City of God

City of God Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 396 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Welcome to the world's most notorious slum: Rio de Janeiro's 'City of God.' A place where combat photographers fear to tread, where Police rarely go, and residents are lucky if they live to the age of 20. This is the true story of a young man who grew up on these streets and whose ambitionWelcome to the world's most notorious slum: Rio de Janeiro's 'City of God.' A place where combat photographers fear to tread, where Police rarely go, and residents are lucky if they live to the age of 20. This is the true story of a young man who grew up on these streets and whose ambition as a photographer is our window in and ultimately may be him only way out. (Miramax) Expand

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 100
    Breathtaking and terrifying, urgently involved with its characters, it announces a new director of great gifts and passions: Fernando Meirelles.
  2. 100
    An exhilarating slap in the face, bracing and sexy, smart and visceral, stylish and raw -- the advent of a fabulously exciting new moviemaking talent.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    100
    The film is seductive, disturbing, enthralling -- a trip to hell that gives the passengers a great ride.
  4. Undeniably powerful, the work also comes with its own built-in shield against feeling any one character's difficulties too deeply, or for too long.
  5. For those who didn't get enough violence from Martin Scorsese's "Gangs of New York," welcome to City of God.
  6. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    70
    The impressive filmmaking craftsmanship and sharp storytelling skills make this two-hour-plus epic fly by.
  7. Undeniably powerful, but also rather numbing.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 96
  2. Negative: 5 out of 96
  1. Petra
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    Great movie.
  2. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Filmogaphy on this move is an evolution of anything hollywood ever acomplished. A real lesson on how to film a story that screams reality. OneFilmogaphy on this move is an evolution of anything hollywood ever acomplished. A real lesson on how to film a story that screams reality. One of the most violent movies ever made is also one of the most beautifully filmed. Expand
  3. LeanneH.
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    I agree with Chris S. Dave H. you've got it all wrong. This is not a Hollywood thriller, this is a neo-realism film, a piece of I agree with Chris S. Dave H. you've got it all wrong. This is not a Hollywood thriller, this is a neo-realism film, a piece of brazilian national cinema which highlights Brazilian's way of life in order to obtain political change (wow! I hope I ace my exam!). You are looking at this concept so wrong, unless you understand the purpose of this film you will never see it as being a fantastic acheivement, which is definitely what it is! :) Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    When the credits begin to roll, your eyes will be wide, thoughts racing, your mind still trying to comprehend the impeccable City of God.
  5. Jul 21, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. an epic tale of violence, retribution, and redemption and the rise and fall of the 80s mafia drug world, its a intertwining plot of two boys who grew up as hoodlums in the number one most dangerous city in South America, Rio De Janeiro's "Cidade De Deus".

    Soon their lives begin to go down separate paths, one of them becoming a first time reporter turned news photographer and the other a ruthless and powerful gang leader, as we chronicle the two or three decades of their stories and the insanely hellish violent and costly gang war that defined it. the film also is poetic and presents a modern philosophical tale of the consequences of crime and the rewards of staying on the right track .

    A stunning and unexpected masterpiece from the beautiful country of Brazil its one of those incredible films that is better to be watched quickly or sooner than never, its like Goodfellas meets Pulp Fiction meets the favela life
    one of the best films made in the foreign language of the 21st century and a classic
    Expand
  6. JackB.
    Apr 1, 2008
    9
    Great film in every way, deserves the plaudits and i would say this is a film that everyone who loves film should try and watch. An Great film in every way, deserves the plaudits and i would say this is a film that everyone who loves film should try and watch. An incredible real life story, told in a very powerful way that will have you gripped from start to finish. Im not a huge fan of the "gangster" film genre having been disappointed by some of the films in the area that are considered masterpieces, however I challenge anyone to truthfully say that this is below the level of those films. This truly deserves the title of being a Masterpiece. Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2014
    0
    Really ??? Is this a movie with 8.9 score ??? I must be from another planet. For those who should be surprised with my "0", I'm a wellReally ??? Is this a movie with 8.9 score ??? I must be from another planet. For those who should be surprised with my "0", I'm a well educated man and watched the movie very carefully and only with coffee. Some young brasilian dirtbags kill each other. Yes for 2 hours this is it. Trash movie, trash actors, trash plot. Expand

See all 96 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: April 5, 2013
    Our weekly roundup includes new looks at "The Great Gatsby," "The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones," "This Is the End," "Only God Forgives," "2 Guns," "Carrie," and much more.
  2. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.