Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1140 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
963
Mixed:
68
Negative:
109
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
BenHJun 1, 2009
Great filming.. but poorly developed characters, a complete lack of direction, point or cohesion and heaps of mindless violence and ugliness add up to equal the same old crap we've been shoveled for the last 30 years.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
1
BenJan 5, 2007
Truly lousy movie. This is one of the worst movies I've seen in years. I consider myself able to appreciate good, thoughtful, movies... but this was utter dreck. Uninspired, lacking a coherent plot, this movie was just mediocre. The Truly lousy movie. This is one of the worst movies I've seen in years. I consider myself able to appreciate good, thoughtful, movies... but this was utter dreck. Uninspired, lacking a coherent plot, this movie was just mediocre. The attempts to draw parallels to the current US administration, their policies, and the Iraq war were painful (department of homeland security, illegal immigrants, Iraq, etc), and felt like they were thrown in to make a point rather than add meaning to the movie. Overall plot and character development were weak, with absolutely no explanation of precipitating or tangential factors (why the infertility, what is the human project, etc). Unmoving, uncaptivating, uninspiring, unbelievable, unimaginative, unfortunate waste of $9.50. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
ApocalypseBrownMar 3, 2007
Pathetic! Tries hard to be something it can never be, which is classy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousMCApr 18, 2007
I recently rented this movie, and i though it was one of the worst movies i've ever seen. So much more could of been with the plot,. The director failed to keep the movie interesting, everything happened too quick and some of the scenesI recently rented this movie, and i though it was one of the worst movies i've ever seen. So much more could of been with the plot,. The director failed to keep the movie interesting, everything happened too quick and some of the scenes were pointless and kind of cheesy.
I expected so much more from this film and whoever thinks this movie was good obviosly does not know anything about films
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
This is one of the most boring and awful blockbusters with horrible acting, decorations, plot, and SFX, I've ever seen. It Definetely doesn't deserve 8 out of 10. Clive Owen plays a legal citizen in the post-apocalyptic world of This is one of the most boring and awful blockbusters with horrible acting, decorations, plot, and SFX, I've ever seen. It Definetely doesn't deserve 8 out of 10. Clive Owen plays a legal citizen in the post-apocalyptic world of NWO of the near future. He has to smuggle the last pregnant woman on Earth past the all seeing eyes of NWO spies in the city of London under marshall law. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JamesL.Jan 6, 2008
Boring mindless chase movie. Who's side are we supposed to root for? Problem is you tend not to care. The only thing I was rooting for were the closing credits.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MikeH.Jan 10, 2007
Obviously marketing for this movie deserves a TEN, but the actual content, the actual story, message, moral? ZERO... there IS NO MESSAGE TO THIS FILM. IT IS A CIPHER, it's just a rollercoaster with guns and violence, and the acting Obviously marketing for this movie deserves a TEN, but the actual content, the actual story, message, moral? ZERO... there IS NO MESSAGE TO THIS FILM. IT IS A CIPHER, it's just a rollercoaster with guns and violence, and the acting comes from being shot at and watching a woman have a baby... there's NO CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT. All bang, no substance, so why are people giving this film a TOP rating? I smell a HUGE RAT. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
IrwinJan 15, 2007
Hardly original, Children of Men
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JeffD.Jan 24, 2007
This movie has the same feel as "28 days later" yet fails to bring the audience in and allow them to care what's happening to the characters. Storyline had great potential but is filled with meaningless and uninteresting dialog as well This movie has the same feel as "28 days later" yet fails to bring the audience in and allow them to care what's happening to the characters. Storyline had great potential but is filled with meaningless and uninteresting dialog as well as an over-abundance of violence which adds nothing to the story or the progression of the characters themselves. A 2-hour waste of time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
V.MartinezJan 28, 2007
A stinker...Pop a chewable Prozac before you see this one, because it's bleeping depressing. The world falls completely apart in the next 20 years?? Must be global warming's fault. Underground rebels, fascist soldiers, more chase A stinker...Pop a chewable Prozac before you see this one, because it's bleeping depressing. The world falls completely apart in the next 20 years?? Must be global warming's fault. Underground rebels, fascist soldiers, more chase scenes, cliche here, cliche there. So many unanswered questions that I stopped caring about anything this movie tried to convey, namely that dogs can reproduce, but humans can't (shouldn't?) :0) Maybe Part II will be Puppies of Dogs. Seriously, there are so many people giving this mediocre movie a 9 or 10 that I think maybe our world might look like this in 20 years (me? I'll be in the 'Fugee' section begging for my $9 back). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DavidH.Jan 3, 2007
Indeed the world HAS gone bonkers when film academics give rave reviews to this kind of trite rubbish. Children of Men's meandering plotline is in no way helped by the film's confused allegory. Clive Owen is his usual turgid self. Indeed the world HAS gone bonkers when film academics give rave reviews to this kind of trite rubbish. Children of Men's meandering plotline is in no way helped by the film's confused allegory. Clive Owen is his usual turgid self. The film's social commentary is by equal measure myopic and simplistic. Action sequences, especially the finale, smack of similarities to films such as Downfall and the Pianist, the visuals throughout the film are tiresomely familiar to anyone accustomed to other sci-fi releases such as Blade Runner, Brazil, A.I and Minority Report. To top it all off, the drama is thin, exhibiting not a single memorable character. Shame, the editing is suberb. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
RichardF.Jan 8, 2007
What a piece of crap. The set design came directly from the computer game Half Life 2. The story was so thin as to be unbelievable. The premise of a new pregnancy as meaty enough to carry an entire film is laughable. As for the so-called What a piece of crap. The set design came directly from the computer game Half Life 2. The story was so thin as to be unbelievable. The premise of a new pregnancy as meaty enough to carry an entire film is laughable. As for the so-called critics- they just use movies as a vehicle for little essays that show their own clever use of words but show no insight into the film itself. Sign me disgusted. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GeorgeH.Jan 9, 2007
Could have been MUCH better than what the trailers lead us to believe. Standard chase film, nothing new or special and actually pretty tedious. I didn't give a hoot about Clive Owen's character or relationship with Julianne Moore. Could have been MUCH better than what the trailers lead us to believe. Standard chase film, nothing new or special and actually pretty tedious. I didn't give a hoot about Clive Owen's character or relationship with Julianne Moore. Michael was was especially annoying as his mentor. I found the most interesting characters to be either mute (the teen playing a futuristic video game at the breakfast table) or catatonic (Michael Caine's wife). Someone recently said, "Why is it that all storylines (with few exceptions) that take place in the future have a distinctly black/blue/grey look to them? What futiristic despot banned technincolor? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JosephFeb 12, 2007
I read many reviews before deciding to go see this movie. Every critic said there was a "clear message of hope" to be found in the movie. However, I found no message of hope. The political message was so painfully blunt and forced that it I read many reviews before deciding to go see this movie. Every critic said there was a "clear message of hope" to be found in the movie. However, I found no message of hope. The political message was so painfully blunt and forced that it made me cringe. Unfortunately, that political message is the only part of this movie with any substance. I still wish I had walked out of the theater when I first thought about it (about 30 minutes into it). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JeannieFeb 2, 2007
A dystopic, boring, depressing, confusing vision of the future, and very politicized for our present state of affairs. The "immigrant rights" angle is one case in point. Lots of logical inconsistencies, unsympathetic, poorly-developed A dystopic, boring, depressing, confusing vision of the future, and very politicized for our present state of affairs. The "immigrant rights" angle is one case in point. Lots of logical inconsistencies, unsympathetic, poorly-developed characters, melancholy cinematography, gratuitous violence. I would not recommend this piece of left-wing propaganda to anyone remotely optimistic about the future. And the "music" stunk. Thumbs down! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JohnF.Feb 3, 2007
I assume the high rating from people is more a political statement instead a true evaluation of the movie. I was very disapointed. The movie was slow and boring. The political message was beaten into us. I expected much better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JohnT.Mar 24, 2007
After reading all these reviews, maybe I saw the wrong movie. But it was horrible and pointless. Don't waste your time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DonaldC.Mar 27, 2007
The only thing half way interesting is that the child is born to a young black girl as it should be considering the black women is the mother of earth.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
0
MikeyGrayMar 31, 2007
Reminds me of those bad 1980s doomsday scifi action flicks, only with a less interesting plot, and even more lacking in character development.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MattMar 30, 2007
Well shot, simplistic, clumsily acted B movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DavidT.Apr 1, 2007
Shot VERY Well...Which is Half the Battle BUT a VERY Bad Story Line! Very Anit-Climatic!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AideenM.Apr 22, 2007
What a waste! So much could have been made of this plot: why was she the only woman to get pregnant? How did it happen? Who's the father? Instead, it was just one long, dreary, chase.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JoK.Apr 29, 2007
Thoroughly depressing - not enough story, too much unintelligable dialogue, drawn out action scene where basically anyone you grow any affection for is violently eradicated (why couldn't they have got rid off the guy with the blonde Thoroughly depressing - not enough story, too much unintelligable dialogue, drawn out action scene where basically anyone you grow any affection for is violently eradicated (why couldn't they have got rid off the guy with the blonde dreadlocks wayyyy earlier - and him finding them in Bexhill like that? Annoyingly improbable). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PeterJ.May 3, 2007
When I ready all of the reviews for this movie I could not wait to see it. The storyline looked awesome in retrospect. I was so disappointed that this turned into some kind of future concentration camp movie. I know the premise of this movie When I ready all of the reviews for this movie I could not wait to see it. The storyline looked awesome in retrospect. I was so disappointed that this turned into some kind of future concentration camp movie. I know the premise of this movie was unrealistic to being with, but I was looking for something a little more believeable... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JohnG.May 3, 2007
Liberal fear mongering. Keep your politics out of the plot and perhaps this movie would have been better. Characters were boring, the case boring, the action scenes boring. I don't mind having to think through a movie, but you can be Liberal fear mongering. Keep your politics out of the plot and perhaps this movie would have been better. Characters were boring, the case boring, the action scenes boring. I don't mind having to think through a movie, but you can be more clever than this drivel. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BrianK.Sep 1, 2007
This movie was terrible. There were just too many plot problems. Children of Men takes place in Britain in a futuristic age where humans can no longer reproduce. The only thing keeping my attention was the hope that the cause of the This movie was terrible. There were just too many plot problems. Children of Men takes place in Britain in a futuristic age where humans can no longer reproduce. The only thing keeping my attention was the hope that the cause of the infertility would be revealed. However, the only provided explanation is that about 20 years earlier, there was a disease going around, causing the change. Since this phenomenon drives the whole plot of the film, I would have preferred to have been given an explanation lasting more than 20 seconds. Also, I don't want to give too much away, but the ending isn't much of a conclusion. Rather, the camera just zooms out and no questions have been answered and the protagonist is still in the middle of his journey. I'm not saying that I wanted everything to be wrapped up neatly; I just want to see at least some form of finality. Another problem of mine was the characterization. In the middle of the film, people try to kill a woman because she's pregnant, yet, as soon as the baby's born, everybody suddenly becomes nice and peaceful. I understand that the director was trying to show the innocence of children, but going from murderous to crying and hugging in a matter of seconds is just too ridiculous. In addition, I had some problems with the filming. There were a couple of times when vision was distracted because of blood from the scene that splattered onto the camera. As a result, there's a whole scene in which the characters are running around, but I was fixated on the drops of liquid that were dripping down the screen. (Trust me, the blood was not there for a symbolic purpose.) In short, the idea of a futuristic world without fertility may have been a good idea, but the execution was dreadful. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
MartyH.Jun 6, 2008
This was a truly awful film, what a waste of nearly 2 hours. The film ended as abruptly as it started and left so many things unanswered, it made me wonder what the point was in sitting through such doom and gloom. There is no genius in this This was a truly awful film, what a waste of nearly 2 hours. The film ended as abruptly as it started and left so many things unanswered, it made me wonder what the point was in sitting through such doom and gloom. There is no genius in this film at all, despite what others may say. I would not even give it one star! Your time would be better spent watching paint dry! You have been warned! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SibylPJan 1, 2009
The cinematography, the art direction, are interesting, the cast is good except for Miriam and Kee (not so much), but all have been put to the service of a bogus vision. What the heck is the point? Infertility is hardly a problem in the real The cinematography, the art direction, are interesting, the cast is good except for Miriam and Kee (not so much), but all have been put to the service of a bogus vision. What the heck is the point? Infertility is hardly a problem in the real world. Overpopulation is more of a problem. In Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BenWDec 27, 2006
It is one thing to suspend belief for the plot's main storyline, but another to ignore the inconsistencies strewn throughout the movie. Why would the soldiers let them just wander off after discovering the only baby born in the last 18 years?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
HollyR.Jan 10, 2007
Blade Runner is my all time favorite film, and while I appreciated the cinematography, special effects and gritty futuristic look of a world in ruins (Children Of Men), the significance of getting this pregnant woman/new baby to the "Human Blade Runner is my all time favorite film, and while I appreciated the cinematography, special effects and gritty futuristic look of a world in ruins (Children Of Men), the significance of getting this pregnant woman/new baby to the "Human Project" was not explained at all. This movie has nothing on BR, not even in your wildest dreams!!! Sorry. How was the Human Project going to fix the problem of infertility in the world? How was one baby going to fix it? Nothing about this was ever explained and the ending was so abrupt it was like they ran out of time. A good movie considers these questions and answers them. I don't buy the whole "it makes you think" crap. That is a total cop-out. Good movies wrap things up. These problems were so huge it totally ruined the rest of an otherwise good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful