Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1097 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
925
Mixed:
65
Negative:
107
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JamesMJan 4, 2007
An instant classic, remarkably rich in detail on every level, remarkably expressive in its use of every cinematic tool, and remarkably successful in exploring its ambitious themes and ideas. Required viewing for everyone on this planet, this An instant classic, remarkably rich in detail on every level, remarkably expressive in its use of every cinematic tool, and remarkably successful in exploring its ambitious themes and ideas. Required viewing for everyone on this planet, this is not just the film of the year, but the film of decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
A.R.L.Jan 4, 2007
An epic movie with many dystopian elements. Amazingly directed creating a memorizing environment which places you in the movie. Michael Caine gives a charming performance of optimism. Clive Owen plays somewhat of a working class hero which An epic movie with many dystopian elements. Amazingly directed creating a memorizing environment which places you in the movie. Michael Caine gives a charming performance of optimism. Clive Owen plays somewhat of a working class hero which is reflected by the musical theme of the movie. I could watch it over and over and over. In fact I already have, ha! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
aaronJan 5, 2007
Chilling, horrible, thought-provoking, gripping, original, and scariest of all--a real possibility in the not to distant future. This is an absolute must-see for any movie enthusiast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BilBJan 5, 2007
Set in a believable future year 2027, this film is entertaining enough. I could have done without so much humor. The cinematography, especially during the fight scene in which Clive Owen makes his run for Key is amazing. Complete with blood Set in a believable future year 2027, this film is entertaining enough. I could have done without so much humor. The cinematography, especially during the fight scene in which Clive Owen makes his run for Key is amazing. Complete with blood on the lens and very real looking combat. This alone should make the movie worth watching by every aspiring cinematographer. Overall: a solid 8 in my book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GMDKJan 6, 2007
Spectacular and ravishing, Alfonso Cuaron proves once again he is one of the greatest filmmakers we have ever seen.But the thing Cuaron really knows how to do is give realistic emotion to the characters;because of him,we can feel for any Spectacular and ravishing, Alfonso Cuaron proves once again he is one of the greatest filmmakers we have ever seen.But the thing Cuaron really knows how to do is give realistic emotion to the characters;because of him,we can feel for any character on screen.Rarely can a movie director pull that off.The best picture of the year,in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TrudiB.Jan 6, 2007
Brilliant movie, which grabbed me immediately and hasn't let go yet. Some here have mentioned "unanswered questions" and "inconsistencies," but I found it to be deeply thought provoking. When I can spend time after walking out of a Brilliant movie, which grabbed me immediately and hasn't let go yet. Some here have mentioned "unanswered questions" and "inconsistencies," but I found it to be deeply thought provoking. When I can spend time after walking out of a theater still going over the film, wondering, piecing together, analyzing -- then I feel like I've really got my money's worth. Cuaron makes it believable, in that there are so many different reactions to the situation in which humanity finds itself 18 years after the last child is born. Those who turn to (self-flagellating) religious cults, the deniers, those who just don't think about it, the government and big companies who continue on through sheer force of momentum, the angry rebels, the solution seekers, the hopelessly depressed who turn to quiet suicice. All of this is presented almost as background, in flashes of imagery or brief sequences. The reactions to the death of Baby Diego in the opening scene took me right back to September 11, the numb shock that overtook us all that day. There was so much packed into this movie (my husband caught things I didn't, and vice-versa), that I intend to see it again unencumbered by the anxiety of "what happens next?" I will also eagerly await Cuaron's next film; my respect for him has grown with each of his movies, and I expect even greater works from him in the (hopefully not this bleak) future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinB.Jan 6, 2007
Spectacular cinematography and layout throughout of the movie. Deep intellectual thinking and symbology tie seamlessly into the movie and gives one a chance to think about today's complications. Beautifully ended to give chance of imagination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JulietT.Jan 6, 2007
The first movie in which the portrayal of the future seems both palpable and imminent. The future is not some far-off land dotted with replicants and cyborgs, rather, a grim and grainy place with immigrant camps, terrorists, and bombs filmed The first movie in which the portrayal of the future seems both palpable and imminent. The future is not some far-off land dotted with replicants and cyborgs, rather, a grim and grainy place with immigrant camps, terrorists, and bombs filmed with amazing fluid shots. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeathQuinnJan 7, 2007
Brilliant. Not Boring in any moment. The cinematography is unbelievable!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SueJan 7, 2007
This movie is not viewed with the thought that this is either a good or bad film. The story is that important and complex. Frightening and intriguing is the concept that only one small area of the world will be barely civilized with the This movie is not viewed with the thought that this is either a good or bad film. The story is that important and complex. Frightening and intriguing is the concept that only one small area of the world will be barely civilized with the remainder of the world struggling to enter. Even more frightening is the realization that much of the story is not science fiction, is not of the future...it is now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanC.Jan 7, 2007
An incredibly moving Sci-Fi film. Very heavy. Not a film you can recommend to everyone becuase of its depressing subject matter but in all ways a fantastic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattS.Jan 8, 2007
Don't read any of the reviews, just see the movie. I rarely hand out a score of 10 to anything--even women--but this movie astonished me. I disagree with critics who declare that the story is not credible--that a siege in Seattle that Don't read any of the reviews, just see the movie. I rarely hand out a score of 10 to anything--even women--but this movie astonished me. I disagree with critics who declare that the story is not credible--that a siege in Seattle that lasts a thousand days makes no sense. I believe that people would slowly go insane in a world where the human race is sterile. To be faced with the mortality of humanity, not just oneself, is terrifying and just cause for civilization to collapse. A great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyM.Jan 8, 2007
One of the very best films of the last five years, this film is absolutely stunning. Cuaron has done it yet again, and he's at the top of his game. Of course the cinematography and music are obvious standouts, but its the film's One of the very best films of the last five years, this film is absolutely stunning. Cuaron has done it yet again, and he's at the top of his game. Of course the cinematography and music are obvious standouts, but its the film's ability to allow the viewer to think for themselves that makes this a fantastic movie. We aren't given a back story or anything. That's not what the movie's about. It's been 18 years since the last child, and since then, most people don't talk about the reason...they just accept it and moved on. That's why it is never explained. Having someone 18 years after the fact sit there and explain every little thing just so we as audiences don't think for ourselves, well that's ridiculous. That's Cuaron's greatest gift and achievement: believing in his audience. As for the lot of you that need everything explained, go see Night at the Museum. Leave the thinking to us. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichealY.Jan 9, 2007
This is one of the most unforgettable films I have ever seen. Cuaron wastes no time, thrusting you directly into the plot and never letting up for the entire 109 minutes. And what a plot it is - I won't spoil anything, but this is a This is one of the most unforgettable films I have ever seen. Cuaron wastes no time, thrusting you directly into the plot and never letting up for the entire 109 minutes. And what a plot it is - I won't spoil anything, but this is a very relevent tale and I believe everyone can learn a thing or two from it. The intriguing thing about the film is the screen play; it doesn't give too many details or much backstory on a lot of things, so it leaves the audience feeling as clueless about certain things as Clive Owen's character (after all, no one is omniscient) which makes the experience much more believable. Everyone already knows about the brilliant cinematography. Most complaints I've heard have been that it leaves many questions unanswered. There are some that aren't, and for good reason (see the script comment above), but this is a very fast paced film and you must not divert your attention for a second or you may miss something. This is the most believable and horrific presentation of the future I have ever seen. A great film with something for everyone, this is by far the best film of the decade and one of the best I have ever seen. It will be a shame if the film and Cuaron get snubbed come Oscar time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricJ.Feb 13, 2007
This movie was excellent. It's more about human nature than politics. The government isn't the villain of the movie. In fact, it's the rebels that betray their own. Those who see the movie for something it isn't only This movie was excellent. It's more about human nature than politics. The government isn't the villain of the movie. In fact, it's the rebels that betray their own. Those who see the movie for something it isn't only prove the point. We all have our own agenda, and only a few manage to break the pattern. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrewFeb 17, 2007
Cassandra, sounds like your typical brain washed fox news fangirl (did I leave out brain washed christian too?). Why do people let their second-hand opinions about politics and religion, dictate their opinions that they actually have control Cassandra, sounds like your typical brain washed fox news fangirl (did I leave out brain washed christian too?). Why do people let their second-hand opinions about politics and religion, dictate their opinions that they actually have control over? This movie was much better than a 1. Good acting and great technical prowless 9 times out of 10 trumps anything that usually comes out of Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeC.Feb 18, 2007
This was the best movie I saw all year, hands down. The cinematography alone will capture your mind and not let go. If you haven't seen it, do yourself a favor and go now!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HariS.Feb 21, 2007
The best movie of 2006, perfect. Original, emotional, intelligent, dark. Great script, great characters, great story. And the best of it is the amazing approach of Alfonso Cuaron. Amazing
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonoymous]Feb 22, 2007
I just got back from giving Babel a 2. Mainly because it failed miserably at everything this movie was able to accomplish. Children of Men is much more relevent to our worried and paranoid times, and top that off with some flat out I just got back from giving Babel a 2. Mainly because it failed miserably at everything this movie was able to accomplish. Children of Men is much more relevent to our worried and paranoid times, and top that off with some flat out mindblowing scenes (those who have seen it know which one in particular I'm talking about). Babel takes our fears as a society and does nothing but exploit them as Oscar bait. Children doesn't use them, but shows us our fears in order to bring us closer as a race and give us hope. Easily the most important film to come from post-9/11 cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshC.Feb 3, 2007
An excellent adaptation of a compelling novel. The difference between the two is a telling comment on our post 9/11 world. Whereas the novel depicts a benevolent but ineffectual government helping its aging citizens come to terms with the An excellent adaptation of a compelling novel. The difference between the two is a telling comment on our post 9/11 world. Whereas the novel depicts a benevolent but ineffectual government helping its aging citizens come to terms with the extinction of their species, the movie shows a grim and fiercely defensive government locking down the last surviving bastion of civilization. The end results of both are the same: a semi-hopeful yet resigned plunge into the inevitable. The image from the movie that continues to haunt me is one of a mushroom cloud over Manhattan that appears in a montage show on a video screen while Theo rides the bus. It's a grimly familiar site that grips me with a deep chill. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BouncerFeb 9, 2007
Politics from any side turns people into monsters. Left wingers are not immune to the politicized images presented. To think that this film is solely a critique of the Bush administration is a farcical statement at best. There is a reason Politics from any side turns people into monsters. Left wingers are not immune to the politicized images presented. To think that this film is solely a critique of the Bush administration is a farcical statement at best. There is a reason why the camera follows the action over Clive Owen's shoulder, and not anyone else's. Clive Owen is no bleeding heart liberal--the movie makes that much clear--so put the ideology away and watch a masterpiece in character development unfold in some of those rivettingly shot scenes in cinematic history. Boom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoshMar 3, 2007
Children of Men is filled with engaging and dynamic performances, skillful direction and perfect cinematography. The screenplay captures the poignancy of the P.D. James book and paints a vivid picture of where the world may be ten years from Children of Men is filled with engaging and dynamic performances, skillful direction and perfect cinematography. The screenplay captures the poignancy of the P.D. James book and paints a vivid picture of where the world may be ten years from now. Clive Owen, Julianne Moore, Michael Caine and Chiwetel Ejiofor offer excellent and intelligent performances in what is the most underrated movie of 2006. Please see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErakMar 3, 2007
Easily the most intense movie I've seen since Aliens. It's also the first movie I've ever seen that made both myself and my teetotaling fiancee utter "I need a drink".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KennyM.Mar 30, 2007
Unbelievable. I didn't even blink until it was over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshCApr 1, 2007
i dont need to praise this unique, wonderful film any more than it has been. im just here to laugh at the people who give it 0 or 1, to be contrary and make a spectacle of themselves. get back to confessions of a window cleaner! its alli dont need to praise this unique, wonderful film any more than it has been. im just here to laugh at the people who give it 0 or 1, to be contrary and make a spectacle of themselves. get back to confessions of a window cleaner! its all you're good for! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Apr 1, 2007
Theo(Clive Owen) sees, but he doesn't see the people in cages that plethorically mar the urban landscape of a police state-England. Or does he? It's hard to tell if Theo's neutral countenance is one of arctic indifference, or Theo(Clive Owen) sees, but he doesn't see the people in cages that plethorically mar the urban landscape of a police state-England. Or does he? It's hard to tell if Theo's neutral countenance is one of arctic indifference, or a mask that blankets his disgust towards Europe's callous attitude towards foreigners. On one hand, Theo befriends Jasper(Michael Caine), a hippie of advanced age who wouldn't want to hang out with an advocate for ultra-conservative politics. But then there's a scene(strongly reminiscent of Vic Morrow's episode in "The Twilight Zone: The Movie"), where Clive finds himself in the other man's shoes, on a bus en route to an uncertain future in which death or deportation are the only two choices(Morrow's character was a bigot). When Theo meets Kee(Claire-Hope Ashitey) and discovers the bun, is there a change in attitude towards the expectant mother? Up to this point in the story, by all appearances, Theo lived in a segregated existence. "Children of Men" ends abruptly with Kee in limbo, so we're left wondering what will happen to the young woman. This will anger some people who've been anaesthetized by too many closed endings. The rest of us, however, will leave the theater happy, because we get to determine what holds in the future for all mankind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikkoChunnApr 2, 2007
there are good and bad reviews for this film because there are good and bad people on this planet. The good ones will give this film a high mark for the things that it is: gripping (unbelievably so), exhilirating, moving.... however, if thisthere are good and bad reviews for this film because there are good and bad people on this planet. The good ones will give this film a high mark for the things that it is: gripping (unbelievably so), exhilirating, moving.... however, if this film is calling you out and in the case of the hometowns of a few of the aforementioned reviewers who have dragged down the score by trying to attack the 'plot' of a film that is content not to dot every i and cross every t because it is knowing and insightful in its understanding of the knowledge that finds its home in the space between things. Such reviewers and/or bad people deal with absolutes and the film will make them uncomfortable - I believe in fact that it intends too and thus is a movie that avoided across the board tens b/c it wanted to be better than that...and it is. A movie you will sit and thing about a day later.... and find a tear or two cutting a swathe down your cheek. Oh...and I hate (hated?) Clive Owen as an actor and he always annoyed me - yet he was so masterful in this role, so understated and human, I found that I cared more for him and his plight and his loss than I have for any character or charcters since Shadowlands. Brilliant. Unless your brain or heart are a step behind where they need to be of course - then it's a 'clumsy' mess that 'has more questions than answers'....as Borat would say: "Sure it does...............................................NOT!" Do yourself a favour.....this is the most fully realised and presented films in years. Truly and wholly original when it seems it can't be, this is movie magic of the sort you only 'wondered' was possible. However, ironically, (sorry) it is probably a film best scene thinking it'll just be very good, like I did - only to be blown away despite the fact (oft-used by idiots) that I knew nothing more than I did before I started the film. So what!? Not all of us live in a country or countries, or behave in such a way in our lives, that we need a message in every, single, bloody film we see. Of course there ARE very strong messages in the film and FAR more than the ones the blockhead reviewers and users have put up riddles with freudian slips and rampant ignorance. Yet, the film would be so very strong without any of them as the fear, the hope and the endeavour of the protagonists is so palpable that it could be about absolutely nothing more and still be a winner. To be honest, I feel reviewers are scared of giving big marks to genre-beding films.....too much for them when they consult their plot, theme and charcters handbook and look up their mark. There's still time to save your souls, but in hte meantime, please stop reviewing films and misleading films. Real things matter to real people - and this film is real. I got things I rarely get these days in films - frights, moved, shocked and then those rarer moments when you stop for a second after the conclusion of a scene and go - "fuck! this is good." No surprise then that he isn't an American director...whoops! can't say that...forgot. Suggestion: start collating your reviews from people alittle bit more 'wordly'. Just a thought. Bottom line - best film of the year (have not seen Pan's yet), and not in a 'I have half a brain and no full and rounded knowledge of the hearts and minds of actual people so Crash is the best film of the year' kind of way either. Just in an actually the best film kind of way. Hopefully that will suffice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimH.Apr 7, 2007
Gritty cinematography and a bit too glossy in the narrative. Lots of great sequences and bits but the film does not add up to a truly great whole. It blurs or glosses over the answers to many questions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattG.May 10, 2007
The affinity between the moment of dystopian and the moment utopian thought has long been recognized (they are in many ways the flip side of the same coin). Yet never have we had such a bleak and striking dystopian depiction of what exactly The affinity between the moment of dystopian and the moment utopian thought has long been recognized (they are in many ways the flip side of the same coin). Yet never have we had such a bleak and striking dystopian depiction of what exactly a world in which utopian politics as such are rendered more or less impossible by the sudden lack of any posterity for the world to prepare for at all. One of the best movies of the last ten years. (If we are, in the end, to judge works of art politically.) Beyond politics, the execution of the premise was adept and subtle and exhilarating. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeyM.Jun 4, 2007
One of the finest movies I've seen in the last decade. Bravura filmmaking techniques (for example, the single four minute shot as they first attempt to drive Kee out of the country), excellent acting, and (yes) actual meaningful themes One of the finest movies I've seen in the last decade. Bravura filmmaking techniques (for example, the single four minute shot as they first attempt to drive Kee out of the country), excellent acting, and (yes) actual meaningful themes reward repeated viewings. I can't recall the last time I felt so anxious for the main characters while watching a movie. My heart was racing the entire time! These days, movies that have any meaning deeper than "hero beat up bad guy yay" seem to be falling out of favor with the world. A shame. If you want an action blockbuster, look somewhere else. If you want a tense road trip that explores where our world might be going and delivers a great story, this might be one for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful