Very Anti-Climatic? Will one of you "experts" tell me how a movie should end? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatApr 28, 2007
Amazing...my favorite of 2006 by far. Much is communicated visually which is where I think some people get lost- if anything watch it for the visual spectacle and insanely long shots.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianT.Apr 3, 2007
A movie this stylish, well written and entertaining does not come around that often. The true feat of this movie is making the audience belive that this futuristic dystopia is plausible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnriqueS.Apr 7, 2007
Mesmerizing dystopian nightmare is a masterpiece of the new millennium. Prodigious filmmaking at its finest. Cuaron is a force to be reckoned with. Clive Owen and Claire-Hope Ashitey are enthralling and ultimately engaging.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GinoM.Apr 7, 2007
This film is a gripping fantasy that harbors more than meets the eye. I can't wait to watch it again to see what new emotions and feelings are conjured up within me. The fabulous cinemetography is a given, and not the source of debate. This film is a gripping fantasy that harbors more than meets the eye. I can't wait to watch it again to see what new emotions and feelings are conjured up within me. The fabulous cinemetography is a given, and not the source of debate. Morever, it's truly complex nature of issues that underpin the futuristic plot of this movie that really get people polorized...I'm on the positive side of that spectrum. An eyeopening vignette into the plausible effects of a global earth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnB.May 12, 2007
Though Children of Men presents an apocalyptic science fiction, the human side of this story is deeply woven in all aspects of a not so far out possible future. The first half of this movie plays out like an observation of what humanity Though Children of Men presents an apocalyptic science fiction, the human side of this story is deeply woven in all aspects of a not so far out possible future. The first half of this movie plays out like an observation of what humanity would do in such a situation. The only problem here is that once the real substance of the film comes in, it barely holds on long enough to bring you to an ultimately disappointing end. Everything seemed so well thought out until logic managed to escape everyone. Thankfully, enough of this movie provides insight and provokes thought from the audience. It will leave you rattled as well as slightly frustrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LindaL.May 22, 2007
Depressing and thought-provoking, this film prompts the frustrating, unanswered questions many have mentioned, yet I was carried along .It's a dark vision of a horrible future that (a nagging voice in your head tells you) might not be Depressing and thought-provoking, this film prompts the frustrating, unanswered questions many have mentioned, yet I was carried along .It's a dark vision of a horrible future that (a nagging voice in your head tells you) might not be completely impossible. Got a little bored during the final hide-and-chase sequence, but never with Clive Owen's world-weary face. If you like him in this, rent "I'll Sleep When I'm Dead." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickA.Jun 29, 2007
The year 2006 in film ended as it started some eight months prior: with a forceful work of unflinching potency. First 'United 93,' now 'Children of Men;' never before have I been witness to two movies of such great power The year 2006 in film ended as it started some eight months prior: with a forceful work of unflinching potency. First 'United 93,' now 'Children of Men;' never before have I been witness to two movies of such great power in the same year of release as I had in 2006. As '93' worked on the level of a power-driven docu-drama, thrust forth by the emotion of such tragic events our nation has ever seen, 'Children of Men' reminds us, with heightened intensity, where our problems in this day in age could put us twenty years down the road. Tackling the whole spectrum of world events with vigor and unrelenting passion, 'Children' makes for both intellectually challenging and irresistibly entertaining movie-viewing. In Cuaron Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanM.Jan 17, 2008
Absolutely brilliant, Clive Owen at his peek as he shows us why he's an outstanding acto, A++ performances by all the actors, this is such a great movie as it shows something that we probably take for granted in our lives
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyM.Jun 27, 2008
Well...what can I say about Children of Men? It's a completely heartbreaking thrill ride that'll keep you glued to your seat. Simply outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimP.Jul 28, 2008
A true gem of a film. It is clearly intended to make viewers think... I've read some mixed reviews and it seems that those who slated the film either didn't understand it or are cretins who prefer cheesy Hollywood action flicks. A true gem of a film. It is clearly intended to make viewers think... I've read some mixed reviews and it seems that those who slated the film either didn't understand it or are cretins who prefer cheesy Hollywood action flicks. Very realistic and gritty scenes - most realistic birth scene I've ever seen. The use of hand held cameras, and the blood on the lens for several minutes adds to the realism of the film. Caine's portrayal of a dope growing hippie was fantastic and very entertaining. A breath of fresh air to not have to watch a film dumbed down for the American market - I recommend it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GarryL.Aug 11, 2008
One of my favorite films of all time. An ambitious, complete and chillingly believable vision of the near future. It is beautifully shot - action scenes are visceral and made all the more heart-pounding with the decision to extend them into One of my favorite films of all time. An ambitious, complete and chillingly believable vision of the near future. It is beautifully shot - action scenes are visceral and made all the more heart-pounding with the decision to extend them into shots minutes long, rather than Hollywood's customary nanosecond cuts. It is gloomy and uncompromising, but this is because it's an honest script that doesn't pander to viewers who, rather than being challenged by what they've seen, would like some soggy popcorn happy ending as an antidote to their daily grind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekColemanSep 18, 2008
!!!!!!!!!!READ!!!!!!!!!! Every time I see a movie that I believe is good, I like to read all of the negative reviews, as it helps me to conclude my opinion. Yes, the plot of this movie was not a conventional one, nor did the ending leave us !!!!!!!!!!READ!!!!!!!!!! Every time I see a movie that I believe is good, I like to read all of the negative reviews, as it helps me to conclude my opinion. Yes, the plot of this movie was not a conventional one, nor did the ending leave us with a sense of closure. However, there are many factors that make this movie unique and brilliant. The events portrayed in this film are so realistic that it can almost be classed as non-fiction science fiction. I can't believe the naivity of people who think that society wouldn't revert back to the dark ages if a pandemic of this speed and magnitude were introduced to humanity. I think the best scene in the movie was the part where Theo is being driven to his cousin's place and the song "In the Court of the Crimson King" by King Crimson is being played. The scene is Theo (Owen) observing what transitioned from a crowd of desperate protestors and "fugees" to the high class citizens of Britain as he is chauffeured to his cousin's place. The scene was filmed brilliantly and the choice of music was absolutely perfect. The only reason I gave this movie a 9 and not a 10 is because the plot could have been a little better in the fact that it is greatly unbelievable that the infertility pandemic would have onset to every human in the world so quickly. I just couldn't believe that Theo and Julian had a child, Dylan, and now for some reason couldn't. If Theo and Julian were born infertile then that would have made more sense to me. The fact is, having children is what gives the majority of humans a sense of purpose and meaning. I feel that this movie did an excellent job in portraying the insanity that would ensue from a massive infertility pandemic. Who knows, if something like that were to happen in the future, perhaps it would be an even more violent and bleak existance for the remaining humans on Earth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaleighOSep 7, 2008
Awesome, original movie. people complain that all movies are so predictable and then when the ending doesn't go how they want, like theo dying for example, they still complain. it was meant to have alot of unanswered questions because Awesome, original movie. people complain that all movies are so predictable and then when the ending doesn't go how they want, like theo dying for example, they still complain. it was meant to have alot of unanswered questions because it's a dystopian film- it makes the audience think for themselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JDOct 8, 2009
Wow the level of idiocy of some of these users just blows my mind...like the guy who kept complaining that London isn't like the one in the movie. It's a fictional FUTURE you genius. Anyways, I LOVE this film. It's very Wow the level of idiocy of some of these users just blows my mind...like the guy who kept complaining that London isn't like the one in the movie. It's a fictional FUTURE you genius. Anyways, I LOVE this film. It's very engaging, the cinematography is excellent, and the acting is great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.LopezFeb 4, 2009
I was wandering in a DVD shop one day just looking for something to buy, anything that looked interesting and I came across Children of Men, at first I wasn't really interested in it so I went on to look for something else, but I was wandering in a DVD shop one day just looking for something to buy, anything that looked interesting and I came across Children of Men, at first I wasn't really interested in it so I went on to look for something else, but amazingly something compelled me to buy this movie. And I did, and now I'm glad I did Children of Men does what most dystpoia sci-fi adventures rarely do, they tell a story that all of us can relate to in someway or another. Children of Men stars Clive Owen as Theo Faron a disillusioned bureaucrat who has been tasked with the sole duty of escorting and protecting the first pregnant woman in 18 years to the Human Projects so they can utilize her pregnancy to fix the fertility problem with the world. It's a heart pounding & mind blowing visual race to get out of England before the government catches them and use the poor girls baby for publicity and to acquire money to fiance there war with the rebels. Children of Men is a heart wrenching film that deserves to be called one of the greatest modern Science Fiction films ever made. I very highly recommend this amazing film. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
discomikeDec 20, 2006
Excellent. This film stayed with me for days afterwards. Fine performances from all the cast members and the direction throughout the film is amazing. Definately film of 2006 for me, and it's nice to see a decent film set in Britain for once!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PedroL.Dec 23, 2006
The best futuristic movie since "Twelve Monkeys" and "Brazil" (both by Terry Gilliam). I saw it 3 days ago and i'm still shocked, its absolutly perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickC.Dec 27, 2006
Probably the best film of the year, with such an important theme, about parenthood itself. Great performances, but especially great directing, and the best cinematography I've seen in years. Very provoking & ambitious, but is able to Probably the best film of the year, with such an important theme, about parenthood itself. Great performances, but especially great directing, and the best cinematography I've seen in years. Very provoking & ambitious, but is able to hold itself as one of the best futuristic films ever made, of course, it's directed by today's most talented director in my opinion: Alfonso Cuaron. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithS.Dec 27, 2006
Several have mentioned how the film stays with you and how truly it does !!! Powerful, amazing filmmaking.....intellegient, sobering, and thrilling at the same time. A very difficult feat. Must See film of the year. STUNNING !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ethanr.Dec 29, 2006
Non stop intense visioanry work. i was surprised by the film's dimension and power. I am recommending it to evryone i know.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkM.Dec 30, 2006
Outstanding movie. The vision of the future presented here is incredibly thorough and well-thought out, and very thought-provoking. Compelling characters are the icing on the cake. Worth multiple viewings to pick up on the background details Outstanding movie. The vision of the future presented here is incredibly thorough and well-thought out, and very thought-provoking. Compelling characters are the icing on the cake. Worth multiple viewings to pick up on the background details alone. It turns into a cross between the most intense parts of "Black Hawk Down" and "Saving Private Ryan" near the climax, and it's done in such a way as to be completely plausible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeR.Jan 11, 2007
At the same time that CHILDREN OF MEN
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JulienJan 12, 2007
Great movie, with an interesting political speech! Probably the best cinematography of year 2006. I've never seen such amazing urban-war scenes before. And we now have to deal with the fact that Clive Owen is gonna be one of the best Great movie, with an interesting political speech! Probably the best cinematography of year 2006. I've never seen such amazing urban-war scenes before. And we now have to deal with the fact that Clive Owen is gonna be one of the best actor of tomorrow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BushM.Nov 27, 2007
extremely well done. The director is amazing. How every scene is done in one huge take is incredible. One of the best movies I've ever scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SethM.Jan 13, 2007
Hands down the best, most affecting film I have seen this year. In several years, actually. Don't listen to those who tell you it has gaps in its timeline or is discombobulated in any way - none of that matters. This is where things Hands down the best, most affecting film I have seen this year. In several years, actually. Don't listen to those who tell you it has gaps in its timeline or is discombobulated in any way - none of that matters. This is where things stand - this is the way the world is. Deal with it. If human society had really degenerated to this degree, would anyone out there really care about filling you in on what you missed? And if the scene in the stairwell at the end does not move you in any way, then I'm afraid you are dead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChaseJan 13, 2007
This is my favorite movie of 2006. While I liked Pan's Labyrinth (everyones pick), The Queen, and The Departed, Children of Men is what filters to the top for me. Some seem put off by the lack of a resolution, but I hate movies that tie This is my favorite movie of 2006. While I liked Pan's Labyrinth (everyones pick), The Queen, and The Departed, Children of Men is what filters to the top for me. Some seem put off by the lack of a resolution, but I hate movies that tie up the story in a neat little bow for me. You are judging what you see on screen, not what you didn't see. The camerawork here is first rate stuff, and Clive Owen is perfect as the anti-hero. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulFratianniJan 14, 2007
Less so about entertainment Children of Men is a social commentary. Pro-Lifers will see it from their point of view just as much as environmentalist and the anti-war crowd will from theirs. It could be seen as an amalgamation of all theseLess so about entertainment Children of Men is a social commentary. Pro-Lifers will see it from their point of view just as much as environmentalist and the anti-war crowd will from theirs. It could be seen as an amalgamation of all these views focusing on an over arching theme of a lack of respect for life in the modern times we live.
There was a poignant scene in the movie ***WARNING SPOILERS*** when Michael Caines character, Jasper, asks whether ultimately the universe is about faith or chance. Though a nice an intelligent character he is marred by the suffering in the world leaning towards a nihilist ethos. Yet still his character is willing to sacrifice in hopes for a better world.

In my opinion the world is about both faith and chance, faith being the enlightened actions of mankind and chance being the senselessness. Clare-Hope Ashitey character, Kee, points this beautifully by asking why are the tits of cows cut off to fit a four utter machine. Why do they simply make one for six? Man in his senselessness ideology, tradition, greed, etc, cause most of the suffering in this world.

However there is almost a sense of a universal cosmic conspiracy that seems to go on at the same time. It seems that one thing after another goes wrong for Clive Owens Character, Theo, with cars that won
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LauraGJan 14, 2007
Excellent overall. For those who found the story premise so powerful, do read the 1992 novel by P.D.James. James' story has been radically altered - everything from the characters to the ending - but the movie retains the gut-clinching Excellent overall. For those who found the story premise so powerful, do read the 1992 novel by P.D.James. James' story has been radically altered - everything from the characters to the ending - but the movie retains the gut-clinching realization that it could happen and how horrifying it would be. Knowing that society is aging itself out of existence would in all likelihood give rise to anarchy and/or military law, bizarre religious actions, and various other unknowable reactions. What is the purpose of human life if everything human ends? The movie definitely draws you in. The characters, however, don't always pull their weight with the story - they just aren't strong enough for the movie to be character-driven. I think that's why many reviewers loathe not knowing what happens. The entire reason the movie works is that you want to know what happens, it's what you care about, and you don't actually get that in the end. Some people, like me, are fine with that, and others not so much! Clive Owen's acting kept making me think about a super-flat-anti-emotion Nicholas Cage. Kee needed to be far far more engrossing as a person. But otherwise, strongly presented, Amazingly Filmed, and definitely makes you think about the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TravisS.Oct 14, 2007
Why did infertility impact the human race? The death, war, and despair, that the film takes place in, is the reason. The human race had F*(Kd things up so much that someone/thing had to interrupt us and force us to step back and take a look Why did infertility impact the human race? The death, war, and despair, that the film takes place in, is the reason. The human race had F*(Kd things up so much that someone/thing had to interrupt us and force us to step back and take a look at what we are.... do we deserve to live? do we as a race deserve to go on? I think the obvious answer the movie shows is absolutely not. The rape and pillage of the natural world caused something to strike back at as... and it spared us. All the past f*(K ups die away and the new and "week" inherit the world. what stepped un to wake us up? what ultimately spared us? I'm not religious, but obviously it was God. That's not what the point of this story is. the point is that we have messed things up beyond repair, but we were spared. Brilliant movie... I could go on for hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllyM.Jan 14, 2007
Beautiful. Riveting. Tragic. Superb. The best movie I have seen in a very very long time. Flawless acting, actual surprises, fabulous cinematography, and a great screenplay. The car in reverse scene is amazing. Think about it being shot in Beautiful. Riveting. Tragic. Superb. The best movie I have seen in a very very long time. Flawless acting, actual surprises, fabulous cinematography, and a great screenplay. The car in reverse scene is amazing. Think about it being shot in one take. And the best war scene since Saving Private Ryan. Glorious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GusJan 15, 2007
phenomenal distopyan flick
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoggyR.Jan 15, 2007
This is an amazing movie. It is technically brilliant and emotionally engaging. Other reveiwers who claim that character development and plot were "nonsensical" must have been paying more attention to their popcorn than to the subtleties of This is an amazing movie. It is technically brilliant and emotionally engaging. Other reveiwers who claim that character development and plot were "nonsensical" must have been paying more attention to their popcorn than to the subtleties of the film. I found myself wrapped up in the events unfolding on the screen at every turn. Bravo Cuaron, bravo Clive Owen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PadraigJ.Jan 17, 2007
Wow. I couldn't walk on the street afterward because I thought somebody was going to shoot me! And there's so many surprises in this movie- like the way it doesn't pander by explaining everybody's political motive in Wow. I couldn't walk on the street afterward because I thought somebody was going to shoot me! And there's so many surprises in this movie- like the way it doesn't pander by explaining everybody's political motive in detail. The closest thing I think to experiencing what it must be like in the Mideast--I so thought I was going to get shot walking down the street afterwards! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CalvinJ.Jan 18, 2007
Take the movie as it is. There are some parts which they should have gone more in depth, but it was nevertheless moving and a microscopic examination of our nation's priorities today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterB.Jan 19, 2007
Excellent movie, one of the best of the year. Quite simply because Cuaron does a fine job, most one camera scenes are just splendid. Ia gree that its an OK plot but im disappointed to see that most who gave it a 1, justify thorugh its lack Excellent movie, one of the best of the year. Quite simply because Cuaron does a fine job, most one camera scenes are just splendid. Ia gree that its an OK plot but im disappointed to see that most who gave it a 1, justify thorugh its lack of coherence or its too many answered questions. I believe this movie is mostly about a man and we basicly know as much as he does. Its a movie about hope not salvation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThatMovieGuyJan 21, 2007
Beautiful. Reminds me of not the style, but film-making mastery of Kubrick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekDec 31, 2007
It's baffling how many people completely miss the point.... lets dig a little deeper, my god. Easily one of the best films from 2006, check it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RodneyMarxJan 25, 2007
This movie provides a surreal, action-packed experience. The camera angles put you in the action, and the locales are very realistic. This is one of the best movies of the year, by far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JJJan 25, 2007
I just can't stop thinking about this one. Don't believe any nitwits that knock Children Of Men; they are too distracted by waiting to get their first driver's license to judge the movie fairly. An instant classic, and I just can't stop thinking about this one. Don't believe any nitwits that knock Children Of Men; they are too distracted by waiting to get their first driver's license to judge the movie fairly. An instant classic, and possibly one of the best-photographed movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
Post-apocalyptic films can be somewhat undecipherable (
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CarlosdelN.Jan 27, 2007
Well worth seeing just for the cinematography. The first half is completely riveting; unfortunately, it becomes a bit of a conventional chase movie towards the end. Still, this is far better than the overwhelming majority of flicks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexFeb 11, 2007
I feel sorry for all the reviewers who could not put politics aside when they saw this movie. The main message has NOTHING to do with politics. It was a wonderful film that keeps you on the edge of your seat for a full 2 hours. If you come I feel sorry for all the reviewers who could not put politics aside when they saw this movie. The main message has NOTHING to do with politics. It was a wonderful film that keeps you on the edge of your seat for a full 2 hours. If you come out of this movie mad about the politics portrayed in the movie, you don't get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SambistagirlFeb 15, 2007
This was a great movie. Very exciting. The attention to detail was fantastic. A little depressing at times, but very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatrickG.Feb 28, 2007
Wonderful film. Most unjustly snubbed year-end movie of 2006. Fu.k the award-givers. 'The Departed' was pure garbage next to this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricC.Mar 26, 2007
Pointless? How much of an idiot are you? My god, go back to watching Wild Hogs or Norbit. There hasn't been a more signifficant movie since its release, and you call it pointless. Stop watching movies if you can't see the Pointless? How much of an idiot are you? My god, go back to watching Wild Hogs or Norbit. There hasn't been a more signifficant movie since its release, and you call it pointless. Stop watching movies if you can't see the importance here. This movie shows us where our chaotic society is going, and you;d have to have a serious redneck "America is percect" mentality not to realize this. But this movie also gives us a gleam of hope that is worth throwing our lives aside and fighting for. Alfonso Cuaron is an amazing artist, eualled only by Guillermo del Torro's, his collaborator, Pan's Labyrinth. This movie puts Babel to shame, and it's cinematography sends The Departed home in shame. It's mindblowingly beautiful, but you'll have to go through some brutal violance and dread in order to see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Mr.JohnsonMar 26, 2007
Just Splendid. It was a thorough delight. And I recommend it highly!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexT.Mar 26, 2007
I am baffled as to how people can say that this movie was "boring". It is constantlyrelentless and gripping. The movie does have a leftist message, but it is hardly as strong as many of the viewers seemed to think it was. Honestly, if you I am baffled as to how people can say that this movie was "boring". It is constantlyrelentless and gripping. The movie does have a leftist message, but it is hardly as strong as many of the viewers seemed to think it was. Honestly, if you are factoring politics into your review over the movie, you would have to be VERY far to the right to be offended. Anyone who thought that the terrorists were portayed as the "good guys" completely missed the point of the movie. The terrorist barbarity is striking to behold. Some rewievers have said that this is a cliche and trite movie. While there have been other somewhat similar films, this one is far better than most. As some people have mentioned, the soundtrack is quite good, although it gets a bit repetitive, and the cinematography is phenomenal. The ten minute shot at the end is staggeringly good. The thing which relly makes the movie great is the charachters. Every one of the mis fascinating and detailed. If you watch the movie again there are lots of subtle clues in how the charachters interact which makes them seem even more human. This is a shocking and haunting film. But it is also a sensational one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimG.Mar 27, 2007
The most important movie since we entered the 2000s thematically, and one of the most entertaining. I haven't been as tense as I was during a movie as I was in the last half hour of this one in a very long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictorL.Mar 29, 2007
This is now my favorite movie of all time. See it. No. Experience it. The cinematography is 100% accurate and precise. No detail was over-looked in the filming of this movie. Anyone who says this film is horrible obviously has other things This is now my favorite movie of all time. See it. No. Experience it. The cinematography is 100% accurate and precise. No detail was over-looked in the filming of this movie. Anyone who says this film is horrible obviously has other things going on in their life that they can't get forget about, and see this film like it was meant to be seen. Best movie ever. Period. Wow wow wow. WOW. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlyMay 19, 2007
I watched it over and over. I couldn't get enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeoB.Jun 11, 2007
I have not seen (yet) any of the other Oscar-nominated films from last year, but I cannot imagine a better film. Given the subject and the horrors that unfold on film, it does seem strange to call this movie lovely, but it is. A seminal I have not seen (yet) any of the other Oscar-nominated films from last year, but I cannot imagine a better film. Given the subject and the horrors that unfold on film, it does seem strange to call this movie lovely, but it is. A seminal moment in filmmaking history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful