Disneynature | Release Date: April 20, 2012
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 27 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
14
Mixed:
10
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
LokarApr 29, 2012
Very enjoyable movie about a family of chimpanzees, especially their youngest scion, Oscar. The group searches for food, teaches the little guy the rules of the game, and fights off their enemies. In some respects, it's a lot like "Bambi,"Very enjoyable movie about a family of chimpanzees, especially their youngest scion, Oscar. The group searches for food, teaches the little guy the rules of the game, and fights off their enemies. In some respects, it's a lot like "Bambi," only this is real footage and not a fictional story. A few moments may be scary to very young children. Most viewers will find it simple but heartwarming. A fun movie if you want to see something lighter and get away from explosions and aliens for a while. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MegWhiteleyApr 20, 2012
Chimpanzee, the new proyect of Disneynature, I need say that this documentary is great, but is not the better job of Disneynature, I think that the need more data, and do this documentary more interesting (yeah is interesting, but in someChimpanzee, the new proyect of Disneynature, I need say that this documentary is great, but is not the better job of Disneynature, I think that the need more data, and do this documentary more interesting (yeah is interesting, but in some moments boring), because the chimpanzees are an amazing animals, the documentary is excellent, but need improve some aspects. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
craig1May 8, 2012
Awesome movie!!!! Yes, there are things I can nitpick about and wish were done differently or explored more thoroughly, but the bottom line is that the movie was great for my family.... was enjoyed by my cynical 9 year old and my movieAwesome movie!!!! Yes, there are things I can nitpick about and wish were done differently or explored more thoroughly, but the bottom line is that the movie was great for my family.... was enjoyed by my cynical 9 year old and my movie theater hating 8 year old and tolerated by my almost 4 year old. The cinematography was fantastic and my hats off the the crew that made the magic happen. This wasn't a documentary made for the doctoral student in animal behavior but a great family film that kept us captivated and taught us a thing or two along the way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
gex6Aug 17, 2012
Very very adorable. I really like it. Good job Disney Nature!!
I have loved the Disney nature films, oceans being my favorite.The cinematography was really good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
mschoaJun 1, 2012
The movie was overly long, but one learns something about the specie, such as they're learning to do certain task, their communal life together (leadership, cooperation, family ties, etc.). Kids who are interested in animals will find itThe movie was overly long, but one learns something about the specie, such as they're learning to do certain task, their communal life together (leadership, cooperation, family ties, etc.). Kids who are interested in animals will find it educational. A good family film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Sheldonc1981Sep 29, 2012
This movie was very emotional and at some parts, a bit humorous. But a lot of the ending slow and boring. The baby chimpanzee in this movie is very cute and friendy, though. By the end of this movie, you'll feel a real connection with thisThis movie was very emotional and at some parts, a bit humorous. But a lot of the ending slow and boring. The baby chimpanzee in this movie is very cute and friendy, though. By the end of this movie, you'll feel a real connection with this baby chimp. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FDT44Apr 20, 2012
Notwithstanding the brilliant cinematography--gracefully capturing the Ivory Coast's Tai Forest--as well as the real-time footage of the simians, themselves, "Chimpanzee" is a ultra-light-for-kids eco-doc that, although is believed to beNotwithstanding the brilliant cinematography--gracefully capturing the Ivory Coast's Tai Forest--as well as the real-time footage of the simians, themselves, "Chimpanzee" is a ultra-light-for-kids eco-doc that, although is believed to be real, and is real, doesn't quite feel real; it's dramatic scenery is accompanied with an even lower suspension of belief voice narration--by Tim Allen--which although corny, is nothing compared to the Disney script that attempts to loosely link the plot of "The Lion King" to a lecture on primatology. In other words, it feels overly contrived, thus managing to demean the marvelous footage in sight; some Bose headphones to block the sound, just might do the trick. But, if the jarringly tenuous and at times, mawkish narration or even the desperate recycling of Disney-movie-orphan-themes won't bother one from heading to the theater with the kids, the pathetic anthropomorphisms--with names of the likes of "Oscar," and even "Scar"--might be enough to discourage viewers. Now, in premise, the humanized chimps seem like a reasonable means to entertain and tell a story to, the kids. But, where it goes wrong is when Disney, again, creates the dichotomy of "good" chimps versus "bad" chimps. To illustrate the distinction even further, everytime "Scar" is shown intervening, the music intensifies, leaving the viewer with a dark, ominous throbbing. This is simply misleading for the youngers, as they are fed the same sermon of ethnocentricism--us versus them--suspending their cognizance that "Scar," too, has his "own" "Oscar" at home, yet it is such an omission of reality in which children are not informed. "Chimpanzee," regardless of its tainted superficiality and resorts to threadbare Disney-themes, is still a wonderful visual spectacle that, in its visualization, contains a magical aura that emphasizes just how close our animal cousins are, and how short the cross-species bridge really is; from the familial bonds of our distant relatives, we are reminded of what life really should entail. Ultimately, though, the same underlying authenticity that was filmed during its production--sans Tim Allen, music, staging, names, etc.--is mainly lost through the over-exertion of string-pulling that makes everyone of "Oscar"'s astonishing triumphs all the less astonishing; it's an eye-opening primer, only beneficial for the eyes, that is too much Saturday-morning-cartoonish and not nearly enough "Nat-Geo." To the unknowing chagrin of its viewers, the latter is far more constructive and worthwhile. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
JmsbppJul 19, 2013
Es bonita la vida de una banda de Chimpance con una historia entretenida y dramatica, sin embargo en momentos llega a ser aburrida y demasiado, un buen intento
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SeriosityNov 4, 2012
The insipid narration very annoyingly and repeatedly tries to give the Chimpanzees human traits. Also, the footage, while breathtaking, seems to be manipulated to create melodrama and tell a story that may not have been filmed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Knicksfan7Apr 29, 2012
It almost feels like a sin to give a Disney nature film, let alone on Chimpanzee's a 3 but it is ever so deserving. I'm sorry but this new edition into Disney nature films was just boring and the narration was annoying. Tim Allen was aIt almost feels like a sin to give a Disney nature film, let alone on Chimpanzee's a 3 but it is ever so deserving. I'm sorry but this new edition into Disney nature films was just boring and the narration was annoying. Tim Allen was a terrible choice for this movie. For one i just kept thinking of Buzz Lightyear whenever he talked and two, omg was his script laughable at best. Did we need a full play by play of what "Oscar" is thinking or feeling whenever he eats or plays? No, not at all. I just wanted the scream at Tim Allen to tell him to shutup because never once do you get a chance to just enjoy the nature of the film. He just kept talking and talking and talking. It was beyond annoying. The other problem i had was the overall aspect of the film was extremely repetitive. The chimps eat at the nutgrove, then they play, then they get attacked by Scar and his "gang/army" then back to the nutgrove, then playing, then sleeping, oh then Scar attacks again. It was boring, annoying, and just awful all around. The only positive was the cinematography, even then some of the camera wwork was poor, it got shaky and VERY hard to follow what was happening if not for Tim Allens irritating narrating job. I have loved the Disney nature films, oceans being my favorite, but Chimpanzee just seems like overall a very weak effort by Disney. The 78 minute duration is quite on the short side as well. I didn't enjoy this in the slightest, but its too big of a sin to give it a 0 just because its Disney nature, so ill ive it a 3/10 Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews