User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 273 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 273
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CookieZ.
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    Excellent movie! Russell Crowe is the best.
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Gripping, rousing, and redolent of a much harder time, "Cinderella Man" is a purely endearing masterpiece of a sports drama.
  3. Brooke
    Nov 1, 2005
    9
    Fantastice! The best movie out this year! So inspiring and Renee and Russell did an awesome job at playing their characters. I never cry in movies but this time i did! It really touched me.
  4. SalmanH.
    Dec 5, 2005
    10
    Awesome Movie....it touched me in so many ways.
  5. MarisaN.
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    Men AND women were on the edge of their seats throughout the film. I saw men with tears in their eyes (when they weren't busy punching air during the incredibly exciting boxing scenes). I saw women nodding their heads in complete silent agreement with Jim Braddock's wife during the heartfelt family scenes. Russell Crowe was nothing short of amazing, as well Paul Giamatti. Men AND women were on the edge of their seats throughout the film. I saw men with tears in their eyes (when they weren't busy punching air during the incredibly exciting boxing scenes). I saw women nodding their heads in complete silent agreement with Jim Braddock's wife during the heartfelt family scenes. Russell Crowe was nothing short of amazing, as well Paul Giamatti. Can't wait to see it again this afternoon, and this time I'm bringing a bunch of friends! Expand
  6. PS
    May 30, 2005
    10
    Excellent movie! An inspiration to see a couple whose love and dedication to one another and their children is tested by the incredibly trying times of the Great Depression. Despite the odds they both stick together. Great cinematography, excellent acting.
  7. MP
    Jun 10, 2005
    9
    I was literally sweating when this movie was over. Best boxing film since Raging Bull.
  8. dougK.
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    Oscars for everyone.
  9. LarryV.
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    WOW! What a movie. It keeps you intimately involved with the plot throughout and you'll find yourself going from being choked up to having chills over and over again. Love, honesty, motivation, courage, honor, and dedication. This movie has it all. The film is perfectly cast and the acting is absolutely unprecedented. Credit to all who were involved in making this legendary WOW! What a movie. It keeps you intimately involved with the plot throughout and you'll find yourself going from being choked up to having chills over and over again. Love, honesty, motivation, courage, honor, and dedication. This movie has it all. The film is perfectly cast and the acting is absolutely unprecedented. Credit to all who were involved in making this legendary production. I must say, I know now how to answer when I'm asked about myfavorite movie. At 99/100, this film would be under-rated. TRULY AN EPIC. Expand
  10. MarileeB.
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    No question, this is one of the best films I've seen in years. It's not groundbreaking, it's not terribly innovative. Cinderella Man is just filmaking at it's all around finest. Crowe is realistic, low keyed perfection as Jim Braddock. Why isn't this man taking more roles? Probably because he has taste and intelligence, and refuses to make films for the wrong No question, this is one of the best films I've seen in years. It's not groundbreaking, it's not terribly innovative. Cinderella Man is just filmaking at it's all around finest. Crowe is realistic, low keyed perfection as Jim Braddock. Why isn't this man taking more roles? Probably because he has taste and intelligence, and refuses to make films for the wrong reasons. We need stories that celebrate life, celebrate good men and women and remind us why we struggle through our lives. Crowe, Howard, Giamatti and Zelwegger give us that in The Cinderella Man. Expand
  11. CindyW.
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    Uplifting and inspirational, yes; schmaltzy and too sentimental, no way! Crowe and Giamatti were pure acting perfection, both deserve Oscars. We need more quality adult entertainment such as this.
  12. PattieN.
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    Finally, a great movie without the cynical, depressive cliches that are becoming the standard in todays "cool" films. Outstanding cast and story.
  13. Rhonda
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    Exhilerating, moving, exciting, uplifting. A beautiful love story, an edge of your seat adventure. Overall, the best human and humane drama, I've seen in years. Will definitely go to see it again.
  14. VictorB
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    As boxing movies go, I always thought of Rocky and Raging Bull as the absolute best. Not just for the fight scenes, it was the backstory and the vulnurability of it's characters as well as the way you could feel that you can relate to them. No other boxing film has gotten it right including 'Million Dollar Baby'. No other boxing film until now. This movie is better than As boxing movies go, I always thought of Rocky and Raging Bull as the absolute best. Not just for the fight scenes, it was the backstory and the vulnurability of it's characters as well as the way you could feel that you can relate to them. No other boxing film has gotten it right including 'Million Dollar Baby'. No other boxing film until now. This movie is better than "Rocky" or "Raging Bull" and those are great films! People are more cynical now and more aware of 'performances' and 'direction' and 'manipulation' and terms like that. By those standards though no boxing movie is worth anything. How about we forget everything we've "learned" from online reveiws and remember to just enjoy a solid filmaking effort. Watch "Cinderella Man" and you'll have the best time at the movies ever. Expand
  15. RBENZ
    Jun 9, 2005
    9
    Very enjoyable stand-up-and-cheer kind of film.
  16. DougT.
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    As any Aficionado of inspiring movies would feel, this is an uplifting story not only for those who were the beneficiaries of the real James Braddock's experiences but also those who have come to enjoy and love the cinematic representation of the story of his life. Uplifting, inspiring and truly heartwrenching are the moments of risk and achievement of this man's great story. As any Aficionado of inspiring movies would feel, this is an uplifting story not only for those who were the beneficiaries of the real James Braddock's experiences but also those who have come to enjoy and love the cinematic representation of the story of his life. Uplifting, inspiring and truly heartwrenching are the moments of risk and achievement of this man's great story. Great job by all who were involved in this production. Expand
  17. TonyB.
    Dec 22, 2005
    9
    Russell Crowe may be a lousy hotel guest but he's one hell of an actor, as he shows again in one of the best films of the year. Well supported by Renee Zellweger, Paul Giametti and an excellent cast, he creates an indelible portrait of an American hero. The film's cinematography, editing and production design should be remembered at Oscar time.
  18. Rev.Rikard
    Oct 8, 2005
    9
    Post 9/11 American needed a movie revealing the strength of the human spirit when pushed against the wall. It is obvious Ron Howard and Russell Crowe know the strengths and weaknesses of the other. Together they have made one of the few movies that makes one want to stand and cheer the leading character. The only issue that made watching this movie difficult is the knowledge of Post 9/11 American needed a movie revealing the strength of the human spirit when pushed against the wall. It is obvious Ron Howard and Russell Crowe know the strengths and weaknesses of the other. Together they have made one of the few movies that makes one want to stand and cheer the leading character. The only issue that made watching this movie difficult is the knowledge of Crowe's "off screne" persona. Though we hypothetically are to leave such info outside the door, nevertheless, watching him reach deep as Braddock to fight for his family's survival only conjurs up his real-life tempermental outbursts. If someone could have exercised these images from my head I would have become enraputred by this film's story. A-list stars must realize that with such an instrusive papparazi, their public behaviors can easily snake their way into their roles, in a distracting manner. God! I reallly wanted to adore this movie! Russell, please learn some anger-management. Expand
  19. JulieK
    May 30, 2005
    10
    The best movie we've seen this year! Russell Crowe was superb! Absolutely inspiring! We can't wait to see it again!
  20. TeresaE.
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Wonderful in every respect. I loved it! Crowe is truly the best actor working today. A triumph for him and for Ron Howard!
  21. KarenC.
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Cinderella Man is excellent examples of well skilled acting, especially by Russell Crow and the strong story telling abilities of director Ron Howard, totally entertaining for men and woman.
  22. KevinP.
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    This movie was terrific. Crowe was excellent! Academy Award in the summer is rare but here is the winner!
  23. JoshuaL.
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    The best film I've seen in 4 years. Russell deserves his second Oscar for this so badly it hurts. Easily the frontrunner and probable winner for this years Best Picture Oscar.
  24. andrewm.
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    Best Movie of the Year...hands down.
  25. AnneB.
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    Wonderful movie. Very moving and exciting boxing scenes.
  26. RyanC.
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    This is a terrific film in every aspect of the word ! This movie was not only a great depiction of trials and triumphs of a boxing legend, but is a movie about hope, dreams, and aspirations of the human spirit. This film was never meant to be simply a "boxing" movie as the film runs much deeper than that and apparantly many people cannot seem to see beyond that. Great acting, and This is a terrific film in every aspect of the word ! This movie was not only a great depiction of trials and triumphs of a boxing legend, but is a movie about hope, dreams, and aspirations of the human spirit. This film was never meant to be simply a "boxing" movie as the film runs much deeper than that and apparantly many people cannot seem to see beyond that. Great acting, and directing. Absolutely one of my favorite films of all time !! Expand
  27. xantham.
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    Great, great film...Russell Crowe supasses even himself! Russell Crowe is undoubtably the worlds greatest actor! The entire cast gave wonderful performances.
  28. MikeT.
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Easily the best film I've seen in the past few years. Crowe's performance should garner another Oscar.
  29. SusilawatiR.
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    The best flick from Ron Howard, Russell Crowe, Renee Z, and Paul Giamatti. Hope that this will get lots of awards come Oscars time!! Truly superb and heart-warming piece of celluloid. Russell Crowe is simply magnificent!!
  30. PaulF.
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    This movie was better than Rocky and I liked the first two a hell of a lot. This movie not only had a sense of realism about boxing than Rocky did which was more fantasy like but also had a tremedous emotional spirit that was over all uplifting. On top of it all the acting was dead on. Crowe, Zellweger, and Giamatti deserve honorable mentions. They truly have become masters in their arts. This movie was better than Rocky and I liked the first two a hell of a lot. This movie not only had a sense of realism about boxing than Rocky did which was more fantasy like but also had a tremedous emotional spirit that was over all uplifting. On top of it all the acting was dead on. Crowe, Zellweger, and Giamatti deserve honorable mentions. They truly have become masters in their arts. I was also impressed with the acting abiliity of the children, it was truly incredible. I didn't know you could get children that young to act but thanks I sure to Ron Howard they did. Thanks Ron for another great movie. Expand
  31. PatrickR.
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    I really enjoyed this film. The fight scenes are gripping. Great performences by Crowe as Jim Braddock and Giamatti as his manager Joe Gould.
  32. SusanM.
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    A flawless movie, better than Million Dollar Baby! The acting is brilliant and the story makes you want to stand up and cheer. Ron Howard did an absolutely fantastic job of directing, every detail was so precise, I wouldn't have changed a thing about this inspiring story. Anyone who gave this movie a zero should stick to movies within their scope, like "Son of The Mask" or "Dude, A flawless movie, better than Million Dollar Baby! The acting is brilliant and the story makes you want to stand up and cheer. Ron Howard did an absolutely fantastic job of directing, every detail was so precise, I wouldn't have changed a thing about this inspiring story. Anyone who gave this movie a zero should stick to movies within their scope, like "Son of The Mask" or "Dude, Where's My Car", if you know what I'm saying!! Expand
  33. jesse
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Just a great movie . Great acting, story, music score, and direction with some great fight footage. What more could you want in a movie. First rate effort all the way around.
  34. SethA
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Better than Rocky, Raging Bull or Million Dollar Baby. That's saying something!
  35. CharlieW.
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    All of you that rated this movie less than an 8, deserves to be thrown into a vat of leeches. This is an incredible movie with a main character that you really care about. A rare thing in today's movies. Will keep you entertained for its entirety. Truly one of the greatest films of '05. P.S. To those of you who rated it a 0 or 1, you obviously wouldn't know a good movie if All of you that rated this movie less than an 8, deserves to be thrown into a vat of leeches. This is an incredible movie with a main character that you really care about. A rare thing in today's movies. Will keep you entertained for its entirety. Truly one of the greatest films of '05. P.S. To those of you who rated it a 0 or 1, you obviously wouldn't know a good movie if it came up and bit you in the ass. Expand
  36. StevenF.
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    I truly thought this movie was a Ten. I am discouraged with the people trying to purposely lower the score but posting several times with zeros. Come on people, grow up. Let the viewers see what the true public opinion is. This movie was not only not a zero but was a fantastic emotional masterpiece. I suggest the sour pusses out there delve deeply into some soul searching, who knows you I truly thought this movie was a Ten. I am discouraged with the people trying to purposely lower the score but posting several times with zeros. Come on people, grow up. Let the viewers see what the true public opinion is. This movie was not only not a zero but was a fantastic emotional masterpiece. I suggest the sour pusses out there delve deeply into some soul searching, who knows you might surprise yourself and find you actually have one. Expand
  37. Hana
    Sep 16, 2005
    10
    The best movie of the year.
  38. MithunchandraC.
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    A marvellous film, one of the best films i have ever seen. The music adds to the beauty, the tight screenplay, excellent cinematography, Russel's wonderful acting, & the best part direction, a salute to the maker Ron Howard. All the time you are mesmorized in the movie. The depression era stands before you lively. A brilliant film. A salute to the efforts and intelligence of the A marvellous film, one of the best films i have ever seen. The music adds to the beauty, the tight screenplay, excellent cinematography, Russel's wonderful acting, & the best part direction, a salute to the maker Ron Howard. All the time you are mesmorized in the movie. The depression era stands before you lively. A brilliant film. A salute to the efforts and intelligence of the maker & his team. We expect more Cinderella Men from you sir. Expand
  39. Tonydannie
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    What Can you say about this movie? Ron Howard and Russel Crowe together again. Fantastic!! This film is nothing short of excellence. Crowe gives us another great performance. and i can even swallow Rene's pressence in the whole thing. Paul Giamati deserves and oscar nod for his performance. And Howard for directing. It is sad that this movie did not find an audience in the big What Can you say about this movie? Ron Howard and Russel Crowe together again. Fantastic!! This film is nothing short of excellence. Crowe gives us another great performance. and i can even swallow Rene's pressence in the whole thing. Paul Giamati deserves and oscar nod for his performance. And Howard for directing. It is sad that this movie did not find an audience in the big screen. This is movie magic GOLD! Expand
  40. miker.
    Jan 3, 2006
    9
    Excellent!
  41. Jake
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    The best movie of the year. More proof that the oscars don't mean shit. (except for Paul Giamatti's nom., which they only gave to him because they screwed him on sideways). A great story, well-executed and superbly acted. It's a pity that the folks handing out accolades are too obsessed with controversial films to appreciate a truly great, yet down to earth movie.
  42. VanceB.
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    Totally ignored by the Oscars, this is the best movie of 2005 as far as I'm concerned. Very entertaining, suspenseful, and pro-family, so not eligible for serious Oscar recognition.
  43. PeterJ.
    May 9, 2006
    10
    One of the best movies I have seen so far this year. A very touching family story as well. Howard does a excellent job making you care about what happens at the end... And still manages to keep you on the edge of your seat during the fight scenes.
  44. CherS
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    10, 10, 10 - no 20! IF you missed this movie, you missed the best one to pass you in years! I found myself wishing I had seen the depression scenes in high school, to ensure a life of savings would better benefit me during retirement. Renee and Russell lived this movie, they did not act it. Bravo!
  45. AmyP
    Dec 20, 2005
    9
    Having been disappointed with many of Ron Howard's films in the past, I was most pleasantly surprised by this film. I thought it was wonderful. I think Mr. Howard has matured - this film and "Beautiful Minds" is an indication of how good he has become as a director. Not only is the direction good, but so is the story, the editing and the acting; especially the finely nuanced Having been disappointed with many of Ron Howard's films in the past, I was most pleasantly surprised by this film. I thought it was wonderful. I think Mr. Howard has matured - this film and "Beautiful Minds" is an indication of how good he has become as a director. Not only is the direction good, but so is the story, the editing and the acting; especially the finely nuanced performances of Russell Crowe and Paul Giamatti, who shines whenever he's on screen. I came into this film, not thinking the subject or the movie would interest me. I came out thinking that it is among one of the best movies I've seen in the last several years. Expand
  46. MichaelB.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    I'm stunned: 3 actors that I've never cared for have given 3 of the most powerful performances seen in a movie this year (by this I mean Russell Crowe, Renee Zellweger and Paul Giamatti). Do NOT pass this off as another boring boxing film! Do yourself a favor and go rent this one today.
  47. WallyS.
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    One of the best movies of the year. The performances are unforgettable, the directing is stunning and the story is superb. It cheered me and it moved me deeply, its tremendously touching in many ways, definetly worth a watch.
  48. JasonH.
    Dec 9, 2005
    9
    Beautifully made film that shows the struggles and prospects of being an American.
  49. MaryR.
    May 29, 2005
    10
    Definitely a WINNER. A well told story of a man's fight to keep his family together while overcoming adversity. Compelling, Oscar-worthy peformances by Crowe, Giametti, and Zellwiger. Ron Howard has done an excellent job recreating the look and feel of the Geat Depression years, the poverty, despair, loss of self-esteem. The boxing scenes are gritty and realistic. I viewed the film Definitely a WINNER. A well told story of a man's fight to keep his family together while overcoming adversity. Compelling, Oscar-worthy peformances by Crowe, Giametti, and Zellwiger. Ron Howard has done an excellent job recreating the look and feel of the Geat Depression years, the poverty, despair, loss of self-esteem. The boxing scenes are gritty and realistic. I viewed the film at a sneak preview in a full theater Sunday. It received well deserved applause. Expand
  50. susanw.
    May 31, 2005
    10
    Lucky enough to catch a sneak preview this past Saturday, and this film was a classic in the making. Russell Crowe was Braddock, he totally encompasses the character, all the actors and directior as well as screenwriters should win Oscars. What a film that hits you right in the heart and takes you to that era. Don't miss this film.
  51. MichaelR.
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Ron Howard and Russell Crowe bring the Braddock story to vivid life in a superbly acted, beautifully shot, highly engaging drama that ranks as one of Howard's best efforts.
  52. LUCKYG
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    Great film, very moving!
  53. MatthewR.
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    Outstanding performances by Crowe and Giamatti. Riviting fight scenes.
  54. MarcR.
    Jun 20, 2005
    9
    More enjoyable than Million Dollar Baby!
  55. mikeh.
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    Best movie I've seen in a long time. Involving from beginning to end. Great job by all.
  56. Sammy
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    Absolutely fantastic heartwarming story of a family surviving against all odds during the Great Depression. Paul Giamatti is outstanding as the fight manager. Russell & Renee give yet another fine performance. They are believable in every role they play. This is Rocky and Seabiscuit rolled into one movie. It is a must see.
  57. DevinO.
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    Excellent cinematography, plot, and acting. A breathtaking movie that will pump you with adrenaline for hours.
  58. MikeL.
    Jun 5, 2005
    10
    Really Good Movie... Loved every minute of it. No idea why it would get bad reviews. I know you will love it if you see it!
  59. BrandyButterscotch
    Jun 5, 2005
    9
    I hate boxing. I think it's an absolutely ridiculous "sport" and have difficulty respecting anyone who practices it. That said, Crowe's portrayal of Braddock in this movie rendered me feeling nothing but respect for the title character. Crowe's nuanced, multi-dimsional style captures the appeal of this American hero and allows the audience to identify with his motives. I hate boxing. I think it's an absolutely ridiculous "sport" and have difficulty respecting anyone who practices it. That said, Crowe's portrayal of Braddock in this movie rendered me feeling nothing but respect for the title character. Crowe's nuanced, multi-dimsional style captures the appeal of this American hero and allows the audience to identify with his motives. Giamatti also displays his uncanny ability to truly transform into the character he is playing. Howard, once again, makes movie with laden with a heavy emotionality and an a nearly exhausting tragicality. However, in this film, he also includes a series of riveting, realistic action sequences that leave the audience cheering and gasping after every hit. The efforts of these talented artists (and there are many more that I fail to mention) culminate in a movie that is moving, exciting, and certainly worth it's cloud of Oscar buzz. Expand
  60. Dr.Doom
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Spectacular.
  61. EricY.
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    There was not much to dislike about this film. Crowe was outstanding as was Zellweger. The boxing scenes were well-done and exciting. It's not just a movie about boxing, but life during the era of the great depression as well. I thought that the wardrobe crew also did a fantastic job w/ clothes and hair from the period. I smell some Oscars for this one. A must see.
  62. LuraD.
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    Great acting, especially by Russell Crowe and Paul Giamatti, swept me up and kept me involved in the story. This is Ron Howard's best movie.
  63. HollisH.
    Jul 13, 2005
    10
    Wonderful!
  64. JW
    Aug 23, 2005
    9
    A great movie. It stands as one of the best depression era movies and boxing movies of all time at the same time. That isnt easy.
  65. JeffM.
    Aug 25, 2005
    9
    Certainly one of the most flat-entertaining movies in recent memory. The acting performance was solid all around with Giamatti's captivating to the verge of scene-stealing, but most of us have known bigger-than-life type characters and I thought it worked. It's intriguing that reviews here are so polarized -- mainly very high versus "0" scores and little in between. More than Certainly one of the most flat-entertaining movies in recent memory. The acting performance was solid all around with Giamatti's captivating to the verge of scene-stealing, but most of us have known bigger-than-life type characters and I thought it worked. It's intriguing that reviews here are so polarized -- mainly very high versus "0" scores and little in between. More than just movie-reviewing it's a glimpse at opposing world-views or perspectives on what type of story entertains or deserves glamorization. I join the majority here in enjoying this one. Expand
  66. TETOBM
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Excelent movie, you can feel it every moment. Best Russells acting!.
  67. JoeM.
    Feb 27, 2006
    10
    I thought Cinderella Man was one of the best movies of the year and it is a true travisty that it was not nominated in many of the awards programs. With its true story and gripping tale during the depression, it is a story that America should watch.
  68. jodyr.
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    Outstanding, hits the heart hard.
  69. JacqueD.
    Oct 14, 2005
    9
    I love period films and I am a big fan of Russell Crowe's. Ron Howard is a genius at directing. This was a fantastic film that kept you routing for James Braddock to the very end.
  70. SamS.
    Nov 6, 2005
    9
    Briallant, wonderful, well acted, sooooo realistic, but too long.
  71. SusanJ.
    Oct 19, 2005
    9
    What an incredible movie! Russell Crowe and Renee Zellweger did a fantastic job getting into the roles and portraying the emotions from that time period. You're touched from the very beginning.
  72. BillP>
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    I was surprised how terrific this movie was; too bad Crowe got bad press for the phone-throwing incident when the movie opened! I saw it in L.A. and the audience clapped at the end... that never happens!!
  73. SteveC.
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    I saw this film by accident on a flight returning from Germany on November 3. Normally I would not have devoted the time to watch this movie. Additionally, the film that was scheduled had problems and they shitfted this film over to economy class. After being picked up by wife I could hardly stop talking about this film - and comparing the type of story to the Seabiscuit film with the I saw this film by accident on a flight returning from Germany on November 3. Normally I would not have devoted the time to watch this movie. Additionally, the film that was scheduled had problems and they shitfted this film over to economy class. After being picked up by wife I could hardly stop talking about this film - and comparing the type of story to the Seabiscuit film with the exception I actually remembered the Seabiscuit races. I wish I remembered Braddock - I only remembered the person who was a boxer. Now I'll never forget him, his family and his associates. Stephen Cole Expand
  74. [Anonymous]
    Dec 8, 2005
    9
    There are alot of good messages in this movie. Heart, integrity and honesty to name a few.
  75. JonI
    May 29, 2005
    10
    I was lucky enough to get into a sneek preview to see this film. All I have to say is, WOW! Now, everyone who knows or suspects how this movie ends will still find themselves cheering, their muscles tensing, and their jaws clinching. This maybe an underdog story, but it is not just another in a long line. This film is one of those special underdog stories that achieves greatness as a I was lucky enough to get into a sneek preview to see this film. All I have to say is, WOW! Now, everyone who knows or suspects how this movie ends will still find themselves cheering, their muscles tensing, and their jaws clinching. This maybe an underdog story, but it is not just another in a long line. This film is one of those special underdog stories that achieves greatness as a film. It is not a boxing movie as so many people want to classify it as. It is a movie about a man fighting to simply feed his family the only way he knows how. The boxing is a means to an end it is above all a movie about hope. I mean is there really anything wrong with a good movie that makes you feel enthusiastic and happy. A good artistic film does not have to be down and depressing or provacative. Ron Howard does a fantastic job on this film and is obviously at the top of his game. Expand
  76. ChrisS.
    May 31, 2005
    10
    This is easily the best movie of the year. I havent been gripped by the story of a movie like this in a long time. Simply a great film. Should take alot of awards.
  77. DanielP.
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    Best Film Ron Howard has done to date. It has everything, and it's based on a true story.
  78. SeanF.
    Jun 22, 2005
    9
    Best movie of the first half of the year. Better than Million Dollar Baby (a good film) though Cinderella got blanked because of Million Dollar hangover at the box office.
  79. bobr.
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    Its good.
  80. JamieG.
    Jul 13, 2005
    9
    Great movie. Chill inducing boxing scenes. Laughs from Giamatti. Go see it.
  81. FrancisS.
    Jul 16, 2005
    9
    A great uplifting movie.
  82. GrantN.
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    People who demand their theater for their money back after seeing this movie (and they do, to the extent of AMC theaters offering full refunds) can be classified as insane. Crowe digs deep into the roll of Braddock and Howard once again shows the genuis he revealed in Appolo 13 and used again in A Beautiful Mind.
  83. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    This Movie was undouptedly one of the top favorite films from the amazing Russell Crowe. It portrays the struggle of living in America during the Great Depression and reveals the triumphant live of boxer James Braddock. Russell Crowe plays the roll of a compassionate husband and father so well that I wish I had him as an uncle. despite being a feirce boxing champion he does not give offThis Movie was undouptedly one of the top favorite films from the amazing Russell Crowe. It portrays the struggle of living in America during the Great Depression and reveals the triumphant live of boxer James Braddock. Russell Crowe plays the roll of a compassionate husband and father so well that I wish I had him as an uncle. despite being a feirce boxing champion he does not give off the impression of being a meat-head, testosterone driven bulldog. His ethical and tranquil character is what makes the film which totally contradicts the stereotypical boxer. Another twist that i loved about the film is when he goes broke and goes the to boxing confederation to beg for enough money to get his kids back. that was a really moving scene. although i loved the movie i thought the actress playing James Braddock's wife could of been a little more attractive, boxers usually have HOT wives and they are always enjoyable to watch, especially when they play the roll of a faithful and caring wife. Expand
  84. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    One of the best movies I have ever seen, and by a long shot the most UNDERRATED movie I have ever seen, and I am not a fan of boxing or sports in general. I'm a sci-fi nerd. Did you hear that? A sci-fi nerd. And yet this movie about BOXING blew my mind. See it!
  85. Jul 17, 2014
    9
    You can enjoy Cinderella man even if you don`t like Boxing. It gets much deeper than boxing by touching on his life during the great depression.He struggles in life witch makes it more amazing when he wins fights on an empty stomach.
  86. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    With a talented acting ensemble and a historically accurate script, 'Cinderella Man' is an uplifting story that will appeal to viewers of all ages and interests due to its combination of action, drama, romance, and humor.
  87. Oct 8, 2014
    10
    This movie is very moving! It is my all time favorite boxing movie. I relate to the characters so much. I honestly cry a couple times while watching this movie EVERY TiME!!!!! I highly recommend!
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Halter
    70
    Despite the tale's dusty pedigree, Ron Howard spins a ticket-worthy two-plus hours of movie-movie entertainment.
  2. 70
    Lacking a more specific sense of time and place, Cinderella Man leans heavily on the technically proficient Crowe to slip into Braddock's skin, but he can only do so much with a character who's ready to be mounted in bronze over Central Park.
  3. 88
    It's the classic American tale of the family man triumphant, and Howard makes sure that it hits you right in the heart.