Miramax Films | Release Date: March 1, 1990
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 120 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
111
Mixed:
3
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
ammeooJan 20, 2017
This movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out ofThis movie was an utter disappointment for me. The plots were not properly executed, there were many loopholes and the story was boring to be honest. The problem with these commercial films is that their whole purpose is to make money out of amateur movie goers rather than make something that should critically make sense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileySep 20, 2016
Cinema Paradiso is an amazing movie about the passion for early cinema. It has beautiful direction, performances, music, and writing. It is a must watch movie for anyone that appreciates film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CalibMcBoltsMay 30, 2016
1974's Badlands will go down in the history books as one of the best first feature films by a director, alongside Citizen Kane, Reservoir Dogs, District 9, Dances with Wolves, The Maltese Falcon, etc, etc. This movie is made with such1974's Badlands will go down in the history books as one of the best first feature films by a director, alongside Citizen Kane, Reservoir Dogs, District 9, Dances with Wolves, The Maltese Falcon, etc, etc. This movie is made with such precision and confidence, it's impeccable
One word summarizes the whole movie. Simple. Simple characters, although messed up. Simple dialogue, Simple incidents. Kinda reminds me of Fargo. Also Kit is one of the most interesting characters ever, how he's portrayed by newcomer Martin Sheen, is brilliant. This movie put Sheen on the map, Apocalypse Now made him a star, although this performance is superior.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleDec 2, 2015
A film about love in all of its forms, especially a love of the cinema, Cinema Paradiso is a phenomenal film that really pulls the heart strings and is a great visual representation of what movies mean to people and how they can truly touchA film about love in all of its forms, especially a love of the cinema, Cinema Paradiso is a phenomenal film that really pulls the heart strings and is a great visual representation of what movies mean to people and how they can truly touch you. All of the actors who portray Salvatore at the various stages of his life are great, as is Phillippe Noiret. The direction and writing are great as well. I really liked the way the story was told with hints towards the future and the multiple stages of Salvatore's life. The production design is also great, as is the score. My one complaint is the lack of depth to Salvatore's love of a girl named Elena. Symbolically, it makes sense, but I'd still like to see more, but regardless, it doesn't detract from the overall quality of the film. A brilliant work, Cinema Paradiso is a love letter to love and movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hanneguacamoleNov 20, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A cinema within cinema. Cinema Paradiso is a charmingly old-fashioned movie set in Italy right before the popularization of television and therefore the end of the censorship of Alfredo's theater. But the star of the film is not the movies, but rather the little altar boy that grows up into be an actual star, forgetting where he came from. Alfredo, his mentor and role model, of course told him to go and never look back – but heeding such advice can only bring heartbreak to his mother. A fine line between finding your own greatness and remembering where you came from is important to remember. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HamushySep 5, 2014
Finally got around too seeing the Italian classic that is Cinema Paradiso and I must say that I was completely blown away by how the film traded a big and significant plot for a nostalgic and detailed portrayal of a man's life. The filmFinally got around too seeing the Italian classic that is Cinema Paradiso and I must say that I was completely blown away by how the film traded a big and significant plot for a nostalgic and detailed portrayal of a man's life. The film starts with successful filmmaker, Salvatore Di Vita, receiving the news that his former hometown's old biograph-projectionist has passed away. After receiving the news, he takes a nostagic look back at his youth. Remebering his childhood in Sicilly, his early fascination with cinema, his bond with the projectionist Alfredo and his first love with a young woman named Elena.

It's kind of difficult to decide what I should start praising this film for. The film is simply perfect and I can't wait to see the original directors cut which adds about an hour. The soundtrack contains some of Ennio Morricone's best work and the filming locations paint an even more beautiful picture of Sicilly than The Godfather films. Non-linear storytelling is quite common, but I can't think of any film that have utilized it in quite this fashion and jumps back and forth between different points of a man's life in this manner. We get to follow the character Salvatore in three different points of his life, as a child, as an adolescent and as an adult. Salvatore as a child is brought to life by Salvatore Cassio, I recently stated that I consider Judith Vittet's performance in City of Lost Children to be the best child actor's performance I've seen, but after watching Cinema Paradiso I'm torn between Cassio and Vittet. The adolescent Salvatore is played by Marco Leonardi and the adult Salvatore is played by Jacques Perrin. These three actors bring an incredible consistency to the character with some very fine acting and also brings the same consistency to the dynamic between them and the astonishingly gifted veteran actor, Philippe Noiret, who plays Alfredo the charismatic projectionist of Cinema Paradiso and Salvatore's only father figure.

How director Guiseppe Tornatore is able to create the feeling of nostalgia when portraying a time I wasn't a part of and a place I never visited escapes me, but a big factor might be that he uses every movie-lover's nostalgia towards cinema and fascination with movies to create this heartfelt Italian masterpiece. Cinema Paradiso is an unforgettable feat which incorporates a broad variety of the emotions a person might go through in their life into the story and from Salvatore's perspective the viewer gets to experience joy, friendship, passion and love, but also sorrow, loneliness, longing and heartbreak. Undoubtedly this is one of the grandest and most sentimental coming of age films ever created.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jack977Jan 28, 2014
One of the greatest films of all time, Cinema Paradiso (taken to new heights with Ennio Morricone's beautiful soundtrack) is as much a film about nostalgia as it is about the sheer love of the cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Iky009Jan 4, 2014
Uma das mais belas declarações de amor ao cinema, isso Cinema Paradiso..........................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AssmanApr 19, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As long as the movie was, it was amazing such a classic movie that I believe many might like. All thow it was in a faren language not my favorite it was amazing and a tell you all to watch it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RegOzApr 5, 2012
A beautiful movie! That is the word: Beautiful. Great storyline, performances, photography! WOW! At times, however, the pace is slow, but even then it makes sense! Just perfect! Ennio Morricone's music deserves special mention!. CinemaA beautiful movie! That is the word: Beautiful. Great storyline, performances, photography! WOW! At times, however, the pace is slow, but even then it makes sense! Just perfect! Ennio Morricone's music deserves special mention!. Cinema Paradiso is classic! One of my top 10 favourite movies!...and I have it here at home in my collection! A MASTERPIECE...back then, and now! yes, it certainly is and will always be! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
westpacsaltyMar 25, 2011
A classic movie for movie lovers---a young boy meets an old projectionist in a small Italian village and learns life lessons. This is a must-see movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Man hears of the death of a projectionist at a local cinema who he grew up with, has flashbacks, returns to the village after 30 years.
Really sweet Italian film with the beautiful setting of Sicily as the backdrop. Genuinely funny dialogue
Man hears of the death of a projectionist at a local cinema who he grew up with, has flashbacks, returns to the village after 30 years.
Really sweet Italian film with the beautiful setting of Sicily as the backdrop. Genuinely funny dialogue throughout but I have to say I enjoyed the first half with the young Toto more than the second but nevertheless, still very enjoyable. Ennio Morricone does the score so superb as to be expected.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
CraigR.Jul 12, 2008
Truely one of the greatest films of all time. A magnificent script complemented my Ennio Morricone's soaring masterpiece - can it get any better?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeonardoP.Mar 8, 2008
This is a beautiful movie that makes me cry every time I watch. The music is fantastic and the story is terrific. It deserved the Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RezaZ.Sep 24, 2007
If I want to express my opinion let's just say it is TERRIFIC!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyB.Sep 15, 2007
This is my second favorite movie of all time. If you do rent it consider renting the one with subtitles. This very moving tribute to cinema with a spice of history has several moments that will completely take your breath away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveZ.Jul 21, 2007
Surprised to not see this film rated 90 or better. This film is a masterpiece. It not only tells you a story that shows life's inevitable changes, it sets you up for one of the most moving endings in cinematic history. Don't bother Surprised to not see this film rated 90 or better. This film is a masterpiece. It not only tells you a story that shows life's inevitable changes, it sets you up for one of the most moving endings in cinematic history. Don't bother to see it if among others who distract you. This movie demands attention from beginning to end. SHHH.... no talking! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatC.Jul 24, 2006
This edited version has some jagged transitions but is about the right length. In all other respects this is a perfect movie. The music is powerful but restrained. The story is for those who like their entertainment ringing true with their This edited version has some jagged transitions but is about the right length. In all other respects this is a perfect movie. The music is powerful but restrained. The story is for those who like their entertainment ringing true with their actual experiences. Alfredo's understanding of a young man's needs is such a precise blinding flash of the obvious that none of the other content can be interpreted to detract from the movie's achievement, and the montage of clips cut from the reels over the years is a bonus. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlessandroF.Jun 1, 2006
This is my favourite film ever, mainly because I can identify with it. It is like the little town I goto every summer to visit my grandparents. Love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WilliamS.Sep 28, 2003
Still one of my favourite movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
YoonC.Sep 14, 2003
Bathed in nostalgia and warmth, a beautiful evocation of lost childhood and a time when moviehouse played the role of community center, church, dream factory, travel agency to other worlds. In essence a conventional piece of filmmaking but Bathed in nostalgia and warmth, a beautiful evocation of lost childhood and a time when moviehouse played the role of community center, church, dream factory, travel agency to other worlds. In essence a conventional piece of filmmaking but could it be otherwise? Comparable to Hey Babu Riba in its unabashed and sincere sentimentality. The ending is simply bellissima. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EoinP.Oct 22, 2002
It' the greatest most powerful movie, i've ever seen. A masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnA.Sep 11, 2002
This film is One of A Kind. You can watch it over and over and over and never get enough. In the end. it makes you happy to be alive while at the same time presents the harshness of it. One the Best Movies Ever.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DerickA.Sep 8, 2002
I saw that movie for the first time in 1990 and I have watched it over a dozen ort more times. It is a wonderful movie about people, love, respect, ambition and values that we are losing sight of.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlfredoB.Sep 2, 2002
A Cinema Masterpiece that teach, How you must love the life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BettieR.Jun 15, 2002
I saw the new "director's cut" version of this film in LA last night (opening) & it's a lot better than the original film. Like the main character who waited 30 yrs to find his lost love, we too have waited 12 yrs. to discover the I saw the new "director's cut" version of this film in LA last night (opening) & it's a lot better than the original film. Like the main character who waited 30 yrs to find his lost love, we too have waited 12 yrs. to discover the missing parts of the story. We were not disappointed. It is a emotionally richer film that satisfies. People were crying all over the theater - for me it was a 12 hankie movie! Bravo to Tornatore! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnaP.Mar 18, 2002
Wonderful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful