User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    I personally thought It was an amazing movie. It was amazing from start to finish filled with dazzling acrobatics and great performances from all the actors and performers.
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    7
    Worlds Away is very meaningful. I loved the silent actors and I could feel their emotions through their body language and dance. The music, dance, and environment were in perfect harmony. My brain felt overwhelmed at the end!
  3. Jan 15, 2013
    6
    As stated in an earlier review, at worst, this is a long advert for Cirque du Soleil. For those who haven't seen it live though, this is a good substitute. I took a group of kids (5-11 yo) who had never seen Cirque before and they enjoyed it. As an aside, I doubt this film is aimed primarily at an American audience, as it seems the expectation of the producers is a much greater appreciation for the artistic creativity in Cirque than can be expected from the average American. Regardless, I don't regret the time or money spent on it, despite it bordering on boring at times. Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2013
    8
    Worlds Away is a great way to see the best of the Cirque du Soleil acts. The story is simple and told without words, but it is a vehicle for the characters come across many of the most spectacular Cirque performances. The creativity and genius of Cirque comes through strongly. I will likely never get to take my family to a Cirque show in Vegas, so this was a great way to experience it up close. Both the adults and the teenagers in our family loved it. Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2012
    1
    Why didn't someone tell me this is just a hodgepodge of the various Vegas Cirque shows!!! I've seen all those shows....I don't need to pay MORE money to see it on film. Geez....maybe if they had some cool camera angles or something for example when they filmed under water...ok..that was neat hence the 2 rating but I just wasted $24 on this junk and realized 10 minutes into it I was watching a 90 minute commercial for Cirque in Vegas. You can usually catch the same thing for free in your hotel room albeit it lasts 5 minutes. Good lordy...$24 for a 3D film...man I got swindled and to make things worse now I can't afford anything to eat...and it's CHRISTMAS!!! THANKS MR CAMERON for ruining my Christmas. Maybe I can go sift through the trash and see if there are any half eaten boxes of popcorn. You want to see Cirque in 3D? Go to Vegas and watch them. This film doesn't do them justice. Expand
  6. Dec 24, 2012
    4
    An abusive use of color and motion. Still have no idea what the film was about or why I was watching it. French Canadians should go back to what they are good at, hockey and hydro power. I saw Cirque du Soleil once in Vegas. Afterwards all I could think was that I could have used the money on the tickets for something useful like a strip bar or something. Reviewers use the word "surreal" like its a good thing. I guess I'm an illiterate dolt, when confronted with the surreal all I think is "annoying." This movie is a visual hyperbole, if you are into that kind of stuff, then this is a good use of your time. I'd rather read a newspaper in a language I don't understand. Expand
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Stuart Heritage
    Feb 3, 2013
    20
    A tedious, misjudged marriage of Olympic opening ceremony, Eurovision half-time show and most recorded nightmares, Worlds Away is set in a mysterious land of make-believe.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jan 30, 2013
    63
    It's all quite lovely, mesmerizing – and right on the edge of sleep-inducing.
  3. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 2, 2013
    40
    Fine to look at, but good luck feeling anything.