Koch Lorber Films | Release Date: February 27, 2008
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 20 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
18
Mixed:
1
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MatthewF.Mar 5, 2009
Absolutely damn brilliant. Know going in, this isn't "Slumdog Millionaire" , this is a cold dose of ice water thrown in your face abut America. IT's spare, gritty and realistic.It's also beautiful. There isn't a giant Absolutely damn brilliant. Know going in, this isn't "Slumdog Millionaire" , this is a cold dose of ice water thrown in your face abut America. IT's spare, gritty and realistic.It's also beautiful. There isn't a giant plot to hang a bunch of phony drama on , just the drama of unrelenting everyday life. Brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulK.Mar 30, 2008
This movie is probably more like a 6.5, but I was feeling a little generous tonight. There's a lot to like about Chop Shop, especially the acting and grittiness of the cinematography. Ultimately though, I felt like the characters needed This movie is probably more like a 6.5, but I was feeling a little generous tonight. There's a lot to like about Chop Shop, especially the acting and grittiness of the cinematography. Ultimately though, I felt like the characters needed more development. Maybe more back story or more insight into the relationship of Alejandro and Isamar? Either way, I needed to care more about them and to understand more about the world in which they struggle to live in. The minimal feel of the movie works, but a more substantial ending would have been a nice counterbalance to the slow, introspective pace. Good, not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnC.Sep 23, 2008
Listen. It doesn't have a exact hollywood narrative or feel, but that shouldn't be a knock against the film. There are countless ways to tell a story, this one has more compassion for it's young characters then anything coming Listen. It doesn't have a exact hollywood narrative or feel, but that shouldn't be a knock against the film. There are countless ways to tell a story, this one has more compassion for it's young characters then anything coming from a big studio. It's not perfect but I guarantee the subject and the world are riveting. IF we can feel for 3d robots/cars, why not for this youngster? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NickM.Apr 9, 2008
Bahrani's portrayal of the Bronx and urban life is amazing, but there's too much lacking to make it a successful story. The actors feel young and palpably directed, and the plot lumps along until the end, missing on what should be Bahrani's portrayal of the Bronx and urban life is amazing, but there's too much lacking to make it a successful story. The actors feel young and palpably directed, and the plot lumps along until the end, missing on what should be its climax. A documentary treatment of the Bronx would have been as vivid, and come off with more authenticity in characters. No seriously. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SlaineE.Jul 12, 2008
Wicked, deep, heavy, the reality that some kids live.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobertF.Aug 1, 2008
Quite possibly... no it is the worst movie I've ever seen in my entire life. I kept watching just to see if something was going to happen. It was pointless from beginning to end. Nothing happens... don't waste your time on this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BenM.Aug 23, 2008
Disappointing; being the top rated dvd in metacritic i expected something amazing. instead i felt like this was filmmaking for the sake of the filmmaker; not for the audience. Some great imagery, but generally pointless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
himeegDec 31, 2013
The sad life of these orphan siblings is heartbreaking. From the same director who gave us Goodbye Solo, this film is a strong dose of realism. A very beautiful, yet tragic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews