Cinderella Man

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 337 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 337

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. KarlM.
    Sep 14, 2005
    1
    Ron Howard should be executed and Renee Zellweger burned at the stake. Justice! Justice be made!
  2. ThomasJ.
    Jun 4, 2005
    0
    A strong contender for me for "The Worst Movie of 2005."
  3. SamJ.
    Jun 3, 2005
    1
    An embarrassing and shameless boxing flick that uses an endless series of cliches to tell its dull story.
  4. JohnB.
    Jun 4, 2005
    1
    So many 10s for such a mediocre movie, in fact a bad one!
  5. LarryW.
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    Trash from Hollywood's most famous hack director.
  6. JoeR.
    Jun 11, 2005
    0
    The most superficial American film I've seen in years. These "professionals" should be ashamed of themselves. Everything rings false.
  7. Sondra
    Jun 19, 2005
    3
    Although this movie had a theme of victory and redemption and even though it was actually a story of common man "heroism"....the grossness of "in your face" battering, blood and obscenities coming out of the screen with lightning rapidity shot this thing out of the water. Great story..... I wish I'd simply read about it.
  8. MarcD.
    Jun 3, 2005
    0
    Forget the rest of this garbage...does anyone else out there just hate how smug that prick Russell Crowe is? Intolerable.
  9. AndreaD.
    Jun 3, 2005
    3
    Deliberate Oscar bait which is rarely better than mediocre. Definitely a "wait for DVD" movie. The down-your-throat marketing campaign is much like "Seabiscuit," which was released by the same studio.
  10. AndrewS.
    Jun 4, 2005
    0
    I must laugh at the mindless people above who say things like "Oscars for everyone." That is exactly what this film intended when conceived. There is little art here, only boredom, pretension and manipulation.
  11. JamesM.
    Jun 4, 2005
    1
    A fraudulent movie throughout. Rene Zellweger gets the prize as the most embarrassing performance in the film; this is Howard's pandering to the Hollywood "formula." Nothing original here, and little to keep you watching. Pop in your DVD of "Raginbg Bull."
  12. JanetM.
    Jun 4, 2005
    1
    Paul Giamatti, who was spectacular in "Sideways," uses his eyebrows a lot her; Zellweger gives the worst performance of her career, and Crowe is quite good. Nonetheless this is a turkey.
  13. JasonG.
    Jun 4, 2005
    0
    Filled with sugar and bland segments, this film is nothing more than underdog bravado done with forgettable plainess. One of the worst boxing films ever made. The users who are praising it should get a life; what simpletons!!!
  14. MartyK.
    Jun 4, 2005
    1
    This movie, clearly aimed at winning Oscars despite its early-in-the-year release is devoid of art, only shameless commercialism.
  15. FrankA.
    Jun 4, 2005
    0
    So many boxing movies over the years have excelled; unfortunately this is one of the worst out there. The people who like this drivel don't expect much from the movies except mindless entertainment. I advise you to investigate foreign cinema!
  16. TonyL.
    Jun 6, 2005
    0
    A total and complete embarrassment!
  17. EricW.
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    This is a formula movie, and the worst possible kind. The people who are praising it are the same ones who watch professional wrestling.
  18. FrankC.
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    Through the years we have had some splendid boxing flicks, like Champion, Body and Soul, The Set-Up, Rocky, Million Dollar Baby and especially Raging Bull. This is the worst of them all.
  19. JamesG.
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    A boring and trite boxing movie with awful performances.
  20. JamesC.
    Jun 4, 2005
    3
    The schmaltz patrol of Glazer, Howard, and Marshall use their usual "I've got nothing to say so I'll use a cliche" come up with and another stinker. Why say things once when you can say it five or six times. I'm sure he did becuase he expected audience members to doze off during the film. Thank you Mr. Howard. Please value your time and pass on this turkey. I gave it three The schmaltz patrol of Glazer, Howard, and Marshall use their usual "I've got nothing to say so I'll use a cliche" come up with and another stinker. Why say things once when you can say it five or six times. I'm sure he did becuase he expected audience members to doze off during the film. Thank you Mr. Howard. Please value your time and pass on this turkey. I gave it three stars because each ugly stepsister deserves one star for staying home and not having to sit through this dreadful film. Poor Cinderellla. Expand
  21. MartyB.
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    I can't stand reading all the 10's for this shameless spectacle of manipulation. Zellweger should be banished from the acting profession after this debacle!
  22. ThomasB.
    Jun 11, 2005
    0
    A hopelessly cliched, formula film that seems to be rallying all the unsophisticated moviegoers. Definitely for the dumbest!
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. 70
    Despite the tale's dusty pedigree, Ron Howard spins a ticket-worthy two-plus hours of movie-movie entertainment.
  2. 70
    Lacking a more specific sense of time and place, Cinderella Man leans heavily on the technically proficient Crowe to slip into Braddock's skin, but he can only do so much with a character who's ready to be mounted in bronze over Central Park.
  3. 88
    It's the classic American tale of the family man triumphant, and Howard makes sure that it hits you right in the heart.