Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 25, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1096 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
924
Mixed:
65
Negative:
107
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
BenHJun 1, 2009
Great filming.. but poorly developed characters, a complete lack of direction, point or cohesion and heaps of mindless violence and ugliness add up to equal the same old crap we've been shoveled for the last 30 years.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
3
ApocalypseBrownMar 3, 2007
Pathetic! Tries hard to be something it can never be, which is classy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JeffD.Jan 24, 2007
This movie has the same feel as "28 days later" yet fails to bring the audience in and allow them to care what's happening to the characters. Storyline had great potential but is filled with meaningless and uninteresting dialog as well This movie has the same feel as "28 days later" yet fails to bring the audience in and allow them to care what's happening to the characters. Storyline had great potential but is filled with meaningless and uninteresting dialog as well as an over-abundance of violence which adds nothing to the story or the progression of the characters themselves. A 2-hour waste of time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DavidH.Jan 3, 2007
Indeed the world HAS gone bonkers when film academics give rave reviews to this kind of trite rubbish. Children of Men's meandering plotline is in no way helped by the film's confused allegory. Clive Owen is his usual turgid self. Indeed the world HAS gone bonkers when film academics give rave reviews to this kind of trite rubbish. Children of Men's meandering plotline is in no way helped by the film's confused allegory. Clive Owen is his usual turgid self. The film's social commentary is by equal measure myopic and simplistic. Action sequences, especially the finale, smack of similarities to films such as Downfall and the Pianist, the visuals throughout the film are tiresomely familiar to anyone accustomed to other sci-fi releases such as Blade Runner, Brazil, A.I and Minority Report. To top it all off, the drama is thin, exhibiting not a single memorable character. Shame, the editing is suberb. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GeorgeH.Jan 9, 2007
Could have been MUCH better than what the trailers lead us to believe. Standard chase film, nothing new or special and actually pretty tedious. I didn't give a hoot about Clive Owen's character or relationship with Julianne Moore. Could have been MUCH better than what the trailers lead us to believe. Standard chase film, nothing new or special and actually pretty tedious. I didn't give a hoot about Clive Owen's character or relationship with Julianne Moore. Michael was was especially annoying as his mentor. I found the most interesting characters to be either mute (the teen playing a futuristic video game at the breakfast table) or catatonic (Michael Caine's wife). Someone recently said, "Why is it that all storylines (with few exceptions) that take place in the future have a distinctly black/blue/grey look to them? What futiristic despot banned technincolor? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JeannieFeb 2, 2007
A dystopic, boring, depressing, confusing vision of the future, and very politicized for our present state of affairs. The "immigrant rights" angle is one case in point. Lots of logical inconsistencies, unsympathetic, poorly-developed A dystopic, boring, depressing, confusing vision of the future, and very politicized for our present state of affairs. The "immigrant rights" angle is one case in point. Lots of logical inconsistencies, unsympathetic, poorly-developed characters, melancholy cinematography, gratuitous violence. I would not recommend this piece of left-wing propaganda to anyone remotely optimistic about the future. And the "music" stunk. Thumbs down! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DavidT.Apr 1, 2007
Shot VERY Well...Which is Half the Battle BUT a VERY Bad Story Line! Very Anit-Climatic!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PeterJ.May 3, 2007
When I ready all of the reviews for this movie I could not wait to see it. The storyline looked awesome in retrospect. I was so disappointed that this turned into some kind of future concentration camp movie. I know the premise of this movie When I ready all of the reviews for this movie I could not wait to see it. The storyline looked awesome in retrospect. I was so disappointed that this turned into some kind of future concentration camp movie. I know the premise of this movie was unrealistic to being with, but I was looking for something a little more believeable... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BrianK.Sep 1, 2007
This movie was terrible. There were just too many plot problems. Children of Men takes place in Britain in a futuristic age where humans can no longer reproduce. The only thing keeping my attention was the hope that the cause of the This movie was terrible. There were just too many plot problems. Children of Men takes place in Britain in a futuristic age where humans can no longer reproduce. The only thing keeping my attention was the hope that the cause of the infertility would be revealed. However, the only provided explanation is that about 20 years earlier, there was a disease going around, causing the change. Since this phenomenon drives the whole plot of the film, I would have preferred to have been given an explanation lasting more than 20 seconds. Also, I don't want to give too much away, but the ending isn't much of a conclusion. Rather, the camera just zooms out and no questions have been answered and the protagonist is still in the middle of his journey. I'm not saying that I wanted everything to be wrapped up neatly; I just want to see at least some form of finality. Another problem of mine was the characterization. In the middle of the film, people try to kill a woman because she's pregnant, yet, as soon as the baby's born, everybody suddenly becomes nice and peaceful. I understand that the director was trying to show the innocence of children, but going from murderous to crying and hugging in a matter of seconds is just too ridiculous. In addition, I had some problems with the filming. There were a couple of times when vision was distracted because of blood from the scene that splattered onto the camera. As a result, there's a whole scene in which the characters are running around, but I was fixated on the drops of liquid that were dripping down the screen. (Trust me, the blood was not there for a symbolic purpose.) In short, the idea of a futuristic world without fertility may have been a good idea, but the execution was dreadful. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
SibylPJan 1, 2009
The cinematography, the art direction, are interesting, the cast is good except for Miriam and Kee (not so much), but all have been put to the service of a bogus vision. What the heck is the point? Infertility is hardly a problem in the real The cinematography, the art direction, are interesting, the cast is good except for Miriam and Kee (not so much), but all have been put to the service of a bogus vision. What the heck is the point? Infertility is hardly a problem in the real world. Overpopulation is more of a problem. In Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
HollyR.Jan 10, 2007
Blade Runner is my all time favorite film, and while I appreciated the cinematography, special effects and gritty futuristic look of a world in ruins (Children Of Men), the significance of getting this pregnant woman/new baby to the "Human Blade Runner is my all time favorite film, and while I appreciated the cinematography, special effects and gritty futuristic look of a world in ruins (Children Of Men), the significance of getting this pregnant woman/new baby to the "Human Project" was not explained at all. This movie has nothing on BR, not even in your wildest dreams!!! Sorry. How was the Human Project going to fix the problem of infertility in the world? How was one baby going to fix it? Nothing about this was ever explained and the ending was so abrupt it was like they ran out of time. A good movie considers these questions and answers them. I don't buy the whole "it makes you think" crap. That is a total cop-out. Good movies wrap things up. These problems were so huge it totally ruined the rest of an otherwise good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DamonC.Jan 13, 2007
Very disappointing. This is NOT of the best movies of 2006. The narrative is a jumbled mess, the ending is thematically ambiguous - if humankind is so bad, then isn't better to just let it go away? the baby is not a symbol of innocence, Very disappointing. This is NOT of the best movies of 2006. The narrative is a jumbled mess, the ending is thematically ambiguous - if humankind is so bad, then isn't better to just let it go away? the baby is not a symbol of innocence, but naive hope that will only be dashed again and again, for THAT is the message of COM. Watch for the B+ cinematography, and okay acting from Clive Owen, but forget about everything else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GlennS.Jan 26, 2007
Most depressing movie I've every seen, bar none. I spent a year in Viet Nam, and this movie made me physically ill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BillyB.Apr 14, 2007
I expected a whole lot more from this movie. I thought it started out good, but then it just kept building and building into nothing. The effects were excellent and the action was ok, but the story line really wasn't too great and I expected a whole lot more from this movie. I thought it started out good, but then it just kept building and building into nothing. The effects were excellent and the action was ok, but the story line really wasn't too great and confused me in many parts. Michael Caine doesn't make a very good hippie either. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BenF.Apr 7, 2007
Great effects. It's just too bad it's another mental exercise. What about those of us who do get it and still thought this movie was boring? Like that one child would even make a difference in that world. I was waiting for a stray Great effects. It's just too bad it's another mental exercise. What about those of us who do get it and still thought this movie was boring? Like that one child would even make a difference in that world. I was waiting for a stray bullet to hit the baby. That would have given this movie some meaning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChristopherJ.Jun 6, 2007
I gave my complete attention to this film, and it didn't make much sense. For some reason no women can have babies, and then this black teenager gets pregnant, so then people are excited about her. But then during other scenes it seems I gave my complete attention to this film, and it didn't make much sense. For some reason no women can have babies, and then this black teenager gets pregnant, so then people are excited about her. But then during other scenes it seems like people don't really care about her. Like when she's walking by the soldiers, they don't try to protect her, they just stare at her. The characters just weren't making sense in their behavior to me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ShermanS.Jan 23, 2007
I found this movie quite tedious. There was chaos everywhere but you never saw the government behind it, just the results. It was clear that any moment the characters in the movie realized they could only expect the worst, so there was no I found this movie quite tedious. There was chaos everywhere but you never saw the government behind it, just the results. It was clear that any moment the characters in the movie realized they could only expect the worst, so there was no surprise that the worst happened. They really had little control over anything and so I didn't care what happened and was glad when the movie was over. I think to care would have been like rooting for a pinball as it bounced around in its game-bound world. Not likely. There have been plenty of chaotic/anarchic views of the future in movies and this film did nothing new for me. Go see V for Vendetta; at least it makes a political statement. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
BobS.Feb 16, 2007
THe film's story seems to be made up as they went along. It is often just inane. Although I liked much of the acting, story is important too and this film lacks a coherent one, and we have violence for the sake of violence. A wasted effort.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
earwaxDec 29, 2006
Nicely filmed. plot kind of sucked. too many unanswered questions. totally implausable premise. to hard accept the idea that humans can't reproduce.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SpangleJul 3, 2014
This one was a major disappointment for me. I will start off with the few positives before moving into the negatives. Firstly, the acting was good, especially from Clive Owen, Julianne Moore, and then Chiwetel Ejiofor and Charlie Hunnam isThis one was a major disappointment for me. I will start off with the few positives before moving into the negatives. Firstly, the acting was good, especially from Clive Owen, Julianne Moore, and then Chiwetel Ejiofor and Charlie Hunnam is smaller roles. In addition, the cinematography here is great, especially during action sequences. The whole film has this really cool video game esque feel to what unfolds that is just missing the prompts for what you are supposed to do next. In addition, the colors here are great, as the gray everywhere really sums up the despair. Now, for the negatives. There are not a ton, but they are big enough to really hamper this one. Firstly, the story sucks. In premise, it sounds good, but in practice it is boring and uninteresting. In addition, there needs to be some kind of introduction to this world. Many things are occuring in this film and it never really explains why. I know that Cuaron hates backstory, but it is needed in this type of film to allow the audience to understand this futuristic setting. Without it, the audience is left guessing as to why the events are happening. Another major issue surrounds one of the deaths in this film, as it is hinted that it was a specific reason, but the reason is murky at best and really needed better explaining. It is a very important sequence, yet the reasoning behind is left largely unanswered. The script is also pretty bad in most parts as the dialogue had me cringing quite frequently. It all felt very unnatural and poorly worded. Finally, Clara-Hope **** is quite annoying and since she had a large role, it really subtracted from the overall film. Many find this film to be thought-provoking and cautionary. I cannot help but agree, as it left me wondering how it got so much praise and a warning to not trust the general consensus all the time. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
PnArdyPnArdyMay 13, 2007
This is one of the most boring and awful blockbusters with horrible acting, decorations, plot, and SFX, I've ever seen. It Definetely doesn't deserve 8 out of 10. Clive Owen plays a legal citizen in the post-apocalyptic world of This is one of the most boring and awful blockbusters with horrible acting, decorations, plot, and SFX, I've ever seen. It Definetely doesn't deserve 8 out of 10. Clive Owen plays a legal citizen in the post-apocalyptic world of NWO of the near future. He has to smuggle the last pregnant woman on Earth past the all seeing eyes of NWO spies in the city of London under marshall law. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JamesL.Jan 6, 2008
Boring mindless chase movie. Who's side are we supposed to root for? Problem is you tend not to care. The only thing I was rooting for were the closing credits.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
IrwinJan 15, 2007
Hardly original, Children of Men
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
V.MartinezJan 28, 2007
A stinker...Pop a chewable Prozac before you see this one, because it's bleeping depressing. The world falls completely apart in the next 20 years?? Must be global warming's fault. Underground rebels, fascist soldiers, more chase A stinker...Pop a chewable Prozac before you see this one, because it's bleeping depressing. The world falls completely apart in the next 20 years?? Must be global warming's fault. Underground rebels, fascist soldiers, more chase scenes, cliche here, cliche there. So many unanswered questions that I stopped caring about anything this movie tried to convey, namely that dogs can reproduce, but humans can't (shouldn't?) :0) Maybe Part II will be Puppies of Dogs. Seriously, there are so many people giving this mediocre movie a 9 or 10 that I think maybe our world might look like this in 20 years (me? I'll be in the 'Fugee' section begging for my $9 back). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JohnF.Feb 3, 2007
I assume the high rating from people is more a political statement instead a true evaluation of the movie. I was very disapointed. The movie was slow and boring. The political message was beaten into us. I expected much better.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MattMar 30, 2007
Well shot, simplistic, clumsily acted B movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
AideenM.Apr 22, 2007
What a waste! So much could have been made of this plot: why was she the only woman to get pregnant? How did it happen? Who's the father? Instead, it was just one long, dreary, chase.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JoK.Apr 29, 2007
Thoroughly depressing - not enough story, too much unintelligable dialogue, drawn out action scene where basically anyone you grow any affection for is violently eradicated (why couldn't they have got rid off the guy with the blonde Thoroughly depressing - not enough story, too much unintelligable dialogue, drawn out action scene where basically anyone you grow any affection for is violently eradicated (why couldn't they have got rid off the guy with the blonde dreadlocks wayyyy earlier - and him finding them in Bexhill like that? Annoyingly improbable). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JohnG.May 3, 2007
Liberal fear mongering. Keep your politics out of the plot and perhaps this movie would have been better. Characters were boring, the case boring, the action scenes boring. I don't mind having to think through a movie, but you can be Liberal fear mongering. Keep your politics out of the plot and perhaps this movie would have been better. Characters were boring, the case boring, the action scenes boring. I don't mind having to think through a movie, but you can be more clever than this drivel. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BenWDec 27, 2006
It is one thing to suspend belief for the plot's main storyline, but another to ignore the inconsistencies strewn throughout the movie. Why would the soldiers let them just wander off after discovering the only baby born in the last 18 years?
0 of 0 users found this helpful