Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Nov 14, 2012
    83
    Citadel is plenty scary: a bare-bones man-against-his-worst-fears white knuckler, shot through deep, menacing shadows.
  2. Reviewed by: Rosie Fletcher
    Mar 1, 2013
    80
    [A] fresh, eerie twist on urban horror.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Dec 6, 2012
    75
    This is a basic story, simply and directly told by Irish writer-director Ciaran Foy. He doesn't try to explain too much, he doesn't depend on special effects and stays just this side of the unbelievable.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Nov 6, 2012
    60
    The more that fright-flick conventions take over, the more the movie's recognizable and resonant human fears are dulled.
  5. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Nov 8, 2012
    60
    This spare first feature from the Irish filmmaker Ciaran Foy (drawing on his own experiences) has an atavistic pulse, evoking a decaying society where elevators fail and bus drivers cower behind mesh grills.
  6. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Nov 16, 2012
    50
    No longer content with simple conservatism, this horror is downright totalitarian.
  7. Reviewed by: Owen Williams
    Feb 25, 2013
    40
    Plenty of pungent ideas and a nice line in urban terror. The final product falls short of the best in Brit horror, though.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jul 15, 2014
    7
    Great movie, Aneurin Barnard playing the role of an agoraphobic father did great! Definitely not the best actor ever but you could see the fear and accomplishment when he was simply trying to leave his house! The atmosphere is dark and has a unique touch to it! The end of the movie is pretty rough though, no suspense or anything I just stood there wondering : wait, it's over? But overall I recommend it for any fans of Psychological/Infection horror movie. Expand
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    6
    The opening to this film was fantastic but unfortunately it goes downhill quite quickly. The acting is pretty poor and the suspense/horror was spoiled for me by too much being revealed too soon. It's such a shame because it has a lot going for it. Very atmospheric with some bleak locations that really add to the sense of foreboding. A decent plot at it's core with a very disturbing concept and some brilliantly intense scenes. But the plot takes a dissapointing direction early on. I switched it off eventually. Would love to see more original, low budget films like this though Collapse
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    6
    It took me a while to get absorbed in this because I'm familiar with the area where this was filmed. Once I was into Citadel it was a bit slow but It's actually a nicely paced, moody horror that kept me interested throughout.

    The acting was pretty good all round, even the baby cried on cue, lol. James Cosmo (Braveheart, Sons of Anarchy) is the only person I recognised and his role as the heavy handed, ever swearing Priest seemed almost convincing but he was good. Aneurin Barnard played the most annoying of characters Tommy who I kept hoping would get killed in a particularly nasty way. Admittedly his acting was good it was just his role that I hated. The very attractive Wunmi Mosaku played the (almost) love interest well and I really hope I see more her in future.

    This was a nicely produced and well directed indie flik and all with minimum resources which is impressive. I hope Ciaran Foy, the writer/director does more features because this being his first he's done very, very well. Recommended.

    Score: 6.5/10
    Expand

Trailers