Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 480 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Three high school students make an incredible discovery, leading to them developing uncanny powers beyond their understanding. As they learn to control their abilities, and use them to their advantage, their lives start to spin out of control, and their darker sides begin to take over. [20thThree high school students make an incredible discovery, leading to them developing uncanny powers beyond their understanding. As they learn to control their abilities, and use them to their advantage, their lives start to spin out of control, and their darker sides begin to take over. [20th Century Fox] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Feb 10, 2012
    100
    If the characters weren't so well drawn, if the effects weren't so convincing, and if the upshot weren't so ghastly, the moral component wouldn't carry any weight. But Trank tells his tale with an emotional and visual crispness that gives the superhero genre its best crack at naturalism so far.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Feb 10, 2012
    88
    John Trank's Chronicle grows into an uncommonly entertaining movie that involves elements of a superhero origin story, a science-ficĀ­tion fantasy and a drama about a disturbed teenager.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Feb 10, 2012
    80
    First-time director Josh Trank, working from a taut script by Max "Son of John" Landis, indulges in some wild, witty spectacle, but he's equally adept with the tale's grimmer elements, especially when the introverted Andrew unleashes his inner Magneto and uses the city of Seattle as his tear-it-apart emotional playground.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 10, 2012
    70
    Chronicle plays like an extended episode of "The X-Files" might; DeHaan in particular comes off like one of the series' more-memorable characters. That's a compliment. It isn't a great movie, but one could imagine -- and hope -- that it becomes a cult favorite, outlasting other films of its ilk.
  5. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Feb 10, 2012
    70
    Chronicle, with its found-footage storytelling and superpowered teens, at least playfully transcends its "Cloverfield meets Heroes" pitch.
  6. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Feb 10, 2012
    70
    Chronicle becomes a cautionary tale: power corrupts. Yes, and digital power corrupts absolutely. Andrew's sense of decency disappears, and so does the filmmakers' sense of humor. [13 & 20 Feb. 2012, p. 120]
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Feb 10, 2012
    38
    With great power comes the responsibility to make a decent movie, but the mysterious force running through Chronicle is the power to supersuck.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 156
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    From movies like Jumper, Push, Next, Clockstoppers, and some other movies about people getting superpowers and using it for their own good,From movies like Jumper, Push, Next, Clockstoppers, and some other movies about people getting superpowers and using it for their own good, Josh Trank and Max Landis have pulled of the impossible. So what is it about this movie that i liked so damn much, well for one thing i loved the pacing and the timing in this movie, for a running time of 83 minutes, the movie doesn't waste your time and gets to the point very quickly and perfectly. Another thing is how realistic this movie is, with the camera work, it definitely worked out for this movie, and the characters were aware of it, which was a major plus in my book. I could say so much more, but what i will say is my regards to the director and writer for delivering one of the best movies of the year, and were only getting started. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Really epic and has an excellent story with one of the best performances and epic action scenes. Could've been better without the shaky cameraReally epic and has an excellent story with one of the best performances and epic action scenes. Could've been better without the shaky camera footage, but really good anyway. Expand
  3. May 21, 2012
    9
    This is the score I wanted to give it.. I don't know why it didn't come up when I first wrote my review! And to show how good this movie is..This is the score I wanted to give it.. I don't know why it didn't come up when I first wrote my review! And to show how good this movie is.. I bought it 2 days after watching it. Expand
  4. May 5, 2012
    8
    Chronicle is straight and fast forward, kind a found footage scenario, but there is no dull moment in the whole process, everything is sharpChronicle is straight and fast forward, kind a found footage scenario, but there is no dull moment in the whole process, everything is sharp , crisp and to the point. Acting is believable, looks strong, smartly directed.One scene, actually tow scenes took my breathe away 1. The whole Ariel ( three boys flying in the clouds)
    2. The penultimate climax.

    The whole, a entertaining experience.. A must watch.
    Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2014
    7
    A brilliant will made movie with a lot of heart and soul shoved into the project. The characters are likable and easy to relate 2. The filmA brilliant will made movie with a lot of heart and soul shoved into the project. The characters are likable and easy to relate 2. The film really does a great job and i very much recommend watching the film

    9/10
    Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2012
    7
    You have to put up with the eye rolling teenage behavior that only Hollywood perceives teenagers to be, and of course the horrible movingYou have to put up with the eye rolling teenage behavior that only Hollywood perceives teenagers to be, and of course the horrible moving camera, but it turns out to be an entertaining film. The movie progressively gets better and better as it goes on so be patient. I thought the special effects, for the most part, were great. They could have made the teenagers a little more likable so that you cared more about the characters and their predicament, but for the most part they are annoying. Still, I enjoyed it. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    0
    Really bad movie!!!! And the fact that they were recording each other all the time was both boring and exasperating!!! great trailer but aReally bad movie!!!! And the fact that they were recording each other all the time was both boring and exasperating!!! great trailer but a terrible movie!!!!! Expand

See all 156 User Reviews

Trailers