Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1132 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
956
Mixed:
67
Negative:
109
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RickC.Dec 27, 2006
Probably the best film of the year, with such an important theme, about parenthood itself. Great performances, but especially great directing, and the best cinematography I've seen in years. Very provoking & ambitious, but is able to Probably the best film of the year, with such an important theme, about parenthood itself. Great performances, but especially great directing, and the best cinematography I've seen in years. Very provoking & ambitious, but is able to hold itself as one of the best futuristic films ever made, of course, it's directed by today's most talented director in my opinion: Alfonso Cuaron. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithS.Dec 27, 2006
Several have mentioned how the film stays with you and how truly it does !!! Powerful, amazing filmmaking.....intellegient, sobering, and thrilling at the same time. A very difficult feat. Must See film of the year. STUNNING !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ethanr.Dec 29, 2006
Non stop intense visioanry work. i was surprised by the film's dimension and power. I am recommending it to evryone i know.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkM.Dec 30, 2006
Outstanding movie. The vision of the future presented here is incredibly thorough and well-thought out, and very thought-provoking. Compelling characters are the icing on the cake. Worth multiple viewings to pick up on the background details Outstanding movie. The vision of the future presented here is incredibly thorough and well-thought out, and very thought-provoking. Compelling characters are the icing on the cake. Worth multiple viewings to pick up on the background details alone. It turns into a cross between the most intense parts of "Black Hawk Down" and "Saving Private Ryan" near the climax, and it's done in such a way as to be completely plausible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BushM.Nov 27, 2007
extremely well done. The director is amazing. How every scene is done in one huge take is incredible. One of the best movies I've ever scene.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SethM.Jan 13, 2007
Hands down the best, most affecting film I have seen this year. In several years, actually. Don't listen to those who tell you it has gaps in its timeline or is discombobulated in any way - none of that matters. This is where things Hands down the best, most affecting film I have seen this year. In several years, actually. Don't listen to those who tell you it has gaps in its timeline or is discombobulated in any way - none of that matters. This is where things stand - this is the way the world is. Deal with it. If human society had really degenerated to this degree, would anyone out there really care about filling you in on what you missed? And if the scene in the stairwell at the end does not move you in any way, then I'm afraid you are dead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChaseJan 13, 2007
This is my favorite movie of 2006. While I liked Pan's Labyrinth (everyones pick), The Queen, and The Departed, Children of Men is what filters to the top for me. Some seem put off by the lack of a resolution, but I hate movies that tie This is my favorite movie of 2006. While I liked Pan's Labyrinth (everyones pick), The Queen, and The Departed, Children of Men is what filters to the top for me. Some seem put off by the lack of a resolution, but I hate movies that tie up the story in a neat little bow for me. You are judging what you see on screen, not what you didn't see. The camerawork here is first rate stuff, and Clive Owen is perfect as the anti-hero. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AllyM.Jan 14, 2007
Beautiful. Riveting. Tragic. Superb. The best movie I have seen in a very very long time. Flawless acting, actual surprises, fabulous cinematography, and a great screenplay. The car in reverse scene is amazing. Think about it being shot in Beautiful. Riveting. Tragic. Superb. The best movie I have seen in a very very long time. Flawless acting, actual surprises, fabulous cinematography, and a great screenplay. The car in reverse scene is amazing. Think about it being shot in one take. And the best war scene since Saving Private Ryan. Glorious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GusJan 15, 2007
phenomenal distopyan flick
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RoggyR.Jan 15, 2007
This is an amazing movie. It is technically brilliant and emotionally engaging. Other reveiwers who claim that character development and plot were "nonsensical" must have been paying more attention to their popcorn than to the subtleties of This is an amazing movie. It is technically brilliant and emotionally engaging. Other reveiwers who claim that character development and plot were "nonsensical" must have been paying more attention to their popcorn than to the subtleties of the film. I found myself wrapped up in the events unfolding on the screen at every turn. Bravo Cuaron, bravo Clive Owen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PadraigJ.Jan 17, 2007
Wow. I couldn't walk on the street afterward because I thought somebody was going to shoot me! And there's so many surprises in this movie- like the way it doesn't pander by explaining everybody's political motive in Wow. I couldn't walk on the street afterward because I thought somebody was going to shoot me! And there's so many surprises in this movie- like the way it doesn't pander by explaining everybody's political motive in detail. The closest thing I think to experiencing what it must be like in the Mideast--I so thought I was going to get shot walking down the street afterwards! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThatMovieGuyJan 21, 2007
Beautiful. Reminds me of not the style, but film-making mastery of Kubrick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekDec 31, 2007
It's baffling how many people completely miss the point.... lets dig a little deeper, my god. Easily one of the best films from 2006, check it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RodneyMarxJan 25, 2007
This movie provides a surreal, action-packed experience. The camera angles put you in the action, and the locales are very realistic. This is one of the best movies of the year, by far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JJJan 25, 2007
I just can't stop thinking about this one. Don't believe any nitwits that knock Children Of Men; they are too distracted by waiting to get their first driver's license to judge the movie fairly. An instant classic, and I just can't stop thinking about this one. Don't believe any nitwits that knock Children Of Men; they are too distracted by waiting to get their first driver's license to judge the movie fairly. An instant classic, and possibly one of the best-photographed movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReidF.Jan 27, 2007
Post-apocalyptic films can be somewhat undecipherable (
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexFeb 11, 2007
I feel sorry for all the reviewers who could not put politics aside when they saw this movie. The main message has NOTHING to do with politics. It was a wonderful film that keeps you on the edge of your seat for a full 2 hours. If you come I feel sorry for all the reviewers who could not put politics aside when they saw this movie. The main message has NOTHING to do with politics. It was a wonderful film that keeps you on the edge of your seat for a full 2 hours. If you come out of this movie mad about the politics portrayed in the movie, you don't get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricC.Mar 26, 2007
Pointless? How much of an idiot are you? My god, go back to watching Wild Hogs or Norbit. There hasn't been a more signifficant movie since its release, and you call it pointless. Stop watching movies if you can't see the Pointless? How much of an idiot are you? My god, go back to watching Wild Hogs or Norbit. There hasn't been a more signifficant movie since its release, and you call it pointless. Stop watching movies if you can't see the importance here. This movie shows us where our chaotic society is going, and you;d have to have a serious redneck "America is percect" mentality not to realize this. But this movie also gives us a gleam of hope that is worth throwing our lives aside and fighting for. Alfonso Cuaron is an amazing artist, eualled only by Guillermo del Torro's, his collaborator, Pan's Labyrinth. This movie puts Babel to shame, and it's cinematography sends The Departed home in shame. It's mindblowingly beautiful, but you'll have to go through some brutal violance and dread in order to see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexT.Mar 26, 2007
I am baffled as to how people can say that this movie was "boring". It is constantlyrelentless and gripping. The movie does have a leftist message, but it is hardly as strong as many of the viewers seemed to think it was. Honestly, if you I am baffled as to how people can say that this movie was "boring". It is constantlyrelentless and gripping. The movie does have a leftist message, but it is hardly as strong as many of the viewers seemed to think it was. Honestly, if you are factoring politics into your review over the movie, you would have to be VERY far to the right to be offended. Anyone who thought that the terrorists were portayed as the "good guys" completely missed the point of the movie. The terrorist barbarity is striking to behold. Some rewievers have said that this is a cliche and trite movie. While there have been other somewhat similar films, this one is far better than most. As some people have mentioned, the soundtrack is quite good, although it gets a bit repetitive, and the cinematography is phenomenal. The ten minute shot at the end is staggeringly good. The thing which relly makes the movie great is the charachters. Every one of the mis fascinating and detailed. If you watch the movie again there are lots of subtle clues in how the charachters interact which makes them seem even more human. This is a shocking and haunting film. But it is also a sensational one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimG.Mar 27, 2007
The most important movie since we entered the 2000s thematically, and one of the most entertaining. I haven't been as tense as I was during a movie as I was in the last half hour of this one in a very long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictorL.Mar 29, 2007
This is now my favorite movie of all time. See it. No. Experience it. The cinematography is 100% accurate and precise. No detail was over-looked in the filming of this movie. Anyone who says this film is horrible obviously has other things This is now my favorite movie of all time. See it. No. Experience it. The cinematography is 100% accurate and precise. No detail was over-looked in the filming of this movie. Anyone who says this film is horrible obviously has other things going on in their life that they can't get forget about, and see this film like it was meant to be seen. Best movie ever. Period. Wow wow wow. WOW. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlyMay 19, 2007
I watched it over and over. I couldn't get enough.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeoB.Jun 11, 2007
I have not seen (yet) any of the other Oscar-nominated films from last year, but I cannot imagine a better film. Given the subject and the horrors that unfold on film, it does seem strange to call this movie lovely, but it is. A seminal I have not seen (yet) any of the other Oscar-nominated films from last year, but I cannot imagine a better film. Given the subject and the horrors that unfold on film, it does seem strange to call this movie lovely, but it is. A seminal moment in filmmaking history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveAJun 12, 2007
So refreshing to see a decent thought-provoking movie once in a while! For all the apparent home reviewers that had issues with the storyline stop watching so many shallow Hollywood blockbusters and start looking at what is really going on,So refreshing to see a decent thought-provoking movie once in a while! For all the apparent home reviewers that had issues with the storyline stop watching so many shallow Hollywood blockbusters and start looking at what is really going on, because this movie gives us a look at what could very well be our planet 20yrs from now (maybe without the infertility bit- and for fu.k sake stop being so politically inclined.. most politicians don't give a shit about the working class, they only care about getting more power and more money!) this movie draws you in, whilst being predictable at times it is never boring, characters are believable, as is the storyline, and the battle scene's are equal to any action movie... one of the best movie's of this decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
johnDec 21, 2008
Perfect movie. The director has giant balls. More movies like this need to be made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexP.Dec 27, 2008
Put you on the edge of your seat and does what so few other movies do: not only causes you to examine the world, but also your impact on it, and then leaves you determined to shape your own future.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElaineR.Jan 28, 2008
Compelling movie with outstanding performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClintonS.Mar 23, 2008
In 20 years, the only movie people will remember from 2006 is "Children of Men." I enjoyed the "Departed" and "Letters from Iwo Jima", but "Children of Men" is truly extraordinary. It is not uncommon for truly great movies to be ignored when In 20 years, the only movie people will remember from 2006 is "Children of Men." I enjoyed the "Departed" and "Letters from Iwo Jima", but "Children of Men" is truly extraordinary. It is not uncommon for truly great movies to be ignored when they are released. This movie was released on Christmas and people failed to notice. The acting is first rate and the Cuaron told this story in a innovative and compelling way. Please watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
P.M.Dec 16, 2009
The cinematography alone merits a perfect score. It is revolutionary, pushing the boundaries of cinema like never before! It evokes powerful emotions and sends an important and highly relevant political message. Unfortunately, many have The cinematography alone merits a perfect score. It is revolutionary, pushing the boundaries of cinema like never before! It evokes powerful emotions and sends an important and highly relevant political message. Unfortunately, many have missed the point of the film. Complaints about realism and the lack of a proper resolution? I bet these people would try to make those very same complaints about Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Bladerunner, and other sci fi classics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarcieKDec 26, 2009
This movie is brilliant and the cinematography is astounding!
8 of 10 users found this helpful
10
RobVJan 29, 2009
Concerning Sibyl P's blind attempts to hurt this movies reputation, it wasn't about violence. It was about the hope new life brings in a world doomed by a fate of infertility. The scene when the man walks through a war zone Concerning Sibyl P's blind attempts to hurt this movies reputation, it wasn't about violence. It was about the hope new life brings in a world doomed by a fate of infertility. The scene when the man walks through a war zone carrying the baby which was born not more then a few hours ago, when everyone just stopped and looked at the child... That's what the movie was about. The death was the back drop of a world without meaning. That child gave it meaning. That's why the movie was so great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
moviegoergeekDec 16, 2006
Cuarón's virtuoso camerawork, shockingly dark lightning and a compelling story which speaks to right now makes this marvelous film a must-see. Children Of Men is this year's MUNICH.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bradmDec 28, 2006
Incredible. It has been two days since I saw it, and I can't stop thinking about the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bennyr.Dec 29, 2006
This is a real movie. Makes The Departed look like what it is...drivel. Children of Men is an actual best picture of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NF123Aug 23, 2010
Alright, I thought the film pushed too hard on immigration politics as a couple of critics noted but aside from that I don't have a problem with it, at all. The charachters are superb and in the beginning and middle we're given a chance toAlright, I thought the film pushed too hard on immigration politics as a couple of critics noted but aside from that I don't have a problem with it, at all. The charachters are superb and in the beginning and middle we're given a chance to know about them, but then at the end the film literally explodes and throws you in the middle of a war with the most intense action scenes since saving private ryan. It does this very smoothly aswell to the point where you don't mind that it's really become a different film. I don't really use this word a lot because I think it's shamefully overused in the metacritic user reviews and critics themselves overuse it, but this film is quite simply a Masterpiece. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
DamienDarko777May 6, 2011
I'd have to say this is one of the best science fiction movies ever made. The cinematography, the performances, the music, the story, everything about it excels. The director convincingly presents a bleak near-future where humanity has goneI'd have to say this is one of the best science fiction movies ever made. The cinematography, the performances, the music, the story, everything about it excels. The director convincingly presents a bleak near-future where humanity has gone infertile and is slowly dying out. Add in gut-wrenching action scenes, a particularly wonderful performance by Michael Caine, and an anti-fascist subtext, and you have a brilliant humanistic tale. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Anthony1111Jul 2, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It honestly seems like a lot of the negative reviewers don't look at the aching humanity that basically pours out of this film. The reason I felt it was great is because, while the plot may be simple, the emotion and, more importantly, the reaction of the characters, is incredibly well acted and scripted.
The film also seems to ask a lot of questions, most of which are terrifying in their implications, and that is exactly what kept me watching until the end.
For those of you who don't see character development: Do you honestly think the man Clive Owen portrayed in the beginning would be sitting in the boat with the baby at the end of the movie?
And we all know that even though it is only one baby, what would be the point in waving an endeavor to possibly save all of humanity as futility?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nashville13Nov 1, 2011
this movie could really predict the future,'cause the issues such as old age crisis and war which stated in this movie are happening in almost every country now.(2011) this movie's right, the old age crisis could really bring a plague upon the earth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
House0fWolves_Dec 16, 2011
Another apocalyptic, eerie film that I could watch on repeat. A thrilling ride that didn't even need to incorporate astounding effects due to the intricate plot. Bravo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IIISPQRIIIOct 2, 2012
Easily one of my favorite movies from a cinematographic point of view. There are at least two scenes in "Children of Men" that make the film as great as it is. Without trying to give away too much, there is an action scene near the end thatEasily one of my favorite movies from a cinematographic point of view. There are at least two scenes in "Children of Men" that make the film as great as it is. Without trying to give away too much, there is an action scene near the end that is shot in one take, lasting about 10 minutes, and is just an amazing feat of accomplishment. The story is also very well played out, but don't expect to understand every aspect and angle as they are not all fully developed (an aspect I actually liked considering most stories spoon feed you explanations that sometimes should not be included in the natural flow of events). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
Extraordinarily terrifying, Children of Men serves as a disturbing warning of what may become of Men and our world. Alfonso Cuaron and his cast prevent the audience from ever questioning the reality of this apocalyptic version of our world...Extraordinarily terrifying, Children of Men serves as a disturbing warning of what may become of Men and our world. Alfonso Cuaron and his cast prevent the audience from ever questioning the reality of this apocalyptic version of our world... quite simply because they are too damn convincing. One of the best films of the decade for its look ahead and futuristic thrills. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
miwojApr 11, 2013
One of my all time favorites and one of those rare occurrences where movie is way better then a book it is based on. I watched it a dozen times and i will watch a dozen more time in the future.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonOct 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Children Of Men is a unique, breathtaking and fresh film that is director Alfonso Curaon's best film yet. Yes, I have watched Gravity but this film is sad, scary and brilliant. Clive Owen gives a great performance as Theo Faron- a normal officeman who lives in a future world of Britain of 2027. The country raged with war and no democracy and a rule of having no children or fertility tests. The tables pound when Theo's ex girlfriend Julian played by Julianne Moore finds a 17 year old girl named Kee who is an illegal immigrant and needs help to get off coast and join the Human Project. Theo was suspicious but moved along with the plan. Luke played by Chiwetel Ejiofor a man who works with Julian is extremely raged and rushed about the pregnancy to come. When Mariam the caretaker of Kee takes the newly with Theo to thier safe house on a farm, Julian gets shot by some random raged teenagers who are part of the Anti Social Human Society. When Theo and Luke try to run they get stamped by police who Luke shoots later on. Theo gets more suspicious when Luke shoots the officer and asks him why. Luke stays quiet about the inquiry. Theo finds out on the farm that Kee is pregnant and can change the world with the last baby on earth. Theo overhears Luke talking to his gang members to kill Theo and snatch the baby from Kee to make him a part of the society. Theo informs Mariam and Kee when the others chase them. Theo takes them to his friend Jasper played by Micheal Caine. But they don't last long and Luke finds Jasper and kills him in his house in front of his handicapped wife. Theo and Kee escape and Theo swears that he will fulfill his promise. When Jasper's friend Syd helps them get a boat he also betrays them for money and the baby. Mariam gets taken by the border patrol camp. Now the question wrapped around the film is that will Kee and Theo escape the horror of war and the violence of sadness and get to their goal? Children of men is beautiful and very sad to watch but it is a wonder of cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MickJaguarOct 14, 2013
What an absolute gem of a movie. Overall, the movie was brilliantly conceptualized and executed. The world the movie paints seems like a world inhabited by actual people. The grim London streets inhabited by street toughs and desperate,What an absolute gem of a movie. Overall, the movie was brilliantly conceptualized and executed. The world the movie paints seems like a world inhabited by actual people. The grim London streets inhabited by street toughs and desperate, hungry immigrants, the prison camps in which immigrants are herded like cattle by the watchful eyes of sadistic military-police, the bombed out, Balkan-like war shelters all serve to transport the viewer into the dystopian future in which the movie is set in, as well as the desperation its inhabitants face. The stunning, visually arresting cinema verite cinematography also serves to heighten the sense of realism of the film. The jaw dropping camera work made me feel the chaos, fear, paranoia and confusion the characters felt in the brilliant conceived and executed action scenes. What a rush! While the bravura visual effects are worth the price of admission on its own, Cuaron does not skimp out on content. The film is a heady brew of ideas that riffs on everything from the nature of the police state, the widening economic disparity between the rich and the poor, immigrant rights to the vapidity of our tabloid-driven culture. However, Cuaron manages to convey these heady ideas without being preachy or overtly political. Cuaron seems to trust that the viewer is intelligent enough to draw his or her conclusions. However, the one aspect that ties it all together is the human element. The characters are well fleshed out and the actors brought brought incredible performances that bring the characters to life. Clive Owen brings a Humphrey Bogardian performance as the protagonist, Theo Farron, a world-weary cynic whose cynicism is rooted in pain. As Farron, Owen displays fear, paranoia, anguish (and even the vacant stare of a mindless office drone beat down by the daily grind of the 9-5). Yet Owen's Farron also displays humor, warmth, bravery and resiliency. In short, Owen's Farron is a complete human being, not the stock action hero caricature that is so prevalent in big budget Hollywood thrillers. Chiwetel Efiojor is at times both warm, but chilling and manic as the rebel leader Luke. Clare-Hope is a revelation as Kee. ****'s Kee displays the vulnerability of a teen in need of guidance, but also a fierce innate resolve and a sense of humor. The plot moves along at a brisk pace, until it ends in an ambiguous ending that leaves as much questions as answers. Indeed, that aspect bothers viewers who disliked the film. A minor quibble if you ask me. If you are an OCD afflicted math nerd who needs every plot strand to be bow-tied neatly, or a small-minded nitwit who needs to be shown everything, then you will probably dislike the movie. If, however, you enjoy well shot films that are not only entertaining on a visceral level but also have something to say, you will most definitely enjoy this film. One of my favorite movies for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oDjentoDec 12, 2015
One of my favourite films of all time. This film contains excellent performances, incredible cinematography, insane tracking shots and a story that is tense and well written that it keeps you feeling stressed for the characters all the wayOne of my favourite films of all time. This film contains excellent performances, incredible cinematography, insane tracking shots and a story that is tense and well written that it keeps you feeling stressed for the characters all the way through. Alfonso Cuaron created an under appreciated masterpiece here that is one of the best underrated films ever. I would recommend this to literally anyone.
If anyone wants to know one of the reasons this is one of my favourite films ever, just watch the car tracking shot. You'll know which one I mean.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SynystarSep 4, 2014
You probably won't like this movie unless you are experienced at life. Regardless of what any one has told you you ought to give it a chance. Pay attention to details and try to feel it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NikolaiChernovJan 16, 2015
If you take the movie for what it is, it is a much more enjoyable experience rather than sitting their asking questions like, "How did this girl get pregnant in the first place?" Remember, it is just a movie, and an amazing one at that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Jun 4, 2015
Easily one of the most important sci-fi films ever made of the 21st century, Gravity director Alfonso Cuaron brings one of the most chilling apocalyptic novels to the big screen!

In the year 2027, a massive chemical war has left all of
Easily one of the most important sci-fi films ever made of the 21st century, Gravity director Alfonso Cuaron brings one of the most chilling apocalyptic novels to the big screen!

In the year 2027, a massive chemical war has left all of humanity infertile, the inability to reproduce, in the middle of the chaos, cynical bureaucrat Theo Faron (Clive Owen) discovers mankind's new hope in a young pregnant african refugee and her miracle baby. Theo is soon placed responsible for the unborn child's safety as he helps get the refugee out of the country in a futuristic United Kingdom now divided by an islamic themed war-zone and a militarized all-british industrial society, that has made all immigration illegal through the government's growing bigotry and intolerance.

featuring other well done performances by Julianne Moore, Michael Caine, and Chiwetel Ejiofor, this film is very dramatic in its message and a painfully unbearable future apocalypse we wish and hope will never happen!

hands down one of the best science-fiction films since Planet of the Apes and the Day the Earth Stood Still.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
2141Sep 26, 2015
this is blatantly the best movie I have at least ever seen. Everything about this movie I love I hail alfonson Cuaron as the best director of our time. As I write this the movie has been out for 9 years and for a movie that Is 9 years oldthis is blatantly the best movie I have at least ever seen. Everything about this movie I love I hail alfonson Cuaron as the best director of our time. As I write this the movie has been out for 9 years and for a movie that Is 9 years old still looks like It came out yesterday. It's just that good. ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FilmMasterEddyAug 13, 2016
The end is nigh in “Children of Men,” the superbly directed political thriller by Alfonso Cuarón about a nervously plausible future. It’s 2027, and the human race is approaching the terminus of its long goodbye. Cities across the globe are inThe end is nigh in “Children of Men,” the superbly directed political thriller by Alfonso Cuarón about a nervously plausible future. It’s 2027, and the human race is approaching the terminus of its long goodbye. Cities across the globe are in flames, and the “siege of Seattle” has entered Day 1,000. In a permanent war zone called Britain, smoke pours into the air as illegal immigrants are swept into detainment camps. It’s apocalypse right here, right now — the end of the world as we knew and loved it, if not nearly enough.

Based in broad outline on the 1992 dystopian novel by P. D. James about a world suffering from global infertility — and written with a nod to Orwell by Mr. Cuarón and his writing partner Timothy J. Sexton along with David Arata, Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby — “Children of Men” pictures a world that looks a lot like our own, but darker, grimmer and more frighteningly, violently precarious. It imagines a world drained of hope and defined by terror in which bombs regularly explode in cafes crowded with men and women on their way to work.

Seriously. “Children of Men” may be something of a bummer, but it’s the kind of glorious bummer that lifts you to the rafters, transporting you with the greatness of its filmmaking. Like Clint Eastwood’s “Letters From Iwo Jima,” another new film that holds up a mirror to these times, Mr. Cuarón’s speculative fiction is a gratifying sign that big studios are still occasionally in the business of making ambitious, intelligent work that speaks to adults. And much like Mr. Eastwood’s most recent war movie, much like the best genre films of Hollywood history, “Children of Men” doesn’t announce its themes from a bully pulpit, with a megaphone in hand and Oscar in mind, but through the beauty of its form.

It may seem strange, even misplaced to talk of beauty given the horror of the film’s explosive opening. For Theo, the emotionally, physically enervated employee of the Ministry of Energy played without a shred of actorly egotism by Clive Owen, the day begins with a cup of coffee, an ear-shattering explosion and a screaming woman holding her severed arm. The Mexican-born Mr. Cuarón, whose previous credits include the children’s films “A Little Princess” (1995) and “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban” (2004), as well as the supremely sexy road movie “Y Tu Mamá También” (2001), has always had a dark streak. But nothing in his résumé prepares you for the shocking realism of this explosion, which proves all the more terrible because here it is also so very commonplace.

