User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 794 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulD.
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies I've seen. Beautiful, horrifying, impactful and unpretentious.
  2. VM.
    Feb 15, 2007
    0
    This movie is the definition of pretentious. And it is boring. Be warned.
  3. MichaelG.
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    Definitely one of the best movies in cinematography. I would place it in the same raw with such as Clockwork Orange, Blade Runner, Platoon, God Father, Dogville, Piano Teacher, Tarnation e.t.c Go in watch it in the cinema if you can. Not DVD. Very intelligent, good casted, great directed unbeleavable filmed, and very clever sound design! You will leave the theatre with only one word...WOW
  4. Paul
    Feb 17, 2007
    9
    WOW this movie was awesome! I can't believe one reviewer said it was boring! It took about 10 minutes to get into it, but once the craziness started, it never stopped. And I was amazed at some of the camerawork and editing. One scene near the end, where there were bombs going off, bullets flying, tanks shooting buildings, looked like it was done all in one shot! I dont know how they WOW this movie was awesome! I can't believe one reviewer said it was boring! It took about 10 minutes to get into it, but once the craziness started, it never stopped. And I was amazed at some of the camerawork and editing. One scene near the end, where there were bombs going off, bullets flying, tanks shooting buildings, looked like it was done all in one shot! I dont know how they did it, but it made for one f***ing intense scene!!! This is one movie I'll be buying soon. Expand
  5. JeffG.
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    Extraordinary film. Should have been nominated for Best Director and Picture. I saw this about 5 weeks ago and still think about it.
  6. BrutusO.
    Mar 11, 2007
    4
    Pretty boring and obvious dystopian fantasy if you ask me. Another one in the long line of desperately dull and worthy sci-fi movies purporting to deal with gloomy and "serious" topics (Fahrenheit 451, Black Moon, 1984, The Island) by portraying repressive apocalyptic societies of genetic fascists and merciless social engineers. Michael Caine is good as the aging hippy (precisely because Pretty boring and obvious dystopian fantasy if you ask me. Another one in the long line of desperately dull and worthy sci-fi movies purporting to deal with gloomy and "serious" topics (Fahrenheit 451, Black Moon, 1984, The Island) by portraying repressive apocalyptic societies of genetic fascists and merciless social engineers. Michael Caine is good as the aging hippy (precisely because he didn't get too overwhelmed by his own tragedy), but overall the movie was mostly unaffecting and more than a bit trite. The absurdity of the plot device about the mysterious boat taking the baby and the mother away to safety at the end is beyond pathetic. Heavy handed cinema that thinks that juxtaposing pompous topicality and multi cultural rhetoric somehow automatically generates art (Babel anyone?). Guys, get a grip - refugees and internment camps are intrinsically boring as cinema, not fascinating. Needlessly intense and angst ridden, and about as scientific (though not nearly as entertaining) as Day of the Triffids or the Omega Man. Somehow, however, this dismal film ended up with quite a good soundtrack. So it gets one point extra. Expand
  7. RG.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    this was a great year as cinema has clearly stretched its boundaries. curon's epic film, which captures the smallest moments on a journey to find a boat, is the best movie last year. the layers upon layers of visual narration is incredibly effective as a world in which there is no hope left. the bleak look of the film is counterbalanced by michael kane's perf and brilliant this was a great year as cinema has clearly stretched its boundaries. curon's epic film, which captures the smallest moments on a journey to find a boat, is the best movie last year. the layers upon layers of visual narration is incredibly effective as a world in which there is no hope left. the bleak look of the film is counterbalanced by michael kane's perf and brilliant litlle moments (cat on owen's leg durring fishes meeting). i mean there is soo much in every category to write about. actors were great, cinematography is the best i have ever seen.The topics the are tackled are very immidiate and for all the ppl who ask for explanations of the plots need look no further than current events. heartbreaking yet incredibly hopeful film. Expand
  8. JoakimL.
    Mar 16, 2007
    9
    Children of Men is a dynamic mix of humour, drama and pure adrenaline action. One of the best pictures of 2006/2007 (it was released in december 2006, and on DVD in march 2007). I highly recommend it!
  9. Sam
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    An emotionally powerful story, great cinematography (the one-shot 10 minute war sequence in the streets), great twist early on, and a satisfying conclusion left this viewer feeling that this was one of the best and most important films of the decade.
  10. MarkA.
    Mar 23, 2007
    4
    Awful movie. The first half of the movie is devoid of point and seems ad libbed (poorly). The second half is a little better. Too bad, the concept has a lot of potential.
  11. Alex
    Mar 26, 2007
    0
    Huh? Can anybody explain the movie to me? Because after seeing it, I was kind of confuse throughout most the whole movie and I just don't quite understand why people are giving such praise to this. I keep asking people to explain it to me but all they keep telling is "Well...it was shot reallly well" and "It just makes you think...what if?".....Well considering that this movie hadHuh? Can anybody explain the movie to me? Because after seeing it, I was kind of confuse throughout most the whole movie and I just don't quite understand why people are giving such praise to this. I keep asking people to explain it to me but all they keep telling is "Well...it was shot reallly well" and "It just makes you think...what if?".....Well considering that this movie had absolutely no plot and no development in any way its difficult for me to consider the possibilities of this happening. ZERO! Expand
  12. SomeDude
    Mar 28, 2007
    9
    Don't even bother looking at the bad reivews. They don't know what they're talking about. This movie is great! Starts off kinda slow and a little confusing because they never really explain what's going on with the world, but once it starts, it doesnt let go. The action scene towards the end was probably the best I've seen in a movie in quite a while. Go rent it, Don't even bother looking at the bad reivews. They don't know what they're talking about. This movie is great! Starts off kinda slow and a little confusing because they never really explain what's going on with the world, but once it starts, it doesnt let go. The action scene towards the end was probably the best I've seen in a movie in quite a while. Go rent it, make your own decision, but I guarantee you'll like it. Expand
  13. JasonL.
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    This isn't a good movie, it's a brilliant movie. Watch this. Children of men is so compelling, smart, creative, visually astounding and mind blowing, that I can't stop thinking about it. The reviews are pretty divided, either 10's, 9's or 0's and 1's. The low scores are from people who just don't get it and these people never will. If you have good This isn't a good movie, it's a brilliant movie. Watch this. Children of men is so compelling, smart, creative, visually astounding and mind blowing, that I can't stop thinking about it. The reviews are pretty divided, either 10's, 9's or 0's and 1's. The low scores are from people who just don't get it and these people never will. If you have good taste and half a brain, you will love this, guaranteed. I have seen a lot of good films this year, and this was easily my favorite. Pan's Labyrinth came second. Expand
  14. PatrickR.
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    Inspired belongs with Pan's Labyrinth and United 93 as the top films I've seen all year. it's science fiction done right which means it doesn't hit you over the head with the obvious issues. cuaron mesmerizes you and draws all into a flim of lyrical beauty.
  15. HarryP.
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    Quite simply, the best film of last year, one whose power, moral nuance, and depth grow upon repeated viewings. (The HD DVD looks and sounds better, a bonus considering the inaudibility of much of the dialog in the theatre.)
  16. ChrisB.
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    A 10 for those who gave it a 0 and who don't obviously know anything about film!Gripping, heart-pounding entertainment.
  17. DavidC.
    Apr 21, 2007
    2
    I was really looking forward to seeing this -- perhaps that's why I was so disappointed. This is a cops 'n robbers chase movie -- very little actual plot. Some of the action cinematography is great (what little there is of it), but it's definitely not enough to make this worth renting. I found this movie boring. (For reference sake, I also found Blade Runner boring. I like I was really looking forward to seeing this -- perhaps that's why I was so disappointed. This is a cops 'n robbers chase movie -- very little actual plot. Some of the action cinematography is great (what little there is of it), but it's definitely not enough to make this worth renting. I found this movie boring. (For reference sake, I also found Blade Runner boring. I like sci-fi, but I also like to be kept on the edge of my seat. These movies failed to do this for me.) Expand
  18. ChrisG.
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    I'm not a big movie "expert" as most of you other voters seem to be. Can someone help me out and explain "character development". And for everyone who voted 0 and 1, does every last detail need to be explained? Very Anti-Climatic? Will one of you "experts" tell me how a movie should end?
  19. Penny
    Apr 22, 2007
    0
    This was absolutely one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Bad acting, bad script and boring.
  20. Pat
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Amazing...my favorite of 2006 by far. Much is communicated visually which is where I think some people get lost- if anything watch it for the visual spectacle and insanely long shots.
  21. BrianT.
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    A movie this stylish, well written and entertaining does not come around that often. The true feat of this movie is making the audience belive that this futuristic dystopia is plausible.
  22. BarryC.
    Apr 4, 2007
    1
    Film blunders from nowhere to nowhere, are we supposed to know what is happening?. I simply cannot understand the acclaim this pretentious film is getting. Cinematography is excellent, that is the only positive thing that I can say.
  23. EnriqueS.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    Mesmerizing dystopian nightmare is a masterpiece of the new millennium. Prodigious filmmaking at its finest. Cuaron is a force to be reckoned with. Clive Owen and Claire-Hope Ashitey are enthralling and ultimately engaging.
  24. BenF.
    Apr 7, 2007
    3
    Great effects. It's just too bad it's another mental exercise. What about those of us who do get it and still thought this movie was boring? Like that one child would even make a difference in that world. I was waiting for a stray bullet to hit the baby. That would have given this movie some meaning.
  25. GinoM.
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    This film is a gripping fantasy that harbors more than meets the eye. I can't wait to watch it again to see what new emotions and feelings are conjured up within me. The fabulous cinemetography is a given, and not the source of debate. Morever, it's truly complex nature of issues that underpin the futuristic plot of this movie that really get people polorized...I'm on the This film is a gripping fantasy that harbors more than meets the eye. I can't wait to watch it again to see what new emotions and feelings are conjured up within me. The fabulous cinemetography is a given, and not the source of debate. Morever, it's truly complex nature of issues that underpin the futuristic plot of this movie that really get people polorized...I'm on the positive side of that spectrum. An eyeopening vignette into the plausible effects of a global earth. Expand
  26. RichardK.
    Apr 8, 2007
    1
    Hey everyone, read the book and THEN rate the movie...this adaptation is utter garbage; only the general plot survives. I bet the author of the book did not approve this drivel. An over-hyped waste of time and money. What a disappointment.
  27. JohnB.
    May 12, 2007
    7
    Though Children of Men presents an apocalyptic science fiction, the human side of this story is deeply woven in all aspects of a not so far out possible future. The first half of this movie plays out like an observation of what humanity would do in such a situation. The only problem here is that once the real substance of the film comes in, it barely holds on long enough to bring you to Though Children of Men presents an apocalyptic science fiction, the human side of this story is deeply woven in all aspects of a not so far out possible future. The first half of this movie plays out like an observation of what humanity would do in such a situation. The only problem here is that once the real substance of the film comes in, it barely holds on long enough to bring you to an ultimately disappointing end. Everything seemed so well thought out until logic managed to escape everyone. Thankfully, enough of this movie provides insight and provokes thought from the audience. It will leave you rattled as well as slightly frustrated. Expand
  28. LindaL.
    May 22, 2007
    7
    Depressing and thought-provoking, this film prompts the frustrating, unanswered questions many have mentioned, yet I was carried along .It's a dark vision of a horrible future that (a nagging voice in your head tells you) might not be completely impossible. Got a little bored during the final hide-and-chase sequence, but never with Clive Owen's world-weary face. If you like him Depressing and thought-provoking, this film prompts the frustrating, unanswered questions many have mentioned, yet I was carried along .It's a dark vision of a horrible future that (a nagging voice in your head tells you) might not be completely impossible. Got a little bored during the final hide-and-chase sequence, but never with Clive Owen's world-weary face. If you like him in this, rent "I'll Sleep When I'm Dead." Expand
  29. DanH.
    May 25, 2007
    6
    Critics are ass backwards. This movie was original yes, but it was also boring, had a weak ending, the story was wack, everything about it was so average it made me sick. But yet, because it threw a new idea in it, critics loved it. Critics, I give YOU a and this movie, a 6/10. Average, nothing special, and weak.
  30. BrettB.
    May 4, 2007
    1
    Terrible film based on a great novel. The acting was atrocious, especially considering the high-quality of the actors. The high ratings of the critics suggest a mis-calibration or a misquotation by this website.
  31. ChristopherS.
    May 5, 2007
    4
    Weakly entertaining, like watching a long, overproduced commercial for a product you'd never buy. Conceptually trite, with nothing innovative or challenge to help it along, and a rehash of plenty of better films. Interesting cinematography, which does little to hide a lack of any compelling content or concepts. Seriously, you'd think all these glowing reviews were written by Weakly entertaining, like watching a long, overproduced commercial for a product you'd never buy. Conceptually trite, with nothing innovative or challenge to help it along, and a rehash of plenty of better films. Interesting cinematography, which does little to hide a lack of any compelling content or concepts. Seriously, you'd think all these glowing reviews were written by people who had somehow managed to miss the entirety of Western cinema. A real disappointment. Expand
  32. chadswee
    May 9, 2007
    4
    I simply dont understand how this movie could possibly recieve the "universal acclaim" status it has. I mean it has an extremely, extremely, weak cast, little to no character development, and while the overall plot idea is fairly good, the director does nothing to answer any questions or make it interesting. To put it plain and simple this movie is- Woman cannot have babies. GuyI simply dont understand how this movie could possibly recieve the "universal acclaim" status it has. I mean it has an extremely, extremely, weak cast, little to no character development, and while the overall plot idea is fairly good, the director does nothing to answer any questions or make it interesting. To put it plain and simple this movie is- Woman cannot have babies. Guy transports girl, who is somehow pregnant to safety. Roll credits. Why, why, why? This movie gets a four because i could at least sit through it. Expand
  33. Gordym
    May 9, 2007
    4
    First half an hour was ok. From then though the film simply dragged through to a messy conclusion. Unconvincing, unoriginal piece of filmaking. Still not convinced that Clive Owen makes a decent lead either.
  34. AMovieCritic
    Jun 19, 2007
    4
    I'm a fan of futuristic movies, and I'm a fan of good filmmaking, but unfortunately, director Alfonso Cuaron wasn't able to draw me in. The movie is extremely well-made. Cuaron features several one-take shots, for example, one with one long, uninterrupted shot with 1 camera, while a car is attacked. It's a really cool way to shoot the scene, but does it make the scene I'm a fan of futuristic movies, and I'm a fan of good filmmaking, but unfortunately, director Alfonso Cuaron wasn't able to draw me in. The movie is extremely well-made. Cuaron features several one-take shots, for example, one with one long, uninterrupted shot with 1 camera, while a car is attacked. It's a really cool way to shoot the scene, but does it make the scene more exciting? Unfortunately, no, which pretty much sums up the movie. It's very well shot and well-made, but it's just not exciting enough. Cuaron is not an action director, it's that simple, and while he definitely excels at making atmospheric and artistic movies, his (few) action scenes just fail to really excite. In a futuristic world loaded with terrorist attacks in the streets, women completely unable to have babies, and resistance groups and dictatorships, the movie strangely decides to shove this all into the background and focus instead on the subject of illegal immigration, which, really, isn't all that interesting, especially considering their other choices. The movie ends up bogging itself down after a great first half hour, when we leave futuristic London and spend a lot of time in the countryside or at small houses. The movie makes little effort to establish its futuristic world or characters, which is a mistake. You look at a movie like The Island, where they spend nearly half the movie setting up this world and character....that's how it should be done, otherwise, we have a chaotic world but we are never told WHY things are like this, why women are infertile, etc. etc. etc. Characters and their motives are sketchy throughout. The ending was also very unsatisfying, giving us no insight into what anyone gained by any of this, and makes us wonder why we even sat through it. Again, Cuaron stages some well-shot action scenes, but they lack purpose or excitement. This is a chase movie without the chase, and I couldn't even recommend it as a rental. It's just more sleep-inducing than anything. Expand
  35. NickA.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    The year 2006 in film ended as it started some eight months prior: with a forceful work of unflinching potency. First 'United 93,' now 'Children of Men;' never before have I been witness to two movies of such great power in the same year of release as I had in 2006. As '93' worked on the level of a power-driven docu-drama, thrust forth by the emotion of such The year 2006 in film ended as it started some eight months prior: with a forceful work of unflinching potency. First 'United 93,' now 'Children of Men;' never before have I been witness to two movies of such great power in the same year of release as I had in 2006. As '93' worked on the level of a power-driven docu-drama, thrust forth by the emotion of such tragic events our nation has ever seen, 'Children of Men' reminds us, with heightened intensity, where our problems in this day in age could put us twenty years down the road. Tackling the whole spectrum of world events with vigor and unrelenting passion, 'Children' makes for both intellectually challenging and irresistibly entertaining movie-viewing. In Cuaron Expand
  36. SeanM.
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    Absolutely brilliant, Clive Owen at his peek as he shows us why he's an outstanding acto, A++ performances by all the actors, this is such a great movie as it shows something that we probably take for granted in our lives
  37. Amy
    Oct 24, 2008
    0
    Surprisingly BAD. Too predictable, too obvious, no cleverness, forced "originality". What's that word? Oh, contrived. I've rarely been so annoyed. It was a good premise, but the film was complete rubbish. RUBBISH. I WISH there was something thought-provoking in it. If you require this drivel to provoke your thoughts, you clearly need to spend more time THINKING. I am Surprisingly BAD. Too predictable, too obvious, no cleverness, forced "originality". What's that word? Oh, contrived. I've rarely been so annoyed. It was a good premise, but the film was complete rubbish. RUBBISH. I WISH there was something thought-provoking in it. If you require this drivel to provoke your thoughts, you clearly need to spend more time THINKING. I am disappointed in all of you who think or pretend to think this was a great film. It was devoid of intellectual value, I promise you. Look again, and look with some intelligence. Think how much better it should have been. Honestly, was anything in this movie something new to you? Are you still in Jr. High? How could these concepts be news to you otherwise? Will someone PLEASE give me something to stir my mind? It's been too many years without something truly inspiring and I'm going to give up looking pretty soon! I am thankful to see there are a few people with discerning minds out there, though. I had been worrying that there was nobody out there whom I could respect. So many people are so easily impressed by the most banal of ideas. Are they just pretentious or stupid? Both? I wish I could figure it out. Why aren't more people angered by a waste of time like this film? It was an insult to our intelligence, folks!!! Expand
  38. PaulJ.
    Feb 15, 2008
    1
    The story in Children of Men is practically non-existent and covered not much more than an action packed chase from the old peril to the land of deliverance. But this was done on purpose to not loose focus on the sublime messages it miserably failed to communicate because they forgot to include them. As a result many of the scenes drag relentlessly while jarring opera music and a The story in Children of Men is practically non-existent and covered not much more than an action packed chase from the old peril to the land of deliverance. But this was done on purpose to not loose focus on the sublime messages it miserably failed to communicate because they forgot to include them. As a result many of the scenes drag relentlessly while jarring opera music and a hate-crime of a muzak cover-version of 'Ruby Tuesday' plundered that what was left of the viewer's will to live. A bleak, simplistic and utterly pointless affair. Recommended only to viewers with no imagination and to people who can shut down their brain at will. Expand
  39. JoeB.
    Feb 6, 2008
    2
    Dull. Boring. Pointless. Not entertaining. Not much of a message. Sometimes hard to understand dialog. Need I say more.
  40. JosefB.
    Mar 20, 2008
    1
    Baffled at the praise this almost b-movie has received. Special mention must go to the cringeworthy acting performance by Claire hope Ashity (Kee) and the embarrassing cameo by Caine. Apart from other variables, for me the movie is completely ruined by the ill conceived script featuring umong other abominable scenes a particular one in which is described how the midwife came to notice the Baffled at the praise this almost b-movie has received. Special mention must go to the cringeworthy acting performance by Claire hope Ashity (Kee) and the embarrassing cameo by Caine. Apart from other variables, for me the movie is completely ruined by the ill conceived script featuring umong other abominable scenes a particular one in which is described how the midwife came to notice the sudden stop of newly born children in the world (then) 18 years ago (which is now).Trying to remember it correctly, I think she stated that she noticed a rapid decline in new births in her area and that of her collegues over a period of weeks. Seriously people, who in their right minds wrote this poor excuse of a script? If this were to happen now, you wouldn't be hearing from it from a coworker nor your neighbour, it would be all over the bloody news 24/7, the Internet and God knows what else. This particular scene stood out, but there are numerous other ones that are just as proposterous uncluding the laughably vapid ending. Shame on everyone with an iq above 100 who consider this good cinema. Expand
  41. RandyM.
    Jun 27, 2008
    9
    Well...what can I say about Children of Men? It's a completely heartbreaking thrill ride that'll keep you glued to your seat. Simply outstanding.
  42. TimP.
    Jul 28, 2008
    9
    A true gem of a film. It is clearly intended to make viewers think... I've read some mixed reviews and it seems that those who slated the film either didn't understand it or are cretins who prefer cheesy Hollywood action flicks. Very realistic and gritty scenes - most realistic birth scene I've ever seen. The use of hand held cameras, and the blood on the lens for several A true gem of a film. It is clearly intended to make viewers think... I've read some mixed reviews and it seems that those who slated the film either didn't understand it or are cretins who prefer cheesy Hollywood action flicks. Very realistic and gritty scenes - most realistic birth scene I've ever seen. The use of hand held cameras, and the blood on the lens for several minutes adds to the realism of the film. Caine's portrayal of a dope growing hippie was fantastic and very entertaining. A breath of fresh air to not have to watch a film dumbed down for the American market - I recommend it! Expand
  43. GarryL.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    One of my favorite films of all time. An ambitious, complete and chillingly believable vision of the near future. It is beautifully shot - action scenes are visceral and made all the more heart-pounding with the decision to extend them into shots minutes long, rather than Hollywood's customary nanosecond cuts. It is gloomy and uncompromising, but this is because it's an honest One of my favorite films of all time. An ambitious, complete and chillingly believable vision of the near future. It is beautifully shot - action scenes are visceral and made all the more heart-pounding with the decision to extend them into shots minutes long, rather than Hollywood's customary nanosecond cuts. It is gloomy and uncompromising, but this is because it's an honest script that doesn't pander to viewers who, rather than being challenged by what they've seen, would like some soggy popcorn happy ending as an antidote to their daily grind. Expand
  44. DerekColeman
    Sep 18, 2008
    9
    !!!!!!!!!!READ!!!!!!!!!! Every time I see a movie that I believe is good, I like to read all of the negative reviews, as it helps me to conclude my opinion. Yes, the plot of this movie was not a conventional one, nor did the ending leave us with a sense of closure. However, there are many factors that make this movie unique and brilliant. The events portrayed in this film are so realistic !!!!!!!!!!READ!!!!!!!!!! Every time I see a movie that I believe is good, I like to read all of the negative reviews, as it helps me to conclude my opinion. Yes, the plot of this movie was not a conventional one, nor did the ending leave us with a sense of closure. However, there are many factors that make this movie unique and brilliant. The events portrayed in this film are so realistic that it can almost be classed as non-fiction science fiction. I can't believe the naivity of people who think that society wouldn't revert back to the dark ages if a pandemic of this speed and magnitude were introduced to humanity. I think the best scene in the movie was the part where Theo is being driven to his cousin's place and the song "In the Court of the Crimson King" by King Crimson is being played. The scene is Theo (Owen) observing what transitioned from a crowd of desperate protestors and "fugees" to the high class citizens of Britain as he is chauffeured to his cousin's place. The scene was filmed brilliantly and the choice of music was absolutely perfect. The only reason I gave this movie a 9 and not a 10 is because the plot could have been a little better in the fact that it is greatly unbelievable that the infertility pandemic would have onset to every human in the world so quickly. I just couldn't believe that Theo and Julian had a child, Dylan, and now for some reason couldn't. If Theo and Julian were born infertile then that would have made more sense to me. The fact is, having children is what gives the majority of humans a sense of purpose and meaning. I feel that this movie did an excellent job in portraying the insanity that would ensue from a massive infertility pandemic. Who knows, if something like that were to happen in the future, perhaps it would be an even more violent and bleak existance for the remaining humans on Earth. Expand
  45. HaleighO
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    Awesome, original movie. people complain that all movies are so predictable and then when the ending doesn't go how they want, like theo dying for example, they still complain. it was meant to have alot of unanswered questions because it's a dystopian film- it makes the audience think for themselves.
  46. kena
    Dec 26, 2009
    2
    Very mediocre movie, did not live up the ratings in the least. no explanation, character development, or message whatsoever.
  47. JD
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    Wow the level of idiocy of some of these users just blows my mind...like the guy who kept complaining that London isn't like the one in the movie. It's a fictional FUTURE you genius. Anyways, I LOVE this film. It's very engaging, the cinematography is excellent, and the acting is great.
  48. R.Lopez
    Feb 4, 2009
    10
    I was wandering in a DVD shop one day just looking for something to buy, anything that looked interesting and I came across Children of Men, at first I wasn't really interested in it so I went on to look for something else, but amazingly something compelled me to buy this movie. And I did, and now I'm glad I did Children of Men does what most dystpoia sci-fi adventures rarely I was wandering in a DVD shop one day just looking for something to buy, anything that looked interesting and I came across Children of Men, at first I wasn't really interested in it so I went on to look for something else, but amazingly something compelled me to buy this movie. And I did, and now I'm glad I did Children of Men does what most dystpoia sci-fi adventures rarely do, they tell a story that all of us can relate to in someway or another. Children of Men stars Clive Owen as Theo Faron a disillusioned bureaucrat who has been tasked with the sole duty of escorting and protecting the first pregnant woman in 18 years to the Human Projects so they can utilize her pregnancy to fix the fertility problem with the world. It's a heart pounding & mind blowing visual race to get out of England before the government catches them and use the poor girls baby for publicity and to acquire money to fiance there war with the rebels. Children of Men is a heart wrenching film that deserves to be called one of the greatest modern Science Fiction films ever made. I very highly recommend this amazing film. Expand
  49. LeventeS
    Jun 25, 2009
    1
    Children of Men suffers from what has been called 'middle child' syndrome, the illness where something is conceived with no real beginning and no real end. It is never explained why nobody can have babies, it is never explained how the girl got pregnant, it is never revealed what happens to the girl and we never find out if our species goes extinct or if she was just a fluke. Children of Men suffers from what has been called 'middle child' syndrome, the illness where something is conceived with no real beginning and no real end. It is never explained why nobody can have babies, it is never explained how the girl got pregnant, it is never revealed what happens to the girl and we never find out if our species goes extinct or if she was just a fluke. The characters are one-dimensional, the action is boring, the story is dross, and the science is simply preposterous. The only good things about this movie were the powerful emotions conjured by the school, and Michael Caine's stellar performance. Other than that, though, Children of Men should have been aborted. Expand
  50. discomike
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    Excellent. This film stayed with me for days afterwards. Fine performances from all the cast members and the direction throughout the film is amazing. Definately film of 2006 for me, and it's nice to see a decent film set in Britain for once!
  51. PedroL.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    The best futuristic movie since "Twelve Monkeys" and "Brazil" (both by Terry Gilliam). I saw it 3 days ago and i'm still shocked, its absolutly perfect.
  52. RickC.
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Probably the best film of the year, with such an important theme, about parenthood itself. Great performances, but especially great directing, and the best cinematography I've seen in years. Very provoking & ambitious, but is able to hold itself as one of the best futuristic films ever made, of course, it's directed by today's most talented director in my opinion: Alfonso Cuaron.
  53. KeithS.
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Several have mentioned how the film stays with you and how truly it does !!! Powerful, amazing filmmaking.....intellegient, sobering, and thrilling at the same time. A very difficult feat. Must See film of the year. STUNNING !
  54. ethanr.
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Non stop intense visioanry work. i was surprised by the film's dimension and power. I am recommending it to evryone i know.
  55. MarkM.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Outstanding movie. The vision of the future presented here is incredibly thorough and well-thought out, and very thought-provoking. Compelling characters are the icing on the cake. Worth multiple viewings to pick up on the background details alone. It turns into a cross between the most intense parts of "Black Hawk Down" and "Saving Private Ryan" near the climax, and it's done in Outstanding movie. The vision of the future presented here is incredibly thorough and well-thought out, and very thought-provoking. Compelling characters are the icing on the cake. Worth multiple viewings to pick up on the background details alone. It turns into a cross between the most intense parts of "Black Hawk Down" and "Saving Private Ryan" near the climax, and it's done in such a way as to be completely plausible. Expand
  56. GeorgeR.
    Jan 11, 2007
    9
    At the same time that CHILDREN OF MEN
  57. HarryW.
    Jan 11, 2007
    1
    What happens here? Certainly the film won't fill you in. Children of Men is a mess of discombobulated ideas without a thread of coherence. Clive Owen slogs through it bravely. Julianne Moore was likely present for a rehearsal or two and a few takes of minor scenes, and then bye bye. Michael Caine had to be stoned to participate in his few scenes. While Blade Runner was a sharply What happens here? Certainly the film won't fill you in. Children of Men is a mess of discombobulated ideas without a thread of coherence. Clive Owen slogs through it bravely. Julianne Moore was likely present for a rehearsal or two and a few takes of minor scenes, and then bye bye. Michael Caine had to be stoned to participate in his few scenes. While Blade Runner was a sharply focused stylized masterpiece, this is a dim-witted, darkly photographed nonsensical story. Promotional claptrap comparing the two. This flick is very hard to watch and even harder to feel involved with. The outrageousness is made more so by the mere 20 years gap before society has supposedly disintegrated. If the birth of a baby sparks hope for continuing the society pictured here, who wants to cheer the birth? Just as so many reviewers are wrong when they see only negative in movies which viewers find entertaining, they are wrong en mass here to find entertainment in such an empty vessel. Expand
  58. Julien
    Jan 12, 2007
    7
    Great movie, with an interesting political speech! Probably the best cinematography of year 2006. I've never seen such amazing urban-war scenes before. And we now have to deal with the fact that Clive Owen is gonna be one of the best actor of tomorrow.
  59. BushM.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    extremely well done. The director is amazing. How every scene is done in one huge take is incredible. One of the best movies I've ever scene.
  60. SethM.
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    Hands down the best, most affecting film I have seen this year. In several years, actually. Don't listen to those who tell you it has gaps in its timeline or is discombobulated in any way - none of that matters. This is where things stand - this is the way the world is. Deal with it. If human society had really degenerated to this degree, would anyone out there really care about Hands down the best, most affecting film I have seen this year. In several years, actually. Don't listen to those who tell you it has gaps in its timeline or is discombobulated in any way - none of that matters. This is where things stand - this is the way the world is. Deal with it. If human society had really degenerated to this degree, would anyone out there really care about filling you in on what you missed? And if the scene in the stairwell at the end does not move you in any way, then I'm afraid you are dead. Expand
  61. Badbadbad
    Jan 13, 2007
    1
    So if the future is f***ed, how do people still have such beautiful flat screen TVs and telejournalism still so ordered? Perhaps everything is done out of England. Very likely.
  62. Chase
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    This is my favorite movie of 2006. While I liked Pan's Labyrinth (everyones pick), The Queen, and The Departed, Children of Men is what filters to the top for me. Some seem put off by the lack of a resolution, but I hate movies that tie up the story in a neat little bow for me. You are judging what you see on screen, not what you didn't see. The camerawork here is first rate This is my favorite movie of 2006. While I liked Pan's Labyrinth (everyones pick), The Queen, and The Departed, Children of Men is what filters to the top for me. Some seem put off by the lack of a resolution, but I hate movies that tie up the story in a neat little bow for me. You are judging what you see on screen, not what you didn't see. The camerawork here is first rate stuff, and Clive Owen is perfect as the anti-hero. Expand
  63. PaulFratianni
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    Less so about entertainment Children of Men is a social commentary. Pro-Lifers will see it from their point of view just as much as environmentalist and the anti-war crowd will from theirs. It could be seen as an amalgamation of all these views focusing on an over arching theme of a lack of respect for life in the modern times we live.
    There was a poignant scene in the movie
    Less so about entertainment Children of Men is a social commentary. Pro-Lifers will see it from their point of view just as much as environmentalist and the anti-war crowd will from theirs. It could be seen as an amalgamation of all these views focusing on an over arching theme of a lack of respect for life in the modern times we live.
    There was a poignant scene in the movie ***WARNING SPOILERS*** when Michael Caines character, Jasper, asks whether ultimately the universe is about faith or chance. Though a nice an intelligent character he is marred by the suffering in the world leaning towards a nihilist ethos. Yet still his character is willing to sacrifice in hopes for a better world.

    In my opinion the world is about both faith and chance, faith being the enlightened actions of mankind and chance being the senselessness. Clare-Hope Ashitey character, Kee, points this beautifully by asking why are the tits of cows cut off to fit a four utter machine. Why do they simply make one for six? Man in his senselessness ideology, tradition, greed, etc, cause most of the suffering in this world.

    However there is almost a sense of a universal cosmic conspiracy that seems to go on at the same time. It seems that one thing after another goes wrong for Clive Owens Character, Theo, with cars that won
    Expand
  64. LauraG
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    Excellent overall. For those who found the story premise so powerful, do read the 1992 novel by P.D.James. James' story has been radically altered - everything from the characters to the ending - but the movie retains the gut-clinching realization that it could happen and how horrifying it would be. Knowing that society is aging itself out of existence would in all likelihood give Excellent overall. For those who found the story premise so powerful, do read the 1992 novel by P.D.James. James' story has been radically altered - everything from the characters to the ending - but the movie retains the gut-clinching realization that it could happen and how horrifying it would be. Knowing that society is aging itself out of existence would in all likelihood give rise to anarchy and/or military law, bizarre religious actions, and various other unknowable reactions. What is the purpose of human life if everything human ends? The movie definitely draws you in. The characters, however, don't always pull their weight with the story - they just aren't strong enough for the movie to be character-driven. I think that's why many reviewers loathe not knowing what happens. The entire reason the movie works is that you want to know what happens, it's what you care about, and you don't actually get that in the end. Some people, like me, are fine with that, and others not so much! Clive Owen's acting kept making me think about a super-flat-anti-emotion Nicholas Cage. Kee needed to be far far more engrossing as a person. But otherwise, strongly presented, Amazingly Filmed, and definitely makes you think about the future. Expand
  65. TravisS.
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    Why did infertility impact the human race? The death, war, and despair, that the film takes place in, is the reason. The human race had F*(Kd things up so much that someone/thing had to interrupt us and force us to step back and take a look at what we are.... do we deserve to live? do we as a race deserve to go on? I think the obvious answer the movie shows is absolutely not. The rape and Why did infertility impact the human race? The death, war, and despair, that the film takes place in, is the reason. The human race had F*(Kd things up so much that someone/thing had to interrupt us and force us to step back and take a look at what we are.... do we deserve to live? do we as a race deserve to go on? I think the obvious answer the movie shows is absolutely not. The rape and pillage of the natural world caused something to strike back at as... and it spared us. All the past f*(K ups die away and the new and "week" inherit the world. what stepped un to wake us up? what ultimately spared us? I'm not religious, but obviously it was God. That's not what the point of this story is. the point is that we have messed things up beyond repair, but we were spared. Brilliant movie... I could go on for hours. Expand
  66. ClayJ.
    Jan 14, 2007
    2
    Did anyone notice that all the other mammals in the movie (lots of cats, dogs, farm animals) seemed to have no trouble at all reproducing? Humans are MAMMALS! A totally stupid storyline! Horrible movie!
  67. AllyM.
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    Beautiful. Riveting. Tragic. Superb. The best movie I have seen in a very very long time. Flawless acting, actual surprises, fabulous cinematography, and a great screenplay. The car in reverse scene is amazing. Think about it being shot in one take. And the best war scene since Saving Private Ryan. Glorious.
  68. Gus
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    phenomenal distopyan flick
  69. RoggyR.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing movie. It is technically brilliant and emotionally engaging. Other reveiwers who claim that character development and plot were "nonsensical" must have been paying more attention to their popcorn than to the subtleties of the film. I found myself wrapped up in the events unfolding on the screen at every turn. Bravo Cuaron, bravo Clive Owen!
  70. PadraigJ.
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    Wow. I couldn't walk on the street afterward because I thought somebody was going to shoot me! And there's so many surprises in this movie- like the way it doesn't pander by explaining everybody's political motive in detail. The closest thing I think to experiencing what it must be like in the Mideast--I so thought I was going to get shot walking down the street afterwards!
  71. seao.
    Nov 7, 2007
    2
    A very, very bad film, full of the usual dystopian cliches and a plot that amounts to nothing. The acting is poor (the 'fugees (ugh) in the early scenes seem to have been bussed in from a zombie movie).and the characters are all badly drawn. The exposition at the beginning is unbelievably clunky. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.
  72. CalvinJ.
    Jan 18, 2007
    9
    Take the movie as it is. There are some parts which they should have gone more in depth, but it was nevertheless moving and a microscopic examination of our nation's priorities today.
  73. AndrewG.
    Jan 19, 2007
    0
    1) Premise is a more secular rip off of the god awful "Left Behind" series. 2) Reminded me of War of the Worlds in the way that most of the action played out. 3) Stupid, unbelievable things happened at very important points in the movie.
  74. SethC.
    Oct 19, 2007
    1
    Put me in the baffled camp. I would list A Clockwork Orange as my favorite movie ever (as some here have compared this to that masterpiece), but this movie was terrible. 1) why did everyone become infertile? Did it happen all at once, or gradually? 2) Why all the panic. You would think that scientists would be busily trying to figure it out while everyone else supported their effort. 3) Put me in the baffled camp. I would list A Clockwork Orange as my favorite movie ever (as some here have compared this to that masterpiece), but this movie was terrible. 1) why did everyone become infertile? Did it happen all at once, or gradually? 2) Why all the panic. You would think that scientists would be busily trying to figure it out while everyone else supported their effort. 3) What does immigration have to do with any of this? 4) When someone finally gets pregnant, why not let the scientists study her... you know, so that the Human Race will be saved. 5) What good does 1 kid do? Can that kid reproduce with any of the other sterile Earthlings? I could go on and on. Besides that, it was a boring barrage of violence from the old cliche of futuristic distopian mobs. Expand
  75. PeterB.
    Jan 19, 2007
    9
    Excellent movie, one of the best of the year. Quite simply because Cuaron does a fine job, most one camera scenes are just splendid. Ia gree that its an OK plot but im disappointed to see that most who gave it a 1, justify thorugh its lack of coherence or its too many answered questions. I believe this movie is mostly about a man and we basicly know as much as he does. Its a movie about Excellent movie, one of the best of the year. Quite simply because Cuaron does a fine job, most one camera scenes are just splendid. Ia gree that its an OK plot but im disappointed to see that most who gave it a 1, justify thorugh its lack of coherence or its too many answered questions. I believe this movie is mostly about a man and we basicly know as much as he does. Its a movie about hope not salvation. Expand
  76. ThatMovieGuy
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    Beautiful. Reminds me of not the style, but film-making mastery of Kubrick.
  77. Leiris
    Jan 22, 2007
    6
    In between the trite dialogue and predicable plot turns there is a very good looking film with something to say. If they took some more of that god-awful Hollywood formula out it could have been remarkable.
  78. Derek
    Dec 31, 2007
    10
    It's baffling how many people completely miss the point.... lets dig a little deeper, my god. Easily one of the best films from 2006, check it out.
  79. ShermanS.
    Jan 23, 2007
    3
    I found this movie quite tedious. There was chaos everywhere but you never saw the government behind it, just the results. It was clear that any moment the characters in the movie realized they could only expect the worst, so there was no surprise that the worst happened. They really had little control over anything and so I didn't care what happened and was glad when the movie was I found this movie quite tedious. There was chaos everywhere but you never saw the government behind it, just the results. It was clear that any moment the characters in the movie realized they could only expect the worst, so there was no surprise that the worst happened. They really had little control over anything and so I didn't care what happened and was glad when the movie was over. I think to care would have been like rooting for a pinball as it bounced around in its game-bound world. Not likely. There have been plenty of chaotic/anarchic views of the future in movies and this film did nothing new for me. Go see V for Vendetta; at least it makes a political statement. Expand
  80. RodneyMarx
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    This movie provides a surreal, action-packed experience. The camera angles put you in the action, and the locales are very realistic. This is one of the best movies of the year, by far.
  81. JJ
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    I just can't stop thinking about this one. Don't believe any nitwits that knock Children Of Men; they are too distracted by waiting to get their first driver's license to judge the movie fairly. An instant classic, and possibly one of the best-photographed movies ever made.
  82. ReidF.
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    Post-apocalyptic films can be somewhat undecipherable (
  83. CarlosdelN.
    Jan 27, 2007
    8
    Well worth seeing just for the cinematography. The first half is completely riveting; unfortunately, it becomes a bit of a conventional chase movie towards the end. Still, this is far better than the overwhelming majority of flicks.
  84. GlennF.
    Jan 28, 2007
    2
    Random, nihilistic, and violent. I kept waiting for an explanation for the improbable political and military decisions, which never came. Defies scientific explanation as well. Well-shot sequences in a boring bummer of a film.
  85. Alex
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    I feel sorry for all the reviewers who could not put politics aside when they saw this movie. The main message has NOTHING to do with politics. It was a wonderful film that keeps you on the edge of your seat for a full 2 hours. If you come out of this movie mad about the politics portrayed in the movie, you don't get it.
  86. Cassandra
    Feb 12, 2007
    1
    Behold a boring leftist fantasy (replete with cheap, already dated, political shots) masquerading as something deep. Fine acting (mostly wasted) and technical virtuosity do not a good story make. I
  87. Sambistagirl
    Feb 15, 2007
    9
    This was a great movie. Very exciting. The attention to detail was fantastic. A little depressing at times, but very good.
  88. BobS.
    Feb 16, 2007
    3
    THe film's story seems to be made up as they went along. It is often just inane. Although I liked much of the acting, story is important too and this film lacks a coherent one, and we have violence for the sake of violence. A wasted effort.
  89. TomA.
    Feb 19, 2007
    4
    Pretty lame. I was excited to see the movie after reading several reviews. I wasn't impressed. Clive Owen gave a great performance, as did Michael Caine, but the plot was convoluted and weak. Not recommended.
  90. PatrickG.
    Feb 28, 2007
    8
    Wonderful film. Most unjustly snubbed year-end movie of 2006. Fu.k the award-givers. 'The Departed' was pure garbage next to this.
  91. EricC.
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    Pointless? How much of an idiot are you? My god, go back to watching Wild Hogs or Norbit. There hasn't been a more signifficant movie since its release, and you call it pointless. Stop watching movies if you can't see the importance here. This movie shows us where our chaotic society is going, and you;d have to have a serious redneck "America is percect" mentality not to realize Pointless? How much of an idiot are you? My god, go back to watching Wild Hogs or Norbit. There hasn't been a more signifficant movie since its release, and you call it pointless. Stop watching movies if you can't see the importance here. This movie shows us where our chaotic society is going, and you;d have to have a serious redneck "America is percect" mentality not to realize this. But this movie also gives us a gleam of hope that is worth throwing our lives aside and fighting for. Alfonso Cuaron is an amazing artist, eualled only by Guillermo del Torro's, his collaborator, Pan's Labyrinth. This movie puts Babel to shame, and it's cinematography sends The Departed home in shame. It's mindblowingly beautiful, but you'll have to go through some brutal violance and dread in order to see this. Expand
  92. Mr.Johnson
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    Just Splendid. It was a thorough delight. And I recommend it highly!
  93. AlexT.
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    I am baffled as to how people can say that this movie was "boring". It is constantlyrelentless and gripping. The movie does have a leftist message, but it is hardly as strong as many of the viewers seemed to think it was. Honestly, if you are factoring politics into your review over the movie, you would have to be VERY far to the right to be offended. Anyone who thought that the I am baffled as to how people can say that this movie was "boring". It is constantlyrelentless and gripping. The movie does have a leftist message, but it is hardly as strong as many of the viewers seemed to think it was. Honestly, if you are factoring politics into your review over the movie, you would have to be VERY far to the right to be offended. Anyone who thought that the terrorists were portayed as the "good guys" completely missed the point of the movie. The terrorist barbarity is striking to behold. Some rewievers have said that this is a cliche and trite movie. While there have been other somewhat similar films, this one is far better than most. As some people have mentioned, the soundtrack is quite good, although it gets a bit repetitive, and the cinematography is phenomenal. The ten minute shot at the end is staggeringly good. The thing which relly makes the movie great is the charachters. Every one of the mis fascinating and detailed. If you watch the movie again there are lots of subtle clues in how the charachters interact which makes them seem even more human. This is a shocking and haunting film. But it is also a sensational one. Expand
  94. JimG.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    The most important movie since we entered the 2000s thematically, and one of the most entertaining. I haven't been as tense as I was during a movie as I was in the last half hour of this one in a very long time.
  95. VictorL.
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    This is now my favorite movie of all time. See it. No. Experience it. The cinematography is 100% accurate and precise. No detail was over-looked in the filming of this movie. Anyone who says this film is horrible obviously has other things going on in their life that they can't get forget about, and see this film like it was meant to be seen. Best movie ever. Period. Wow wow wow. WOW.
  96. AaronL.
    Apr 15, 2007
    2
    It is ironic how many of the good reviews for this film cite ignorance as the reason why others have hailed this movie as abysmal. Ignorance is failing to uncover the logical fallacies inherent in this deplorable attempt at enlightenment. This film only contains true meaning for those too ignorant to see past mirage that is this vile realm.
  97. JohnI.
    May 11, 2007
    0
    I picked htis up at Hollywood video store as a used DVD; I wish I hadn't. From the looks of the DVD case, it looked like it would be action packed but I thought wrong. This was actually the worst movie I have ever seen ever; MUCH worse than the cheesiest Sci-fi channel movie you've ever seen, and worser than a "booty shaking" video on youtube. This movie just fails ar I picked htis up at Hollywood video store as a used DVD; I wish I hadn't. From the looks of the DVD case, it looked like it would be action packed but I thought wrong. This was actually the worst movie I have ever seen ever; MUCH worse than the cheesiest Sci-fi channel movie you've ever seen, and worser than a "booty shaking" video on youtube. This movie just fails ar everything; it had a intriguing thing in mind(mysterious infertility in the human race) but they didn't have anything to show for it in the actual movie. The one pregnant woman is running away from people, to who knows where, and when they get there, they continue running..When the finally escape to wherever they are trying to get to, the movie cuts off..Seriously, I wish I could unwatch this movie, get my money back, and make sure no one else has to watse their time with this bull. If anyone should think this movie is good in any kind of way except being absolute crap, this must be the first piece of "entertainment" they have ever come in cotnact with. I so desperately wish you could give this lower than a 1, but a 1 is alot more than this crap deserves. Expand
  98. Carly
    May 19, 2007
    10
    I watched it over and over. I couldn't get enough.
  99. PatC.
    May 21, 2007
    6
    Experience life in a future so bleak that the interesting characters die first. In spite of its realistic street combat scenes, this movie is so taken by its own otherwise-valid message that a sense of unreality emerges that cannot be overcome.
  100. DeoB.
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    I have not seen (yet) any of the other Oscar-nominated films from last year, but I cannot imagine a better film. Given the subject and the horrors that unfold on film, it does seem strange to call this movie lovely, but it is. A seminal moment in filmmaking history.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    70
    Children of Men leaves too many questions unanswered, yet it has a stunning visceral impact. You can forgive a lot in the face of filmmaking this dazzling.
  2. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    80
    Picture more than delivers on the action front -- not in bang-for-your-buck spectacle but in the kind of gritty, doculike sequences that haul viewers out of their seats and alongside the main protags.
  3. Owen carries the film more in the tradition of a Jimmy Stewart or Henry Fonda than a Clint Eastwood or Harrison Ford. He has to wear flip-flops for part of the time without losing his dignity, and he never reaches for a weapon or guns anyone down. Cuaron and Owen may have created the first believable 21st-century movie hero.