Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 471 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Three high school students make an incredible discovery, leading to them developing uncanny powers beyond their understanding. As they learn to control their abilities, and use them to their advantage, their lives start to spin out of control, and their darker sides begin to take over. [20thThree high school students make an incredible discovery, leading to them developing uncanny powers beyond their understanding. As they learn to control their abilities, and use them to their advantage, their lives start to spin out of control, and their darker sides begin to take over. [20th Century Fox] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Feb 10, 2012
    100
    If the characters weren't so well drawn, if the effects weren't so convincing, and if the upshot weren't so ghastly, the moral component wouldn't carry any weight. But Trank tells his tale with an emotional and visual crispness that gives the superhero genre its best crack at naturalism so far.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Feb 10, 2012
    88
    John Trank's Chronicle grows into an uncommonly entertaining movie that involves elements of a superhero origin story, a science-fic­tion fantasy and a drama about a disturbed teenager.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Feb 10, 2012
    80
    First-time director Josh Trank, working from a taut script by Max "Son of John" Landis, indulges in some wild, witty spectacle, but he's equally adept with the tale's grimmer elements, especially when the introverted Andrew unleashes his inner Magneto and uses the city of Seattle as his tear-it-apart emotional playground.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 10, 2012
    70
    Chronicle plays like an extended episode of "The X-Files" might; DeHaan in particular comes off like one of the series' more-memorable characters. That's a compliment. It isn't a great movie, but one could imagine -- and hope -- that it becomes a cult favorite, outlasting other films of its ilk.
  5. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Feb 10, 2012
    70
    Chronicle, with its found-footage storytelling and superpowered teens, at least playfully transcends its "Cloverfield meets Heroes" pitch.
  6. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Feb 10, 2012
    70
    Chronicle becomes a cautionary tale: power corrupts. Yes, and digital power corrupts absolutely. Andrew's sense of decency disappears, and so does the filmmakers' sense of humor. [13 & 20 Feb. 2012, p. 120]
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Feb 10, 2012
    38
    With great power comes the responsibility to make a decent movie, but the mysterious force running through Chronicle is the power to supersuck.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 153
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    From movies like Jumper, Push, Next, Clockstoppers, and some other movies about people getting superpowers and using it for their own good,From movies like Jumper, Push, Next, Clockstoppers, and some other movies about people getting superpowers and using it for their own good, Josh Trank and Max Landis have pulled of the impossible. So what is it about this movie that i liked so damn much, well for one thing i loved the pacing and the timing in this movie, for a running time of 83 minutes, the movie doesn't waste your time and gets to the point very quickly and perfectly. Another thing is how realistic this movie is, with the camera work, it definitely worked out for this movie, and the characters were aware of it, which was a major plus in my book. I could say so much more, but what i will say is my regards to the director and writer for delivering one of the best movies of the year, and were only getting started. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Really epic and has an excellent story with one of the best performances and epic action scenes. Could've been better without the shaky cameraReally epic and has an excellent story with one of the best performances and epic action scenes. Could've been better without the shaky camera footage, but really good anyway. Expand
  3. May 21, 2012
    9
    This is the score I wanted to give it.. I don't know why it didn't come up when I first wrote my review! And to show how good this movie is..This is the score I wanted to give it.. I don't know why it didn't come up when I first wrote my review! And to show how good this movie is.. I bought it 2 days after watching it. Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked this movie, because it is about superheroes and it doesn't include any capes or tight latex pants and it also has a darker side than your average/normal "super" film. Add to these, a pretty authentic scenario and nice story-telling, and you've got a decent and enjoyable film. Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    Shot using ‘Blair Witch’ style found footage Chronicle documents what happens when three friends find themselves endowed with telekineticShot using ‘Blair Witch’ style found footage Chronicle documents what happens when three friends find themselves endowed with telekinetic abilities. Being teenagers however they don’t all handle their new power so well and cracks soon began to appear in their friendship.

    Aside from the problem that all found footage movies have, namely the question of why someone would still be filming at certain points, Chronicle makes for a very good watch from start to finish. In fact, thanks to its largely believable cast and script as well as some very good visual effects, it is arguably better than any of the movies that inspired it.
    Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2012
    7
    Chrinicle is a fun movie that feels novel and authentic. The films gimmick at first feels out of place but it does eventually feel like a goodChrinicle is a fun movie that feels novel and authentic. The films gimmick at first feels out of place but it does eventually feel like a good choice to dive into the life of these teenagers. However chronicle had it's faults. Alot of the dialogue near the end of the film was very cheesy and poorly acted. I also found the film's story to be cliched. I found some of the cuts to be terribly executed and distracting in the film. Because of this many scenes felt oddly broken when they should have been one long take with no cut. Overall I found chronicle to be a fun but cliched novel and authentic idea, if that makes sense.

    (I found the background of the very last scene of the film to look extremely fake and very poorly executed. This was a disapointement because the previous scenes they worked so hard to make them look real.)
    Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    0
    Really bad movie!!!! And the fact that they were recording each other all the time was both boring and exasperating!!! great trailer but aReally bad movie!!!! And the fact that they were recording each other all the time was both boring and exasperating!!! great trailer but a terrible movie!!!!! Expand

See all 153 User Reviews

Trailers