Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 3, 2005
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 286 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
270
Mixed:
6
Negative:
10
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SalmanH.Dec 5, 2005
Awesome Movie....it touched me in so many ways.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DougT.Apr 27, 2007
As any Aficionado of inspiring movies would feel, this is an uplifting story not only for those who were the beneficiaries of the real James Braddock's experiences but also those who have come to enjoy and love the cinematic As any Aficionado of inspiring movies would feel, this is an uplifting story not only for those who were the beneficiaries of the real James Braddock's experiences but also those who have come to enjoy and love the cinematic representation of the story of his life. Uplifting, inspiring and truly heartwrenching are the moments of risk and achievement of this man's great story. Great job by all who were involved in this production. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HanaSep 16, 2005
The best movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MithunchandraC.Sep 2, 2005
A marvellous film, one of the best films i have ever seen. The music adds to the beauty, the tight screenplay, excellent cinematography, Russel's wonderful acting, & the best part direction, a salute to the maker Ron Howard. All the A marvellous film, one of the best films i have ever seen. The music adds to the beauty, the tight screenplay, excellent cinematography, Russel's wonderful acting, & the best part direction, a salute to the maker Ron Howard. All the time you are mesmorized in the movie. The depression era stands before you lively. A brilliant film. A salute to the efforts and intelligence of the maker & his team. We expect more Cinderella Men from you sir. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonydannieJan 11, 2006
What Can you say about this movie? Ron Howard and Russel Crowe together again. Fantastic!! This film is nothing short of excellence. Crowe gives us another great performance. and i can even swallow Rene's pressence in the whole thing. What Can you say about this movie? Ron Howard and Russel Crowe together again. Fantastic!! This film is nothing short of excellence. Crowe gives us another great performance. and i can even swallow Rene's pressence in the whole thing. Paul Giamati deserves and oscar nod for his performance. And Howard for directing. It is sad that this movie did not find an audience in the big screen. This is movie magic GOLD! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeFeb 5, 2006
The best movie of the year. More proof that the oscars don't mean shit. (except for Paul Giamatti's nom., which they only gave to him because they screwed him on sideways). A great story, well-executed and superbly acted. It's The best movie of the year. More proof that the oscars don't mean shit. (except for Paul Giamatti's nom., which they only gave to him because they screwed him on sideways). A great story, well-executed and superbly acted. It's a pity that the folks handing out accolades are too obsessed with controversial films to appreciate a truly great, yet down to earth movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanceB.Mar 6, 2006
Totally ignored by the Oscars, this is the best movie of 2005 as far as I'm concerned. Very entertaining, suspenseful, and pro-family, so not eligible for serious Oscar recognition.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterJ.May 9, 2006
One of the best movies I have seen so far this year. A very touching family story as well. Howard does a excellent job making you care about what happens at the end... And still manages to keep you on the edge of your seat during the fight scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CherSNov 4, 2005
10, 10, 10 - no 20! IF you missed this movie, you missed the best one to pass you in years! I found myself wishing I had seen the depression scenes in high school, to ensure a life of savings would better benefit me during retirement. Renee 10, 10, 10 - no 20! IF you missed this movie, you missed the best one to pass you in years! I found myself wishing I had seen the depression scenes in high school, to ensure a life of savings would better benefit me during retirement. Renee and Russell lived this movie, they did not act it. Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelB.Dec 7, 2005
I'm stunned: 3 actors that I've never cared for have given 3 of the most powerful performances seen in a movie this year (by this I mean Russell Crowe, Renee Zellweger and Paul Giamatti). Do NOT pass this off as another boring I'm stunned: 3 actors that I've never cared for have given 3 of the most powerful performances seen in a movie this year (by this I mean Russell Crowe, Renee Zellweger and Paul Giamatti). Do NOT pass this off as another boring boxing film! Do yourself a favor and go rent this one today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
One of the best movies of the year. The performances are unforgettable, the directing is stunning and the story is superb. It cheered me and it moved me deeply, its tremendously touching in many ways, definetly worth a watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TETOBMJan 8, 2006
Excelent movie, you can feel it every moment. Best Russells acting!.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeM.Feb 27, 2006
I thought Cinderella Man was one of the best movies of the year and it is a true travisty that it was not nominated in many of the awards programs. With its true story and gripping tale during the depression, it is a story that America should watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CookieZ.Sep 16, 2006
Excellent movie! Russell Crowe is the best.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jodyr.Nov 25, 2005
Outstanding, hits the heart hard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillP>Oct 21, 2005
I was surprised how terrific this movie was; too bad Crowe got bad press for the phone-throwing incident when the movie opened! I saw it in L.A. and the audience clapped at the end... that never happens!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveC.Dec 29, 2005
I saw this film by accident on a flight returning from Germany on November 3. Normally I would not have devoted the time to watch this movie. Additionally, the film that was scheduled had problems and they shitfted this film over to economy I saw this film by accident on a flight returning from Germany on November 3. Normally I would not have devoted the time to watch this movie. Additionally, the film that was scheduled had problems and they shitfted this film over to economy class. After being picked up by wife I could hardly stop talking about this film - and comparing the type of story to the Seabiscuit film with the exception I actually remembered the Seabiscuit races. I wish I remembered Braddock - I only remembered the person who was a boxer. Now I'll never forget him, his family and his associates. Stephen Cole Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GrantN.Jan 17, 2006
People who demand their theater for their money back after seeing this movie (and they do, to the extent of AMC theaters offering full refunds) can be classified as insane. Crowe digs deep into the roll of Braddock and Howard once again People who demand their theater for their money back after seeing this movie (and they do, to the extent of AMC theaters offering full refunds) can be classified as insane. Crowe digs deep into the roll of Braddock and Howard once again shows the genuis he revealed in Appolo 13 and used again in A Beautiful Mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ILikeEyeBallsJul 26, 2016
This is one of the all time most underrated movies ever made. Great story and great acting by Russell Crowe. There has been a lot of great boxing movies, but this is my favorite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NikolayGAug 17, 2014
One of the best movies I have ever seen, and by a long shot the most UNDERRATED movie I have ever seen, and I am not a fan of boxing or sports in general. I'm a sci-fi nerd. Did you hear that? A sci-fi nerd. And yet this movie about BOXINGOne of the best movies I have ever seen, and by a long shot the most UNDERRATED movie I have ever seen, and I am not a fan of boxing or sports in general. I'm a sci-fi nerd. Did you hear that? A sci-fi nerd. And yet this movie about BOXING blew my mind. See it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Gripping, rousing, and redolent of a much harder time, "Cinderella Man" is a purely endearing masterpiece of a sports drama.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GatoradeJunkieOct 8, 2014
This movie is very moving! It is my all time favorite boxing movie. I relate to the characters so much. I honestly cry a couple times while watching this movie EVERY TiME!!!!! I highly recommend!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZachSchellerAug 14, 2016
Despite a plagued screenplay, Cinderella Man is a powerful underdog film that captures the power of fighting for your family. The movie is fueled by the strong performances of Crowe and Giamatti.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrookeNov 1, 2005
Fantastice! The best movie out this year! So inspiring and Renee and Russell did an awesome job at playing their characters. I never cry in movies but this time i did! It really touched me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TonyB.Dec 22, 2005
Russell Crowe may be a lousy hotel guest but he's one hell of an actor, as he shows again in one of the best films of the year. Well supported by Renee Zellweger, Paul Giametti and an excellent cast, he creates an indelible portrait of Russell Crowe may be a lousy hotel guest but he's one hell of an actor, as he shows again in one of the best films of the year. Well supported by Renee Zellweger, Paul Giametti and an excellent cast, he creates an indelible portrait of an American hero. The film's cinematography, editing and production design should be remembered at Oscar time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Rev.RikardOct 8, 2005
Post 9/11 American needed a movie revealing the strength of the human spirit when pushed against the wall. It is obvious Ron Howard and Russell Crowe know the strengths and weaknesses of the other. Together they have made one of the few Post 9/11 American needed a movie revealing the strength of the human spirit when pushed against the wall. It is obvious Ron Howard and Russell Crowe know the strengths and weaknesses of the other. Together they have made one of the few movies that makes one want to stand and cheer the leading character. The only issue that made watching this movie difficult is the knowledge of Crowe's "off screne" persona. Though we hypothetically are to leave such info outside the door, nevertheless, watching him reach deep as Braddock to fight for his family's survival only conjurs up his real-life tempermental outbursts. If someone could have exercised these images from my head I would have become enraputred by this film's story. A-list stars must realize that with such an instrusive papparazi, their public behaviors can easily snake their way into their roles, in a distracting manner. God! I reallly wanted to adore this movie! Russell, please learn some anger-management. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
miker.Jan 3, 2006
Excellent!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmyPDec 20, 2005
Having been disappointed with many of Ron Howard's films in the past, I was most pleasantly surprised by this film. I thought it was wonderful. I think Mr. Howard has matured - this film and "Beautiful Minds" is an indication of how Having been disappointed with many of Ron Howard's films in the past, I was most pleasantly surprised by this film. I thought it was wonderful. I think Mr. Howard has matured - this film and "Beautiful Minds" is an indication of how good he has become as a director. Not only is the direction good, but so is the story, the editing and the acting; especially the finely nuanced performances of Russell Crowe and Paul Giamatti, who shines whenever he's on screen. I came into this film, not thinking the subject or the movie would interest me. I came out thinking that it is among one of the best movies I've seen in the last several years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonH.Dec 9, 2005
Beautifully made film that shows the struggles and prospects of being an American.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JWAug 23, 2005
A great movie. It stands as one of the best depression era movies and boxing movies of all time at the same time. That isnt easy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful