Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: September 26, 2008
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 102 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
85
Mixed:
7
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
JayH.Feb 17, 2009
Preposterous and stupid, none of the characters have any depth. It's pretentious, uninteresting and poorly directed. I found very little of interest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
joeySep 27, 2008
Lame hipster movie for people more concerned with being cool than enjoying a good movie. Recommended only to fans on the writer. You know those cult members who like to pretend they enjoy good fiction, but instead only like shock with no substance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkSep 28, 2008
Have yet to see the film. For anyone who thinks Chuck is a talented writer, try this exercise: please read, or re-read the first couple of sentences to Choke, then please open the first books of Lemony Snickets "A Series of Unfortunate Have yet to see the film. For anyone who thinks Chuck is a talented writer, try this exercise: please read, or re-read the first couple of sentences to Choke, then please open the first books of Lemony Snickets "A Series of Unfortunate Events: A Bad Beginning." Not only does it appear as if Chucky lifted the idea, he did a shitty job of executing it. Snickets book is obviously geared for children and has afar superior prose style. How anyone above the age of sixteen could have opened the book "Choke" and read beyond the first two sentences is beyond me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnS.Sep 30, 2008
Went in expecting satirical and edgy. Left feeling like I'd witnessed a long and painful bowel movement, from every conceivable angle.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
PhilipSep 22, 2008
This is one of the most tortuously awful movies I have ever had the misfortune to sit through. I would've walked out if I was able to muster the strength but this amateurish patchwork of grotesquely off-key humor left me paralyzed with This is one of the most tortuously awful movies I have ever had the misfortune to sit through. I would've walked out if I was able to muster the strength but this amateurish patchwork of grotesquely off-key humor left me paralyzed with it's sheer incompetence. I am a fan of black humor and I was not offended by the content of the movie but I WAS offended by the appalling delivery. This film feels like it was edited by a drunkard who has never watched a movie before in his life. Many shots are out of focus, the boom keeps dropping in front of the camera, the framing is awkward. Man. It's about an hour too long, the performances are feeble, the dialogue is wooden and ludicrous, the plot has zero momentum and almost all of the jokes fall completely flat. The worst thing is the ham-fisted 'reflection' towards the end of the film where the non-plot winds itself into a black hole of stupidity and the main character begins postulating on what he's learned about 'life' in the haphazard sequence of events that constitute this atrocious movie. I actually groaned out loud with disbelief at how awful it was. Man, I'm really depressed after watching this trash. It was agony. I understand that they didn't have much to work with - it is Chuck Palahniuk after all - but they could've at least tried. Did I mention that I think Chuck Palahniuk is overrated and pretty lame in general? That may have colored my review slightly. This is not 'twisted' or 'edgy' or 'dark' or anything like that. It's just trash. Rather go for a bike ride and have a drink with someone you haven't seen for a while. Life is too short for Chuck Palahniuk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MichaelS.Sep 28, 2008
Definitely disagree with Tom. Choke was a great book and one of the first I would translate to the screen because of all the visual comedy in the book. But the execution of making this movie was awful. Plays more like a Seinfeld episode, Definitely disagree with Tom. Choke was a great book and one of the first I would translate to the screen because of all the visual comedy in the book. But the execution of making this movie was awful. Plays more like a Seinfeld episode, complete with ridiculous over-acting and idiotic musical blips. Every actor in the movie was horrible, and the choices of what to include from the book and what to leave out were even worse. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SpaceC.Feb 27, 2009
This movie is about a sex addict whose mom is dying from dementia. Its about as funny as it sounds. In the hands of a competent cast (with the possible exception of the lead), director and scriptwriter perhaps we would have been able to at This movie is about a sex addict whose mom is dying from dementia. Its about as funny as it sounds. In the hands of a competent cast (with the possible exception of the lead), director and scriptwriter perhaps we would have been able to at least invest in the characters. However as is we are forced to sit through 89 minutes of drama surrounding characters we don't care about and a story too poorly told and blandly presented to follow. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful