Cirque du Soleil: Worlds Away

Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
Watch On
  1. 63
    It's all quite lovely, mesmerizing – and right on the edge of sleep-inducing.
  2. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    Dec 20, 2012
    63
    At its best, Worlds Away is a parade of mostly attractive acrobats performing physically improbable feats. At its worst, it has the humorlessness of Ridley Scott plumbing the deeper meanings of an Esther Williams water ballet.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Dec 20, 2012
    63
    In a movie season - and a month - filled with so much gunfire, bloodshed and human despair, it's refreshing to sit back and bask in the sheer joy with which these brightly costumed, stunningly agile performers navigate fire, water and air.
  4. Reviewed by: Loren King
    Dec 20, 2012
    63
    It's better to see it on the stage... a moderately enjoyable film that lacks the awe-inspiring visual and aural aplomb of Montreal-based Cirque du Soleil's live shows.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Dec 19, 2012
    70
    A bona fide high-wire act, Cirque du Soleil: Worlds Away delivers towering thrills through its candy-colored 3D ode to the titular outfit's astounding acrobatics.
  6. Reviewed by: Howard Cohen
    Dec 20, 2012
    63
    The technically well-made movie simply can't replicate the live experience of a Cirque show, and at just over 90 minutes, Worlds Away still feels long.
  7. Reviewed by: Megan Lehmann
    Dec 19, 2012
    80
    The world's most famous acrobatic troupe delivers a feast of surreal beauty and moments of breath-catching wonder in the skilfully staged 3D film Cirque du Soleil: Worlds Away.
  8. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Dec 19, 2012
    70
    The ravishing and kitschy Cirque du Soleil: Worlds Away is the rare movie whose title serves as an accurate indicator of whether you will enjoy seeing it.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    6
    As stated in an earlier review, at worst, this is a long advert for Cirque du Soleil. For those who haven't seen it live though, this is aAs stated in an earlier review, at worst, this is a long advert for Cirque du Soleil. For those who haven't seen it live though, this is a good substitute. I took a group of kids (5-11 yo) who had never seen Cirque before and they enjoyed it. As an aside, I doubt this film is aimed primarily at an American audience, as it seems the expectation of the producers is a much greater appreciation for the artistic creativity in Cirque than can be expected from the average American. Regardless, I don't regret the time or money spent on it, despite it bordering on boring at times. Full Review »
  2. Dec 25, 2012
    1
    Why didn't someone tell me this is just a hodgepodge of the various Vegas Cirque shows!!! I've seen all those shows....I don't need to payWhy didn't someone tell me this is just a hodgepodge of the various Vegas Cirque shows!!! I've seen all those shows....I don't need to pay MORE money to see it on film. Geez....maybe if they had some cool camera angles or something for example when they filmed under water...ok..that was neat hence the 2 rating but I just wasted $24 on this junk and realized 10 minutes into it I was watching a 90 minute commercial for Cirque in Vegas. You can usually catch the same thing for free in your hotel room albeit it lasts 5 minutes. Good lordy...$24 for a 3D film...man I got swindled and to make things worse now I can't afford anything to eat...and it's CHRISTMAS!!! THANKS MR CAMERON for ruining my Christmas. Maybe I can go sift through the trash and see if there are any half eaten boxes of popcorn. You want to see Cirque in 3D? Go to Vegas and watch them. This film doesn't do them justice. Full Review »
  3. Dec 24, 2012
    4
    An abusive use of color and motion. Still have no idea what the film was about or why I was watching it. French Canadians should go back toAn abusive use of color and motion. Still have no idea what the film was about or why I was watching it. French Canadians should go back to what they are good at, hockey and hydro power. I saw Cirque du Soleil once in Vegas. Afterwards all I could think was that I could have used the money on the tickets for something useful like a strip bar or something. Reviewers use the word "surreal" like its a good thing. I guess I'm an illiterate dolt, when confronted with the surreal all I think is "annoying." This movie is a visual hyperbole, if you are into that kind of stuff, then this is a good use of your time. I'd rather read a newspaper in a language I don't understand. Full Review »