Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1144 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
967
Mixed:
68
Negative:
109
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RussellJ.Jul 21, 2007
This has gone into my top five movies along with requiem for a dream, dead man's shoes, eternal sunshine and sideways. It is a unique vision of the future that actually feels like it could happen. The acts of terrorism and social This has gone into my top five movies along with requiem for a dream, dead man's shoes, eternal sunshine and sideways. It is a unique vision of the future that actually feels like it could happen. The acts of terrorism and social disorder are quite prevalent in todays society now so if a situation where infertility arose then the dystopian society depicted in this movie is well realized. One of the criticisms of this movie i have come across is that the cause of the infertility is never explained, why is this a problem? We live in a world where there are no easy answers. It also leads us to the ambiguity of this society who are thinking that they are let down by science or religion. One of the most interesting points of this film is the importance of children to our future and is beautifully illustrated in the exquisite scene when Clive Owen walks through the battle zone with a new-born and everything goes quiet until a shell goes off and the fighting continues. This enforces the fragility of our existence and the improbability of the human race getting this far. Is it evolution last attempt to carry on the human race encapsulated in this child or is it divine intervention?. When i was watching this film i was hoping it wouldn't end in a typically Hollywood ending where there is closure. Luckily the film ends in a downbeat but also in a fashion an optimistic way. There is a light at the end of the tunnel albeit a pinprick of light. This film blew me away. The action was tense and well thought out and believable. The cinematography was bleak but beautiful. Clive Owen is tremendous in a subtle and nuanced role which made you feel for him and believe in the arc his character goes through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PrinceR.Sep 15, 2007
Greatest movie of the century which can change the world if the whole world see this movie together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyM.Feb 15, 2008
This movie is spine-tinglingly, blood-curdlingly, skin-crawlingly good. It is filmed in such a dynamic, constant-shot fashion that the realism is disturbing. When I first saw the movie, I was constantly questioning the main premise: How were This movie is spine-tinglingly, blood-curdlingly, skin-crawlingly good. It is filmed in such a dynamic, constant-shot fashion that the realism is disturbing. When I first saw the movie, I was constantly questioning the main premise: How were all the women infertile? And why? What changed things? But in the end I realized that these questions are not the important part of the movie. It's the pure humanity portrayed, a humanity that is so true to form that you never forget it. When a character dies, it feels horrifically bland and absolute, as if it were real life. Don't watch this as a captivating sci-fi or a intricate action; watch it for the human nature that is so convincing in this picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaoloSFeb 15, 2008
This film makes a good attempt to speak out against Western capitalism, and how nothing is too far, however it makes the mistake of doing this through narrative and tries to persuade the audience to sympathise with the characters, which at This film makes a good attempt to speak out against Western capitalism, and how nothing is too far, however it makes the mistake of doing this through narrative and tries to persuade the audience to sympathise with the characters, which at times, obscures the political message, as the audience will become emotionally involved with the characters as opposed to looking at the film with an objective eye. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamuelAug 2, 2008
Great acting, great story, great suspense, great everything really. Its flaws are minor and its strengths are amazing. Bravo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WesM.Aug 24, 2008
Pretentious at times, but overshadowed by consistent excellence in the form of an odd-but-good coupling of minimalist filmmaking and pervasive epic-ness. I'm making up terms.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FinnAug 30, 2008
One of the best movies i watched in a LONG time. Sure, there isn't much different from a lot of other action movies "Someone is important, and he/she has to survive till he/she made the destination", but the story, the suspense, acting One of the best movies i watched in a LONG time. Sure, there isn't much different from a lot of other action movies "Someone is important, and he/she has to survive till he/she made the destination", but the story, the suspense, acting and a brutal look at how our future might look like if something like this might ever happen. I wont go in further details, all i can say is that i loved it, and i recommend everybody to check it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilM.Jan 13, 2009
I've never seen violence filmed so well before. It feels like you're watching footage, and not film. The use of less cuts and more one-shot "following behind the protagonist" and using less action music to create a more intense I've never seen violence filmed so well before. It feels like you're watching footage, and not film. The use of less cuts and more one-shot "following behind the protagonist" and using less action music to create a more intense effect. I also like how the characters are genuinely fearing for their lives when under violence. The environments look the part beautifully. Very immersive film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LuciaCOct 30, 2009
This was good for thinking but it needed answers not questions!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
russelljonesFeb 8, 2009
This film is fantastic. The dystopian future that Clive Owen's character Theo has to live in is believable and grim. Theo lives in a future where women are all infertile and the youngest person is 18 and has just been killed. Theo isThis film is fantastic. The dystopian future that Clive Owen's character Theo has to live in is believable and grim. Theo lives in a future where women are all infertile and the youngest person is 18 and has just been killed. Theo is understandably cynical and bordering on alcoholic. His true friend being an hippy played my Michael Caine. Hope is rekindled in Theo when he is introduced by his ex-wife to a young girl who is pregnant and needs them to take her to a rendezvous point. The film is about Theo's journey and his realisation that he is playing a part in something which is much bigger than him. The concept and vision of a world without children is a scary prospect and is something I never thought about until I watched this film. There are criticisms I have heard from friends. The first is the film doesn't explain why this infertility epidemic arose. My opinion on this is that it reflects real life, no one knows how Aids originated for instance. The second criticism is the low key ending which I personally love, I love the ambiguity of this ending which imbues the nature of sacrifice and your own pessimism or optimism will determine whether that was in vain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesKJul 15, 2009
Not only does it have action and suspense to rival the best thrillers but it is also deep and enchanting. The directing alone makes this film a must see, but combined with everything else it is even more of a masterpeice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
scotthDec 23, 2006
Haven't read the book, therefore unsure of how close Cuaron is to storyline. Nevertheless, well acted - good pace, and good moviemaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RayeSDec 30, 2006
Unsetting and conceivable, hits close to home in what direction the world is moving. So many small details slip by that tell even a deeper story of what has happened to the world. True violence portrayed in a way that is realistic, Unsetting and conceivable, hits close to home in what direction the world is moving. So many small details slip by that tell even a deeper story of what has happened to the world. True violence portrayed in a way that is realistic, heartbreaking. Best film I have seen in a long long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BruceM.Jan 11, 2007
This film is "Baghdad meets Bladerunner" and the near-term dystopia it evokes at times feels more cinema verite than science fiction. The film evokes powerful emotional resonance as it brings mankinds' two greatest impulses -- the This film is "Baghdad meets Bladerunner" and the near-term dystopia it evokes at times feels more cinema verite than science fiction. The film evokes powerful emotional resonance as it brings mankinds' two greatest impulses -- the destruction of life and the creation of life -- into startling relief. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricaK.Jan 1, 2007
The movie doesn't explain much, and there are few gradations between good and evil, but this story of hope and redemption is heartbreakingly played out. The fight scene in the refugee camp, which was shot in a single take with the The movie doesn't explain much, and there are few gradations between good and evil, but this story of hope and redemption is heartbreakingly played out. The fight scene in the refugee camp, which was shot in a single take with the cameraman following clive owen's character for about 7-11 minutes is an example of filmmaking bravura at its best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KatherynH.Jan 11, 2007
Grim cautionary tale of what might be in the not-too-distant future. Well-played by all. Could have used more of Moore, but overall no complaints.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Lance"The'OlP"RomanceJan 12, 2007
It's a difficult thing, defining a masterpiece, especially when the term is thrown about all too casually. And I wouldn't want to call this film 'important' either, because I don't believe it is a word that should It's a difficult thing, defining a masterpiece, especially when the term is thrown about all too casually. And I wouldn't want to call this film 'important' either, because I don't believe it is a word that should ever be used when defining ANY work of art. A film (or anything at all for that matter) is only as important as you're willing to make it. I sometimes wish people wouldn't be so shallow as to spend so much of their precious time and energy on something as superficial as a series of moving images projected onto a large white screen, no matter its contents. Yet here I am, like many of you, spending both my time and energy typing away about this film (even if I do so implicitly). And so, I find that I am left with two possibilities; either I am just another shallow western civilian wasting away in contemplation of foolish things, or Children Of Men is truly important to me. In reality, both of these are true...and in a nutshell, this is what Children Of Men is all about. It's about most us, those of us who are 'aware' yet not bothered enough to transcend their mere 'awareness' of the problem. That is, until something comes along and lights a fire under their asses. For me, it may be this mere film, Children Of Men. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesK.Jan 13, 2007
I've never felt so physically present in a movie, or as convinced of a near-future world. Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertIvyJan 14, 2007
Scenes of a futureworld turned sour crackle with immediacy and life. It's a trip through a cracked looking glass into a broken world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
YoungCollegeStudentJan 14, 2007
the scene where Clive and the mother and daughter walk out of the building, past the adoring refugees and the stunned soldiers is pure brilliance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChuckG.Jan 15, 2007
This is not only my favorite movie of the year, but one of my favorite movies of all time. I had to go back to the theater to see it again. This is the proper way to tell a story on the screen, anyone who wishes to make a good film in the This is not only my favorite movie of the year, but one of my favorite movies of all time. I had to go back to the theater to see it again. This is the proper way to tell a story on the screen, anyone who wishes to make a good film in the future had better take notes from this one. The story was good and simple, straightforward from beginning to end and had me on the edge of my seat for more than half the scenes. For once, there were no loose ends, nothing left needing, the story was full and finished. And the cinematography was unbelievable, almost impossibly fantastic in two much talked about long shots. But the reason I call this movie one of the greatest is the gripping untensity that I have never experienced in any movie I have ever seen. I will see this many more times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mattallenOct 15, 2007
Reading comments by ignorant fucks like Brian K. just aggrivate the shit out of me. His examples of why the movie was bad were just dreadful. Mention of a specific cause for the sudden infertility isn't necessary because it wouldn'tReading comments by ignorant fucks like Brian K. just aggrivate the shit out of me. His examples of why the movie was bad were just dreadful. Mention of a specific cause for the sudden infertility isn't necessary because it wouldn't have added anything to the overall message of the film (here I'll make a name of the disease up for you Brian-"You're a fucking cuntface-itis"). The ending was perfect. Rather than showing Khia being taken in and examined and the baby examined, etc. we just get a shot of the boat coming to rescue her. What more could you ask for? As for the blood on the camera, yea it had no specific purpose, but these guys are doing bravura long takes and the one that happened to be the best one was the one where blood happened to spray on the camera. It's really not that big of a deal and to have such an insignificant thing lend to you giving the movie a 3 is just ridiculous. I hope I never have to meet you Brian K. or anyone like you because it would just make me wish your mother would have been struck with a disease that rendered her incapable of having children. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RitaS.Jan 16, 2007
Truely a frightening cinematic masterpiece of a future right on our doorstep!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
A.DOct 16, 2007
You can touch the real future in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyL.Jan 16, 2007
Please ignore the ones and twos inexplicably given by some viewers of this film. If someone is unable to follow the taut, driven narrative of this film, they probably can't find their way home without a map. Cuaron brilliantlyPlease ignore the ones and twos inexplicably given by some viewers of this film. If someone is unable to follow the taut, driven narrative of this film, they probably can't find their way home without a map. Cuaron brilliantly illumiinates the razor's edge world in which we live, and crafts a deeply felt parable about where we look for hope amidst hopelessness, and the dangers of ideology run rampant, whether from the right OR the left. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesJan 17, 2007
The most harrowing and thrilling movie I've seen in a long time. Great cinematography and message. Instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanC.Jan 17, 2007
One of the best premises I can recall mixed with just so-so execution. It didn't quite work for me. The uprising in the end didn't make much sense in the context of a prison camp (where did all those assault rifles come from? where One of the best premises I can recall mixed with just so-so execution. It didn't quite work for me. The uprising in the end didn't make much sense in the context of a prison camp (where did all those assault rifles come from? where did those Islamic militants get them???). Clive Owen is extremely good. Worth seeing, but ultimately not fully realized. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonK.Jan 20, 2007
Just saw it today and absolutely loved it. It was gritty, it was grimy. It was real.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Jan 22, 2007
Outstanding film. From its opening moments it really grabbed me. While the film is riveting, t's got some great moments of black comedy, too. Definitely one of the best films I've seen in ages. Cuaron is a superb director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulK.Jan 2, 2007
Riveting and visually stunning. A frightful view of what the future could be. The story was unpredictable, unsettling and completely and utterly engrossing. I Iaughed, I cried, I spent most of the time with my mouth open. Superbly acted and Riveting and visually stunning. A frightful view of what the future could be. The story was unpredictable, unsettling and completely and utterly engrossing. I Iaughed, I cried, I spent most of the time with my mouth open. Superbly acted and a technical masterpiece. You must see this. In the theater. Absolutely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful