Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1132 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
956
Mixed:
67
Negative:
109
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BrianT.Apr 3, 2007
A movie this stylish, well written and entertaining does not come around that often. The true feat of this movie is making the audience belive that this futuristic dystopia is plausible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EnriqueS.Apr 7, 2007
Mesmerizing dystopian nightmare is a masterpiece of the new millennium. Prodigious filmmaking at its finest. Cuaron is a force to be reckoned with. Clive Owen and Claire-Hope Ashitey are enthralling and ultimately engaging.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GinoM.Apr 7, 2007
This film is a gripping fantasy that harbors more than meets the eye. I can't wait to watch it again to see what new emotions and feelings are conjured up within me. The fabulous cinemetography is a given, and not the source of debate. This film is a gripping fantasy that harbors more than meets the eye. I can't wait to watch it again to see what new emotions and feelings are conjured up within me. The fabulous cinemetography is a given, and not the source of debate. Morever, it's truly complex nature of issues that underpin the futuristic plot of this movie that really get people polorized...I'm on the positive side of that spectrum. An eyeopening vignette into the plausible effects of a global earth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnB.May 12, 2007
Though Children of Men presents an apocalyptic science fiction, the human side of this story is deeply woven in all aspects of a not so far out possible future. The first half of this movie plays out like an observation of what humanity Though Children of Men presents an apocalyptic science fiction, the human side of this story is deeply woven in all aspects of a not so far out possible future. The first half of this movie plays out like an observation of what humanity would do in such a situation. The only problem here is that once the real substance of the film comes in, it barely holds on long enough to bring you to an ultimately disappointing end. Everything seemed so well thought out until logic managed to escape everyone. Thankfully, enough of this movie provides insight and provokes thought from the audience. It will leave you rattled as well as slightly frustrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LindaL.May 22, 2007
Depressing and thought-provoking, this film prompts the frustrating, unanswered questions many have mentioned, yet I was carried along .It's a dark vision of a horrible future that (a nagging voice in your head tells you) might not be Depressing and thought-provoking, this film prompts the frustrating, unanswered questions many have mentioned, yet I was carried along .It's a dark vision of a horrible future that (a nagging voice in your head tells you) might not be completely impossible. Got a little bored during the final hide-and-chase sequence, but never with Clive Owen's world-weary face. If you like him in this, rent "I'll Sleep When I'm Dead." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickA.Jun 29, 2007
The year 2006 in film ended as it started some eight months prior: with a forceful work of unflinching potency. First 'United 93,' now 'Children of Men;' never before have I been witness to two movies of such great power The year 2006 in film ended as it started some eight months prior: with a forceful work of unflinching potency. First 'United 93,' now 'Children of Men;' never before have I been witness to two movies of such great power in the same year of release as I had in 2006. As '93' worked on the level of a power-driven docu-drama, thrust forth by the emotion of such tragic events our nation has ever seen, 'Children of Men' reminds us, with heightened intensity, where our problems in this day in age could put us twenty years down the road. Tackling the whole spectrum of world events with vigor and unrelenting passion, 'Children' makes for both intellectually challenging and irresistibly entertaining movie-viewing. In Cuaron Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanM.Jan 17, 2008
Absolutely brilliant, Clive Owen at his peek as he shows us why he's an outstanding acto, A++ performances by all the actors, this is such a great movie as it shows something that we probably take for granted in our lives
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyM.Jun 27, 2008
Well...what can I say about Children of Men? It's a completely heartbreaking thrill ride that'll keep you glued to your seat. Simply outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimP.Jul 28, 2008
A true gem of a film. It is clearly intended to make viewers think... I've read some mixed reviews and it seems that those who slated the film either didn't understand it or are cretins who prefer cheesy Hollywood action flicks. A true gem of a film. It is clearly intended to make viewers think... I've read some mixed reviews and it seems that those who slated the film either didn't understand it or are cretins who prefer cheesy Hollywood action flicks. Very realistic and gritty scenes - most realistic birth scene I've ever seen. The use of hand held cameras, and the blood on the lens for several minutes adds to the realism of the film. Caine's portrayal of a dope growing hippie was fantastic and very entertaining. A breath of fresh air to not have to watch a film dumbed down for the American market - I recommend it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GarryL.Aug 11, 2008
One of my favorite films of all time. An ambitious, complete and chillingly believable vision of the near future. It is beautifully shot - action scenes are visceral and made all the more heart-pounding with the decision to extend them into One of my favorite films of all time. An ambitious, complete and chillingly believable vision of the near future. It is beautifully shot - action scenes are visceral and made all the more heart-pounding with the decision to extend them into shots minutes long, rather than Hollywood's customary nanosecond cuts. It is gloomy and uncompromising, but this is because it's an honest script that doesn't pander to viewers who, rather than being challenged by what they've seen, would like some soggy popcorn happy ending as an antidote to their daily grind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekColemanSep 18, 2008
!!!!!!!!!!READ!!!!!!!!!! Every time I see a movie that I believe is good, I like to read all of the negative reviews, as it helps me to conclude my opinion. Yes, the plot of this movie was not a conventional one, nor did the ending leave us !!!!!!!!!!READ!!!!!!!!!! Every time I see a movie that I believe is good, I like to read all of the negative reviews, as it helps me to conclude my opinion. Yes, the plot of this movie was not a conventional one, nor did the ending leave us with a sense of closure. However, there are many factors that make this movie unique and brilliant. The events portrayed in this film are so realistic that it can almost be classed as non-fiction science fiction. I can't believe the naivity of people who think that society wouldn't revert back to the dark ages if a pandemic of this speed and magnitude were introduced to humanity. I think the best scene in the movie was the part where Theo is being driven to his cousin's place and the song "In the Court of the Crimson King" by King Crimson is being played. The scene is Theo (Owen) observing what transitioned from a crowd of desperate protestors and "fugees" to the high class citizens of Britain as he is chauffeured to his cousin's place. The scene was filmed brilliantly and the choice of music was absolutely perfect. The only reason I gave this movie a 9 and not a 10 is because the plot could have been a little better in the fact that it is greatly unbelievable that the infertility pandemic would have onset to every human in the world so quickly. I just couldn't believe that Theo and Julian had a child, Dylan, and now for some reason couldn't. If Theo and Julian were born infertile then that would have made more sense to me. The fact is, having children is what gives the majority of humans a sense of purpose and meaning. I feel that this movie did an excellent job in portraying the insanity that would ensue from a massive infertility pandemic. Who knows, if something like that were to happen in the future, perhaps it would be an even more violent and bleak existance for the remaining humans on Earth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HaleighOSep 7, 2008
Awesome, original movie. people complain that all movies are so predictable and then when the ending doesn't go how they want, like theo dying for example, they still complain. it was meant to have alot of unanswered questions because Awesome, original movie. people complain that all movies are so predictable and then when the ending doesn't go how they want, like theo dying for example, they still complain. it was meant to have alot of unanswered questions because it's a dystopian film- it makes the audience think for themselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JDOct 8, 2009
Wow the level of idiocy of some of these users just blows my mind...like the guy who kept complaining that London isn't like the one in the movie. It's a fictional FUTURE you genius. Anyways, I LOVE this film. It's very Wow the level of idiocy of some of these users just blows my mind...like the guy who kept complaining that London isn't like the one in the movie. It's a fictional FUTURE you genius. Anyways, I LOVE this film. It's very engaging, the cinematography is excellent, and the acting is great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.LopezFeb 4, 2009
I was wandering in a DVD shop one day just looking for something to buy, anything that looked interesting and I came across Children of Men, at first I wasn't really interested in it so I went on to look for something else, but I was wandering in a DVD shop one day just looking for something to buy, anything that looked interesting and I came across Children of Men, at first I wasn't really interested in it so I went on to look for something else, but amazingly something compelled me to buy this movie. And I did, and now I'm glad I did Children of Men does what most dystpoia sci-fi adventures rarely do, they tell a story that all of us can relate to in someway or another. Children of Men stars Clive Owen as Theo Faron a disillusioned bureaucrat who has been tasked with the sole duty of escorting and protecting the first pregnant woman in 18 years to the Human Projects so they can utilize her pregnancy to fix the fertility problem with the world. It's a heart pounding & mind blowing visual race to get out of England before the government catches them and use the poor girls baby for publicity and to acquire money to fiance there war with the rebels. Children of Men is a heart wrenching film that deserves to be called one of the greatest modern Science Fiction films ever made. I very highly recommend this amazing film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
discomikeDec 20, 2006
Excellent. This film stayed with me for days afterwards. Fine performances from all the cast members and the direction throughout the film is amazing. Definately film of 2006 for me, and it's nice to see a decent film set in Britain for once!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PedroL.Dec 23, 2006
The best futuristic movie since "Twelve Monkeys" and "Brazil" (both by Terry Gilliam). I saw it 3 days ago and i'm still shocked, its absolutly perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickC.Dec 27, 2006
Probably the best film of the year, with such an important theme, about parenthood itself. Great performances, but especially great directing, and the best cinematography I've seen in years. Very provoking & ambitious, but is able to Probably the best film of the year, with such an important theme, about parenthood itself. Great performances, but especially great directing, and the best cinematography I've seen in years. Very provoking & ambitious, but is able to hold itself as one of the best futuristic films ever made, of course, it's directed by today's most talented director in my opinion: Alfonso Cuaron. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithS.Dec 27, 2006
Several have mentioned how the film stays with you and how truly it does !!! Powerful, amazing filmmaking.....intellegient, sobering, and thrilling at the same time. A very difficult feat. Must See film of the year. STUNNING !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ethanr.Dec 29, 2006
Non stop intense visioanry work. i was surprised by the film's dimension and power. I am recommending it to evryone i know.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkM.Dec 30, 2006
Outstanding movie. The vision of the future presented here is incredibly thorough and well-thought out, and very thought-provoking. Compelling characters are the icing on the cake. Worth multiple viewings to pick up on the background details Outstanding movie. The vision of the future presented here is incredibly thorough and well-thought out, and very thought-provoking. Compelling characters are the icing on the cake. Worth multiple viewings to pick up on the background details alone. It turns into a cross between the most intense parts of "Black Hawk Down" and "Saving Private Ryan" near the climax, and it's done in such a way as to be completely plausible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeR.Jan 11, 2007
At the same time that CHILDREN OF MEN
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JulienJan 12, 2007
Great movie, with an interesting political speech! Probably the best cinematography of year 2006. I've never seen such amazing urban-war scenes before. And we now have to deal with the fact that Clive Owen is gonna be one of the best Great movie, with an interesting political speech! Probably the best cinematography of year 2006. I've never seen such amazing urban-war scenes before. And we now have to deal with the fact that Clive Owen is gonna be one of the best actor of tomorrow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BushM.Nov 27, 2007
extremely well done. The director is amazing. How every scene is done in one huge take is incredible. One of the best movies I've ever scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SethM.Jan 13, 2007
Hands down the best, most affecting film I have seen this year. In several years, actually. Don't listen to those who tell you it has gaps in its timeline or is discombobulated in any way - none of that matters. This is where things Hands down the best, most affecting film I have seen this year. In several years, actually. Don't listen to those who tell you it has gaps in its timeline or is discombobulated in any way - none of that matters. This is where things stand - this is the way the world is. Deal with it. If human society had really degenerated to this degree, would anyone out there really care about filling you in on what you missed? And if the scene in the stairwell at the end does not move you in any way, then I'm afraid you are dead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChaseJan 13, 2007
This is my favorite movie of 2006. While I liked Pan's Labyrinth (everyones pick), The Queen, and The Departed, Children of Men is what filters to the top for me. Some seem put off by the lack of a resolution, but I hate movies that tie This is my favorite movie of 2006. While I liked Pan's Labyrinth (everyones pick), The Queen, and The Departed, Children of Men is what filters to the top for me. Some seem put off by the lack of a resolution, but I hate movies that tie up the story in a neat little bow for me. You are judging what you see on screen, not what you didn't see. The camerawork here is first rate stuff, and Clive Owen is perfect as the anti-hero. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulFratianniJan 14, 2007
Less so about entertainment Children of Men is a social commentary. Pro-Lifers will see it from their point of view just as much as environmentalist and the anti-war crowd will from theirs. It could be seen as an amalgamation of all theseLess so about entertainment Children of Men is a social commentary. Pro-Lifers will see it from their point of view just as much as environmentalist and the anti-war crowd will from theirs. It could be seen as an amalgamation of all these views focusing on an over arching theme of a lack of respect for life in the modern times we live.
There was a poignant scene in the movie ***WARNING SPOILERS*** when Michael Caines character, Jasper, asks whether ultimately the universe is about faith or chance. Though a nice an intelligent character he is marred by the suffering in the world leaning towards a nihilist ethos. Yet still his character is willing to sacrifice in hopes for a better world.

In my opinion the world is about both faith and chance, faith being the enlightened actions of mankind and chance being the senselessness. Clare-Hope Ashitey character, Kee, points this beautifully by asking why are the tits of cows cut off to fit a four utter machine. Why do they simply make one for six? Man in his senselessness ideology, tradition, greed, etc, cause most of the suffering in this world.

However there is almost a sense of a universal cosmic conspiracy that seems to go on at the same time. It seems that one thing after another goes wrong for Clive Owens Character, Theo, with cars that won
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LauraGJan 14, 2007
Excellent overall. For those who found the story premise so powerful, do read the 1992 novel by P.D.James. James' story has been radically altered - everything from the characters to the ending - but the movie retains the gut-clinching Excellent overall. For those who found the story premise so powerful, do read the 1992 novel by P.D.James. James' story has been radically altered - everything from the characters to the ending - but the movie retains the gut-clinching realization that it could happen and how horrifying it would be. Knowing that society is aging itself out of existence would in all likelihood give rise to anarchy and/or military law, bizarre religious actions, and various other unknowable reactions. What is the purpose of human life if everything human ends? The movie definitely draws you in. The characters, however, don't always pull their weight with the story - they just aren't strong enough for the movie to be character-driven. I think that's why many reviewers loathe not knowing what happens. The entire reason the movie works is that you want to know what happens, it's what you care about, and you don't actually get that in the end. Some people, like me, are fine with that, and others not so much! Clive Owen's acting kept making me think about a super-flat-anti-emotion Nicholas Cage. Kee needed to be far far more engrossing as a person. But otherwise, strongly presented, Amazingly Filmed, and definitely makes you think about the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TravisS.Oct 14, 2007
Why did infertility impact the human race? The death, war, and despair, that the film takes place in, is the reason. The human race had F*(Kd things up so much that someone/thing had to interrupt us and force us to step back and take a look Why did infertility impact the human race? The death, war, and despair, that the film takes place in, is the reason. The human race had F*(Kd things up so much that someone/thing had to interrupt us and force us to step back and take a look at what we are.... do we deserve to live? do we as a race deserve to go on? I think the obvious answer the movie shows is absolutely not. The rape and pillage of the natural world caused something to strike back at as... and it spared us. All the past f*(K ups die away and the new and "week" inherit the world. what stepped un to wake us up? what ultimately spared us? I'm not religious, but obviously it was God. That's not what the point of this story is. the point is that we have messed things up beyond repair, but we were spared. Brilliant movie... I could go on for hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllyM.Jan 14, 2007
Beautiful. Riveting. Tragic. Superb. The best movie I have seen in a very very long time. Flawless acting, actual surprises, fabulous cinematography, and a great screenplay. The car in reverse scene is amazing. Think about it being shot in Beautiful. Riveting. Tragic. Superb. The best movie I have seen in a very very long time. Flawless acting, actual surprises, fabulous cinematography, and a great screenplay. The car in reverse scene is amazing. Think about it being shot in one take. And the best war scene since Saving Private Ryan. Glorious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GusJan 15, 2007
phenomenal distopyan flick
0 of 0 users found this helpful