User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 810 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mobius
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    A rare treat. it has some very clever camera work. the story seems to be told from Clive Owens perspective so you only know what he knows you never understand who the fish are and why various groups are fighting but for me that makes the film focus on the charactors and there are some touching moments. look at this film as the journey of one man that gets caught up in something much A rare treat. it has some very clever camera work. the story seems to be told from Clive Owens perspective so you only know what he knows you never understand who the fish are and why various groups are fighting but for me that makes the film focus on the charactors and there are some touching moments. look at this film as the journey of one man that gets caught up in something much bigger himself. watch it and enjoy the journey. Expand
  2. RachelR.
    Jan 27, 2007
    6
    Not a bad movie, but throughout I was left with a feeling that I had seen this all before and I had seen it done much more cleverly. Twelve Monkeys, 28 Days Later, all better movies.
  3. BitBurn
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    That one part near the end (don't want to spoil it!!!) is easily one of the most moving scenes I have ever seen in a film.
  4. TrudyP.
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    Certainly one of the finest films I have seen in years...why can't they make more films like this???
  5. PaulG.
    Jan 30, 2007
    10
    Children of Men is gripping and exciting from beginning to end. It should win the Academey Awards for screenwriting, edting and cinematography.
  6. RyanH.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    This was an amazing movie. The use of the camera in intense situations was quite beautiful. Kept me entertained the whole way and wasn't predictable. My guess is that McDonald's is the reason people become infertile in the near future. Cheers!
  7. JamesM
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    An instant classic, remarkably rich in detail on every level, remarkably expressive in its use of every cinematic tool, and remarkably successful in exploring its ambitious themes and ideas. Required viewing for everyone on this planet, this is not just the film of the year, but the film of decade.
  8. A.R.L.
    Jan 4, 2007
    9
    An epic movie with many dystopian elements. Amazingly directed creating a memorizing environment which places you in the movie. Michael Caine gives a charming performance of optimism. Clive Owen plays somewhat of a working class hero which is reflected by the musical theme of the movie. I could watch it over and over and over. In fact I already have, ha!
  9. FrankV.
    Jan 5, 2007
    5
    I didn't quite understand the point to this movie? The comparison to the 'modern-day' are pretty obvious even if it's the stereotypical anarchic world of the future. But how did it get to be that way? That isn't well explained. And why smuggle Kee and her baby to The Human Project? It just didn't make sense. In spite of the rave reviews of this hot new I didn't quite understand the point to this movie? The comparison to the 'modern-day' are pretty obvious even if it's the stereotypical anarchic world of the future. But how did it get to be that way? That isn't well explained. And why smuggle Kee and her baby to The Human Project? It just didn't make sense. In spite of the rave reviews of this hot new director the film looked like it was filmed in the grungiest place that could be found. There is lots of shrapnel flying, which reminded me of Saving Private Ryan. I can't imagine society going that way even if there is no hope. This movie is grim and ultimately unsatisfying. Expand
  10. aaron
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    Chilling, horrible, thought-provoking, gripping, original, and scariest of all--a real possibility in the not to distant future. This is an absolute must-see for any movie enthusiast.
  11. BilB
    Jan 5, 2007
    8
    Set in a believable future year 2027, this film is entertaining enough. I could have done without so much humor. The cinematography, especially during the fight scene in which Clive Owen makes his run for Key is amazing. Complete with blood on the lens and very real looking combat. This alone should make the movie worth watching by every aspiring cinematographer. Overall: a solid 8 in my book.
  12. GMDK
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Spectacular and ravishing, Alfonso Cuaron proves once again he is one of the greatest filmmakers we have ever seen.But the thing Cuaron really knows how to do is give realistic emotion to the characters;because of him,we can feel for any character on screen.Rarely can a movie director pull that off.The best picture of the year,in my opinion.
  13. TrudiB.
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Brilliant movie, which grabbed me immediately and hasn't let go yet. Some here have mentioned "unanswered questions" and "inconsistencies," but I found it to be deeply thought provoking. When I can spend time after walking out of a theater still going over the film, wondering, piecing together, analyzing -- then I feel like I've really got my money's worth. Cuaron makes it Brilliant movie, which grabbed me immediately and hasn't let go yet. Some here have mentioned "unanswered questions" and "inconsistencies," but I found it to be deeply thought provoking. When I can spend time after walking out of a theater still going over the film, wondering, piecing together, analyzing -- then I feel like I've really got my money's worth. Cuaron makes it believable, in that there are so many different reactions to the situation in which humanity finds itself 18 years after the last child is born. Those who turn to (self-flagellating) religious cults, the deniers, those who just don't think about it, the government and big companies who continue on through sheer force of momentum, the angry rebels, the solution seekers, the hopelessly depressed who turn to quiet suicice. All of this is presented almost as background, in flashes of imagery or brief sequences. The reactions to the death of Baby Diego in the opening scene took me right back to September 11, the numb shock that overtook us all that day. There was so much packed into this movie (my husband caught things I didn't, and vice-versa), that I intend to see it again unencumbered by the anxiety of "what happens next?" I will also eagerly await Cuaron's next film; my respect for him has grown with each of his movies, and I expect even greater works from him in the (hopefully not this bleak) future. Expand
  14. JustinB.
    Jan 6, 2007
    9
    Spectacular cinematography and layout throughout of the movie. Deep intellectual thinking and symbology tie seamlessly into the movie and gives one a chance to think about today's complications. Beautifully ended to give chance of imagination.
  15. JulietT.
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    The first movie in which the portrayal of the future seems both palpable and imminent. The future is not some far-off land dotted with replicants and cyborgs, rather, a grim and grainy place with immigrant camps, terrorists, and bombs filmed with amazing fluid shots.
  16. HeathQuinn
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. Not Boring in any moment. The cinematography is unbelievable!
  17. Sue
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    This movie is not viewed with the thought that this is either a good or bad film. The story is that important and complex. Frightening and intriguing is the concept that only one small area of the world will be barely civilized with the remainder of the world struggling to enter. Even more frightening is the realization that much of the story is not science fiction, is not of the This movie is not viewed with the thought that this is either a good or bad film. The story is that important and complex. Frightening and intriguing is the concept that only one small area of the world will be barely civilized with the remainder of the world struggling to enter. Even more frightening is the realization that much of the story is not science fiction, is not of the future...it is now. Expand
  18. RyanC.
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    An incredibly moving Sci-Fi film. Very heavy. Not a film you can recommend to everyone becuase of its depressing subject matter but in all ways a fantastic film.
  19. MattS.
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    Don't read any of the reviews, just see the movie. I rarely hand out a score of 10 to anything--even women--but this movie astonished me. I disagree with critics who declare that the story is not credible--that a siege in Seattle that lasts a thousand days makes no sense. I believe that people would slowly go insane in a world where the human race is sterile. To be faced with the Don't read any of the reviews, just see the movie. I rarely hand out a score of 10 to anything--even women--but this movie astonished me. I disagree with critics who declare that the story is not credible--that a siege in Seattle that lasts a thousand days makes no sense. I believe that people would slowly go insane in a world where the human race is sterile. To be faced with the mortality of humanity, not just oneself, is terrifying and just cause for civilization to collapse. A great film. Expand
  20. JeremyM.
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    One of the very best films of the last five years, this film is absolutely stunning. Cuaron has done it yet again, and he's at the top of his game. Of course the cinematography and music are obvious standouts, but its the film's ability to allow the viewer to think for themselves that makes this a fantastic movie. We aren't given a back story or anything. That's not One of the very best films of the last five years, this film is absolutely stunning. Cuaron has done it yet again, and he's at the top of his game. Of course the cinematography and music are obvious standouts, but its the film's ability to allow the viewer to think for themselves that makes this a fantastic movie. We aren't given a back story or anything. That's not what the movie's about. It's been 18 years since the last child, and since then, most people don't talk about the reason...they just accept it and moved on. That's why it is never explained. Having someone 18 years after the fact sit there and explain every little thing just so we as audiences don't think for ourselves, well that's ridiculous. That's Cuaron's greatest gift and achievement: believing in his audience. As for the lot of you that need everything explained, go see Night at the Museum. Leave the thinking to us. Expand
  21. MichealY.
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most unforgettable films I have ever seen. Cuaron wastes no time, thrusting you directly into the plot and never letting up for the entire 109 minutes. And what a plot it is - I won't spoil anything, but this is a very relevent tale and I believe everyone can learn a thing or two from it. The intriguing thing about the film is the screen play; it doesn't give This is one of the most unforgettable films I have ever seen. Cuaron wastes no time, thrusting you directly into the plot and never letting up for the entire 109 minutes. And what a plot it is - I won't spoil anything, but this is a very relevent tale and I believe everyone can learn a thing or two from it. The intriguing thing about the film is the screen play; it doesn't give too many details or much backstory on a lot of things, so it leaves the audience feeling as clueless about certain things as Clive Owen's character (after all, no one is omniscient) which makes the experience much more believable. Everyone already knows about the brilliant cinematography. Most complaints I've heard have been that it leaves many questions unanswered. There are some that aren't, and for good reason (see the script comment above), but this is a very fast paced film and you must not divert your attention for a second or you may miss something. This is the most believable and horrific presentation of the future I have ever seen. A great film with something for everyone, this is by far the best film of the decade and one of the best I have ever seen. It will be a shame if the film and Cuaron get snubbed come Oscar time. Expand
  22. EricJ.
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    This movie was excellent. It's more about human nature than politics. The government isn't the villain of the movie. In fact, it's the rebels that betray their own. Those who see the movie for something it isn't only prove the point. We all have our own agenda, and only a few manage to break the pattern.
  23. Drew
    Feb 17, 2007
    9
    Cassandra, sounds like your typical brain washed fox news fangirl (did I leave out brain washed christian too?). Why do people let their second-hand opinions about politics and religion, dictate their opinions that they actually have control over? This movie was much better than a 1. Good acting and great technical prowless 9 times out of 10 trumps anything that usually comes out of Hollywood.
  24. JoeC.
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    This was the best movie I saw all year, hands down. The cinematography alone will capture your mind and not let go. If you haven't seen it, do yourself a favor and go now!
  25. HariS.
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    The best movie of 2006, perfect. Original, emotional, intelligent, dark. Great script, great characters, great story. And the best of it is the amazing approach of Alfonso Cuaron. Amazing
  26. [Anonoymous]
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    I just got back from giving Babel a 2. Mainly because it failed miserably at everything this movie was able to accomplish. Children of Men is much more relevent to our worried and paranoid times, and top that off with some flat out mindblowing scenes (those who have seen it know which one in particular I'm talking about). Babel takes our fears as a society and does nothing but I just got back from giving Babel a 2. Mainly because it failed miserably at everything this movie was able to accomplish. Children of Men is much more relevent to our worried and paranoid times, and top that off with some flat out mindblowing scenes (those who have seen it know which one in particular I'm talking about). Babel takes our fears as a society and does nothing but exploit them as Oscar bait. Children doesn't use them, but shows us our fears in order to bring us closer as a race and give us hope. Easily the most important film to come from post-9/11 cinema. Expand
  27. JoshC.
    Feb 3, 2007
    9
    An excellent adaptation of a compelling novel. The difference between the two is a telling comment on our post 9/11 world. Whereas the novel depicts a benevolent but ineffectual government helping its aging citizens come to terms with the extinction of their species, the movie shows a grim and fiercely defensive government locking down the last surviving bastion of civilization. The end An excellent adaptation of a compelling novel. The difference between the two is a telling comment on our post 9/11 world. Whereas the novel depicts a benevolent but ineffectual government helping its aging citizens come to terms with the extinction of their species, the movie shows a grim and fiercely defensive government locking down the last surviving bastion of civilization. The end results of both are the same: a semi-hopeful yet resigned plunge into the inevitable. The image from the movie that continues to haunt me is one of a mushroom cloud over Manhattan that appears in a montage show on a video screen while Theo rides the bus. It's a grimly familiar site that grips me with a deep chill. Expand
  28. Bouncer
    Feb 9, 2007
    9
    Politics from any side turns people into monsters. Left wingers are not immune to the politicized images presented. To think that this film is solely a critique of the Bush administration is a farcical statement at best. There is a reason why the camera follows the action over Clive Owen's shoulder, and not anyone else's. Clive Owen is no bleeding heart liberal--the movie makes Politics from any side turns people into monsters. Left wingers are not immune to the politicized images presented. To think that this film is solely a critique of the Bush administration is a farcical statement at best. There is a reason why the camera follows the action over Clive Owen's shoulder, and not anyone else's. Clive Owen is no bleeding heart liberal--the movie makes that much clear--so put the ideology away and watch a masterpiece in character development unfold in some of those rivettingly shot scenes in cinematic history. Boom. Expand
  29. Josh
    Mar 3, 2007
    8
    Children of Men is filled with engaging and dynamic performances, skillful direction and perfect cinematography. The screenplay captures the poignancy of the P.D. James book and paints a vivid picture of where the world may be ten years from now. Clive Owen, Julianne Moore, Michael Caine and Chiwetel Ejiofor offer excellent and intelligent performances in what is the most underrated movie Children of Men is filled with engaging and dynamic performances, skillful direction and perfect cinematography. The screenplay captures the poignancy of the P.D. James book and paints a vivid picture of where the world may be ten years from now. Clive Owen, Julianne Moore, Michael Caine and Chiwetel Ejiofor offer excellent and intelligent performances in what is the most underrated movie of 2006. Please see it! Expand
  30. Erak
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    Easily the most intense movie I've seen since Aliens. It's also the first movie I've ever seen that made both myself and my teetotaling fiancee utter "I need a drink".
  31. KennyM.
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable. I didn't even blink until it was over.
  32. AshC
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    i dont need to praise this unique, wonderful film any more than it has been. im just here to laugh at the people who give it 0 or 1, to be contrary and make a spectacle of themselves. get back to confessions of a window cleaner! its all you're good for!
  33. ChadS.
    Apr 1, 2007
    8
    Theo(Clive Owen) sees, but he doesn't see the people in cages that plethorically mar the urban landscape of a police state-England. Or does he? It's hard to tell if Theo's neutral countenance is one of arctic indifference, or a mask that blankets his disgust towards Europe's callous attitude towards foreigners. On one hand, Theo befriends Jasper(Michael Caine), a Theo(Clive Owen) sees, but he doesn't see the people in cages that plethorically mar the urban landscape of a police state-England. Or does he? It's hard to tell if Theo's neutral countenance is one of arctic indifference, or a mask that blankets his disgust towards Europe's callous attitude towards foreigners. On one hand, Theo befriends Jasper(Michael Caine), a hippie of advanced age who wouldn't want to hang out with an advocate for ultra-conservative politics. But then there's a scene(strongly reminiscent of Vic Morrow's episode in "The Twilight Zone: The Movie"), where Clive finds himself in the other man's shoes, on a bus en route to an uncertain future in which death or deportation are the only two choices(Morrow's character was a bigot). When Theo meets Kee(Claire-Hope Ashitey) and discovers the bun, is there a change in attitude towards the expectant mother? Up to this point in the story, by all appearances, Theo lived in a segregated existence. "Children of Men" ends abruptly with Kee in limbo, so we're left wondering what will happen to the young woman. This will anger some people who've been anaesthetized by too many closed endings. The rest of us, however, will leave the theater happy, because we get to determine what holds in the future for all mankind. Expand
  34. NikkoChunn
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    there are good and bad reviews for this film because there are good and bad people on this planet. The good ones will give this film a high mark for the things that it is: gripping (unbelievably so), exhilirating, moving.... however, if this film is calling you out and in the case of the hometowns of a few of the aforementioned reviewers who have dragged down the score by trying to attackthere are good and bad reviews for this film because there are good and bad people on this planet. The good ones will give this film a high mark for the things that it is: gripping (unbelievably so), exhilirating, moving.... however, if this film is calling you out and in the case of the hometowns of a few of the aforementioned reviewers who have dragged down the score by trying to attack the 'plot' of a film that is content not to dot every i and cross every t because it is knowing and insightful in its understanding of the knowledge that finds its home in the space between things. Such reviewers and/or bad people deal with absolutes and the film will make them uncomfortable - I believe in fact that it intends too and thus is a movie that avoided across the board tens b/c it wanted to be better than that...and it is. A movie you will sit and thing about a day later.... and find a tear or two cutting a swathe down your cheek. Oh...and I hate (hated?) Clive Owen as an actor and he always annoyed me - yet he was so masterful in this role, so understated and human, I found that I cared more for him and his plight and his loss than I have for any character or charcters since Shadowlands. Brilliant. Unless your brain or heart are a step behind where they need to be of course - then it's a 'clumsy' mess that 'has more questions than answers'....as Borat would say: "Sure it does...............................................NOT!" Do yourself a favour.....this is the most fully realised and presented films in years. Truly and wholly original when it seems it can't be, this is movie magic of the sort you only 'wondered' was possible. However, ironically, (sorry) it is probably a film best scene thinking it'll just be very good, like I did - only to be blown away despite the fact (oft-used by idiots) that I knew nothing more than I did before I started the film. So what!? Not all of us live in a country or countries, or behave in such a way in our lives, that we need a message in every, single, bloody film we see. Of course there ARE very strong messages in the film and FAR more than the ones the blockhead reviewers and users have put up riddles with freudian slips and rampant ignorance. Yet, the film would be so very strong without any of them as the fear, the hope and the endeavour of the protagonists is so palpable that it could be about absolutely nothing more and still be a winner. To be honest, I feel reviewers are scared of giving big marks to genre-beding films.....too much for them when they consult their plot, theme and charcters handbook and look up their mark. There's still time to save your souls, but in hte meantime, please stop reviewing films and misleading films. Real things matter to real people - and this film is real. I got things I rarely get these days in films - frights, moved, shocked and then those rarer moments when you stop for a second after the conclusion of a scene and go - "fuck! this is good." No surprise then that he isn't an American director...whoops! can't say that...forgot. Suggestion: start collating your reviews from people alittle bit more 'wordly'. Just a thought. Bottom line - best film of the year (have not seen Pan's yet), and not in a 'I have half a brain and no full and rounded knowledge of the hearts and minds of actual people so Crash is the best film of the year' kind of way either. Just in an actually the best film kind of way. Hopefully that will suffice. Expand
  35. JimH.
    Apr 7, 2007
    7
    Gritty cinematography and a bit too glossy in the narrative. Lots of great sequences and bits but the film does not add up to a truly great whole. It blurs or glosses over the answers to many questions.
  36. MattG.
    May 10, 2007
    10
    The affinity between the moment of dystopian and the moment utopian thought has long been recognized (they are in many ways the flip side of the same coin). Yet never have we had such a bleak and striking dystopian depiction of what exactly a world in which utopian politics as such are rendered more or less impossible by the sudden lack of any posterity for the world to prepare for at The affinity between the moment of dystopian and the moment utopian thought has long been recognized (they are in many ways the flip side of the same coin). Yet never have we had such a bleak and striking dystopian depiction of what exactly a world in which utopian politics as such are rendered more or less impossible by the sudden lack of any posterity for the world to prepare for at all. One of the best movies of the last ten years. (If we are, in the end, to judge works of art politically.) Beyond politics, the execution of the premise was adept and subtle and exhilarating. Expand
  37. JoeyM.
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    One of the finest movies I've seen in the last decade. Bravura filmmaking techniques (for example, the single four minute shot as they first attempt to drive Kee out of the country), excellent acting, and (yes) actual meaningful themes reward repeated viewings. I can't recall the last time I felt so anxious for the main characters while watching a movie. My heart was racing the One of the finest movies I've seen in the last decade. Bravura filmmaking techniques (for example, the single four minute shot as they first attempt to drive Kee out of the country), excellent acting, and (yes) actual meaningful themes reward repeated viewings. I can't recall the last time I felt so anxious for the main characters while watching a movie. My heart was racing the entire time! These days, movies that have any meaning deeper than "hero beat up bad guy yay" seem to be falling out of favor with the world. A shame. If you want an action blockbuster, look somewhere else. If you want a tense road trip that explores where our world might be going and delivers a great story, this might be one for you. Expand
  38. RussellJ.
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    This has gone into my top five movies along with requiem for a dream, dead man's shoes, eternal sunshine and sideways. It is a unique vision of the future that actually feels like it could happen. The acts of terrorism and social disorder are quite prevalent in todays society now so if a situation where infertility arose then the dystopian society depicted in this movie is well This has gone into my top five movies along with requiem for a dream, dead man's shoes, eternal sunshine and sideways. It is a unique vision of the future that actually feels like it could happen. The acts of terrorism and social disorder are quite prevalent in todays society now so if a situation where infertility arose then the dystopian society depicted in this movie is well realized. One of the criticisms of this movie i have come across is that the cause of the infertility is never explained, why is this a problem? We live in a world where there are no easy answers. It also leads us to the ambiguity of this society who are thinking that they are let down by science or religion. One of the most interesting points of this film is the importance of children to our future and is beautifully illustrated in the exquisite scene when Clive Owen walks through the battle zone with a new-born and everything goes quiet until a shell goes off and the fighting continues. This enforces the fragility of our existence and the improbability of the human race getting this far. Is it evolution last attempt to carry on the human race encapsulated in this child or is it divine intervention?. When i was watching this film i was hoping it wouldn't end in a typically Hollywood ending where there is closure. Luckily the film ends in a downbeat but also in a fashion an optimistic way. There is a light at the end of the tunnel albeit a pinprick of light. This film blew me away. The action was tense and well thought out and believable. The cinematography was bleak but beautiful. Clive Owen is tremendous in a subtle and nuanced role which made you feel for him and believe in the arc his character goes through. Expand
  39. PrinceR.
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    Greatest movie of the century which can change the world if the whole world see this movie together.
  40. AndyM.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    This movie is spine-tinglingly, blood-curdlingly, skin-crawlingly good. It is filmed in such a dynamic, constant-shot fashion that the realism is disturbing. When I first saw the movie, I was constantly questioning the main premise: How were all the women infertile? And why? What changed things? But in the end I realized that these questions are not the important part of the movie. This movie is spine-tinglingly, blood-curdlingly, skin-crawlingly good. It is filmed in such a dynamic, constant-shot fashion that the realism is disturbing. When I first saw the movie, I was constantly questioning the main premise: How were all the women infertile? And why? What changed things? But in the end I realized that these questions are not the important part of the movie. It's the pure humanity portrayed, a humanity that is so true to form that you never forget it. When a character dies, it feels horrifically bland and absolute, as if it were real life. Don't watch this as a captivating sci-fi or a intricate action; watch it for the human nature that is so convincing in this picture. Expand
  41. PaoloS
    Feb 15, 2008
    8
    This film makes a good attempt to speak out against Western capitalism, and how nothing is too far, however it makes the mistake of doing this through narrative and tries to persuade the audience to sympathise with the characters, which at times, obscures the political message, as the audience will become emotionally involved with the characters as opposed to looking at the film with an This film makes a good attempt to speak out against Western capitalism, and how nothing is too far, however it makes the mistake of doing this through narrative and tries to persuade the audience to sympathise with the characters, which at times, obscures the political message, as the audience will become emotionally involved with the characters as opposed to looking at the film with an objective eye. Expand
  42. TimH.
    May 12, 2008
    4
    This movie Ruend the Book. Any one who watches this movie should have read the book first. The Book Was Way Better.
  43. MartyH.
    Jun 6, 2008
    0
    This was a truly awful film, what a waste of nearly 2 hours. The film ended as abruptly as it started and left so many things unanswered, it made me wonder what the point was in sitting through such doom and gloom. There is no genius in this film at all, despite what others may say. I would not even give it one star! Your time would be better spent watching paint dry! You have been warned!
  44. Samuel
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    Great acting, great story, great suspense, great everything really. Its flaws are minor and its strengths are amazing. Bravo.
  45. WesM.
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Pretentious at times, but overshadowed by consistent excellence in the form of an odd-but-good coupling of minimalist filmmaking and pervasive epic-ness. I'm making up terms.
  46. Finn
    Aug 30, 2008
    9
    One of the best movies i watched in a LONG time. Sure, there isn't much different from a lot of other action movies "Someone is important, and he/she has to survive till he/she made the destination", but the story, the suspense, acting and a brutal look at how our future might look like if something like this might ever happen. I wont go in further details, all i can say is that i One of the best movies i watched in a LONG time. Sure, there isn't much different from a lot of other action movies "Someone is important, and he/she has to survive till he/she made the destination", but the story, the suspense, acting and a brutal look at how our future might look like if something like this might ever happen. I wont go in further details, all i can say is that i loved it, and i recommend everybody to check it out. Expand
  47. PhilM.
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    I've never seen violence filmed so well before. It feels like you're watching footage, and not film. The use of less cuts and more one-shot "following behind the protagonist" and using less action music to create a more intense effect. I also like how the characters are genuinely fearing for their lives when under violence. The environments look the part beautifully. Very I've never seen violence filmed so well before. It feels like you're watching footage, and not film. The use of less cuts and more one-shot "following behind the protagonist" and using less action music to create a more intense effect. I also like how the characters are genuinely fearing for their lives when under violence. The environments look the part beautifully. Very immersive film. Expand
  48. LuciaC
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    This was good for thinking but it needed answers not questions!!!!!
  49. russelljones
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    This film is fantastic. The dystopian future that Clive Owen's character Theo has to live in is believable and grim. Theo lives in a future where women are all infertile and the youngest person is 18 and has just been killed. Theo is understandably cynical and bordering on alcoholic. His true friend being an hippy played my Michael Caine. Hope is rekindled in Theo when he isThis film is fantastic. The dystopian future that Clive Owen's character Theo has to live in is believable and grim. Theo lives in a future where women are all infertile and the youngest person is 18 and has just been killed. Theo is understandably cynical and bordering on alcoholic. His true friend being an hippy played my Michael Caine. Hope is rekindled in Theo when he is introduced by his ex-wife to a young girl who is pregnant and needs them to take her to a rendezvous point. The film is about Theo's journey and his realisation that he is playing a part in something which is much bigger than him. The concept and vision of a world without children is a scary prospect and is something I never thought about until I watched this film. There are criticisms I have heard from friends. The first is the film doesn't explain why this infertility epidemic arose. My opinion on this is that it reflects real life, no one knows how Aids originated for instance. The second criticism is the low key ending which I personally love, I love the ambiguity of this ending which imbues the nature of sacrifice and your own pessimism or optimism will determine whether that was in vain. Expand
  50. JamesK
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    Not only does it have action and suspense to rival the best thrillers but it is also deep and enchanting. The directing alone makes this film a must see, but combined with everything else it is even more of a masterpeice.
  51. scotth
    Dec 23, 2006
    7
    Haven't read the book, therefore unsure of how close Cuaron is to storyline. Nevertheless, well acted - good pace, and good moviemaking.
  52. BenW
    Dec 27, 2006
    2
    It is one thing to suspend belief for the plot's main storyline, but another to ignore the inconsistencies strewn throughout the movie. Why would the soldiers let them just wander off after discovering the only baby born in the last 18 years?
  53. RayeS
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Unsetting and conceivable, hits close to home in what direction the world is moving. So many small details slip by that tell even a deeper story of what has happened to the world. True violence portrayed in a way that is realistic, heartbreaking. Best film I have seen in a long long time.
  54. BruceM.
    Jan 11, 2007
    8
    This film is "Baghdad meets Bladerunner" and the near-term dystopia it evokes at times feels more cinema verite than science fiction. The film evokes powerful emotional resonance as it brings mankinds' two greatest impulses -- the destruction of life and the creation of life -- into startling relief.
  55. HollyR.
    Jan 10, 2007
    3
    Blade Runner is my all time favorite film, and while I appreciated the cinematography, special effects and gritty futuristic look of a world in ruins (Children Of Men), the significance of getting this pregnant woman/new baby to the "Human Project" was not explained at all. This movie has nothing on BR, not even in your wildest dreams!!! Sorry. How was the Human Project going to fix the Blade Runner is my all time favorite film, and while I appreciated the cinematography, special effects and gritty futuristic look of a world in ruins (Children Of Men), the significance of getting this pregnant woman/new baby to the "Human Project" was not explained at all. This movie has nothing on BR, not even in your wildest dreams!!! Sorry. How was the Human Project going to fix the problem of infertility in the world? How was one baby going to fix it? Nothing about this was ever explained and the ending was so abrupt it was like they ran out of time. A good movie considers these questions and answers them. I don't buy the whole "it makes you think" crap. That is a total cop-out. Good movies wrap things up. These problems were so huge it totally ruined the rest of an otherwise good film. Expand
  56. EricaK.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    The movie doesn't explain much, and there are few gradations between good and evil, but this story of hope and redemption is heartbreakingly played out. The fight scene in the refugee camp, which was shot in a single take with the cameraman following clive owen's character for about 7-11 minutes is an example of filmmaking bravura at its best.
  57. KatherynH.
    Jan 11, 2007
    8
    Grim cautionary tale of what might be in the not-too-distant future. Well-played by all. Could have used more of Moore, but overall no complaints.
  58. Lance"The'OlP"Romance
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    It's a difficult thing, defining a masterpiece, especially when the term is thrown about all too casually. And I wouldn't want to call this film 'important' either, because I don't believe it is a word that should ever be used when defining ANY work of art. A film (or anything at all for that matter) is only as important as you're willing to make it. I It's a difficult thing, defining a masterpiece, especially when the term is thrown about all too casually. And I wouldn't want to call this film 'important' either, because I don't believe it is a word that should ever be used when defining ANY work of art. A film (or anything at all for that matter) is only as important as you're willing to make it. I sometimes wish people wouldn't be so shallow as to spend so much of their precious time and energy on something as superficial as a series of moving images projected onto a large white screen, no matter its contents. Yet here I am, like many of you, spending both my time and energy typing away about this film (even if I do so implicitly). And so, I find that I am left with two possibilities; either I am just another shallow western civilian wasting away in contemplation of foolish things, or Children Of Men is truly important to me. In reality, both of these are true...and in a nutshell, this is what Children Of Men is all about. It's about most us, those of us who are 'aware' yet not bothered enough to transcend their mere 'awareness' of the problem. That is, until something comes along and lights a fire under their asses. For me, it may be this mere film, Children Of Men. Expand
  59. JudyT.
    Jan 13, 2007
    2
    Pointless message movie. Says nothing about brotherhood and people being inspired to come together.
  60. JamesK.
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    I've never felt so physically present in a movie, or as convinced of a near-future world. Amazing.
  61. DamonC.
    Jan 13, 2007
    3
    Very disappointing. This is NOT of the best movies of 2006. The narrative is a jumbled mess, the ending is thematically ambiguous - if humankind is so bad, then isn't better to just let it go away? the baby is not a symbol of innocence, but naive hope that will only be dashed again and again, for THAT is the message of COM. Watch for the B+ cinematography, and okay acting from Clive Very disappointing. This is NOT of the best movies of 2006. The narrative is a jumbled mess, the ending is thematically ambiguous - if humankind is so bad, then isn't better to just let it go away? the baby is not a symbol of innocence, but naive hope that will only be dashed again and again, for THAT is the message of COM. Watch for the B+ cinematography, and okay acting from Clive Owen, but forget about everything else. Expand
  62. CraigG.
    Jan 13, 2007
    4
    While I agree with many of the reviews that the cinematography was excellent, the character development and plot were both nonsensical and somehow oversimplified. Tell me again how why those soldiers just let Clive Owen and Kee just walk out of that building?
  63. RobertIvy
    Jan 14, 2007
    8
    Scenes of a futureworld turned sour crackle with immediacy and life. It's a trip through a cracked looking glass into a broken world.
  64. YoungCollegeStudent
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    the scene where Clive and the mother and daughter walk out of the building, past the adoring refugees and the stunned soldiers is pure brilliance.
  65. ChuckG.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    This is not only my favorite movie of the year, but one of my favorite movies of all time. I had to go back to the theater to see it again. This is the proper way to tell a story on the screen, anyone who wishes to make a good film in the future had better take notes from this one. The story was good and simple, straightforward from beginning to end and had me on the edge of my seat for This is not only my favorite movie of the year, but one of my favorite movies of all time. I had to go back to the theater to see it again. This is the proper way to tell a story on the screen, anyone who wishes to make a good film in the future had better take notes from this one. The story was good and simple, straightforward from beginning to end and had me on the edge of my seat for more than half the scenes. For once, there were no loose ends, nothing left needing, the story was full and finished. And the cinematography was unbelievable, almost impossibly fantastic in two much talked about long shots. But the reason I call this movie one of the greatest is the gripping untensity that I have never experienced in any movie I have ever seen. I will see this many more times. Expand
  66. mattallen
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Reading comments by ignorant fucks like Brian K. just aggrivate the shit out of me. His examples of why the movie was bad were just dreadful. Mention of a specific cause for the sudden infertility isn't necessary because it wouldn't have added anything to the overall message of the film (here I'll make a name of the disease up for you Brian-"You're a fuckingReading comments by ignorant fucks like Brian K. just aggrivate the shit out of me. His examples of why the movie was bad were just dreadful. Mention of a specific cause for the sudden infertility isn't necessary because it wouldn't have added anything to the overall message of the film (here I'll make a name of the disease up for you Brian-"You're a fucking cuntface-itis"). The ending was perfect. Rather than showing Khia being taken in and examined and the baby examined, etc. we just get a shot of the boat coming to rescue her. What more could you ask for? As for the blood on the camera, yea it had no specific purpose, but these guys are doing bravura long takes and the one that happened to be the best one was the one where blood happened to spray on the camera. It's really not that big of a deal and to have such an insignificant thing lend to you giving the movie a 3 is just ridiculous. I hope I never have to meet you Brian K. or anyone like you because it would just make me wish your mother would have been struck with a disease that rendered her incapable of having children. Expand
  67. RitaS.
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    Truely a frightening cinematic masterpiece of a future right on our doorstep!
  68. A.D
    Oct 16, 2007
    10
    You can touch the real future in this film.
  69. AndyL.
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    Please ignore the ones and twos inexplicably given by some viewers of this film. If someone is unable to follow the taut, driven narrative of this film, they probably can't find their way home without a map. Cuaron brilliantly illumiinates the razor's edge world in which we live, and crafts a deeply felt parable about where we look for hope amidst hopelessness, and the dangers ofPlease ignore the ones and twos inexplicably given by some viewers of this film. If someone is unable to follow the taut, driven narrative of this film, they probably can't find their way home without a map. Cuaron brilliantly illumiinates the razor's edge world in which we live, and crafts a deeply felt parable about where we look for hope amidst hopelessness, and the dangers of ideology run rampant, whether from the right OR the left. Expand
  70. James
    Jan 17, 2007
    9
    The most harrowing and thrilling movie I've seen in a long time. Great cinematography and message. Instant classic.
  71. DanC.
    Jan 17, 2007
    7
    One of the best premises I can recall mixed with just so-so execution. It didn't quite work for me. The uprising in the end didn't make much sense in the context of a prison camp (where did all those assault rifles come from? where did those Islamic militants get them???). Clive Owen is extremely good. Worth seeing, but ultimately not fully realized.
  72. JamesD.
    Jan 19, 2007
    4
    Script was lazy not enough history to feel with the characters why would one baby give hope. More imagination could have made this a great film about humanity instead of an action film with good characters.
  73. JasonK.
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    Just saw it today and absolutely loved it. It was gritty, it was grimy. It was real.
  74. MichaelB.
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    Outstanding film. From its opening moments it really grabbed me. While the film is riveting, t's got some great moments of black comedy, too. Definitely one of the best films I've seen in ages. Cuaron is a superb director.
  75. PaulK.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Riveting and visually stunning. A frightful view of what the future could be. The story was unpredictable, unsettling and completely and utterly engrossing. I Iaughed, I cried, I spent most of the time with my mouth open. Superbly acted and a technical masterpiece. You must see this. In the theater. Absolutely.
  76. PaulL.
    Jan 2, 2007
    4
    Well acted, but the premise of the movie was too implausible and the cynicism was just too much. Basically all the women on Earth become infertile for some strange reason and no one can figure out why. As a result, the world goes on a murderous rampage and I can't figure out why. Life is even more valuable than ever, yet the most inhumane acts and behavior seem as much a part of Well acted, but the premise of the movie was too implausible and the cynicism was just too much. Basically all the women on Earth become infertile for some strange reason and no one can figure out why. As a result, the world goes on a murderous rampage and I can't figure out why. Life is even more valuable than ever, yet the most inhumane acts and behavior seem as much a part of normal life as throwing out the garbage. I guess there are some Biblical undertones, but not really. It's just a vehicle for the writers' and filmakers' very cynical view of society. Too cynical to suspend disbelief for me. Expand
  77. BarryG.
    Jan 22, 2007
    0
    Ya know when you wake up and its overcast, cold, dreery and drizzling. You just want to go back inside and pull the covers up over your head. If had a blanket during this movie, i would have done the same thing...even on the ju-ju bean dried up coke strewn floor. This movie was a disappointment on so many levels i dont know where to begin. No developed plot, no character development and Ya know when you wake up and its overcast, cold, dreery and drizzling. You just want to go back inside and pull the covers up over your head. If had a blanket during this movie, i would have done the same thing...even on the ju-ju bean dried up coke strewn floor. This movie was a disappointment on so many levels i dont know where to begin. No developed plot, no character development and continual (but non-gruesome) violence to make your stomach turn. And the ending made the entire theater leave with confused faces, angry stomps and even laughs. I cannot believe the critics loved this one. Its a total unadulterated mess i wouldnt waste a rental on. Expand
  78. GrayB.
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    First of all, the movie is NOT trying to reflect any US policy, nor is it about politics. For the person who couldn't understand why the animals reproduced but the humans became infertile, you are comparing apples to oranges. The "cease-fire" happened because no one had seen a baby in 18 years! The movie did not wrap up neatly because nothing in life wraps up neatly. If the movie had First of all, the movie is NOT trying to reflect any US policy, nor is it about politics. For the person who couldn't understand why the animals reproduced but the humans became infertile, you are comparing apples to oranges. The "cease-fire" happened because no one had seen a baby in 18 years! The movie did not wrap up neatly because nothing in life wraps up neatly. If the movie had answered every question, e.g. "what is the human project" or "how did humans become infertile" it would not have allowed me to come up with answers on my own. That's what makes the movie engaging. Expand
  79. Rex
    Jan 23, 2007
    7
    A dark view of the World when hope is lost and the end is near. The beginning of the movie does not properly set up the middle and end. What exactly happened to the rest of the world? Why is Great Britain the only country to remain intact? I have not read the book, which I plan on doing shortly, but I would imagine it is much better than the film. Also, what caused the infertility, the A dark view of the World when hope is lost and the end is near. The beginning of the movie does not properly set up the middle and end. What exactly happened to the rest of the world? Why is Great Britain the only country to remain intact? I have not read the book, which I plan on doing shortly, but I would imagine it is much better than the film. Also, what caused the infertility, the flu pandemic . . .? Too many questions left unanswered. Good, but not great. Expand
  80. MikeyP.
    Jan 24, 2007
    4
    Why, why, why? Every year- a couple times a year, unfortunately - the critics latch onto some average-at-best movie and praise it like it's the second coming of "Apocalypse Now." I just don't get it. There's really not much to like in "Children of Men." It's the "A History of Violence" phenomenom. Two words: stay away.
  81. GlennS.
    Jan 26, 2007
    3
    Most depressing movie I've every seen, bar none. I spent a year in Viet Nam, and this movie made me physically ill.
  82. LM
    Jan 27, 2007
    1
    Generally when these things try to make statements, they give some sort of action call at the end. The only take home message I got was make babies while you can. On the bright side of things, it might be a good husband/wife outting. Just make sure you set up the college fund first.
  83. BillyS.
    Jan 5, 2007
    9
    A Brilliant, Visionary film. The first movie set in the future that is at times terrifying simply because it is so real to the direction the world is heading today. The music and production design are perfect right down to the smallest detail, but it is the cinematography by Emmanuel Lubezski that takes giant leaps into how the camera is everything to the pulse of a movie. There are A Brilliant, Visionary film. The first movie set in the future that is at times terrifying simply because it is so real to the direction the world is heading today. The music and production design are perfect right down to the smallest detail, but it is the cinematography by Emmanuel Lubezski that takes giant leaps into how the camera is everything to the pulse of a movie. There are scenes in this movie that simply swallow you into screen like shots of adrenelin and give you cinematic rushes like you've never seen or felt before! It is a bleak, yet amazing story and Alfonso Cuaron balances it to perfection. Any mind that concieve a scene with "Court of the Crimson King" playing on a set inspired by the cover of Pink Floyd's Animals is pure Genius!! Children of Men is one of the 5 Best Pictures of the Year!! Expand
  84. KurtM.
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    The most daring vision brought to screen in recent years. Pic's brand of chaotic, interactive filmmaking pioneered by the likes of Cuaron and Paul Greengrass make for an intense and heartbraking journey that never once exploits its profound themes. For some reason, people have decided that movies cannot be both depressing and good at the same time, even if they convey authentic The most daring vision brought to screen in recent years. Pic's brand of chaotic, interactive filmmaking pioneered by the likes of Cuaron and Paul Greengrass make for an intense and heartbraking journey that never once exploits its profound themes. For some reason, people have decided that movies cannot be both depressing and good at the same time, even if they convey authentic truths about the world. This film will be considered depressing by those who do not actively engage it. Those of us who give ourselves over to the experience will come away inspired. Expand
  85. HalB.
    Jan 5, 2007
    8
    I came away from this film feeling as if I'd been immersed in another world for two hours. A dark and gut-wrenching portrayal of one possible future, and not that far off! Brutally bleak and violent for much of its duration, at least it ends on a hopeful note. Definitely some amazing cinematography and direction. A few indelible images and scenes that will stay in my mind for a long I came away from this film feeling as if I'd been immersed in another world for two hours. A dark and gut-wrenching portrayal of one possible future, and not that far off! Brutally bleak and violent for much of its duration, at least it ends on a hopeful note. Definitely some amazing cinematography and direction. A few indelible images and scenes that will stay in my mind for a long time. Kind of The Nativity meets Saving Private Ryan, with some Bladerunner thrown in for good measure. Quite a film; but not everyone's cup of tea. Permeated by gallons of political/social commentary; very relevant to our current times. Take your politically outspoken friends (at either end of the spectrum) to see it and let the conversation begin... Expand
  86. BetsyB.
    Jan 5, 2007
    2
    This movie made no sense. I haven't read the book but I hope it is not as terrible as this movie. Acting was OK, but there were so many ridiculous holes that I pretty much laughed my way throuth this one.
  87. EricS.
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    This is hands down the best movie of the year, a stunning example of how to craft an action-thriller. Despite the futuristic setting this is not by any means sci-fi. Rather, it is a dystopian vision of the future with a focus on the characters. This is a story about people, not advanced technology and complex action sequences (although that is not to say the film lacks excitement; if any This is hands down the best movie of the year, a stunning example of how to craft an action-thriller. Despite the futuristic setting this is not by any means sci-fi. Rather, it is a dystopian vision of the future with a focus on the characters. This is a story about people, not advanced technology and complex action sequences (although that is not to say the film lacks excitement; if any thing, your attachment to the characters heightens it). As much as I enjoy mindless action, Children of Men proves that the genre is capable of producing more than cheap entertainment. This movie dark tone and underlying cynicism probably won't win it any Oscars, but if their is any justice, it will go down as classic. Expand
  88. DWilly
    Jan 6, 2007
    9
    I can't add anything to the rightly glowing reviews and numbers that, in this nearly lone case, I agree with. Masterful, moving, harrowing. I've always liked Clive Owen but confess to having felt him a bit overrated for his narrow toughguy stance; but here he is loose and vulnerable and I'd like to shake his hand for carrying this important film that I know must have been a I can't add anything to the rightly glowing reviews and numbers that, in this nearly lone case, I agree with. Masterful, moving, harrowing. I've always liked Clive Owen but confess to having felt him a bit overrated for his narrow toughguy stance; but here he is loose and vulnerable and I'd like to shake his hand for carrying this important film that I know must have been a very difficult to make. Expand
  89. DavidA
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Simply a great movie, incredible action, acting and a moving story.
  90. ShaunX.
    Jan 6, 2007
    9
    Excellent film. Cinematography is amazing. Atmosphere is great.
  91. ColbyS.
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. The best movie I've seen in years. Not a dull moment, unoriginal element or hackneyed conversation to be found.
  92. Aly
    Jan 6, 2007
    1
    This movie is the 2nd worst movie I've seen in my life. I was completely upset that a good somewhat original film idea was screwed up so badly. As others have said there is no character development (the "love" between Julianne Moore and Clive Owen is nonexistent) and the plot is FULL of holes. I feel this movie was somehow rushed in its making and they just kind of threw it together This movie is the 2nd worst movie I've seen in my life. I was completely upset that a good somewhat original film idea was screwed up so badly. As others have said there is no character development (the "love" between Julianne Moore and Clive Owen is nonexistent) and the plot is FULL of holes. I feel this movie was somehow rushed in its making and they just kind of threw it together hoping there might be some good parts. I can't believe that this was given such high reviews and I wait for the next movie with a similar idea that might be done right. Expand
  93. Dylan
    Jan 7, 2007
    5
    Sure, it's well-done, but the plot line wasn't terribly coherent. The real climax occurs in the middle, and the rest just seems forced/contrived. It kept my attenton, but by the end, I can't say I was glad I watched it.
  94. JonathanA.
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    This film carries with it a subtle brilliance that should inspire a strong sence of emotion. This film will be good for Clive's resume actingwise and an altogether excellent film. I don't feel that this film will get the respect it deserves as many will see it as just a movie, but, i saw it as a message to the human race. This film both assisted me in losing faith in humanity This film carries with it a subtle brilliance that should inspire a strong sence of emotion. This film will be good for Clive's resume actingwise and an altogether excellent film. I don't feel that this film will get the respect it deserves as many will see it as just a movie, but, i saw it as a message to the human race. This film both assisted me in losing faith in humanity while also gaining hope. A masterpiece. Expand
  95. JacobG.
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    A masterpiece of a film. The best movie I have seen since the Return of the King. This one will haunt you for days.
  96. AntonioA.
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    Keeps your attention and heart pounding at the edge of your seat. The surroudning signs, artifacts, newspaper clippings and scenery greatly enhances the understanding of the plot.
  97. stasz
    Jan 9, 2007
    1
    times like this make me think somebody gets paid for writing reviews and it's not me. Movie has no point and it's absolutely boring. Worst ending in a while as well. Perfect fit for my "whooppie doo" collection.
  98. ChrisM.
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    A gritty, haunting vision into the future. Some say it is depressing. True. But the only thing more depressing is the amount of people who don't understand this movie. I can't believe how much I liked it. It made so many films seem so trite, minor, and ultimately, trivial. Please, let's make more movies like this one.
  99. AndrewF.
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    The best film of the decade. Technically astonishing, full of joy and passion and of utter misery. It's frighteningly realistic, and that's why it's so powerful. We can see these things happening to us, and we can understand the psychology of the characters. Too many people are stuck in the so-called "politics" of the film- it's not about politics. It's about the The best film of the decade. Technically astonishing, full of joy and passion and of utter misery. It's frighteningly realistic, and that's why it's so powerful. We can see these things happening to us, and we can understand the psychology of the characters. Too many people are stuck in the so-called "politics" of the film- it's not about politics. It's about the human condition and what it means to be just a small speck in this seemingly incomprehensible world; it's about hope and despair; it's about being alive. I just may call this the greatest film achievement ever. Expand
  100. AramisG.
    Feb 12, 2007
    8
    Who exactly does the politics of this film offend? And since when is it off limits to put a political statement in a film? Unless you sat through this movie with political tunnel vision, I think you would notice they do a convincing job of show the evils of extremism left or right. This film has some of the most intense war zone scenes I've seen since Saving Private Ryan. It does an Who exactly does the politics of this film offend? And since when is it off limits to put a political statement in a film? Unless you sat through this movie with political tunnel vision, I think you would notice they do a convincing job of show the evils of extremism left or right. This film has some of the most intense war zone scenes I've seen since Saving Private Ryan. It does an outstanding job of balancing the frailties of life against the harsh brutalities of war. If it does have an overt political message, it is that war is hell on Earth. I think both sides can agree on that. Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    70
    Children of Men leaves too many questions unanswered, yet it has a stunning visceral impact. You can forgive a lot in the face of filmmaking this dazzling.
  2. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    80
    Picture more than delivers on the action front -- not in bang-for-your-buck spectacle but in the kind of gritty, doculike sequences that haul viewers out of their seats and alongside the main protags.
  3. Owen carries the film more in the tradition of a Jimmy Stewart or Henry Fonda than a Clint Eastwood or Harrison Ford. He has to wear flip-flops for part of the time without losing his dignity, and he never reaches for a weapon or guns anyone down. Cuaron and Owen may have created the first believable 21st-century movie hero.