Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Dec 20, 2012
    60
    While the bodies of the performers do amazing things, the hectic editing and frequent use of slow motion distract from their physical artistry rather than enhance it. The 3-D, on the other hand, gives some sense of the scale of a Cirque du Soleil performance, and even if the film is no substitute for the real thing, it is at least an effective advertisement.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Dec 20, 2012
    50
    Cirque du Soleil: Worlds Away has plenty of eye candy... What the movie lacks, unfortunately, is coherence.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Dec 20, 2012
    50
    If one is interested in seeing a Cirque du Soleil show, there are many to choose from. "Worlds Away" functions solely as some sort of bargain sampler platter appetizer, never proving it has a real reason of its own to exist.
  4. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 2, 2013
    40
    Fine to look at, but good luck feeling anything.
  5. Reviewed by: Miriam Bale
    Dec 20, 2012
    40
    The real stunner of Worlds Away is how it could afford to use so many Beatles songs.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    6
    As stated in an earlier review, at worst, this is a long advert for Cirque du Soleil. For those who haven't seen it live though, this is aAs stated in an earlier review, at worst, this is a long advert for Cirque du Soleil. For those who haven't seen it live though, this is a good substitute. I took a group of kids (5-11 yo) who had never seen Cirque before and they enjoyed it. As an aside, I doubt this film is aimed primarily at an American audience, as it seems the expectation of the producers is a much greater appreciation for the artistic creativity in Cirque than can be expected from the average American. Regardless, I don't regret the time or money spent on it, despite it bordering on boring at times. Full Review »
  2. Dec 25, 2012
    1
    Why didn't someone tell me this is just a hodgepodge of the various Vegas Cirque shows!!! I've seen all those shows....I don't need to payWhy didn't someone tell me this is just a hodgepodge of the various Vegas Cirque shows!!! I've seen all those shows....I don't need to pay MORE money to see it on film. Geez....maybe if they had some cool camera angles or something for example when they filmed under water...ok..that was neat hence the 2 rating but I just wasted $24 on this junk and realized 10 minutes into it I was watching a 90 minute commercial for Cirque in Vegas. You can usually catch the same thing for free in your hotel room albeit it lasts 5 minutes. Good lordy...$24 for a 3D film...man I got swindled and to make things worse now I can't afford anything to eat...and it's CHRISTMAS!!! THANKS MR CAMERON for ruining my Christmas. Maybe I can go sift through the trash and see if there are any half eaten boxes of popcorn. You want to see Cirque in 3D? Go to Vegas and watch them. This film doesn't do them justice. Full Review »
  3. Dec 24, 2012
    4
    An abusive use of color and motion. Still have no idea what the film was about or why I was watching it. French Canadians should go back toAn abusive use of color and motion. Still have no idea what the film was about or why I was watching it. French Canadians should go back to what they are good at, hockey and hydro power. I saw Cirque du Soleil once in Vegas. Afterwards all I could think was that I could have used the money on the tickets for something useful like a strip bar or something. Reviewers use the word "surreal" like its a good thing. I guess I'm an illiterate dolt, when confronted with the surreal all I think is "annoying." This movie is a visual hyperbole, if you are into that kind of stuff, then this is a good use of your time. I'd rather read a newspaper in a language I don't understand. Full Review »