The action is swift, ferocious, spectacularly choreographed, with bodies careening wildly amid a fusillade of bullets and flying glass. Yet what lingers isn’t the technical virtuosity; it’s that after the car screeches off, Mr. Cuarón’s camera quietly lingers behind to show us two dead policemen, murdered in the name of an ideal and left like road kill. He forces us to look at the unspeakable and in doing so opens up a window onto the film’s moral landscape.

“Children of Men” has none of the hectoring qualities that tend to accompany good intentions in Hollywood. Most of the people doing the preaching turn out to be dreadfully, catastrophically misguided; everyone else seems to be holding on, like Theo’s friend Jasper (Michael Caine, wonderful), a former political cartoonist who bides his time with laughter and a lot of homegrown weed while listening to Beatles covers and rap. Still others, like Theo’s wealthy cousin, Nigel (Danny Huston, equally fine), who’s stashing away masterpieces like Michelangelo’s “David” for safekeeping in his private museum while Rome, New York and probably Guernica burn, can only smile as they swill another glass of wine. Hope isn’t the only thing that floats, as a song on the soundtrack reminds us.

There are, Mr. Cuarón suggests in “Children of Men,” different ways of waking up. You can either wake up and close your ears and eyes, or like Theo you can wake up until all your senses are roaring. Early in the film Theo and the restlessly moving camera seem very much apart, as Mr. Cuarón keeps a distance from the characters.

Every so often the camera pointedly drifts away from Theo, as it does with the dead policemen, to show us a weeping old woman locked in a cage or animals burning on pyres. In time, though, the camera comes closer to Theo as he opens his eyes — to a kitten crawling up his leg, to trees rustling in the wind — until, in one of the most astonishing scenes of battle I’ve ever seen on film, it is running alongside him, trying to keep pace with a man who has finally found a reason to keep going.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Dec 3, 2017
Based upon the novel of P. D. James, it´s one greatest achievements of Alfonso Cuaron. The story sited on a distopic scenario, shows a future without hope and on the edge of anarchy and extintion of humanity. Remarks the roles of Owen, MooreBased upon the novel of P. D. James, it´s one greatest achievements of Alfonso Cuaron. The story sited on a distopic scenario, shows a future without hope and on the edge of anarchy and extintion of humanity. Remarks the roles of Owen, Moore and Caine. Lubesky makes an outstanding job behind the camera. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FrankA.May 7, 2007
If you keep the politics out as requested one would not accuse the movie of being liberal fear mongering. It may be exactly what you say it is, but your demons are your own. I saw a great movie with actors I like and enjoyed the storyline If you keep the politics out as requested one would not accuse the movie of being liberal fear mongering. It may be exactly what you say it is, but your demons are your own. I saw a great movie with actors I like and enjoyed the storyline and action. After I saw the movie I read why people dislike it, mostly, they hate it for political reasons. Nice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElisabethN.Jan 12, 2007
An excellent and deeply disturbing film, that ended five minutes early.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarkJ.Jan 2, 2007
Powerful, thrilling and utterly immersing! This seemed to slip under the radar on the back end of 2006 without recieving the acclaim I think it deserves, and really was one of the best films of the year. This one will stick with you, a must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KAJan 5, 2007
The seeds of this movie scenario have already been sown in the real world and this film shows us the ugly flowering that could occur in twenty years if we fail to protect our civil liberties now. The gritty realism propels us into the sheer The seeds of this movie scenario have already been sown in the real world and this film shows us the ugly flowering that could occur in twenty years if we fail to protect our civil liberties now. The gritty realism propels us into the sheer terror of this universe in a way the excellent, but more ideological, V for Vendetta did not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattB.Apr 30, 2007
Wow! Reading all these reviews, I guess you either love it or hate it. I love this film for the same reason a lot of people hate it- because not everything is explained. I think a lot of people posting low scores have been conditioned to Wow! Reading all these reviews, I guess you either love it or hate it. I love this film for the same reason a lot of people hate it- because not everything is explained. I think a lot of people posting low scores have been conditioned to expect Hollywood formula where you get a nice cosy package and don't have to think too hard. This was like a snapshot of the future focussing on one man; why do we nee to know his past or the intricacies of governemnt ideology? This painted a believable vision of consumer society gone mad; the acting was tremendous- a career high for Michael Caine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
C.B.May 7, 2007
Visually amazing
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MortenNAug 6, 2007
This is a great movie. It was emotionally captivating, had great action sequences and gave the right balance between solving the mysteries and letting us think for ourself. I honestly don't understand those who think this movie suck.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SteveT.Dec 20, 2006
An emotionally powerful movie with some unforgettable and shockingly realistic action scenes. My favorite film of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ReyG.Jan 23, 2007
Good plot, well acted, surprising finale.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BitBurnJan 29, 2007
That one part near the end (don't want to spoil it!!!) is easily one of the most moving scenes I have ever seen in a film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
A.R.L.Jan 4, 2007
An epic movie with many dystopian elements. Amazingly directed creating a memorizing environment which places you in the movie. Michael Caine gives a charming performance of optimism. Clive Owen plays somewhat of a working class hero which An epic movie with many dystopian elements. Amazingly directed creating a memorizing environment which places you in the movie. Michael Caine gives a charming performance of optimism. Clive Owen plays somewhat of a working class hero which is reflected by the musical theme of the movie. I could watch it over and over and over. In fact I already have, ha! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinB.Jan 6, 2007
Spectacular cinematography and layout throughout of the movie. Deep intellectual thinking and symbology tie seamlessly into the movie and gives one a chance to think about today's complications. Beautifully ended to give chance of imagination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanC.Jan 7, 2007
An incredibly moving Sci-Fi film. Very heavy. Not a film you can recommend to everyone becuase of its depressing subject matter but in all ways a fantastic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrewFeb 17, 2007
Cassandra, sounds like your typical brain washed fox news fangirl (did I leave out brain washed christian too?). Why do people let their second-hand opinions about politics and religion, dictate their opinions that they actually have control Cassandra, sounds like your typical brain washed fox news fangirl (did I leave out brain washed christian too?). Why do people let their second-hand opinions about politics and religion, dictate their opinions that they actually have control over? This movie was much better than a 1. Good acting and great technical prowless 9 times out of 10 trumps anything that usually comes out of Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshC.Feb 3, 2007
An excellent adaptation of a compelling novel. The difference between the two is a telling comment on our post 9/11 world. Whereas the novel depicts a benevolent but ineffectual government helping its aging citizens come to terms with the An excellent adaptation of a compelling novel. The difference between the two is a telling comment on our post 9/11 world. Whereas the novel depicts a benevolent but ineffectual government helping its aging citizens come to terms with the extinction of their species, the movie shows a grim and fiercely defensive government locking down the last surviving bastion of civilization. The end results of both are the same: a semi-hopeful yet resigned plunge into the inevitable. The image from the movie that continues to haunt me is one of a mushroom cloud over Manhattan that appears in a montage show on a video screen while Theo rides the bus. It's a grimly familiar site that grips me with a deep chill. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BouncerFeb 9, 2007
Politics from any side turns people into monsters. Left wingers are not immune to the politicized images presented. To think that this film is solely a critique of the Bush administration is a farcical statement at best. There is a reason Politics from any side turns people into monsters. Left wingers are not immune to the politicized images presented. To think that this film is solely a critique of the Bush administration is a farcical statement at best. There is a reason why the camera follows the action over Clive Owen's shoulder, and not anyone else's. Clive Owen is no bleeding heart liberal--the movie makes that much clear--so put the ideology away and watch a masterpiece in character development unfold in some of those rivettingly shot scenes in cinematic history. Boom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FinnAug 30, 2008
One of the best movies i watched in a LONG time. Sure, there isn't much different from a lot of other action movies "Someone is important, and he/she has to survive till he/she made the destination", but the story, the suspense, acting One of the best movies i watched in a LONG time. Sure, there isn't much different from a lot of other action movies "Someone is important, and he/she has to survive till he/she made the destination", but the story, the suspense, acting and a brutal look at how our future might look like if something like this might ever happen. I wont go in further details, all i can say is that i loved it, and i recommend everybody to check it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LuciaCOct 30, 2009
This was good for thinking but it needed answers not questions!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesJan 17, 2007
The most harrowing and thrilling movie I've seen in a long time. Great cinematography and message. Instant classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Jan 5, 2007
A Brilliant, Visionary film. The first movie set in the future that is at times terrifying simply because it is so real to the direction the world is heading today. The music and production design are perfect right down to the smallest A Brilliant, Visionary film. The first movie set in the future that is at times terrifying simply because it is so real to the direction the world is heading today. The music and production design are perfect right down to the smallest detail, but it is the cinematography by Emmanuel Lubezski that takes giant leaps into how the camera is everything to the pulse of a movie. There are scenes in this movie that simply swallow you into screen like shots of adrenelin and give you cinematic rushes like you've never seen or felt before! It is a bleak, yet amazing story and Alfonso Cuaron balances it to perfection. Any mind that concieve a scene with "Court of the Crimson King" playing on a set inspired by the cover of Pink Floyd's Animals is pure Genius!! Children of Men is one of the 5 Best Pictures of the Year!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DWillyJan 6, 2007
I can't add anything to the rightly glowing reviews and numbers that, in this nearly lone case, I agree with. Masterful, moving, harrowing. I've always liked Clive Owen but confess to having felt him a bit overrated for his narrow I can't add anything to the rightly glowing reviews and numbers that, in this nearly lone case, I agree with. Masterful, moving, harrowing. I've always liked Clive Owen but confess to having felt him a bit overrated for his narrow toughguy stance; but here he is loose and vulnerable and I'd like to shake his hand for carrying this important film that I know must have been a very difficult to make. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaunX.Jan 6, 2007
Excellent film. Cinematography is amazing. Atmosphere is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AntonioA.Jan 7, 2007
Keeps your attention and heart pounding at the edge of your seat. The surroudning signs, artifacts, newspaper clippings and scenery greatly enhances the understanding of the plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulFeb 17, 2007
WOW this movie was awesome! I can't believe one reviewer said it was boring! It took about 10 minutes to get into it, but once the craziness started, it never stopped. And I was amazed at some of the camerawork and editing. One scene WOW this movie was awesome! I can't believe one reviewer said it was boring! It took about 10 minutes to get into it, but once the craziness started, it never stopped. And I was amazed at some of the camerawork and editing. One scene near the end, where there were bombs going off, bullets flying, tanks shooting buildings, looked like it was done all in one shot! I dont know how they did it, but it made for one f***ing intense scene!!! This is one movie I'll be buying soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoakimL.Mar 16, 2007
Children of Men is a dynamic mix of humour, drama and pure adrenaline action. One of the best pictures of 2006/2007 (it was released in december 2006, and on DVD in march 2007). I highly recommend it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SomeDudeMar 28, 2007
Don't even bother looking at the bad reivews. They don't know what they're talking about. This movie is great! Starts off kinda slow and a little confusing because they never really explain what's going on with the world, Don't even bother looking at the bad reivews. They don't know what they're talking about. This movie is great! Starts off kinda slow and a little confusing because they never really explain what's going on with the world, but once it starts, it doesnt let go. The action scene towards the end was probably the best I've seen in a movie in quite a while. Go rent it, make your own decision, but I guarantee you'll like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickR.Mar 4, 2007
Inspired belongs with Pan's Labyrinth and United 93 as the top films I've seen all year. it's science fiction done right which means it doesn't hit you over the head with the obvious issues. cuaron mesmerizes you and Inspired belongs with Pan's Labyrinth and United 93 as the top films I've seen all year. it's science fiction done right which means it doesn't hit you over the head with the obvious issues. cuaron mesmerizes you and draws all into a flim of lyrical beauty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GinoM.Apr 7, 2007
This film is a gripping fantasy that harbors more than meets the eye. I can't wait to watch it again to see what new emotions and feelings are conjured up within me. The fabulous cinemetography is a given, and not the source of debate. This film is a gripping fantasy that harbors more than meets the eye. I can't wait to watch it again to see what new emotions and feelings are conjured up within me. The fabulous cinemetography is a given, and not the source of debate. Morever, it's truly complex nature of issues that underpin the futuristic plot of this movie that really get people polorized...I'm on the positive side of that spectrum. An eyeopening vignette into the plausible effects of a global earth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyM.Jun 27, 2008
Well...what can I say about Children of Men? It's a completely heartbreaking thrill ride that'll keep you glued to your seat. Simply outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimP.Jul 28, 2008
A true gem of a film. It is clearly intended to make viewers think... I've read some mixed reviews and it seems that those who slated the film either didn't understand it or are cretins who prefer cheesy Hollywood action flicks. A true gem of a film. It is clearly intended to make viewers think... I've read some mixed reviews and it seems that those who slated the film either didn't understand it or are cretins who prefer cheesy Hollywood action flicks. Very realistic and gritty scenes - most realistic birth scene I've ever seen. The use of hand held cameras, and the blood on the lens for several minutes adds to the realism of the film. Caine's portrayal of a dope growing hippie was fantastic and very entertaining. A breath of fresh air to not have to watch a film dumbed down for the American market - I recommend it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekColemanSep 18, 2008
!!!!!!!!!!READ!!!!!!!!!! Every time I see a movie that I believe is good, I like to read all of the negative reviews, as it helps me to conclude my opinion. Yes, the plot of this movie was not a conventional one, nor did the ending leave us !!!!!!!!!!READ!!!!!!!!!! Every time I see a movie that I believe is good, I like to read all of the negative reviews, as it helps me to conclude my opinion. Yes, the plot of this movie was not a conventional one, nor did the ending leave us with a sense of closure. However, there are many factors that make this movie unique and brilliant. The events portrayed in this film are so realistic that it can almost be classed as non-fiction science fiction. I can't believe the naivity of people who think that society wouldn't revert back to the dark ages if a pandemic of this speed and magnitude were introduced to humanity. I think the best scene in the movie was the part where Theo is being driven to his cousin's place and the song "In the Court of the Crimson King" by King Crimson is being played. The scene is Theo (Owen) observing what transitioned from a crowd of desperate protestors and "fugees" to the high class citizens of Britain as he is chauffeured to his cousin's place. The scene was filmed brilliantly and the choice of music was absolutely perfect. The only reason I gave this movie a 9 and not a 10 is because the plot could have been a little better in the fact that it is greatly unbelievable that the infertility pandemic would have onset to every human in the world so quickly. I just couldn't believe that Theo and Julian had a child, Dylan, and now for some reason couldn't. If Theo and Julian were born infertile then that would have made more sense to me. The fact is, having children is what gives the majority of humans a sense of purpose and meaning. I feel that this movie did an excellent job in portraying the insanity that would ensue from a massive infertility pandemic. Who knows, if something like that were to happen in the future, perhaps it would be an even more violent and bleak existance for the remaining humans on Earth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JDOct 8, 2009
Wow the level of idiocy of some of these users just blows my mind...like the guy who kept complaining that London isn't like the one in the movie. It's a fictional FUTURE you genius. Anyways, I LOVE this film. It's very Wow the level of idiocy of some of these users just blows my mind...like the guy who kept complaining that London isn't like the one in the movie. It's a fictional FUTURE you genius. Anyways, I LOVE this film. It's very engaging, the cinematography is excellent, and the acting is great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeR.Jan 11, 2007
At the same time that CHILDREN OF MEN
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulFratianniJan 14, 2007
Less so about entertainment Children of Men is a social commentary. Pro-Lifers will see it from their point of view just as much as environmentalist and the anti-war crowd will from theirs. It could be seen as an amalgamation of all theseLess so about entertainment Children of Men is a social commentary. Pro-Lifers will see it from their point of view just as much as environmentalist and the anti-war crowd will from theirs. It could be seen as an amalgamation of all these views focusing on an over arching theme of a lack of respect for life in the modern times we live.
There was a poignant scene in the movie ***WARNING SPOILERS*** when Michael Caines character, Jasper, asks whether ultimately the universe is about faith or chance. Though a nice an intelligent character he is marred by the suffering in the world leaning towards a nihilist ethos. Yet still his character is willing to sacrifice in hopes for a better world.

In my opinion the world is about both faith and chance, faith being the enlightened actions of mankind and chance being the senselessness. Clare-Hope Ashitey character, Kee, points this beautifully by asking why are the tits of cows cut off to fit a four utter machine. Why do they simply make one for six? Man in his senselessness ideology, tradition, greed, etc, cause most of the suffering in this world.

However there is almost a sense of a universal cosmic conspiracy that seems to go on at the same time. It seems that one thing after another goes wrong for Clive Owens Character, Theo, with cars that won
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LauraGJan 14, 2007
Excellent overall. For those who found the story premise so powerful, do read the 1992 novel by P.D.James. James' story has been radically altered - everything from the characters to the ending - but the movie retains the gut-clinching Excellent overall. For those who found the story premise so powerful, do read the 1992 novel by P.D.James. James' story has been radically altered - everything from the characters to the ending - but the movie retains the gut-clinching realization that it could happen and how horrifying it would be. Knowing that society is aging itself out of existence would in all likelihood give rise to anarchy and/or military law, bizarre religious actions, and various other unknowable reactions. What is the purpose of human life if everything human ends? The movie definitely draws you in. The characters, however, don't always pull their weight with the story - they just aren't strong enough for the movie to be character-driven. I think that's why many reviewers loathe not knowing what happens. The entire reason the movie works is that you want to know what happens, it's what you care about, and you don't actually get that in the end. Some people, like me, are fine with that, and others not so much! Clive Owen's acting kept making me think about a super-flat-anti-emotion Nicholas Cage. Kee needed to be far far more engrossing as a person. But otherwise, strongly presented, Amazingly Filmed, and definitely makes you think about the future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TravisS.Oct 14, 2007
Why did infertility impact the human race? The death, war, and despair, that the film takes place in, is the reason. The human race had F*(Kd things up so much that someone/thing had to interrupt us and force us to step back and take a look Why did infertility impact the human race? The death, war, and despair, that the film takes place in, is the reason. The human race had F*(Kd things up so much that someone/thing had to interrupt us and force us to step back and take a look at what we are.... do we deserve to live? do we as a race deserve to go on? I think the obvious answer the movie shows is absolutely not. The rape and pillage of the natural world caused something to strike back at as... and it spared us. All the past f*(K ups die away and the new and "week" inherit the world. what stepped un to wake us up? what ultimately spared us? I'm not religious, but obviously it was God. That's not what the point of this story is. the point is that we have messed things up beyond repair, but we were spared. Brilliant movie... I could go on for hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CalvinJ.Jan 18, 2007
Take the movie as it is. There are some parts which they should have gone more in depth, but it was nevertheless moving and a microscopic examination of our nation's priorities today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterB.Jan 19, 2007
Excellent movie, one of the best of the year. Quite simply because Cuaron does a fine job, most one camera scenes are just splendid. Ia gree that its an OK plot but im disappointed to see that most who gave it a 1, justify thorugh its lack Excellent movie, one of the best of the year. Quite simply because Cuaron does a fine job, most one camera scenes are just splendid. Ia gree that its an OK plot but im disappointed to see that most who gave it a 1, justify thorugh its lack of coherence or its too many answered questions. I believe this movie is mostly about a man and we basicly know as much as he does. Its a movie about hope not salvation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SambistagirlFeb 15, 2007
This was a great movie. Very exciting. The attention to detail was fantastic. A little depressing at times, but very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Mr.JohnsonMar 26, 2007
Just Splendid. It was a thorough delight. And I recommend it highly!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KalenK.Apr 23, 2007
I am honestly shocked to see that so many people gave this brilliant film such low scores. There's always one or two people that just do not GET a movie and give it low scores, but this is astounding. There is no possible way this movie I am honestly shocked to see that so many people gave this brilliant film such low scores. There's always one or two people that just do not GET a movie and give it low scores, but this is astounding. There is no possible way this movie deserves a 2 or less. Ridiculous. If you have not seen it, this is one time you should listen to the pro reviews above and ignore the commenting idiots down here. (sure, me too, that's fine). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
dijavantewowOct 17, 2010
The one long, one-shot scene alone was enough to make anyone realize that the cinematography is above the rest. The plot is interesting, and I do like where the director goes with it. I liked this movie, and was under the impression that mostThe one long, one-shot scene alone was enough to make anyone realize that the cinematography is above the rest. The plot is interesting, and I do like where the director goes with it. I liked this movie, and was under the impression that most thought it was just okay, until I saw this page. I'm glad more people agree with me, because this one was impressive. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
Although it leaves you wondering what happened, this is a movie that sticks in your brain. Like a good meal, you will think about it afterward. Disturbing and entertaining.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
9
MorningtonOct 23, 2010
I feel that Children of Men is an electric motion picture that is both original and evocative of early cinema, where the skilled manipulation of the viewer is carried out to evoke raw, visceral feelings that are primeval within us.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
cabritaAug 31, 2012
The film succeeds because of it's dramatic power. this is a result of the great camera work and great acting. However I found the films themes to be a bit week but this is a really weak criticism.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
Potter17Sep 26, 2011
Forget about zombie-apocalypse. "Children of Men" shows we don't need monsters to make our society collapses. The dark creatures responsible for our doom live inside the humans themselves.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MultipurposeSep 15, 2011
As it has been said, you'll either love or hate this movie. Personally, as I enjoyed it, it's hard to understand why others dislike it. There's talk of poor character development, unanswered questions, etc. The problem is, with characterAs it has been said, you'll either love or hate this movie. Personally, as I enjoyed it, it's hard to understand why others dislike it. There's talk of poor character development, unanswered questions, etc. The problem is, with character development, if the protagonist goes on the traditional route (naive to weary to underdog to champion to victim etc.) it's completely cliche and it has been done thousands of times. You can go into a movie and you already know exactly how the character is going to react to every plot twist and curve that comes along, and it's boring! You know "well obviously, this every day regular guy is clearly going to reject the ludicrous things he is being told. Then slowly he is going to accept them, then embrace them, then champion them, and then get burned by them, and then redeem them".

So I'm happy when there's this character who comes along, and we don't need to spend an hour watching him reject the plot of the film, only to then embrace it. Not to mention, actually, there is quite a good amount of character development in this movie. I can't be bothered to explain it all, and if you missed it, obviously you weren't paying close enough attention, and that's not the directors or actors fault.

Regarding "unanswered questions". That was one of the themes of the entire movie (besides "hope"). No one knows what's going on. No one knows what the next day will bring. The rest of the civilised world has collapsed. What, did you want some scientist in a doctors coat and big classes, while holding some test tubes, to explain in the last 30 seconds of the movie what caused the sterility of the world, and what caused the female protagonist to become pregnant? These questions were left unanswered because, as is the theme of the movie, no one knows why. Basically, if you go into a movie wanting it to do something, you will always be disappointed, because it won't do what you want. If you go into a movie and strap yourself in and enjoy the ride, you're going to enjoy it. You can't blame a movie for not doing something you want it to do, especially if doing such a thing would destroy the entire theme of the movie. Great movie, 9/10, the cinematography was beautiful, some really professional and inspired work there.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RodrigoBGCSep 27, 2011
Alfonso Cuarón is simply the best in the art of camera, this movie is brilliant the message that leaves you is incredible and show us that no matter how dark is the sky we can always find hope
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Alexander_FredDec 14, 2011
Children of Men is a film that becomes something more than itself. It is political. It is intelligent. It is emotional. And most importantly it speaks into the lives of people in this day and age teaching us about our own humanity. Aside fromChildren of Men is a film that becomes something more than itself. It is political. It is intelligent. It is emotional. And most importantly it speaks into the lives of people in this day and age teaching us about our own humanity. Aside from minor faults including one of the worst birthing scenes in modern cinematic history, the film truly makes the viewers a part of the action. During the climactic final battle, the camera moves in such a way that the viewer feels himself being a part of the scene. Violence may be present, but never is it used for the sake of violence. Rather it is always used as a tool to further explore the thematic elements of morality, humanity, and the politics that get in the way of both. The dystopian future is perhaps the greatest since A Clockwork Orange and in many ways may even be better. The use of varied cinematographic elements and the musical accompaniment to the film add wonders in bringing the vision of Alfonso Cuarón to life. Editing then weaves together the brilliant performances from Clive Owen and Chiwetel Ejiofor. This is not a movie to be watched for cheap thrills or laughs, but a film that must be taken seriously. And when that is done, truth will be spoken into the lives of all who witness it. A tear or two may come as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews