Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 23, 2009
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 85 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
41
Mixed:
19
Negative:
25
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
ElizabethNOct 23, 2009
Overall very enjoyable movie. The pacing was a LITTLE too fast, and some of the dialogue was just corny, but I liked it more than I thought I would.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LariDec 7, 2010
woops! accidentally forgot to change my score! I give it a 2
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NicKerr91Jan 31, 2012
This film was amazing, as a book fan i thought the book to film adaptation was actually quite a good, I admit it was lacking quite a lot information, but due to this being a film for children certain things should have been left out, and theThis film was amazing, as a book fan i thought the book to film adaptation was actually quite a good, I admit it was lacking quite a lot information, but due to this being a film for children certain things should have been left out, and the fact that its based on the first trilogy of the saga yet was still good, the annoying part however was how out of sequence it was, but overall I love this film and wish there was a second one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
AlexKOct 30, 2009
8* Good film if you haven't read the books, but thoroughly disappointing if you have read them, it''s nothing alike.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JesseSOct 24, 2009
I can't understand why critics dislike this movie. It was funny, the action scenes were strong and the plot wasn't really that weak.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
K.C.R.Oct 26, 2009
The movie is quirky and definitely one of a kind. Different from its other vampire predecessors, its humorous and less glamorous. The cast is colorful and intriguing. I really hope they make sequels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
zachpOct 30, 2009
This movie was funny and had action and had a little love story. a great mix of interesting ideas and was a very unique movie. it captured my attention and i loved it. i wish metacritic didn't screw this score up and cause so many This movie was funny and had action and had a little love story. a great mix of interesting ideas and was a very unique movie. it captured my attention and i loved it. i wish metacritic didn't screw this score up and cause so many people to not go to it. now there may not be a sequel because it didn't make enough profits. thanks! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JulieCNov 1, 2009
Really enjoyed this movie. The characters were great, very entertaining. The special effects and action were good. It makes you want to see what happens next. I look forward to the sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewKNov 6, 2009
Yes i have read the books, and they were amazing. All of them in the series is pure gold and genius. After i read all the books over as many times as i could that year, i heard they were making a film. Now do not get me wrong, i thought the Yes i have read the books, and they were amazing. All of them in the series is pure gold and genius. After i read all the books over as many times as i could that year, i heard they were making a film. Now do not get me wrong, i thought the movie looked interesting to see. I wanted to see how the director would film this movie. I saw it and i have to say this: The books were better for obvious reasons. But the movie was not half bad. Sure, it got so much wrong in the movie that it did not even have to be based off the movie, it could have been a movie all in its own it was that off. But it was interesting. John C. Reilly did a marvelous job although i would not have chose him for the role. And of course there was room for a sequel. So i will go see the sequel. Everyone should go see this film, even if you do not like the actors, vampires, or anything along those lines. I am not asking you to love it or even like it, i am just asking for you to give it a try. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelFOct 29, 2009
It was okay. It didn't put me to sleep like Twilight's story. I got all the action needed. The books are still better. Many changes but Darren and Steve fighting was entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
calebwNov 16, 2009
For those that say that the sub plots go no place you are wrong they just have not come in to play just yet. there is more to the story then what you see. the movie is not the books but it still uses the same plot. there is more to come...a For those that say that the sub plots go no place you are wrong they just have not come in to play just yet. there is more to the story then what you see. the movie is not the books but it still uses the same plot. there is more to come...a lot more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyKNov 3, 2009
I loved it, it was like Moulin rouge meets twilight! Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZoeNov 4, 2009
i thought that the actors suited their characters really well. I love any film to do with vampires so this one got a thumbs up. I've read the first book and i thought that it was brilliant, after reading it and then seeing the film, the i thought that the actors suited their characters really well. I love any film to do with vampires so this one got a thumbs up. I've read the first book and i thought that it was brilliant, after reading it and then seeing the film, the book is definately better. But, my advice is see the film!! It's good! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikaelAOct 24, 2009
Although it had some infuriating aspects, such as Rebecca and Darren's family, I still enjoyed it considerably.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnS.Oct 25, 2009
This movie was the (guy version) of Twilight. It may not be one of the best movies but it was entertaining with some comedy that helped a lot, but overall I thought it was decent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RickAOct 29, 2009
Well I must say first off that I do not read very much or keep track of what books have been published and so maybe it was a good thing for the sake of this movie. I liked it quite a lot. I go to the movies for entertainment and nothing more Well I must say first off that I do not read very much or keep track of what books have been published and so maybe it was a good thing for the sake of this movie. I liked it quite a lot. I go to the movies for entertainment and nothing more and I found this movie very enjoyable. I thought the acting was well done and the story line was most certainly beyond good not excellent mind you but at the very least good. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
oxanaAug 25, 2014
A great movie that definitely makes me want to read the books!

The plot was built very nicely. There was action, humor, mystery and bizarre things in it. The opening credits were pretty awesome, too. Darren's character was surprisingly
A great movie that definitely makes me want to read the books!

The plot was built very nicely. There was action, humor, mystery and bizarre things in it. The opening credits were pretty awesome, too.

Darren's character was surprisingly likeable, with his faults, fears and quirks. His friend Steve was good too, but a bit on the annoying side. Crepsley was a rather odd looking vampire, I might add, but his character was very good (whereas I was disappointed with Williem Dafoe's performance). Ray Stevenson was nice, as always.

There were all sorts of freaks in this film, some of them good, some of them less so. Many of them were shown quickly, but none of them really took part in actual movie, other than Mr. Tall, Rebecca and Snake Boy. The others just sort of hung back on the background.

I really liked this movie a lot. It had a good, steady story, a nice build-up leaving you wanting more, the little background info given was sufficient to build a feeling of history (although they could have given a bit more information to tell the truth).

Truly enjoyable, funny and worth every minute! I was sad to see it end.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mrmonsterNov 17, 2012
An interesting premise, but not nearly as good as the book series. It was okay, but i could have used some work. The plot got boring after a while, not as good characters as the books, but still an okay movie. Read the books.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Signas501Mar 30, 2015
Coming from the Manga, and book series, Cirque Du Freak follows protagonist Darren Shan and his friend Steve Leonard going to a circus of "freak shows," as the movie soon explains that they are all monsters. Steve becomes fascinated with oneComing from the Manga, and book series, Cirque Du Freak follows protagonist Darren Shan and his friend Steve Leonard going to a circus of "freak shows," as the movie soon explains that they are all monsters. Steve becomes fascinated with one of the actors, Mr. Crepsley who in turn is really a vampire. Steve asks to become a vampire but is turned down because of his blood being rooted by evil. Darren however is infatuated with the spider Mr. Crepsley uses. He takes the spider and runs off. Later Steve is bitten by the same spider, Darren is forced to confront Mr. Crepsley, and in turn for an antidote, he must become a vampire. The following events would spiral Darrens life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews