Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1095 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
923
Mixed:
65
Negative:
107
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
LauraGJan 14, 2007
Excellent overall. For those who found the story premise so powerful, do read the 1992 novel by P.D.James. James' story has been radically altered - everything from the characters to the ending - but the movie retains the gut-clinching Excellent overall. For those who found the story premise so powerful, do read the 1992 novel by P.D.James. James' story has been radically altered - everything from the characters to the ending - but the movie retains the gut-clinching realization that it could happen and how horrifying it would be. Knowing that society is aging itself out of existence would in all likelihood give rise to anarchy and/or military law, bizarre religious actions, and various other unknowable reactions. What is the purpose of human life if everything human ends? The movie definitely draws you in. The characters, however, don't always pull their weight with the story - they just aren't strong enough for the movie to be character-driven. I think that's why many reviewers loathe not knowing what happens. The entire reason the movie works is that you want to know what happens, it's what you care about, and you don't actually get that in the end. Some people, like me, are fine with that, and others not so much! Clive Owen's acting kept making me think about a super-flat-anti-emotion Nicholas Cage. Kee needed to be far far more engrossing as a person. But otherwise, strongly presented, Amazingly Filmed, and definitely makes you think about the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TravisS.Oct 14, 2007
Why did infertility impact the human race? The death, war, and despair, that the film takes place in, is the reason. The human race had F*(Kd things up so much that someone/thing had to interrupt us and force us to step back and take a look Why did infertility impact the human race? The death, war, and despair, that the film takes place in, is the reason. The human race had F*(Kd things up so much that someone/thing had to interrupt us and force us to step back and take a look at what we are.... do we deserve to live? do we as a race deserve to go on? I think the obvious answer the movie shows is absolutely not. The rape and pillage of the natural world caused something to strike back at as... and it spared us. All the past f*(K ups die away and the new and "week" inherit the world. what stepped un to wake us up? what ultimately spared us? I'm not religious, but obviously it was God. That's not what the point of this story is. the point is that we have messed things up beyond repair, but we were spared. Brilliant movie... I could go on for hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllyM.Jan 14, 2007
Beautiful. Riveting. Tragic. Superb. The best movie I have seen in a very very long time. Flawless acting, actual surprises, fabulous cinematography, and a great screenplay. The car in reverse scene is amazing. Think about it being shot in Beautiful. Riveting. Tragic. Superb. The best movie I have seen in a very very long time. Flawless acting, actual surprises, fabulous cinematography, and a great screenplay. The car in reverse scene is amazing. Think about it being shot in one take. And the best war scene since Saving Private Ryan. Glorious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GusJan 15, 2007
phenomenal distopyan flick
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoggyR.Jan 15, 2007
This is an amazing movie. It is technically brilliant and emotionally engaging. Other reveiwers who claim that character development and plot were "nonsensical" must have been paying more attention to their popcorn than to the subtleties of This is an amazing movie. It is technically brilliant and emotionally engaging. Other reveiwers who claim that character development and plot were "nonsensical" must have been paying more attention to their popcorn than to the subtleties of the film. I found myself wrapped up in the events unfolding on the screen at every turn. Bravo Cuaron, bravo Clive Owen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PadraigJ.Jan 17, 2007
Wow. I couldn't walk on the street afterward because I thought somebody was going to shoot me! And there's so many surprises in this movie- like the way it doesn't pander by explaining everybody's political motive in Wow. I couldn't walk on the street afterward because I thought somebody was going to shoot me! And there's so many surprises in this movie- like the way it doesn't pander by explaining everybody's political motive in detail. The closest thing I think to experiencing what it must be like in the Mideast--I so thought I was going to get shot walking down the street afterwards! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CalvinJ.Jan 18, 2007
Take the movie as it is. There are some parts which they should have gone more in depth, but it was nevertheless moving and a microscopic examination of our nation's priorities today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterB.Jan 19, 2007
Excellent movie, one of the best of the year. Quite simply because Cuaron does a fine job, most one camera scenes are just splendid. Ia gree that its an OK plot but im disappointed to see that most who gave it a 1, justify thorugh its lack Excellent movie, one of the best of the year. Quite simply because Cuaron does a fine job, most one camera scenes are just splendid. Ia gree that its an OK plot but im disappointed to see that most who gave it a 1, justify thorugh its lack of coherence or its too many answered questions. I believe this movie is mostly about a man and we basicly know as much as he does. Its a movie about hope not salvation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThatMovieGuyJan 21, 2007
Beautiful. Reminds me of not the style, but film-making mastery of Kubrick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekDec 31, 2007
It's baffling how many people completely miss the point.... lets dig a little deeper, my god. Easily one of the best films from 2006, check it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RodneyMarxJan 25, 2007
This movie provides a surreal, action-packed experience. The camera angles put you in the action, and the locales are very realistic. This is one of the best movies of the year, by far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JJJan 25, 2007
I just can't stop thinking about this one. Don't believe any nitwits that knock Children Of Men; they are too distracted by waiting to get their first driver's license to judge the movie fairly. An instant classic, and I just can't stop thinking about this one. Don't believe any nitwits that knock Children Of Men; they are too distracted by waiting to get their first driver's license to judge the movie fairly. An instant classic, and possibly one of the best-photographed movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
Post-apocalyptic films can be somewhat undecipherable (
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CarlosdelN.Jan 27, 2007
Well worth seeing just for the cinematography. The first half is completely riveting; unfortunately, it becomes a bit of a conventional chase movie towards the end. Still, this is far better than the overwhelming majority of flicks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexFeb 11, 2007
I feel sorry for all the reviewers who could not put politics aside when they saw this movie. The main message has NOTHING to do with politics. It was a wonderful film that keeps you on the edge of your seat for a full 2 hours. If you come I feel sorry for all the reviewers who could not put politics aside when they saw this movie. The main message has NOTHING to do with politics. It was a wonderful film that keeps you on the edge of your seat for a full 2 hours. If you come out of this movie mad about the politics portrayed in the movie, you don't get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SambistagirlFeb 15, 2007
This was a great movie. Very exciting. The attention to detail was fantastic. A little depressing at times, but very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatrickG.Feb 28, 2007
Wonderful film. Most unjustly snubbed year-end movie of 2006. Fu.k the award-givers. 'The Departed' was pure garbage next to this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricC.Mar 26, 2007
Pointless? How much of an idiot are you? My god, go back to watching Wild Hogs or Norbit. There hasn't been a more signifficant movie since its release, and you call it pointless. Stop watching movies if you can't see the Pointless? How much of an idiot are you? My god, go back to watching Wild Hogs or Norbit. There hasn't been a more signifficant movie since its release, and you call it pointless. Stop watching movies if you can't see the importance here. This movie shows us where our chaotic society is going, and you;d have to have a serious redneck "America is percect" mentality not to realize this. But this movie also gives us a gleam of hope that is worth throwing our lives aside and fighting for. Alfonso Cuaron is an amazing artist, eualled only by Guillermo del Torro's, his collaborator, Pan's Labyrinth. This movie puts Babel to shame, and it's cinematography sends The Departed home in shame. It's mindblowingly beautiful, but you'll have to go through some brutal violance and dread in order to see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Mr.JohnsonMar 26, 2007
Just Splendid. It was a thorough delight. And I recommend it highly!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexT.Mar 26, 2007
I am baffled as to how people can say that this movie was "boring". It is constantlyrelentless and gripping. The movie does have a leftist message, but it is hardly as strong as many of the viewers seemed to think it was. Honestly, if you I am baffled as to how people can say that this movie was "boring". It is constantlyrelentless and gripping. The movie does have a leftist message, but it is hardly as strong as many of the viewers seemed to think it was. Honestly, if you are factoring politics into your review over the movie, you would have to be VERY far to the right to be offended. Anyone who thought that the terrorists were portayed as the "good guys" completely missed the point of the movie. The terrorist barbarity is striking to behold. Some rewievers have said that this is a cliche and trite movie. While there have been other somewhat similar films, this one is far better than most. As some people have mentioned, the soundtrack is quite good, although it gets a bit repetitive, and the cinematography is phenomenal. The ten minute shot at the end is staggeringly good. The thing which relly makes the movie great is the charachters. Every one of the mis fascinating and detailed. If you watch the movie again there are lots of subtle clues in how the charachters interact which makes them seem even more human. This is a shocking and haunting film. But it is also a sensational one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimG.Mar 27, 2007
The most important movie since we entered the 2000s thematically, and one of the most entertaining. I haven't been as tense as I was during a movie as I was in the last half hour of this one in a very long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictorL.Mar 29, 2007
This is now my favorite movie of all time. See it. No. Experience it. The cinematography is 100% accurate and precise. No detail was over-looked in the filming of this movie. Anyone who says this film is horrible obviously has other things This is now my favorite movie of all time. See it. No. Experience it. The cinematography is 100% accurate and precise. No detail was over-looked in the filming of this movie. Anyone who says this film is horrible obviously has other things going on in their life that they can't get forget about, and see this film like it was meant to be seen. Best movie ever. Period. Wow wow wow. WOW. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KalenK.Apr 23, 2007
I am honestly shocked to see that so many people gave this brilliant film such low scores. There's always one or two people that just do not GET a movie and give it low scores, but this is astounding. There is no possible way this movie I am honestly shocked to see that so many people gave this brilliant film such low scores. There's always one or two people that just do not GET a movie and give it low scores, but this is astounding. There is no possible way this movie deserves a 2 or less. Ridiculous. If you have not seen it, this is one time you should listen to the pro reviews above and ignore the commenting idiots down here. (sure, me too, that's fine). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarlyMay 19, 2007
I watched it over and over. I couldn't get enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeoB.Jun 11, 2007
I have not seen (yet) any of the other Oscar-nominated films from last year, but I cannot imagine a better film. Given the subject and the horrors that unfold on film, it does seem strange to call this movie lovely, but it is. A seminal I have not seen (yet) any of the other Oscar-nominated films from last year, but I cannot imagine a better film. Given the subject and the horrors that unfold on film, it does seem strange to call this movie lovely, but it is. A seminal moment in filmmaking history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveAJun 12, 2007
So refreshing to see a decent thought-provoking movie once in a while! For all the apparent home reviewers that had issues with the storyline stop watching so many shallow Hollywood blockbusters and start looking at what is really going on,So refreshing to see a decent thought-provoking movie once in a while! For all the apparent home reviewers that had issues with the storyline stop watching so many shallow Hollywood blockbusters and start looking at what is really going on, because this movie gives us a look at what could very well be our planet 20yrs from now (maybe without the infertility bit- and for fu.k sake stop being so politically inclined.. most politicians don't give a shit about the working class, they only care about getting more power and more money!) this movie draws you in, whilst being predictable at times it is never boring, characters are believable, as is the storyline, and the battle scene's are equal to any action movie... one of the best movie's of this decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnDec 21, 2008
Perfect movie. The director has giant balls. More movies like this need to be made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexP.Dec 27, 2008
Put you on the edge of your seat and does what so few other movies do: not only causes you to examine the world, but also your impact on it, and then leaves you determined to shape your own future.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElaineR.Jan 28, 2008
Compelling movie with outstanding performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClintonS.Mar 23, 2008
In 20 years, the only movie people will remember from 2006 is "Children of Men." I enjoyed the "Departed" and "Letters from Iwo Jima", but "Children of Men" is truly extraordinary. It is not uncommon for truly great movies to be ignored when In 20 years, the only movie people will remember from 2006 is "Children of Men." I enjoyed the "Departed" and "Letters from Iwo Jima", but "Children of Men" is truly extraordinary. It is not uncommon for truly great movies to be ignored when they are released. This movie was released on Christmas and people failed to notice. The acting is first rate and the Cuaron told this story in a innovative and compelling way. Please watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimKJul 26, 2008
I found this movie fascinating, well acted, and well filmed. It is in many ways a basic chase movie, but the twists and turns are satisfying and unexpected. I would recommend it to anyone who can handle a fair amount of violence and I found this movie fascinating, well acted, and well filmed. It is in many ways a basic chase movie, but the twists and turns are satisfying and unexpected. I would recommend it to anyone who can handle a fair amount of violence and bleakness. Also, I'm a bit baffled by some of the plot hole complaints other reviewers have made, e.g., the source of infertility (rather superfluous), why infertility would cause global chaos (rather obvious), etc. The plot may feel a little rushed at times, especially in the first 15 minutes, but there aren't any major flaws I found bothersome. All in all, highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
P.M.Dec 16, 2009
The cinematography alone merits a perfect score. It is revolutionary, pushing the boundaries of cinema like never before! It evokes powerful emotions and sends an important and highly relevant political message. Unfortunately, many have The cinematography alone merits a perfect score. It is revolutionary, pushing the boundaries of cinema like never before! It evokes powerful emotions and sends an important and highly relevant political message. Unfortunately, many have missed the point of the film. Complaints about realism and the lack of a proper resolution? I bet these people would try to make those very same complaints about Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Bladerunner, and other sci fi classics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarcieKDec 26, 2009
This movie is brilliant and the cinematography is astounding!
8 of 10 users found this helpful
10
RobVJan 29, 2009
Concerning Sibyl P's blind attempts to hurt this movies reputation, it wasn't about violence. It was about the hope new life brings in a world doomed by a fate of infertility. The scene when the man walks through a war zone Concerning Sibyl P's blind attempts to hurt this movies reputation, it wasn't about violence. It was about the hope new life brings in a world doomed by a fate of infertility. The scene when the man walks through a war zone carrying the baby which was born not more then a few hours ago, when everyone just stopped and looked at the child... That's what the movie was about. The death was the back drop of a world without meaning. That child gave it meaning. That's why the movie was so great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
moviegoergeekDec 16, 2006
Cuarón's virtuoso camerawork, shockingly dark lightning and a compelling story which speaks to right now makes this marvelous film a must-see. Children Of Men is this year's MUNICH.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenB.Dec 21, 2006
This is a very good movie, mostly because of Clive Owen. I'm not usually a huge fan, but he really does create a very likeable and believeable hero in this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomS.Dec 26, 2006
I don't like gratuitous violence, but this violent movie had violence for dramatic effect. Interesting premise. Thought provoking. What would life be without a future for our children and grand children?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bradmDec 28, 2006
Incredible. It has been two days since I saw it, and I can't stop thinking about the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bennyr.Dec 29, 2006
This is a real movie. Makes The Departed look like what it is...drivel. Children of Men is an actual best picture of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Anthony1111Jul 2, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It honestly seems like a lot of the negative reviewers don't look at the aching humanity that basically pours out of this film. The reason I felt it was great is because, while the plot may be simple, the emotion and, more importantly, the reaction of the characters, is incredibly well acted and scripted.
The film also seems to ask a lot of questions, most of which are terrifying in their implications, and that is exactly what kept me watching until the end.
For those of you who don't see character development: Do you honestly think the man Clive Owen portrayed in the beginning would be sitting in the boat with the baby at the end of the movie?
And we all know that even though it is only one baby, what would be the point in waving an endeavor to possibly save all of humanity as futility?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MultipurposeSep 15, 2011
As it has been said, you'll either love or hate this movie. Personally, as I enjoyed it, it's hard to understand why others dislike it. There's talk of poor character development, unanswered questions, etc. The problem is, with characterAs it has been said, you'll either love or hate this movie. Personally, as I enjoyed it, it's hard to understand why others dislike it. There's talk of poor character development, unanswered questions, etc. The problem is, with character development, if the protagonist goes on the traditional route (naive to weary to underdog to champion to victim etc.) it's completely cliche and it has been done thousands of times. You can go into a movie and you already know exactly how the character is going to react to every plot twist and curve that comes along, and it's boring! You know "well obviously, this every day regular guy is clearly going to reject the ludicrous things he is being told. Then slowly he is going to accept them, then embrace them, then champion them, and then get burned by them, and then redeem them".

So I'm happy when there's this character who comes along, and we don't need to spend an hour watching him reject the plot of the film, only to then embrace it. Not to mention, actually, there is quite a good amount of character development in this movie. I can't be bothered to explain it all, and if you missed it, obviously you weren't paying close enough attention, and that's not the directors or actors fault.

Regarding "unanswered questions". That was one of the themes of the entire movie (besides "hope"). No one knows what's going on. No one knows what the next day will bring. The rest of the civilised world has collapsed. What, did you want some scientist in a doctors coat and big classes, while holding some test tubes, to explain in the last 30 seconds of the movie what caused the sterility of the world, and what caused the female protagonist to become pregnant? These questions were left unanswered because, as is the theme of the movie, no one knows why. Basically, if you go into a movie wanting it to do something, you will always be disappointed, because it won't do what you want. If you go into a movie and strap yourself in and enjoy the ride, you're going to enjoy it. You can't blame a movie for not doing something you want it to do, especially if doing such a thing would destroy the entire theme of the movie. Great movie, 9/10, the cinematography was beautiful, some really professional and inspired work there.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
miwojApr 11, 2013
One of my all time favorites and one of those rare occurrences where movie is way better then a book it is based on. I watched it a dozen times and i will watch a dozen more time in the future.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MickJaguarOct 14, 2013
What an absolute gem of a movie. Overall, the movie was brilliantly conceptualized and executed. The world the movie paints seems like a world inhabited by actual people. The grim London streets inhabited by street toughs and desperate,What an absolute gem of a movie. Overall, the movie was brilliantly conceptualized and executed. The world the movie paints seems like a world inhabited by actual people. The grim London streets inhabited by street toughs and desperate, hungry immigrants, the prison camps in which immigrants are herded like cattle by the watchful eyes of sadistic military-police, the bombed out, Balkan-like war shelters all serve to transport the viewer into the dystopian future in which the movie is set in, as well as the desperation its inhabitants face. The stunning, visually arresting cinema verite cinematography also serves to heighten the sense of realism of the film. The jaw dropping camera work made me feel the chaos, fear, paranoia and confusion the characters felt in the brilliant conceived and executed action scenes. What a rush! While the bravura visual effects are worth the price of admission on its own, Cuaron does not skimp out on content. The film is a heady brew of ideas that riffs on everything from the nature of the police state, the widening economic disparity between the rich and the poor, immigrant rights to the vapidity of our tabloid-driven culture. However, Cuaron manages to convey these heady ideas without being preachy or overtly political. Cuaron seems to trust that the viewer is intelligent enough to draw his or her conclusions. However, the one aspect that ties it all together is the human element. The characters are well fleshed out and the actors brought brought incredible performances that bring the characters to life. Clive Owen brings a Humphrey Bogardian performance as the protagonist, Theo Farron, a world-weary cynic whose cynicism is rooted in pain. As Farron, Owen displays fear, paranoia, anguish (and even the vacant stare of a mindless office drone beat down by the daily grind of the 9-5). Yet Owen's Farron also displays humor, warmth, bravery and resiliency. In short, Owen's Farron is a complete human being, not the stock action hero caricature that is so prevalent in big budget Hollywood thrillers. Chiwetel Efiojor is at times both warm, but chilling and manic as the rebel leader Luke. Clare-Hope is a revelation as Kee. ****'s Kee displays the vulnerability of a teen in need of guidance, but also a fierce innate resolve and a sense of humor. The plot moves along at a brisk pace, until it ends in an ambiguous ending that leaves as much questions as answers. Indeed, that aspect bothers viewers who disliked the film. A minor quibble if you ask me. If you are an OCD afflicted math nerd who needs every plot strand to be bow-tied neatly, or a small-minded nitwit who needs to be shown everything, then you will probably dislike the movie. If, however, you enjoy well shot films that are not only entertaining on a visceral level but also have something to say, you will most definitely enjoy this film. One of my favorite movies for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NikolaiChernovJan 16, 2015
If you take the movie for what it is, it is a much more enjoyable experience rather than sitting their asking questions like, "How did this girl get pregnant in the first place?" Remember, it is just a movie, and an amazing one at that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews