Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1118 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
944
Mixed:
66
Negative:
108
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
seao.Nov 7, 2007
A very, very bad film, full of the usual dystopian cliches and a plot that amounts to nothing. The acting is poor (the 'fugees (ugh) in the early scenes seem to have been bussed in from a zombie movie).and the characters are all badly A very, very bad film, full of the usual dystopian cliches and a plot that amounts to nothing. The acting is poor (the 'fugees (ugh) in the early scenes seem to have been bussed in from a zombie movie).and the characters are all badly drawn. The exposition at the beginning is unbelievably clunky. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndrewG.Jan 19, 2007
1) Premise is a more secular rip off of the god awful "Left Behind" series. 2) Reminded me of War of the Worlds in the way that most of the action played out. 3) Stupid, unbelievable things happened at very important points in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SethC.Oct 19, 2007
Put me in the baffled camp. I would list A Clockwork Orange as my favorite movie ever (as some here have compared this to that masterpiece), but this movie was terrible. 1) why did everyone become infertile? Did it happen all at once, or Put me in the baffled camp. I would list A Clockwork Orange as my favorite movie ever (as some here have compared this to that masterpiece), but this movie was terrible. 1) why did everyone become infertile? Did it happen all at once, or gradually? 2) Why all the panic. You would think that scientists would be busily trying to figure it out while everyone else supported their effort. 3) What does immigration have to do with any of this? 4) When someone finally gets pregnant, why not let the scientists study her... you know, so that the Human Race will be saved. 5) What good does 1 kid do? Can that kid reproduce with any of the other sterile Earthlings? I could go on and on. Besides that, it was a boring barrage of violence from the old cliche of futuristic distopian mobs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ShermanS.Jan 23, 2007
I found this movie quite tedious. There was chaos everywhere but you never saw the government behind it, just the results. It was clear that any moment the characters in the movie realized they could only expect the worst, so there was no I found this movie quite tedious. There was chaos everywhere but you never saw the government behind it, just the results. It was clear that any moment the characters in the movie realized they could only expect the worst, so there was no surprise that the worst happened. They really had little control over anything and so I didn't care what happened and was glad when the movie was over. I think to care would have been like rooting for a pinball as it bounced around in its game-bound world. Not likely. There have been plenty of chaotic/anarchic views of the future in movies and this film did nothing new for me. Go see V for Vendetta; at least it makes a political statement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GlennF.Jan 28, 2007
Random, nihilistic, and violent. I kept waiting for an explanation for the improbable political and military decisions, which never came. Defies scientific explanation as well. Well-shot sequences in a boring bummer of a film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CassandraFeb 12, 2007
Behold a boring leftist fantasy (replete with cheap, already dated, political shots) masquerading as something deep. Fine acting (mostly wasted) and technical virtuosity do not a good story make. I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BobS.Feb 16, 2007
THe film's story seems to be made up as they went along. It is often just inane. Although I liked much of the acting, story is important too and this film lacks a coherent one, and we have violence for the sake of violence. A wasted effort.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AaronL.Apr 15, 2007
It is ironic how many of the good reviews for this film cite ignorance as the reason why others have hailed this movie as abysmal. Ignorance is failing to uncover the logical fallacies inherent in this deplorable attempt at enlightenment. It is ironic how many of the good reviews for this film cite ignorance as the reason why others have hailed this movie as abysmal. Ignorance is failing to uncover the logical fallacies inherent in this deplorable attempt at enlightenment. This film only contains true meaning for those too ignorant to see past mirage that is this vile realm. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnI.May 11, 2007
I picked htis up at Hollywood video store as a used DVD; I wish I hadn't. From the looks of the DVD case, it looked like it would be action packed but I thought wrong. This was actually the worst movie I have ever seen ever; MUCH worse I picked htis up at Hollywood video store as a used DVD; I wish I hadn't. From the looks of the DVD case, it looked like it would be action packed but I thought wrong. This was actually the worst movie I have ever seen ever; MUCH worse than the cheesiest Sci-fi channel movie you've ever seen, and worser than a "booty shaking" video on youtube. This movie just fails ar everything; it had a intriguing thing in mind(mysterious infertility in the human race) but they didn't have anything to show for it in the actual movie. The one pregnant woman is running away from people, to who knows where, and when they get there, they continue running..When the finally escape to wherever they are trying to get to, the movie cuts off..Seriously, I wish I could unwatch this movie, get my money back, and make sure no one else has to watse their time with this bull. If anyone should think this movie is good in any kind of way except being absolute crap, this must be the first piece of "entertainment" they have ever come in cotnact with. I so desperately wish you could give this lower than a 1, but a 1 is alot more than this crap deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MarkkJul 18, 2008
The first half hour or so is ok but then the film just completely collapses. What a horrible script. It turns into a mindless chase flick. If you like checking your mind out when you watch dumb films see it but everyone else should avoid it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
earwaxDec 29, 2006
Nicely filmed. plot kind of sucked. too many unanswered questions. totally implausable premise. to hard accept the idea that humans can't reproduce.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BiasNov 22, 2016
We were hard up for a movie to watch last night so I looked through ye old catalogue of post-apocalypse movies and saw this one. I vaguely remember enjoying this one, but remembered it dimly enough to have another crack at it. It's set in aWe were hard up for a movie to watch last night so I looked through ye old catalogue of post-apocalypse movies and saw this one. I vaguely remember enjoying this one, but remembered it dimly enough to have another crack at it. It's set in a time when humans mysteriously can no longer have children and follows an alcoholic government worker/ex anti-government activist. Anyway, the ending didn't blow me away. I must be old and jaded or something. So much operatic angelic bitter sweet hymnal stuff. I'll give it a 6 because I didn't hate it and there are some interesting themes in there.

There's a bug saying that my vote is 0 points, dunno why, maybe this website is meta critical
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews