Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1068 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
900
Mixed:
62
Negative:
106
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
MorningtonOct 23, 2010
I feel that Children of Men is an electric motion picture that is both original and evocative of early cinema, where the skilled manipulation of the viewer is carried out to evoke raw, visceral feelings that are primeval within us.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ErikApr 1, 2007
One of those movies you wish would never end. The sets are wonderful. The characters are likable and believable. An excellent anti-utopia with tense action scenes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ElisabethN.Jan 12, 2007
An excellent and deeply disturbing film, that ended five minutes early.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinA.Jan 6, 2007
The best movie I've seen from 2006. Everything is not all wrapped up at the end - and that's a great thing as it allows our imagination be a part of the story. I purposefully did not read any reviews or plot synopsis's going The best movie I've seen from 2006. Everything is not all wrapped up at the end - and that's a great thing as it allows our imagination be a part of the story. I purposefully did not read any reviews or plot synopsis's going in, and was duly rewarded. Thus, I'm not going to say anything about the plot. I'll just say this: This is what a movie is supposed to feel like. Brilliant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BruceR.Feb 3, 2007
Without question, the best film of 2006 and, for me, the best film of the last ten years. Superb!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
KalenK.Apr 23, 2007
I am honestly shocked to see that so many people gave this brilliant film such low scores. There's always one or two people that just do not GET a movie and give it low scores, but this is astounding. There is no possible way this movie I am honestly shocked to see that so many people gave this brilliant film such low scores. There's always one or two people that just do not GET a movie and give it low scores, but this is astounding. There is no possible way this movie deserves a 2 or less. Ridiculous. If you have not seen it, this is one time you should listen to the pro reviews above and ignore the commenting idiots down here. (sure, me too, that's fine). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DarcieKDec 26, 2009
This movie is brilliant and the cinematography is astounding!
8 of 10 users found this helpful
9
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
Although it leaves you wondering what happened, this is a movie that sticks in your brain. Like a good meal, you will think about it afterward. Disturbing and entertaining.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
NF123Aug 23, 2010
Alright, I thought the film pushed too hard on immigration politics as a couple of critics noted but aside from that I don't have a problem with it, at all. The charachters are superb and in the beginning and middle we're given a chance toAlright, I thought the film pushed too hard on immigration politics as a couple of critics noted but aside from that I don't have a problem with it, at all. The charachters are superb and in the beginning and middle we're given a chance to know about them, but then at the end the film literally explodes and throws you in the middle of a war with the most intense action scenes since saving private ryan. It does this very smoothly aswell to the point where you don't mind that it's really become a different film. I don't really use this word a lot because I think it's shamefully overused in the metacritic user reviews and critics themselves overuse it, but this film is quite simply a Masterpiece. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
dijavantewowOct 17, 2010
The one long, one-shot scene alone was enough to make anyone realize that the cinematography is above the rest. The plot is interesting, and I do like where the director goes with it. I liked this movie, and was under the impression that mostThe one long, one-shot scene alone was enough to make anyone realize that the cinematography is above the rest. The plot is interesting, and I do like where the director goes with it. I liked this movie, and was under the impression that most thought it was just okay, until I saw this page. I'm glad more people agree with me, because this one was impressive. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuOct 15, 2012
Children of Men is a thunderously exciting film, featuring amazing performances and fantastic action scenes. The sci-fi flavored world the movie creates is also utterly convincing. Children of Men is brilliant from start to finish.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
DamienDarko777May 6, 2011
I'd have to say this is one of the best science fiction movies ever made. The cinematography, the performances, the music, the story, everything about it excels. The director convincingly presents a bleak near-future where humanity has goneI'd have to say this is one of the best science fiction movies ever made. The cinematography, the performances, the music, the story, everything about it excels. The director convincingly presents a bleak near-future where humanity has gone infertile and is slowly dying out. Add in gut-wrenching action scenes, a particularly wonderful performance by Michael Caine, and an anti-fascist subtext, and you have a brilliant humanistic tale. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
cabritaAug 31, 2012
The film succeeds because of it's dramatic power. this is a result of the great camera work and great acting. However I found the films themes to be a bit week but this is a really weak criticism.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
TyeN.Jan 29, 2007
Children of Men is the best film of 2006. Hands down. It's so good, it easily makes my top 5 films of all time. Alfonso Cuaron has crafted the most important film of the year, and one that will be remembered for generations to come. Children of Men is the best film of 2006. Hands down. It's so good, it easily makes my top 5 films of all time. Alfonso Cuaron has crafted the most important film of the year, and one that will be remembered for generations to come. Clive Owen brings quiet anger and desperation as Theo, an ex-activist who, like everyone else on Earth, is mourning the loss of Baby Diego, an 18-year-old who is the last born person on the planet. The year is 2027, and everyone has been mysteriously infertile since 2009. Terrorism is rampant, and the country (the film takes place in Great Britain) is in lockdown. However, small rebel groups are sill trying to figure this mystery out on their own. Among them are the Fishes, lead by Julian (Julianne Moore), an activist, and ex-lover of Theo, with the passion of having lost a child. Julian is a woman who finds answers at any cost, and due to his pull, she needs Theo. Once he's pulled into her plan (he initially does it for money, but you get the sense that there's still some spark left in their romance), he can't get out. Theo is a man who has lost hope, but he is reminded that hope exists when he's introduced to Kee (Claire-Hope Ashitey), a young woman who is pregnant and desperately needs the aid of sources outside of Britain. Using all of his resources, including his stoner compadre Jasper (a wonderful Michael Caine), Theo vows to help Kee, a living miracle who brings hope back to a man who believed it was lost forever. Cuaron's directing is top-notch, and he was robbed of an Oscar nomination. And the performances; some of the best of the year. Owen is a force to be reckoned with. He perfectly captures the sadness, the menace, and the compassion lurking beneath Theo's rough exterior. Caine is a hoot and a heart-breaker as Jasper, a man who has faith in a world that has lost their's. As Julian, Moore is fierce as a one-woman army of integrity and force. And as Kee, new comer Claire-Hope Ashitey makes Kee a young girl forced to become a woman, and one of strong will. With no one to use as a reference for pregnancy, she's a scared girl that is going through something that is not only life changing, but history making. Children of Men is fantastic film making, and brings about a message of hope in desperate and challenging times. It really couldn't have come at a better time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
FrankA.May 7, 2007
If you keep the politics out as requested one would not accuse the movie of being liberal fear mongering. It may be exactly what you say it is, but your demons are your own. I saw a great movie with actors I like and enjoyed the storyline If you keep the politics out as requested one would not accuse the movie of being liberal fear mongering. It may be exactly what you say it is, but your demons are your own. I saw a great movie with actors I like and enjoyed the storyline and action. After I saw the movie I read why people dislike it, mostly, they hate it for political reasons. Nice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
kJan 16, 2007
People are too into being entertained by movies and do not see that this is a realistic view of where our future is headed, there will be no brotherhood, peace, & coming together. Sex, violence & suing seem to be all people care about. People are too into being entertained by movies and do not see that this is a realistic view of where our future is headed, there will be no brotherhood, peace, & coming together. Sex, violence & suing seem to be all people care about. racism is on the rise, the environment is being destroyed. the film was hopefully an eyeopener to some. the soldiers let them through because for a brief minute they were dumbfounded, which did not last long because violence comes before the miracle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JMB.Jan 20, 2007
P.B., if you had any perception you'd have noticed that this movie was beyond and above politics (only people with ridiculous shortsightedness could accuse the film's motives of being political). It's a terrific thriller with P.B., if you had any perception you'd have noticed that this movie was beyond and above politics (only people with ridiculous shortsightedness could accuse the film's motives of being political). It's a terrific thriller with something too many thrillers lack; a real heart. It's not out to preach politics. Stunningly filmed and deep without being to bleak, it's one of the best movies of the last few years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShawnM.Jan 24, 2007
Best movie I've seen this year. Cinematography is brilliant. Great sci-fi, great acting, great actors. Please go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelL.Jan 20, 2007
Without a doubt, the best, most startling movie of the year, if not the decade. It MUST be seen. It brings clearly into focus a world which is just around the corner--if not here already. Brilliant performances mixed with so many stunning Without a doubt, the best, most startling movie of the year, if not the decade. It MUST be seen. It brings clearly into focus a world which is just around the corner--if not here already. Brilliant performances mixed with so many stunning moments...if the Oscars were anything more than a joke, this film would win in every catagory. See it. Now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkJ.Jan 2, 2007
Powerful, thrilling and utterly immersing! This seemed to slip under the radar on the back end of 2006 without recieving the acclaim I think it deserves, and really was one of the best films of the year. This one will stick with you, a must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenV.Jan 30, 2007
Departing from the trend in recent movie-making history, Cuarón crafts a movie that doesn't have to spell everything out, because the story isn't about the tragedy of infertility, but the tragedy of apathy in a society Departing from the trend in recent movie-making history, Cuarón crafts a movie that doesn't have to spell everything out, because the story isn't about the tragedy of infertility, but the tragedy of apathy in a society facing its own demise. Well thought-out, and stunning in presentation and value. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RaulC.Jan 4, 2007
Movie of the year. Mark my words, the car chase alone will be subject of study in many Film Schools from years to come. A truly inspired movie in all respects, wich let us make the final thoughts, and as in all masterpieces, it doesn't Movie of the year. Mark my words, the car chase alone will be subject of study in many Film Schools from years to come. A truly inspired movie in all respects, wich let us make the final thoughts, and as in all masterpieces, it doesn't need to answer all the questions, only morons which need everything digested and can't think for themselves may whine about the film's "loose ends". This movie is a true example of innovative film narration where any kind of prize there is falls short against this masterpiece, wich in many respects takes some of what interactive narration has given us, to achieve an unprecedent feel of inmersion, where we are not just spectators but participants as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KAJan 5, 2007
The seeds of this movie scenario have already been sown in the real world and this film shows us the ugly flowering that could occur in twenty years if we fail to protect our civil liberties now. The gritty realism propels us into the sheer The seeds of this movie scenario have already been sown in the real world and this film shows us the ugly flowering that could occur in twenty years if we fail to protect our civil liberties now. The gritty realism propels us into the sheer terror of this universe in a way the excellent, but more ideological, V for Vendetta did not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattA.Jan 6, 2007
The movie was intense and very interesting. The characters were all great, and the cinematography was gripping. Yet, there were parts that were a bit too vague, and could have been developed more. However, the movie was still great aside The movie was intense and very interesting. The characters were all great, and the cinematography was gripping. Yet, there were parts that were a bit too vague, and could have been developed more. However, the movie was still great aside from those flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PeterS.Jan 7, 2007
Innovative story telling and gritty execution giving an apocalyptic and believable view of England in 2027. Two major weaknesses : the revolutionaries were too amateurish and the assasination poorly thought out. Would have benefited by being Innovative story telling and gritty execution giving an apocalyptic and believable view of England in 2027. Two major weaknesses : the revolutionaries were too amateurish and the assasination poorly thought out. Would have benefited by being longer by about 30 minutes to explore causes of the infertility... it was too major an issue to be left completely unexplored. Otherwise miles better than usual Hollywood rubbish and a major plus for UK Film making. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CharlesE.Jan 8, 2007
The second half of this movie is action packed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamesB.Jan 8, 2007
Entirely conventional chase movie with all the "surprise" turns and choreographed tautness of the genre hiding behind a "deep" premise. Yawn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimA.Feb 23, 2007
A very good film with interesting scenes. It shows future with an alternative way and not as happy as some others films do!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SheaPeacockApr 2, 2007
Run, don't walk, to pick up the DVD for this movie. It's the most unsettling film that I've seen since "A Clockwork Orange." It's harrowing, mesmerizing, and, finally, devastating. There's a scene toward the end Run, don't walk, to pick up the DVD for this movie. It's the most unsettling film that I've seen since "A Clockwork Orange." It's harrowing, mesmerizing, and, finally, devastating. There's a scene toward the end (you'll know which one when you watch it) that left me sitting on my sofa with tears streaming down my face ... it was an affirmation of the power of life in the face of certain death ... Alfonso Cuaron is turning out to be our best living director, and this is the best film released in 2007. Is it the best movie ever? Perhaps it sums up our post-9/11 age better than any film ever has ... it's definitely an unexpected masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattB.Apr 30, 2007
Wow! Reading all these reviews, I guess you either love it or hate it. I love this film for the same reason a lot of people hate it- because not everything is explained. I think a lot of people posting low scores have been conditioned to Wow! Reading all these reviews, I guess you either love it or hate it. I love this film for the same reason a lot of people hate it- because not everything is explained. I think a lot of people posting low scores have been conditioned to expect Hollywood formula where you get a nice cosy package and don't have to think too hard. This was like a snapshot of the future focussing on one man; why do we nee to know his past or the intricacies of governemnt ideology? This painted a believable vision of consumer society gone mad; the acting was tremendous- a career high for Michael Caine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful