Children of Men

Children of Men Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 1024 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Children of Men envisages a world one generation from now that has fallen into anarchy on the heels of an infertility defect in the population. The world's youngest citizen has just died at 18, and humankind is facing the likelihood of its own extinction. Set against the backdrop of LondonChildren of Men envisages a world one generation from now that has fallen into anarchy on the heels of an infertility defect in the population. The world's youngest citizen has just died at 18, and humankind is facing the likelihood of its own extinction. Set against the backdrop of London torn apart by violence and nationalistic sects, the film follows disillusioned bureaucrat Theo (Owen) as he becomes an unlikely champion of Earth's survival. (Universal Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 100
    Made with palpable energy, intensity and excitement, it compellingly creates a world gone mad that is uncomfortably close to the one we live in. It is a "Blade Runner" for the 21st century, a worthy successor to that epic of dystopian decay
  2. It's a work of art that deserves a space cleared for its angry, nervous beauty.
  3. Children of Men may be something of a bummer, but it’s the kind of glorious bummer that lifts you to the rafters, transporting you with the greatness of its filmmaking.
  4. 80
    It's a film that you need to see, not a film that you especially want to.
  5. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    80
    Picture more than delivers on the action front -- not in bang-for-your-buck spectacle but in the kind of gritty, doculike sequences that haul viewers out of their seats and alongside the main protags.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    75
    An exhilarating sci-fi action thriller with a powerful social and political message.
  7. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    50
    Bloated adaptation of P.D. James's thoughtful, compact novel.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 343
  1. TrudyP.
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    Certainly one of the finest films I have seen in years...why can't they make more films like this???
  2. mattallen
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Reading comments by ignorant fucks like Brian K. just aggrivate the shit out of me. His examples of why the movie was bad were just dreadful.Reading comments by ignorant fucks like Brian K. just aggrivate the shit out of me. His examples of why the movie was bad were just dreadful. Mention of a specific cause for the sudden infertility isn't necessary because it wouldn't have added anything to the overall message of the film (here I'll make a name of the disease up for you Brian-"You're a fucking cuntface-itis"). The ending was perfect. Rather than showing Khia being taken in and examined and the baby examined, etc. we just get a shot of the boat coming to rescue her. What more could you ask for? As for the blood on the camera, yea it had no specific purpose, but these guys are doing bravura long takes and the one that happened to be the best one was the one where blood happened to spray on the camera. It's really not that big of a deal and to have such an insignificant thing lend to you giving the movie a 3 is just ridiculous. I hope I never have to meet you Brian K. or anyone like you because it would just make me wish your mother would have been struck with a disease that rendered her incapable of having children. Expand
  3. DarcieK
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    This movie is brilliant and the cinematography is astounding!
  4. MortenN
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    This is a great movie. It was emotionally captivating, had great action sequences and gave the right balance between solving the mysteries This is a great movie. It was emotionally captivating, had great action sequences and gave the right balance between solving the mysteries and letting us think for ourself. I honestly don't understand those who think this movie suck. Expand
  5. ChadS.
    Apr 1, 2007
    8
    Theo(Clive Owen) sees, but he doesn't see the people in cages that plethorically mar the urban landscape of a police state-England. Or Theo(Clive Owen) sees, but he doesn't see the people in cages that plethorically mar the urban landscape of a police state-England. Or does he? It's hard to tell if Theo's neutral countenance is one of arctic indifference, or a mask that blankets his disgust towards Europe's callous attitude towards foreigners. On one hand, Theo befriends Jasper(Michael Caine), a hippie of advanced age who wouldn't want to hang out with an advocate for ultra-conservative politics. But then there's a scene(strongly reminiscent of Vic Morrow's episode in "The Twilight Zone: The Movie"), where Clive finds himself in the other man's shoes, on a bus en route to an uncertain future in which death or deportation are the only two choices(Morrow's character was a bigot). When Theo meets Kee(Claire-Hope Ashitey) and discovers the bun, is there a change in attitude towards the expectant mother? Up to this point in the story, by all appearances, Theo lived in a segregated existence. "Children of Men" ends abruptly with Kee in limbo, so we're left wondering what will happen to the young woman. This will anger some people who've been anaesthetized by too many closed endings. The rest of us, however, will leave the theater happy, because we get to determine what holds in the future for all mankind. Expand
  6. Dylan
    Jan 7, 2007
    5
    Sure, it's well-done, but the plot line wasn't terribly coherent. The real climax occurs in the middle, and the rest just seems Sure, it's well-done, but the plot line wasn't terribly coherent. The real climax occurs in the middle, and the rest just seems forced/contrived. It kept my attenton, but by the end, I can't say I was glad I watched it. Expand
  7. JacobR.
    Jan 7, 2007
    0
    This movie was completely pointless. the premise is that people can't have kids, yet one DOES WHILE WE'RE WATCHING THE MOVIE! whatThis movie was completely pointless. the premise is that people can't have kids, yet one DOES WHILE WE'RE WATCHING THE MOVIE! what the hell was the point? there obviously was never a problem, apparently outside of england people CAN have babies. Expand

See all 343 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade

    Film Critics Pick the Best Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: January 3, 2010
    Dozens of film critics have made their lists of the best films of the past ten years, and we've tallied the results.
  2. Film Friday (8/22): This Week's New Movies & Trailers

    Film Friday (8/22): This Week's New Movies & Trailers Image
    Published: August 22, 2014
    Find a guide to this weekend's new films, browse the latest movie news, and watch all of the week's new trailers, including the first look at Jason Reitman's Men, Women & Children and Studio Ghibli's The Tale of Princess Kaguya.
  3. Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Director Duos Image
    Published: July 25, 2012
    This week, directors Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris return with a follow-up to indie hit "Little Miss Sunshine." As we see inside, director pairings are increasingly common, though some (like Dayton and Faris) turn out better work than others.
  4. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  5. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  6. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  7. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.