Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1129 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
954
Mixed:
66
Negative:
109
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
RyanC.Jan 7, 2007
An incredibly moving Sci-Fi film. Very heavy. Not a film you can recommend to everyone becuase of its depressing subject matter but in all ways a fantastic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterS.Jan 7, 2007
Innovative story telling and gritty execution giving an apocalyptic and believable view of England in 2027. Two major weaknesses : the revolutionaries were too amateurish and the assasination poorly thought out. Would have benefited by being Innovative story telling and gritty execution giving an apocalyptic and believable view of England in 2027. Two major weaknesses : the revolutionaries were too amateurish and the assasination poorly thought out. Would have benefited by being longer by about 30 minutes to explore causes of the infertility... it was too major an issue to be left completely unexplored. Otherwise miles better than usual Hollywood rubbish and a major plus for UK Film making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SueJan 7, 2007
This movie is not viewed with the thought that this is either a good or bad film. The story is that important and complex. Frightening and intriguing is the concept that only one small area of the world will be barely civilized with the This movie is not viewed with the thought that this is either a good or bad film. The story is that important and complex. Frightening and intriguing is the concept that only one small area of the world will be barely civilized with the remainder of the world struggling to enter. Even more frightening is the realization that much of the story is not science fiction, is not of the future...it is now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinB.Jan 6, 2007
Spectacular cinematography and layout throughout of the movie. Deep intellectual thinking and symbology tie seamlessly into the movie and gives one a chance to think about today's complications. Beautifully ended to give chance of imagination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ColbyS.Jan 6, 2007
Brilliant. The best movie I've seen in years. Not a dull moment, unoriginal element or hackneyed conversation to be found.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaunX.Jan 6, 2007
Excellent film. Cinematography is amazing. Atmosphere is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattA.Jan 6, 2007
The movie was intense and very interesting. The characters were all great, and the cinematography was gripping. Yet, there were parts that were a bit too vague, and could have been developed more. However, the movie was still great aside The movie was intense and very interesting. The characters were all great, and the cinematography was gripping. Yet, there were parts that were a bit too vague, and could have been developed more. However, the movie was still great aside from those flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidAJan 6, 2007
Simply a great movie, incredible action, acting and a moving story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DWillyJan 6, 2007
I can't add anything to the rightly glowing reviews and numbers that, in this nearly lone case, I agree with. Masterful, moving, harrowing. I've always liked Clive Owen but confess to having felt him a bit overrated for his narrow I can't add anything to the rightly glowing reviews and numbers that, in this nearly lone case, I agree with. Masterful, moving, harrowing. I've always liked Clive Owen but confess to having felt him a bit overrated for his narrow toughguy stance; but here he is loose and vulnerable and I'd like to shake his hand for carrying this important film that I know must have been a very difficult to make. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinA.Jan 6, 2007
The best movie I've seen from 2006. Everything is not all wrapped up at the end - and that's a great thing as it allows our imagination be a part of the story. I purposefully did not read any reviews or plot synopsis's going The best movie I've seen from 2006. Everything is not all wrapped up at the end - and that's a great thing as it allows our imagination be a part of the story. I purposefully did not read any reviews or plot synopsis's going in, and was duly rewarded. Thus, I'm not going to say anything about the plot. I'll just say this: This is what a movie is supposed to feel like. Brilliant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TrudiB.Jan 6, 2007
Brilliant movie, which grabbed me immediately and hasn't let go yet. Some here have mentioned "unanswered questions" and "inconsistencies," but I found it to be deeply thought provoking. When I can spend time after walking out of a Brilliant movie, which grabbed me immediately and hasn't let go yet. Some here have mentioned "unanswered questions" and "inconsistencies," but I found it to be deeply thought provoking. When I can spend time after walking out of a theater still going over the film, wondering, piecing together, analyzing -- then I feel like I've really got my money's worth. Cuaron makes it believable, in that there are so many different reactions to the situation in which humanity finds itself 18 years after the last child is born. Those who turn to (self-flagellating) religious cults, the deniers, those who just don't think about it, the government and big companies who continue on through sheer force of momentum, the angry rebels, the solution seekers, the hopelessly depressed who turn to quiet suicice. All of this is presented almost as background, in flashes of imagery or brief sequences. The reactions to the death of Baby Diego in the opening scene took me right back to September 11, the numb shock that overtook us all that day. There was so much packed into this movie (my husband caught things I didn't, and vice-versa), that I intend to see it again unencumbered by the anxiety of "what happens next?" I will also eagerly await Cuaron's next film; my respect for him has grown with each of his movies, and I expect even greater works from him in the (hopefully not this bleak) future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GMDKJan 6, 2007
Spectacular and ravishing, Alfonso Cuaron proves once again he is one of the greatest filmmakers we have ever seen.But the thing Cuaron really knows how to do is give realistic emotion to the characters;because of him,we can feel for any Spectacular and ravishing, Alfonso Cuaron proves once again he is one of the greatest filmmakers we have ever seen.But the thing Cuaron really knows how to do is give realistic emotion to the characters;because of him,we can feel for any character on screen.Rarely can a movie director pull that off.The best picture of the year,in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulietT.Jan 6, 2007
The first movie in which the portrayal of the future seems both palpable and imminent. The future is not some far-off land dotted with replicants and cyborgs, rather, a grim and grainy place with immigrant camps, terrorists, and bombs filmed The first movie in which the portrayal of the future seems both palpable and imminent. The future is not some far-off land dotted with replicants and cyborgs, rather, a grim and grainy place with immigrant camps, terrorists, and bombs filmed with amazing fluid shots. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricS.Jan 5, 2007
This is hands down the best movie of the year, a stunning example of how to craft an action-thriller. Despite the futuristic setting this is not by any means sci-fi. Rather, it is a dystopian vision of the future with a focus on the This is hands down the best movie of the year, a stunning example of how to craft an action-thriller. Despite the futuristic setting this is not by any means sci-fi. Rather, it is a dystopian vision of the future with a focus on the characters. This is a story about people, not advanced technology and complex action sequences (although that is not to say the film lacks excitement; if any thing, your attachment to the characters heightens it). As much as I enjoy mindless action, Children of Men proves that the genre is capable of producing more than cheap entertainment. This movie dark tone and underlying cynicism probably won't win it any Oscars, but if their is any justice, it will go down as classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HalB.Jan 5, 2007
I came away from this film feeling as if I'd been immersed in another world for two hours. A dark and gut-wrenching portrayal of one possible future, and not that far off! Brutally bleak and violent for much of its duration, at least it I came away from this film feeling as if I'd been immersed in another world for two hours. A dark and gut-wrenching portrayal of one possible future, and not that far off! Brutally bleak and violent for much of its duration, at least it ends on a hopeful note. Definitely some amazing cinematography and direction. A few indelible images and scenes that will stay in my mind for a long time. Kind of The Nativity meets Saving Private Ryan, with some Bladerunner thrown in for good measure. Quite a film; but not everyone's cup of tea. Permeated by gallons of political/social commentary; very relevant to our current times. Take your politically outspoken friends (at either end of the spectrum) to see it and let the conversation begin... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KurtM.Jan 5, 2007
The most daring vision brought to screen in recent years. Pic's brand of chaotic, interactive filmmaking pioneered by the likes of Cuaron and Paul Greengrass make for an intense and heartbraking journey that never once exploits its The most daring vision brought to screen in recent years. Pic's brand of chaotic, interactive filmmaking pioneered by the likes of Cuaron and Paul Greengrass make for an intense and heartbraking journey that never once exploits its profound themes. For some reason, people have decided that movies cannot be both depressing and good at the same time, even if they convey authentic truths about the world. This film will be considered depressing by those who do not actively engage it. Those of us who give ourselves over to the experience will come away inspired. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Jan 5, 2007
A Brilliant, Visionary film. The first movie set in the future that is at times terrifying simply because it is so real to the direction the world is heading today. The music and production design are perfect right down to the smallest A Brilliant, Visionary film. The first movie set in the future that is at times terrifying simply because it is so real to the direction the world is heading today. The music and production design are perfect right down to the smallest detail, but it is the cinematography by Emmanuel Lubezski that takes giant leaps into how the camera is everything to the pulse of a movie. There are scenes in this movie that simply swallow you into screen like shots of adrenelin and give you cinematic rushes like you've never seen or felt before! It is a bleak, yet amazing story and Alfonso Cuaron balances it to perfection. Any mind that concieve a scene with "Court of the Crimson King" playing on a set inspired by the cover of Pink Floyd's Animals is pure Genius!! Children of Men is one of the 5 Best Pictures of the Year!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KAJan 5, 2007
The seeds of this movie scenario have already been sown in the real world and this film shows us the ugly flowering that could occur in twenty years if we fail to protect our civil liberties now. The gritty realism propels us into the sheer The seeds of this movie scenario have already been sown in the real world and this film shows us the ugly flowering that could occur in twenty years if we fail to protect our civil liberties now. The gritty realism propels us into the sheer terror of this universe in a way the excellent, but more ideological, V for Vendetta did not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BilBJan 5, 2007
Set in a believable future year 2027, this film is entertaining enough. I could have done without so much humor. The cinematography, especially during the fight scene in which Clive Owen makes his run for Key is amazing. Complete with blood Set in a believable future year 2027, this film is entertaining enough. I could have done without so much humor. The cinematography, especially during the fight scene in which Clive Owen makes his run for Key is amazing. Complete with blood on the lens and very real looking combat. This alone should make the movie worth watching by every aspiring cinematographer. Overall: a solid 8 in my book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
aaronJan 5, 2007
Chilling, horrible, thought-provoking, gripping, original, and scariest of all--a real possibility in the not to distant future. This is an absolute must-see for any movie enthusiast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesMJan 4, 2007
An instant classic, remarkably rich in detail on every level, remarkably expressive in its use of every cinematic tool, and remarkably successful in exploring its ambitious themes and ideas. Required viewing for everyone on this planet, this An instant classic, remarkably rich in detail on every level, remarkably expressive in its use of every cinematic tool, and remarkably successful in exploring its ambitious themes and ideas. Required viewing for everyone on this planet, this is not just the film of the year, but the film of decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaulC.Jan 4, 2007
Movie of the year. Mark my words, the car chase alone will be subject of study in many Film Schools from years to come. A truly inspired movie in all respects, wich let us make the final thoughts, and as in all masterpieces, it doesn't Movie of the year. Mark my words, the car chase alone will be subject of study in many Film Schools from years to come. A truly inspired movie in all respects, wich let us make the final thoughts, and as in all masterpieces, it doesn't need to answer all the questions, only morons which need everything digested and can't think for themselves may whine about the film's "loose ends". This movie is a true example of innovative film narration where any kind of prize there is falls short against this masterpiece, wich in many respects takes some of what interactive narration has given us, to achieve an unprecedent feel of inmersion, where we are not just spectators but participants as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
A.R.L.Jan 4, 2007
An epic movie with many dystopian elements. Amazingly directed creating a memorizing environment which places you in the movie. Michael Caine gives a charming performance of optimism. Clive Owen plays somewhat of a working class hero which An epic movie with many dystopian elements. Amazingly directed creating a memorizing environment which places you in the movie. Michael Caine gives a charming performance of optimism. Clive Owen plays somewhat of a working class hero which is reflected by the musical theme of the movie. I could watch it over and over and over. In fact I already have, ha! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanH.Jan 3, 2007
This was an amazing movie. The use of the camera in intense situations was quite beautiful. Kept me entertained the whole way and wasn't predictable. My guess is that McDonald's is the reason people become infertile in the near This was an amazing movie. The use of the camera in intense situations was quite beautiful. Kept me entertained the whole way and wasn't predictable. My guess is that McDonald's is the reason people become infertile in the near future. Cheers! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulK.Jan 2, 2007
Riveting and visually stunning. A frightful view of what the future could be. The story was unpredictable, unsettling and completely and utterly engrossing. I Iaughed, I cried, I spent most of the time with my mouth open. Superbly acted and Riveting and visually stunning. A frightful view of what the future could be. The story was unpredictable, unsettling and completely and utterly engrossing. I Iaughed, I cried, I spent most of the time with my mouth open. Superbly acted and a technical masterpiece. You must see this. In the theater. Absolutely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FilmfanJan 2, 2007
Really, the movie was good, but not THAT good. A lot of the dystopian stuff is fairy cliche--Mad Max/Day of the Dead stuff, with a little Chris Marker thrown in. Trite ending. The movie is very admirable for the straightforwardness of the Really, the movie was good, but not THAT good. A lot of the dystopian stuff is fairy cliche--Mad Max/Day of the Dead stuff, with a little Chris Marker thrown in. Trite ending. The movie is very admirable for the straightforwardness of the scenes--it never depends on special effects. Worth seeing, but a movie, not a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkJ.Jan 2, 2007
Powerful, thrilling and utterly immersing! This seemed to slip under the radar on the back end of 2006 without recieving the acclaim I think it deserves, and really was one of the best films of the year. This one will stick with you, a must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabrielL.Jan 1, 2007
The movie of the year, period. It was so fully realized and well acted. Funny, touching, terrifying, and thrilling. My only complaint was that it ended when it did. I could have taken another hour.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaborA.Jan 1, 2007
Not only does Cuaron have an unconventional long shot near the finale lasting almost ten minutes, but the story feels like a long stretch of implausible coincidences falling into place. Despite the fact that the movie discredits all Not only does Cuaron have an unconventional long shot near the finale lasting almost ten minutes, but the story feels like a long stretch of implausible coincidences falling into place. Despite the fact that the movie discredits all religious undertones and even makes fun of the notion that Theo and Key make it can only be described as sheer miracle. The movie makes up for this with solid acting and filmmaking, but scenes inevitably lose some of their power when they only happen for the sake of happening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricaK.Jan 1, 2007
The movie doesn't explain much, and there are few gradations between good and evil, but this story of hope and redemption is heartbreakingly played out. The fight scene in the refugee camp, which was shot in a single take with the The movie doesn't explain much, and there are few gradations between good and evil, but this story of hope and redemption is heartbreakingly played out. The fight scene in the refugee camp, which was shot in a single take with the cameraman following clive owen's character for about 7-11 minutes is an example of filmmaking bravura at its best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkM.Dec 30, 2006
Outstanding movie. The vision of the future presented here is incredibly thorough and well-thought out, and very thought-provoking. Compelling characters are the icing on the cake. Worth multiple viewings to pick up on the background details Outstanding movie. The vision of the future presented here is incredibly thorough and well-thought out, and very thought-provoking. Compelling characters are the icing on the cake. Worth multiple viewings to pick up on the background details alone. It turns into a cross between the most intense parts of "Black Hawk Down" and "Saving Private Ryan" near the climax, and it's done in such a way as to be completely plausible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayeSDec 30, 2006
Unsetting and conceivable, hits close to home in what direction the world is moving. So many small details slip by that tell even a deeper story of what has happened to the world. True violence portrayed in a way that is realistic, Unsetting and conceivable, hits close to home in what direction the world is moving. So many small details slip by that tell even a deeper story of what has happened to the world. True violence portrayed in a way that is realistic, heartbreaking. Best film I have seen in a long long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bennyr.Dec 29, 2006
This is a real movie. Makes The Departed look like what it is...drivel. Children of Men is an actual best picture of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ethanr.Dec 29, 2006
Non stop intense visioanry work. i was surprised by the film's dimension and power. I am recommending it to evryone i know.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bradmDec 28, 2006
Incredible. It has been two days since I saw it, and I can't stop thinking about the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithS.Dec 27, 2006
Several have mentioned how the film stays with you and how truly it does !!! Powerful, amazing filmmaking.....intellegient, sobering, and thrilling at the same time. A very difficult feat. Must See film of the year. STUNNING !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickC.Dec 27, 2006
Probably the best film of the year, with such an important theme, about parenthood itself. Great performances, but especially great directing, and the best cinematography I've seen in years. Very provoking & ambitious, but is able to Probably the best film of the year, with such an important theme, about parenthood itself. Great performances, but especially great directing, and the best cinematography I've seen in years. Very provoking & ambitious, but is able to hold itself as one of the best futuristic films ever made, of course, it's directed by today's most talented director in my opinion: Alfonso Cuaron. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomS.Dec 26, 2006
I don't like gratuitous violence, but this violent movie had violence for dramatic effect. Interesting premise. Thought provoking. What would life be without a future for our children and grand children?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PedroL.Dec 23, 2006
The best futuristic movie since "Twelve Monkeys" and "Brazil" (both by Terry Gilliam). I saw it 3 days ago and i'm still shocked, its absolutly perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
scotthDec 23, 2006
Haven't read the book, therefore unsure of how close Cuaron is to storyline. Nevertheless, well acted - good pace, and good moviemaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenB.Dec 21, 2006
This is a very good movie, mostly because of Clive Owen. I'm not usually a huge fan, but he really does create a very likeable and believeable hero in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
discomikeDec 20, 2006
Excellent. This film stayed with me for days afterwards. Fine performances from all the cast members and the direction throughout the film is amazing. Definately film of 2006 for me, and it's nice to see a decent film set in Britain for once!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveT.Dec 20, 2006
An emotionally powerful movie with some unforgettable and shockingly realistic action scenes. My favorite film of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
moviegoergeekDec 16, 2006
Cuarón's virtuoso camerawork, shockingly dark lightning and a compelling story which speaks to right now makes this marvelous film a must-see. Children Of Men is this year's MUNICH.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamuelM.Dec 16, 2006
The finest movie I have seen in a VERY long time. Superbly put together, the scary part was what was presented was just far enough to be in the future yet close enough to be disturbing. Brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful