Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1083 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
913
Mixed:
63
Negative:
107
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
DavidJan 11, 2007
I'm really torn on this movie. The underground hype has really blossomed and I was very excited to see it. Maybe that worked against me. Perhaps if I'd gone in with mediocre expectations, I would have been pleasantly surprised. I I'm really torn on this movie. The underground hype has really blossomed and I was very excited to see it. Maybe that worked against me. Perhaps if I'd gone in with mediocre expectations, I would have been pleasantly surprised. I gave this movie a five because it does propose a plausable future in a realistic manner. But, like so may other viewers, I was left with more questions than answers. I didn't expect every question to be answered, but so many are left resolved. What is the Human Project? Why is NO ONE questioning how this girl got pregnant?!!! Arrgghhhh... Still, probably worth the admission just to say I saw it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MorningtonOct 23, 2010
I feel that Children of Men is an electric motion picture that is both original and evocative of early cinema, where the skilled manipulation of the viewer is carried out to evoke raw, visceral feelings that are primeval within us.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ErikApr 1, 2007
One of those movies you wish would never end. The sets are wonderful. The characters are likable and believable. An excellent anti-utopia with tense action scenes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ElisabethN.Jan 12, 2007
An excellent and deeply disturbing film, that ended five minutes early.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinA.Jan 6, 2007
The best movie I've seen from 2006. Everything is not all wrapped up at the end - and that's a great thing as it allows our imagination be a part of the story. I purposefully did not read any reviews or plot synopsis's going The best movie I've seen from 2006. Everything is not all wrapped up at the end - and that's a great thing as it allows our imagination be a part of the story. I purposefully did not read any reviews or plot synopsis's going in, and was duly rewarded. Thus, I'm not going to say anything about the plot. I'll just say this: This is what a movie is supposed to feel like. Brilliant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BruceR.Feb 3, 2007
Without question, the best film of 2006 and, for me, the best film of the last ten years. Superb!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KalenK.Apr 23, 2007
I am honestly shocked to see that so many people gave this brilliant film such low scores. There's always one or two people that just do not GET a movie and give it low scores, but this is astounding. There is no possible way this movie I am honestly shocked to see that so many people gave this brilliant film such low scores. There's always one or two people that just do not GET a movie and give it low scores, but this is astounding. There is no possible way this movie deserves a 2 or less. Ridiculous. If you have not seen it, this is one time you should listen to the pro reviews above and ignore the commenting idiots down here. (sure, me too, that's fine). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DarcieKDec 26, 2009
This movie is brilliant and the cinematography is astounding!
8 of 10 users found this helpful
9
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
Although it leaves you wondering what happened, this is a movie that sticks in your brain. Like a good meal, you will think about it afterward. Disturbing and entertaining.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
NF123Aug 23, 2010
Alright, I thought the film pushed too hard on immigration politics as a couple of critics noted but aside from that I don't have a problem with it, at all. The charachters are superb and in the beginning and middle we're given a chance toAlright, I thought the film pushed too hard on immigration politics as a couple of critics noted but aside from that I don't have a problem with it, at all. The charachters are superb and in the beginning and middle we're given a chance to know about them, but then at the end the film literally explodes and throws you in the middle of a war with the most intense action scenes since saving private ryan. It does this very smoothly aswell to the point where you don't mind that it's really become a different film. I don't really use this word a lot because I think it's shamefully overused in the metacritic user reviews and critics themselves overuse it, but this film is quite simply a Masterpiece. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
dijavantewowOct 17, 2010
The one long, one-shot scene alone was enough to make anyone realize that the cinematography is above the rest. The plot is interesting, and I do like where the director goes with it. I liked this movie, and was under the impression that mostThe one long, one-shot scene alone was enough to make anyone realize that the cinematography is above the rest. The plot is interesting, and I do like where the director goes with it. I liked this movie, and was under the impression that most thought it was just okay, until I saw this page. I'm glad more people agree with me, because this one was impressive. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuOct 15, 2012
Children of Men is a thunderously exciting film, featuring amazing performances and fantastic action scenes. The sci-fi flavored world the movie creates is also utterly convincing. Children of Men is brilliant from start to finish.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
DamienDarko777May 6, 2011
I'd have to say this is one of the best science fiction movies ever made. The cinematography, the performances, the music, the story, everything about it excels. The director convincingly presents a bleak near-future where humanity has goneI'd have to say this is one of the best science fiction movies ever made. The cinematography, the performances, the music, the story, everything about it excels. The director convincingly presents a bleak near-future where humanity has gone infertile and is slowly dying out. Add in gut-wrenching action scenes, a particularly wonderful performance by Michael Caine, and an anti-fascist subtext, and you have a brilliant humanistic tale. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
cabritaAug 31, 2012
The film succeeds because of it's dramatic power. this is a result of the great camera work and great acting. However I found the films themes to be a bit week but this is a really weak criticism.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
TyeN.Jan 29, 2007
Children of Men is the best film of 2006. Hands down. It's so good, it easily makes my top 5 films of all time. Alfonso Cuaron has crafted the most important film of the year, and one that will be remembered for generations to come. Children of Men is the best film of 2006. Hands down. It's so good, it easily makes my top 5 films of all time. Alfonso Cuaron has crafted the most important film of the year, and one that will be remembered for generations to come. Clive Owen brings quiet anger and desperation as Theo, an ex-activist who, like everyone else on Earth, is mourning the loss of Baby Diego, an 18-year-old who is the last born person on the planet. The year is 2027, and everyone has been mysteriously infertile since 2009. Terrorism is rampant, and the country (the film takes place in Great Britain) is in lockdown. However, small rebel groups are sill trying to figure this mystery out on their own. Among them are the Fishes, lead by Julian (Julianne Moore), an activist, and ex-lover of Theo, with the passion of having lost a child. Julian is a woman who finds answers at any cost, and due to his pull, she needs Theo. Once he's pulled into her plan (he initially does it for money, but you get the sense that there's still some spark left in their romance), he can't get out. Theo is a man who has lost hope, but he is reminded that hope exists when he's introduced to Kee (Claire-Hope Ashitey), a young woman who is pregnant and desperately needs the aid of sources outside of Britain. Using all of his resources, including his stoner compadre Jasper (a wonderful Michael Caine), Theo vows to help Kee, a living miracle who brings hope back to a man who believed it was lost forever. Cuaron's directing is top-notch, and he was robbed of an Oscar nomination. And the performances; some of the best of the year. Owen is a force to be reckoned with. He perfectly captures the sadness, the menace, and the compassion lurking beneath Theo's rough exterior. Caine is a hoot and a heart-breaker as Jasper, a man who has faith in a world that has lost their's. As Julian, Moore is fierce as a one-woman army of integrity and force. And as Kee, new comer Claire-Hope Ashitey makes Kee a young girl forced to become a woman, and one of strong will. With no one to use as a reference for pregnancy, she's a scared girl that is going through something that is not only life changing, but history making. Children of Men is fantastic film making, and brings about a message of hope in desperate and challenging times. It really couldn't have come at a better time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JeannieFeb 2, 2007
A dystopic, boring, depressing, confusing vision of the future, and very politicized for our present state of affairs. The "immigrant rights" angle is one case in point. Lots of logical inconsistencies, unsympathetic, poorly-developed A dystopic, boring, depressing, confusing vision of the future, and very politicized for our present state of affairs. The "immigrant rights" angle is one case in point. Lots of logical inconsistencies, unsympathetic, poorly-developed characters, melancholy cinematography, gratuitous violence. I would not recommend this piece of left-wing propaganda to anyone remotely optimistic about the future. And the "music" stunk. Thumbs down! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
csw12May 29, 2014
Children of Men for the most part is extremely boring and only by the end kicks into another gear that started to grab my attention. Barely anything is explained and nothing is answered.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
3
SpangleJul 3, 2014
This one was a major disappointment for me. I will start off with the few positives before moving into the negatives. Firstly, the acting was good, especially from Clive Owen, Julianne Moore, and then Chiwetel Ejiofor and Charlie Hunnam isThis one was a major disappointment for me. I will start off with the few positives before moving into the negatives. Firstly, the acting was good, especially from Clive Owen, Julianne Moore, and then Chiwetel Ejiofor and Charlie Hunnam is smaller roles. In addition, the cinematography here is great, especially during action sequences. The whole film has this really cool video game esque feel to what unfolds that is just missing the prompts for what you are supposed to do next. In addition, the colors here are great, as the gray everywhere really sums up the despair. Now, for the negatives. There are not a ton, but they are big enough to really hamper this one. Firstly, the story sucks. In premise, it sounds good, but in practice it is boring and uninteresting. In addition, there needs to be some kind of introduction to this world. Many things are occuring in this film and it never really explains why. I know that Cuaron hates backstory, but it is needed in this type of film to allow the audience to understand this futuristic setting. Without it, the audience is left guessing as to why the events are happening. Another major issue surrounds one of the deaths in this film, as it is hinted that it was a specific reason, but the reason is murky at best and really needed better explaining. It is a very important sequence, yet the reasoning behind is left largely unanswered. The script is also pretty bad in most parts as the dialogue had me cringing quite frequently. It all felt very unnatural and poorly worded. Finally, Clara-Hope **** is quite annoying and since she had a large role, it really subtracted from the overall film. Many find this film to be thought-provoking and cautionary. I cannot help but agree, as it left me wondering how it got so much praise and a warning to not trust the general consensus all the time. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
NorthernLad79Nov 22, 2012
There's no "there" there. Some action scenes, some sadness, no moral of the story. Huge plot holes and unrealistic escapes, etc. Doesn't make you think.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
TheDarkSide15Dec 8, 2010
I sort of enjoyed the movie for a while until the nonsense about refuge camps and when it started to look like all this film brought up was questions with no cohession. Specifically if you think the characters developed and evolved throughoutI sort of enjoyed the movie for a while until the nonsense about refuge camps and when it started to look like all this film brought up was questions with no cohession. Specifically if you think the characters developed and evolved throughout the movie and that all the different ideas were stuck together well then you are nuts. Yes the music may have been good or the photos, I dont know and dont really care. I disagree that the ending was crap in that if the director was trying to convey how nuts people hand gone by believeing in some mythical humainity project and that it was just an ordinary boat then yes it was actually quite a good ending, if.... I thought thats what it might have been about how he just failed at the finish line and that the woman was saved by fishermen. The camp thing was nuts, if the regime was so oppresive they would have just killed them all and it seemed to morp from an anti fuji thing at start of movie into an anti muslim thing and there were also causcasians in there, very bizare. Plus the fact he was only hit in the arms(v.unlikely) and that being hit in the arms twice killed him(not so likely). Never explaine why infertility was there and what difference one baby could have made. If they had made this about scientists rushing to understand say a cure for a disease and their being a fascist regime only using it on non-illegal immigrants it would have been a much better movie. Or they could have gone down the whole chase route more throughtly and made human project a peacful orginization protecting the baby from the fishies. Or even the "terrorits" could have been **** who created a disease through gene technology by accident, who were hated but were also required to solve the same issue they created, all of these different scenarios would have been much deeper than what was presented -nothing. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
3
BrianK.Sep 1, 2007
This movie was terrible. There were just too many plot problems. Children of Men takes place in Britain in a futuristic age where humans can no longer reproduce. The only thing keeping my attention was the hope that the cause of the This movie was terrible. There were just too many plot problems. Children of Men takes place in Britain in a futuristic age where humans can no longer reproduce. The only thing keeping my attention was the hope that the cause of the infertility would be revealed. However, the only provided explanation is that about 20 years earlier, there was a disease going around, causing the change. Since this phenomenon drives the whole plot of the film, I would have preferred to have been given an explanation lasting more than 20 seconds. Also, I don't want to give too much away, but the ending isn't much of a conclusion. Rather, the camera just zooms out and no questions have been answered and the protagonist is still in the middle of his journey. I'm not saying that I wanted everything to be wrapped up neatly; I just want to see at least some form of finality. Another problem of mine was the characterization. In the middle of the film, people try to kill a woman because she's pregnant, yet, as soon as the baby's born, everybody suddenly becomes nice and peaceful. I understand that the director was trying to show the innocence of children, but going from murderous to crying and hugging in a matter of seconds is just too ridiculous. In addition, I had some problems with the filming. There were a couple of times when vision was distracted because of blood from the scene that splattered onto the camera. As a result, there's a whole scene in which the characters are running around, but I was fixated on the drops of liquid that were dripping down the screen. (Trust me, the blood was not there for a symbolic purpose.) In short, the idea of a futuristic world without fertility may have been a good idea, but the execution was dreadful. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
6
ovi_bzFeb 21, 2011
I think that this movie is pushing things a little to much. I'm not expecting that a SF movie to be realistic, but is neither a SF nor a realistic movie. I consider this the major defect of the movie. The actors are not impressing much. AI think that this movie is pushing things a little to much. I'm not expecting that a SF movie to be realistic, but is neither a SF nor a realistic movie. I consider this the major defect of the movie. The actors are not impressing much. A part of the idea of having the humanity saved by a birth of a child nothing is notable. Is anyone asking how Kee became pregnant in that circumstances? Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
3
BenHJun 1, 2009
Great filming.. but poorly developed characters, a complete lack of direction, point or cohesion and heaps of mindless violence and ugliness add up to equal the same old crap we've been shoveled for the last 30 years.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
1
DonaldC.Mar 27, 2007
The only thing half way interesting is that the child is born to a young black girl as it should be considering the black women is the mother of earth.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
5
[Anonymous]Jan 2, 2007
It seemed to me as if this movie was one large indecision. It couldn't decide what movie it wanted to be because sometimes it felt like it was an action-thriller and then it throws in waaaay to much unbelievable humor followed by a hint It seemed to me as if this movie was one large indecision. It couldn't decide what movie it wanted to be because sometimes it felt like it was an action-thriller and then it throws in waaaay to much unbelievable humor followed by a hint of a biblical allusion and then a political jab all suggesting that I shouldnt have bothered. Rent it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
BenJan 5, 2007
Truly lousy movie. This is one of the worst movies I've seen in years. I consider myself able to appreciate good, thoughtful, movies... but this was utter dreck. Uninspired, lacking a coherent plot, this movie was just mediocre. The Truly lousy movie. This is one of the worst movies I've seen in years. I consider myself able to appreciate good, thoughtful, movies... but this was utter dreck. Uninspired, lacking a coherent plot, this movie was just mediocre. The attempts to draw parallels to the current US administration, their policies, and the Iraq war were painful (department of homeland security, illegal immigrants, Iraq, etc), and felt like they were thrown in to make a point rather than add meaning to the movie. Overall plot and character development were weak, with absolutely no explanation of precipitating or tangential factors (why the infertility, what is the human project, etc). Unmoving, uncaptivating, uninspiring, unbelievable, unimaginative, unfortunate waste of $9.50. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
ApocalypseBrownMar 3, 2007
Pathetic! Tries hard to be something it can never be, which is classy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousMCApr 18, 2007
I recently rented this movie, and i though it was one of the worst movies i've ever seen. So much more could of been with the plot,. The director failed to keep the movie interesting, everything happened too quick and some of the scenesI recently rented this movie, and i though it was one of the worst movies i've ever seen. So much more could of been with the plot,. The director failed to keep the movie interesting, everything happened too quick and some of the scenes were pointless and kind of cheesy.
I expected so much more from this film and whoever thinks this movie was good obviosly does not know anything about films
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
This is one of the most boring and awful blockbusters with horrible acting, decorations, plot, and SFX, I've ever seen. It Definetely doesn't deserve 8 out of 10. Clive Owen plays a legal citizen in the post-apocalyptic world of This is one of the most boring and awful blockbusters with horrible acting, decorations, plot, and SFX, I've ever seen. It Definetely doesn't deserve 8 out of 10. Clive Owen plays a legal citizen in the post-apocalyptic world of NWO of the near future. He has to smuggle the last pregnant woman on Earth past the all seeing eyes of NWO spies in the city of London under marshall law. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JamesL.Jan 6, 2008
Boring mindless chase movie. Who's side are we supposed to root for? Problem is you tend not to care. The only thing I was rooting for were the closing credits.
0 of 1 users found this helpful